T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

drchaos

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby drchaos » June 14th, 2020, 5:49 pm

The Manual for the 1.5T civic states that for severe operating conditions then work with the inbuilt oil life meter.

Which is what I am doing now that my warranty is up.
Took 1 year for the meter recommend a service. My mileage is now 28K KMs

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 14th, 2020, 10:39 pm

I don't trust those OLMS as it's based on an algorithm. That encourages a wrong approach towards service intervals.

Turbo + direct injection + T&T operating conditions + TRUE synthetic oil like amsoil signature series (even though it is rated for up to 40k kms normal and 24k kms severe) shouldn't be stretched beyond 10-12k kms especially for an L15B7 that is out of warranty. Now if the OLMS so happens to alert you at that period then awesome!

Btw: your mileage is pretty low for your vehicle's age. Looks like it will do well for many years to come :)

Postby gt4tified » June 15th, 2020, 1:08 pm

nick639v2 wrote:The new Mazda 6 is one hell of a looker. Boxing ahead of it's class in features too

Any pics or description of the features that make it ahead of its class?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 15th, 2020, 10:14 pm

agent007 wrote:I don't trust those OLMS as it's based on an algorithm. That encourages a wrong approach towards service intervals.

Turbo + direct injection + T&T operating conditions + TRUE synthetic oil like amsoil signature series (even though it is rated for up to 40k kms normal and 24k kms severe) shouldn't be stretched beyond 10-12k kms especially for an L15B7 that is out of warranty. Now if the OLMS so happens to alert you at that period then awesome!

Btw: your mileage is pretty low for your vehicle's age. Looks like it will do well for many years to come :)

The oil life meter tends to take both time, mileage and engine conditions.So more short trips means more frequent changes. It degrades with time as well even if the car is not driven did 3.7 K in the last year and at the 11 month mark had 400km to go.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 15th, 2020, 10:19 pm

So far the problems we have with the civic got nothing to do with engine or tranny.

Was hearing some weird grinding/sraining noise for 1-2 seconds when the car did a hot start that went away after the first year honda couldnt figure it out. Seat pump lever broke at year 1 took them 2 year to fix that and now its broke again 4 months after fixing it. AC gave some weird electrical glitch where AC fan wouldn't turn on a few days ago. Lasted a day but seems to working now. Still have to take it in to be checked. Most likely some electrical gremlin like on those euro's 10 years ago. Seems the Japs have to go through these same issues as they make their cars more complicated.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 16th, 2020, 12:25 pm

Volvo XC60 R-Design - $630k
FB_IMG_1592041863564.jpeg
FB_IMG_1592041803940.jpeg
FB_IMG_1592041866155.jpeg
FB_IMG_1592041852671.jpeg

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 16th, 2020, 9:38 pm

agent007 wrote:Volvo XC60 R-Design - $630k

For this price I rather get a Macan or Velar yes.

I find these Volvos, overpriced IMO.

Postby supercharged turbo » June 17th, 2020, 12:25 am

Alleged new 2021 Mazda BT-50 which is supposed to debut on the 17th of June.It will be sharing the same platform as the Isuzu D-Max.I wonder how the pricing will look in S.S. as they carry both brands.
hqdefault.jpeg
hqdefault.jpeg (37.45 KiB) Viewed 5717 times

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 17th, 2020, 1:48 am

This is the fully topped out T5 R-Design. You get more than both the entry Macan and Velar and it's still cheaper too. Besides.....its a Volvo so yuh know safety was not compromised.
scotty_buttons wrote:

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 17th, 2020, 1:54 am

Supercharged, I am happy the BT50 broke away from the Ranger and is now based on a Dmax. Good for them, maybe it will be more reliable now.

limegreen

Postby limegreen » June 17th, 2020, 6:38 am

agent007 wrote:This is the fully topped out T5 R-Design. You get more than both the entry Macan and Velar and it's still cheaper too. Besides.....its a Volvo so yuh know safety was not compromised.
scotty_buttons wrote:

LOL at that price for a T5. Volvo’s do come with a lot more standard than the competition. From 2021 you’ll get even more as they consolidated the packages.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » June 17th, 2020, 9:46 am

supercharged turbo wrote:Alleged new 2021 Mazda BT-50 which is supposed to debut on the 17th of June.It will be sharing the same platform as the Isuzu D-Max.I wonder how the pricing will look in S.S. as they carry both brands.hqdefault.jpeg

Really glad this is on the new Dmax platform should do this vehicle well reliability wise.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 17th, 2020, 1:45 pm

IMO mazda lost it's way (where pickups are concerned) after these models from the 70s into the 80s and early 90s. Those B1600 and B2200 petrol vans won the hearts of produce sellers across the country and were part of wasa, ttec and junior sammy fleets for years.

The B2500 with the WL and WLT diesel engines seem to have a love-hate relationship with its owners and ever since Ford took the development lead for the current 2011 to 2020 model, based on feedback on this site, it's like they got worse with leaky turbos and cracked heads.

Mazda should exit the body on frame pickup and make a luxury unibody "pickup" similar to the upcoming Hyundai Santa Cruz, the current Honda Ridgeline and the past Holden Monaro ute.
3247ae7ce77dc8a1034f2f5bee1f28d3.jpeg
b64092b7c5eaa80ad49003a62e86af7e--holiday-mazda.jpeg
b64092b7c5eaa80ad49003a62e86af7e--holiday-mazda.jpeg (13.71 KiB) Viewed 5670 times
032118-1984-Mazda-B2200-2.jpeg
032118-1984-Mazda-B2200-1.jpeg

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 17th, 2020, 8:27 pm

The price of the XC60 seems inline with the competition .... except for the BMW X3 which seems to undercut the Q5, XC60 and GLC by a large margin.

limegreen

Postby limegreen » June 18th, 2020, 10:17 am

drchaos wrote:The price of the XC60 seems inline with the competition .... except for the BMW X3 which seems to undercut the Q5, XC60 and GLC by a large margin.

Oh ok... BMW typically undercuts them all so I guess no surprise here. I’m actually surprised they brought down the R design tho. In the US they don’t sell.

Postby ronsin1 » June 18th, 2020, 6:21 pm

I ended up buying an A4 1.4T back in February. I paid 350K for it at the time of purchase.

I did prefer the B8 model in front if the B9 model from the lights to the body lined the B8 was better

However I was surprised at the sorc on the 1.4 engine at 150 HP it has decent power and pull

For me I dont think the interior is not that bad. I felt the B8 interior was not as good as the B9

This is my first outing in the euro world but so far satisfied.

agent007 wrote:^^I recognize the B9 is not the hit as initally thought it would be in comparison to the B8 locally. The refreshed version should hopefully change things a bit. Right now in that segment, the BMW G20 seems to be on a high. We'll see how it plays off.

slacker, I share the same sentiments actually, $399k for an Accord 1.5T is absurd especially since it is subject to less taxes than the previous model. I suppose if you throw in a $303k Optima in the mix ($96k cheaper than an Accord despite subject to far more taxes), it doesn't help with the Accord's value for money factor. But with specific relation to the A4 1.4T @ $400k, which would you choose? The Accord is bigger and has more power. It will retain its resale value far better and would more than likely be more reliable and is backed by a better dealer. So only in that case, I would say Accord 1.5T > A4 1.4T

Personally, If I wanted a spacious sedan I would close my eyes and take a Mazda 6 which can be had for as low as $325k

In other news, It is my understanding that the 2020 Subaru Outback has arrived, priced at $559k :shock:

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » June 18th, 2020, 7:34 pm

drchaos wrote:The price of the XC60 seems inline with the competition .... except for the BMW X3 which seems to undercut the Q5, XC60 and GLC by a large margin.

The X3 they bring in locally is the sdrive20i (RWD) starting somewhere around $520. Yes the competition are more but, they are all AWD. And when it comes to the engine the 20i has less power than the Audi 45TFSI, the GLC 300 and the Volvo T5. The BMW equivalent would be the xdrive30 which cost a lot more than the competition. Not saying there is anything wrong with the X3 of course but it’s not comparing apples with apples.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 18th, 2020, 8:19 pm

Ronsin, I think I need your negotiation skills for our next purchase. You got a good deal there and I hope it goes well for you for many more years to come.

4motion, well said bro. I like to be different and as such, that T5 R-Design appeals to me more than the X3 I saw.

Postby A172 » June 18th, 2020, 9:19 pm

on the topic of euros common sense returned to me and i took advantage of the plummet in car prices in japan going on last 2 months

i tossed the sti and got myself a brand new 2020 G20 M Sport in portimao blue, a high spec unit with everything the lafast model doesn't have; live cockpit pro, driver assist pro, HUD, laser lights etc

still want a bit of performance so would be doing a stage 2 bm3 tune one time

would update when i receive

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 18th, 2020, 10:27 pm

You dont dissapoint at all A172. Well done and congrats on bypassing the dealer. Favour: when you get it, could I see the laser lights in person? Or perhaps do a video?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 18th, 2020, 11:12 pm

agent007 wrote:You dont dissapoint at all A172. Well done and congrats on bypassing the dealer. Favour: when you get it, could I see the laser lights in person? Or perhaps do a video?

He did'nt bypass the dealer .... He is the Dealer! 8-) 8-) 8-)

Postby A172 » June 19th, 2020, 2:34 am

agent007 wrote:You dont dissapoint at all A172. Well done and congrats on bypassing the dealer. Favour: when you get it, could I see the laser lights in person? Or perhaps do a video?
yh no scene

Postby ronsin1 » June 19th, 2020, 10:24 am

agent007 wrote:Ronsin, I think I need your negotiation skills for our next purchase. You got a good deal there and I hope it goes well for you for many more years to come.

4motion, well said bro. I like to be different and as such, that T5 R-Design appeals to me more than the X3 I saw.
Honestly when I saw this post when the price of the 1.4 Q3 is what prompted me to go when I reached it was sold out and they said the A4 was available in the two packages premium and sport package
They had already dropped the price of the premium from 400K to 376K and the sport from 410K to 390K

I told them that my budget was 310K and that's why I wanted to look at the Q3 they said if you serious we can look at a lower price for the premium package

I negotiated my way to 350k

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 19th, 2020, 8:17 pm

A172 You having any bess priced imports with those drop in prices soon awa?? I still needs me a new ride lol

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 20th, 2020, 12:00 am

He does get some descent stock that would make Mukesh Rampersad blush.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 20th, 2020, 12:07 am

2 American turbo crossovers that would appreciate your hard earned money:

Jeep Compass - $355k
Chevrolet Equinox - $296k
20200619_104328.jpeg
20200619_104424.jpeg
20200619_103652.jpeg
20200619_104636.jpeg
20200619_104530.jpeg
20200619_104708.jpeg

Postby eliteauto » June 21st, 2020, 12:05 pm

any interior Equinox pics? How does the cargo area (seats up) compare to the CR-V?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2020, 4:32 pm

Waiting to see the new Grand Cherokee

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 21st, 2020, 5:09 pm

Sure bro:
eliteauto wrote:any interior Equinox pics? How does the cargo area (seats up) compare to the CR-V?
I would say the Equinox is on the bigger side of the midsize crossover segment. It sits well with the Forester, Rav4, Xtrail and CRV. It's actually more spacious than the CX5, Tucson and Sportage imo.
FB_IMG_1592759664931.jpeg
FB_IMG_1592759668619.jpeg
FB_IMG_1592759671143.jpeg
IMG_0315.JPG.jpeg

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 25th, 2020, 9:36 am

Post covid sale...
FB_IMG_1592976966869.jpeg
FB_IMG_1592976929810.jpeg
FB_IMG_1592976521600.jpeg