T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

nes123

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby nes123 » February 28th, 2012, 7:40 am

^^for a facking focus???dey dunno specs but dey know pricing?only in sweet T & T yes....smfh...I hope to god is the 2.0NA they bringin for that price and not no outdated Zetec engine nah

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » February 28th, 2012, 9:26 am

Whats the current price on a 3.0 diesel d/c 4x4 manual Hilux?

gundelero

Postby gundelero » February 28th, 2012, 9:38 am

any word on the 2012 ford ranger packages and prices????

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 28th, 2012, 11:36 am

who has ranger IN STOCK? NEW

not from the firm

M. Rampersad doesnt have any

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 28th, 2012, 11:49 am

nes123 wrote:^^for a facking focus???dey dunno specs but dey know pricing?only in sweet T & T yes....smfh...I hope to god is the 2.0NA they bringin for that price and not no outdated Zetec engine nah

Would hope at least for the 1.6 Ecoboost at that price. But knowing Trinidad stealerships they'll sell the TITANIUM with the pathetic 1.6 Zetec for $280K and believe it's worth it.

Postby noshownogo » February 28th, 2012, 12:38 pm

that Zetec 1.6 is so low output, it's like two decade old tech

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » February 29th, 2012, 9:38 am

Land Rover Discovery 4 2.7 v6 TDI 188hp; 440Nm torque
Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi 197hp; 436Nm torque

the hyundai is lighter than the land rover so to me it should pull nicer?

The Land Rover I drove was a Disco 2! :oops:

Compare Apples to Oranges much. :roll:

I Know but I'm not familiar with SUVs so figured most would be "sluggish" when compared to sedan.

So was pleasantly surprised to get something resembling acceleration from the Santa Fe.

Looking to test drive a Ford Everest soon. Not the Summit of the Americas Equip. (leather package) but the other lower spec 7 seater.

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » February 29th, 2012, 9:53 am

The 5-seater is $319K. It has on of the most powerful turbo diesel engines in its class at 197hp / 3800rpm; 436Nm @ 1800-2500rpm, but that's where it ends. Its seriously lacking in safety features.......

The downside of the Santa Fe:
1. No brake assist
2. No traction control system (the $385k 4x4 has this)
3. No electronic brake-force distribution
4. No electronic stability control/program
5. No hill-hold/hill descent control

All those features are standard on all models everywhere else but here. When I asked N&M I was told "the customers don't want it". What BS is that??!!

The front wheel drive 5-seater version should have been more equipped considering. Imagine the front left wheel slipping on a wet/grassy curve, all you have is the front right trying to grip and control a 4000+ SUV. Not me and that.

The irony is that safety is what made me start looking at SUVs in the first place.

Sure for most people there is bling factor and ride quality too. But in my case I'm looking for the safest new "7 seater" I can find (and afford).

Re: "Customer don't want it" comment... translation: customer don't know better.

I didn't. But I'm trying to learn all I can now.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 29th, 2012, 10:10 am

I gather all these vehicles have the same crash ratings?

Postby Stephon. » February 29th, 2012, 1:22 pm

@blue9266 have you checked out the captiva?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » February 29th, 2012, 1:56 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I gather all these vehicles have the same crash ratings?

Yes, but isn't the idea to have features that afford you the ability to prevent the crash in the first place??

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 29th, 2012, 2:11 pm

NorStar2K wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I gather all these vehicles have the same crash ratings?

Yes, but isn't the idea to have features that afford you the ability to prevent the crash in the first place??

I wasn't saying to ignore those features at all. Accidents are never a planned event with or without brake assist, stability control, traction control, etc. Crash ratings simply have to do with the outcome in the event of an accident and one should not gloss over them too much. I don't know the ratings for the vehicles mentioned above but have you ever seen what it takes to get a 3 star or 2 star rating?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » February 29th, 2012, 5:46 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:

I wasn't saying to ignore those features at all. Accidents are never a planned event with or without brake assist, stability control, traction control, etc. Crash ratings simply have to do with the outcome in the event of an accident and one should not gloss over them too much. I don't know the ratings for the vehicles mentioned above but have you ever seen what it takes to get a 3 star or 2 star rating?

Yes my friend I have. I also understand your point fully.

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » February 29th, 2012, 10:00 pm

@ Stephon
I did have a look at the captiva in the showroom.

At $325,000, it could be the most affordable of the 7 seater SUVs. The interior seemed a bit narrow for my needs.

The deal breaker (for me) was the lack of a/c vents for the last row. My recollection is that the only A/C vents were in the front dash so that's a long way for cold air to travel to get to the last row of seats in a car full of people.

To be fair I didn't drive it so who knows...

But that $325K price tag comes with 2 years free service (fluids, filters and labour)!

So in the land of the stealerships, that's actually not too shabby.

As it is, I looking for an SUV to beat a Hyundai H1 BUS (12 seater).

I was quoted $310,000 (licensed as P) for the "high spec" bus which translates to front driver and passenger air bags. :roll:

Not much else safety wise to mention.

And the H1 needs Heavy T. Big size = roomy but parking in mall might be a beotch.

If i had the means I'd probably close my eyes and buy a Prado but at more than $700k and $800K. :drinking:

aidan

Postby aidan » February 29th, 2012, 11:30 pm

Anyone has the pricing info on the Ford everest?

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » March 1st, 2012, 12:40 am

nemesis wrote:So a few of the new 328's down here. After the launch of the model they'll be coming as 320's.
328's going for 585k in the spec they are here. I find dat kinda high.

Oh, and moonroofs rule.

That price is most certainly too high for an entry level BMW. The 320i's will be underpowered imo and not worth their sale price as well. BMW will be up for some stiff competition.

Anyways no need to rush for the new model. I'll stick with my e90 until they iron out the bugs and buy the LCI F30 in 2015. Also keep in mind the M-Sport F30 will be out late this year as well so that would cost even more :shock:

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » March 1st, 2012, 12:41 am

RR1507 wrote:How much these going for?

BMW 525i M Sport

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 1st, 2012, 11:26 am

noshownogo wrote:that Zetec 1.6 is so low output, it's like two decade old tech

Fuh real ... when I test drove one I nearly pull aside and tell the rep drive it back to the showroom. Performance was pathetic to say the least.

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » March 1st, 2012, 2:09 pm

Anyone has the pricing info on the Ford everest?

Here you go:

Faxed as of 28-2-2012

Some of the specs are difficult to read.

basic: $349,000
Seven seater: $380,000
Seven seater with wood grain/leather package "Summit of the Americas?": $475,000

Trying to get a test drive, will report when i do.

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » March 1st, 2012, 2:33 pm

Sorry to repeat what others are saying but...

I can't help but think what else $300,000. or $500,000 or $850,000. can buy.

A small piece of land. A lot of land with okay location.

$850K gets you a HOUSE, 3 bedrooms. Not "prestige" location. But what will be worth more in 5 years, the car or... :agrue:

:drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

Okay back on topic.

New 2012 Kia Soul 1.6L Gas (PK1)

$175,971.15

Push to start. Fit and finish is good. Nothing special but for the price "it drive nice"

Was told the Kia Sorento (7 seater) SUV is only available in GAS, 2 L for about $375,000. But SS looking to bring Diesel June of this year???

In other news, I think banks are very eager to lend (in general and for NEW cars) so if they are making you an offer (so they figure you can pay them back), push for a better deal... :twisted:

Postby Stephon. » March 1st, 2012, 2:45 pm

blue9266 wrote:In other news, I think banks are very eager to lend (in general and for NEW cars) so if they are making you an offer (so they figure you can pay them back), push for a better deal... :twisted:

Banks are generally laid back when it comes to lending for cars (excluding scotia) - Once you as the person know what you're getting yourself into.

Postby cinco » March 1st, 2012, 3:08 pm

banks are lending on cars because it is the fastest turn over loan they have
6 years or less plus they have your car as collateral

dbhertz

Postby dbhertz » March 1st, 2012, 10:12 pm

BMW 520i - 675K
Merc E250 - 575K
Audi A6 - 575K

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » March 2nd, 2012, 5:48 pm

dbhertz wrote:BMW 520i - 675K
Merc E250 - 575K
Audi A6 - 575K

That's a 520i with the Msport package eh, not a regular 520i. Still rediculous pricing though.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 2nd, 2012, 6:47 pm

dbhertz wrote:BMW 520i - 675K
Merc E250 - 575K
Audi A6 - 575K

I thought the E series was more expensive?? :| No wonder it so prevalent..kinda. Best money for a mid size euro sedan there! ( Well apart from the Passat)

So How much for a C200?

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » March 4th, 2012, 9:05 pm

nice info.

what is the comparison for dealership service/insurance costs for the vast array of vehicles available to us? i assume euro cars are more pricey to service and insure. i heard mazda 3 servicing can be close to $1500 per visit.

and guys, which makes most sense, payment in full cash or installments? eg does the "in one" package make sense to take if one can pay in full cash?

Postby Habit7 » March 8th, 2012, 3:54 pm

Lifestyle Motors struggling to finish their Porsche showroom, they don't look like sales struggling though

Postby noshownogo » March 8th, 2012, 4:09 pm

I really don't expect the new Swift Sport to sell as well, it's priced too high imo. I expected it to cost more than the outgoing but no a near $30,000 lift, for what, an extra gear and push button start :?

Postby Stephon. » March 8th, 2012, 4:19 pm

People said the new Mazda 3 was priced too high as well and they're selling lol

Postby equipped2ripp » March 9th, 2012, 3:36 am

Trinidadians would complain about price, yet they still buy. The Swift Sport would still sell... as would the Honda Civic, which is close to $250K now.