T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

greggle71

Re: T&T OFFICIAL new vehicle prices and discussion thread

Postby greggle71 » July 15th, 2018, 7:26 pm

The Rush looks attractive but that power train with load trying to accelerate or do hills may be a deal breaker

SidZ

Postby SidZ » July 18th, 2018, 12:05 pm

greggle71 wrote:The Rush looks attractive but that power train with load trying to accelerate or do hills may be a deal breaker

I disagree, even if you are climbing steep hills it wont be bad unless you planning on driving on an unpaved hill. In years gone by, a 1.3 12v tercel auto too, with 5 hard back men went up d steep road heading up holy cross without too much pressure.

I have driven the 1st gen terios with the 1.3, a rental and was impressed. I even used the 4wd on dead sand and no issues. I drove up to 150km on Shirvan rd and it still had more.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 18th, 2018, 11:31 pm

SidZ wrote:
greggle71 wrote:The Rush looks attractive but that power train with load trying to accelerate or do hills may be a deal breaker

I disagree, even if you are climbing steep hills it wont be bad unless you planning on driving on an unpaved hill. In years gone by, a 1.3 12v tercel auto too, with 5 hard back men went up d steep road heading up holy cross without too much pressure.

I have driven the 1st gen terios with the 1.3, a rental and was impressed. I even used the 4wd on dead sand and no issues. I drove up to 150km on Shirvan rd and it still had more.

Non of these vehicles you mentioned are medium to large SUV's that can carry 7 passengers ....

My brothers FU honda fit 1.3 does fine with 1-2 passengers but struggles AF on steep hills with 4-5 passengers.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 19th, 2018, 1:05 am

drchaos wrote:
SidZ wrote:

Non of these vehicles you mentioned are medium to large SUV's that can carry 7 passengers ....

My brothers FU honda fit 1.3 does fine with 1-2 passengers but struggles AF on steep hills with 4-5 passengers.

I second the 1.3 Honda FIT being strained with 4-5 passengers. From experience.

Top speed isnt the issue and irrelevant for most people. Same goes for the 4WD capability.

Either way, Toyota sheep will think it's the best thing ever and buy it regardless.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 22nd, 2018, 4:16 pm

I would never buy it but seems it will disrupt the market. Two shipments already sold out. Will take sales from qashqai, HRV, Creta and juke.

Postby Gladiator » July 22nd, 2018, 10:26 pm

drchaos wrote:I would never buy it but seems it will disrupt the market. Two shipments already sold out. Will take sales from qashqai, HRV, Creta and juke.

That "shipment sold out" and "shipment booked out" by Toyota is a clever marketing trick to make you desire their sheitboxes even more.... if the salesman realize you serious, one magically appears available.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 23rd, 2018, 4:12 pm

The 2018 Toyota Prius C 1.5 hybrid fully loaded (leather, 6 airbags, push start, alloy rims, led lights, steering controls etc etc) arrived for $175k. You can get yours today and who knows you may get a discount :)

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 23rd, 2018, 5:16 pm

agent007 wrote:The 2018 Toyota Prius C 1.5 hybrid fully loaded (leather, 6 airbags, push start, alloy rims, led lights, steering controls etc etc) arrived for $175k. You can get yours today and who knows you may get a discount :)

Nice looking car but I am not sure how well it is going to do ... You have 3-4 year old foreign used Aquas (which is the same car) for 60 to 70K on the road. Foreign new will be around 150K.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 23rd, 2018, 5:23 pm

True. I was thinking, Massy sells those Indian made versas for around 159k and those are taxed duty, mvt and vat yet the prius c is totally tax free but yet it's 175k. The Agya1.0 and spark 1.4 are 125 and 130k respectively. I'm thinking little Prius C should be 150k at most knowing fully well that they can still sell it at 120k and make a profit or maybe not.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 23rd, 2018, 6:54 pm

agent007 wrote:True. I was thinking, Massy sells those Indian made versas for around 159k and those are taxed duty, mvt and vat yet the prius c is totally tax free but yet it's 175k. The Agya1.0 and spark 1.4 are 125 and 130k respectively. I'm thinking little Prius C should be 150k at most knowing fully well that they can still sell it at 120k and make a profit or maybe not.

I have heard vehicle mark-ups can be as high as 60% here in T&T on regular cars ... I shudder to think what mark-up they would be making off these tax free vehicles that still seem to cost so much.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » July 23rd, 2018, 6:58 pm

drchaos wrote:I would never buy it but seems it will disrupt the market. Two shipments already sold out. Will take sales from qashqai, HRV, Creta and juke.

Two shipments already? Wow!

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 23rd, 2018, 7:03 pm

Agreed. A very senior executive mentioned in the Massy Holdings Annual Report that the Motors division enjoys healthy profit margins. They were drawing reference to their acquired south American dealership that enjoy smaller margins. I know what I'm about to say might affect future product and Christmas party invites but there are only 6 authorized new vehicle groups here in TT and I fear that there is much collusion. It's like in terms of vehicle sales, we are all hoodwinked and brainwashed into buying a new vehicle and these dealers have the banks to help make that happen by offering as low as 0% down and up to 8 years to pay back. No wonder why PDT is almost over. Sometimes I wonder if a wise decision is to choose thay new vehicle very wisely and keep it for years upon years to come so that the less you can patronize a "stealership" it's the more resources you can gather to invest in real estate and other investments that appreciate vs something that depreciates.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 24th, 2018, 11:10 am

agent007 wrote:Agreed. A very senior executive mentioned in the Massy Holdings Annual Report that the Motors division enjoys healthy profit margins. They were drawing reference to their acquired south American dealership that enjoy smaller margins. I know what I'm about to say might affect future product and Christmas party invites but there are only 6 authorized new vehicle groups here in TT and I fear that there is much collusion. It's like in terms of vehicle sales, we are all hoodwinked and brainwashed into buying a new vehicle and these dealers have the banks to help make that happen by offering as low as 0% down and up to 8 years to pay back. No wonder why PDT is almost over. Sometimes I wonder if a wise decision is to choose thay new vehicle very wisely and keep it for years upon years to come so that the less you can patronize a "stealership" it's the more resources you can gather to invest in real estate and other investments that appreciate vs something that depreciates.

Yes you are right, there is an automotive dealers association and they meet regularly. Just look at what the bankers association did for consumers.

Thanks for you honesty and insight!

rebound

Postby rebound » July 24th, 2018, 1:11 pm

Its here..
IMG-20180717-WA0028.jpeg
IMG-20180717-WA0027.jpeg
IMG-20180717-WA0030.jpeg
IMG-20180717-WA0029.jpeg

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 24th, 2018, 2:58 pm

Looks good

Postby RedVEVO » July 24th, 2018, 3:54 pm

PariaMan wrote:Looks good

What SUV is that above ?

Toyota ?

Price ?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 24th, 2018, 4:08 pm

Looks weird from the side

rebound

Postby rebound » July 24th, 2018, 4:54 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

What SUV is that above ?

Toyota ?

Price ?
Thats the Rush...249k introductory price.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » July 24th, 2018, 4:56 pm

2019 Volvo XC60
T5 Momentum $616,000
T5 R-Design $689,900
T6 R-Design $705,000

Postby Dave » July 24th, 2018, 9:36 pm

In this day they still importing vehicles without radios lol.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » July 24th, 2018, 9:59 pm

rebound wrote:Its here..
IMG-20180717-WA0029.jpeg
IMG-20180717-WA0030.jpeg
IMG-20180717-WA0027.jpeg
IMG-20180717-WA0028.jpeg

That side profile

Form really follows function.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 24th, 2018, 11:58 pm

4Motion wrote:2019 Volvo XC60
T5 Momentum $616,000
T5 R-Design $689,900
T6 R-Design $705,000

Hopefully consumers will look at the XC60's competition and realize that there is better value out there so Massy can bring their prices back to reality.

Base Audi Q5 is over 130k cheaper , Base BMW X3 and Merc GLC is around 85K cheaper and the BMW comes with a service package.

Postby RedVEVO » July 25th, 2018, 12:26 am

rebound wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

What SUV is that above ?

Toyota ?

Price ?
Thats the Rush...249k introductory price.

Thanks ..

A baby Fortuner :D

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » July 25th, 2018, 1:40 pm

Volvo needs to be realistic in this market..great cars but price is way off..new gla coming out soon and the new x3 better value over xc60. The xc40 starts at 525k!

car

Postby car » July 25th, 2018, 1:50 pm

Dave wrote:In this day they still importing vehicles without radios lol.

There is a reason they do that. First, they save a lot as these vehicle usually come with premium audio system and you can make adjustment of many accessories with it. Eg. The Toyota’s comes with the entune system that can control the door lock behavior. You can enable/disable speed locks, change number of flashes for indicators when u switch lane. Some can even do diagnostics of the vehicle. Etc.
Now with a basic radio that can’t communicate with the vehicle accessories so you are forced to take it to the car dealership to make a change or do a diagnostics to the system. All this is a money making tactic by the dealership.
Plus that can give they partner a big contract to install a radio with reverse camera and every body except the buyer eat ah food.

car

Postby car » July 25th, 2018, 1:55 pm

That last I heard about the rush is that license office did not want to license it and that they claimed the body was not wide enough to be a 7 seater vehicle. I don’t know if that make sense.
But every body suppose to get back their money and the shipment was suppose to go to another country. Even the launch at Hilton was cancelled.

Now seeing the vehicle out of the port it seems that they got through with the licensing. We’ll see how it goes.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 25th, 2018, 2:20 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Volvo needs to be realistic in this market..great cars but price is way off..new gla coming out soon and the new x3 better value over xc60. The xc40 starts at 525k!

Doh Blame Volvo ... Massy is the clowns that making jokes with the pricing.

4Motion

T&T OFFICIAL new vehicle prices and discussion thread

Postby 4Motion » July 25th, 2018, 2:43 pm

Some more prices.

2018 Audi Q5 2.0T Quattro
- Comfort Package: $560,000
- Design Package: $630,000

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » July 25th, 2018, 2:47 pm

Yea I understand that. I was actually considering the xc40 but at that price prob better to go x3 or c180. Ideally I would prefer a hybrid a d the mold hybrid 2018 c180 is appealing

Postby j.o.e » July 25th, 2018, 6:46 pm

car wrote:That last I heard about the rush is that license office did not want to license it and that they claimed the body was not wide enough to be a 7 seater vehicle. I don’t know if that make sense.
But every body suppose to get back their money and the shipment was suppose to go to another country. Even the launch at Hilton was cancelled.

Now seeing the vehicle out of the port it seems that they got through with the licensing. We’ll see how it goes.

Licensing have all that weight ?