T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

PariaMan

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby PariaMan » October 19th, 2018, 3:31 pm

Yes but not reverse camera

That is a plus and cannot be disputed

Even in the states all new cars from June must have it installed

Emergency braking is also becoming very popular and I can not see how this can be distracting

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » October 19th, 2018, 3:42 pm

supernedd wrote:i think d most annoying feature for most folks .is d auto stop n start . by d traffic lights. lol

It is! I have a BMW with it, and it was malfunctioning and when it would auto stop it wouldn’t auto start. And otherwise I found the climate control system wouldn’t cool well during auto stop. So very much dislike.

carluva

Postby carluva » October 19th, 2018, 3:45 pm

Hear this, before you install the reverse cam on the Hilux, how u used to make out reversing on hill? Or what would you have done to ensure you don't back up on someone?

Certain features can't be disputed. ABS, EBF, air bags and other safety features.

But reverse camera, lane departure, Emergency braking and luxuries that, TO ME, are not beneficial as I take my time driving. Tell me how many of those gonna prevent another idiot crashing into you? The reactive safety features is what keeps u in check.

our Fortuner still has rear drums. No problem for me cause we know how to drive the vehicle and the limits in the braking. And we take our time.

How each of you made out long time in Yuh B13 or Almera?

IMO, all those features are just an added cost, another thing to go wrong but most importantly, something that gives you a false sense of safety while driving and could potentially lead to some, not all, becoming complacent and lax with proper driving.

And yes, u cud argue to get with the tech, but there are other techs that are more important in a car. It's not being old or ancient, it's just getting money's worth for what we deem necessary and suitable for how we drive.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 19th, 2018, 3:49 pm

Made out by 4 accidents reversing

None since

A lot of damaged bumpers can be observed on pickups

Lots of children was getting killed by SUV reversing

Also I believe that with automatic braking there usually is a reduction in a certain type of accidents

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 19th, 2018, 3:52 pm

While you may be an excellent driver I for one would have been glad if the 3 people than ran into my van had emergency braking

carluva

Postby carluva » October 19th, 2018, 3:53 pm

Well you are an exception then whose case is fit for the reverse camera.

Reversing over something or worse yet someone is negligence. The driver did not do the checks before reversing and exercise the diligence while reversing.

carluva

Postby carluva » October 19th, 2018, 3:55 pm

How many acidents u been in? 4 hits with reversing and 3 back collisions?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 19th, 2018, 3:59 pm

That's the point if the law is passed and more cars have reverse cameras and auto braking it will make the road generally safer for everyone

So all will benefit

That's the reason why the law was passed in the states for all cars to have reverse cameras

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 19th, 2018, 3:59 pm

carluva wrote:Hear this, before you install the reverse cam on the Hilux, how u used to make out reversing on hill? Or what would you have done to ensure you don't back up on someone?

Certain features can't be disputed. ABS, EBF, air bags and other safety features.

But reverse camera, lane departure, Emergency braking and luxuries that, TO ME, are not beneficial as I take my time driving. Tell me how many of those gonna prevent another idiot crashing into you? The reactive safety features is what keeps u in check.

our Fortuner still has rear drums. No problem for me cause we know how to drive the vehicle and the limits in the braking. And we take our time.

IMO, all those features are just an added cost, another thing to go wrong but most importantly, something that gives you a false sense of safety while driving and could potentially lead to some, not all, becoming complacent and lax with proper driving.

And yes, u cud argue to get with the tech, but there are other techs that are more important in a car. It's not being old or ancient, it's just getting money's worth for what we deem necessary and suitable for how we drive.
nah man . with these small parking spaces n novice drivers . reverse cameras should be mandatory .. any other features kinda iffy . but nah reverse camera does help out in a sticky situation. especially in a parking lot .when people park so near.. u have to inch out

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 19th, 2018, 4:20 pm

supernedd wrote:
carluva wrote:Hear this, before you install the reverse cam on the Hilux, how u used to make out reversing on hill? Or what would you have done to ensure you don't back up on someone?

nah man . with these small parking spaces n novice drivers . reverse cameras should be mandatory .. any other features kinda iffy . but nah reverse camera does help out in a sticky situation. especially in a parking lot .when people park so near.. u have to inch out
Exactly you might be a safe driver but if another driver has it he may not hit you

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 19th, 2018, 4:50 pm

carluva wrote:As I said different strokes for different folks. If that's our preference so be it but we're not old. I'm basically ur age jhonnie blu

Continuing to agree with you Scotty buttons
My medical today told me otherwise ROFL. But seriously, all those aids are there to assist. If you use them or not it's up to user. But we should be glad it's included. It pushes the development of safety features and should be standard across the range.
At the end if the day, safety development post crash has come a long way to minimize injury and death. These driver aids are just a engineered barrier that manufacturersnare adding to prevent an accident from occuring in the first place.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 19th, 2018, 4:52 pm

On another note, has anyone tried the vovlo xc60?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 19th, 2018, 5:50 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:On another note, has anyone tried the vovlo xc60?

It sure is gorgeous to look at

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 19th, 2018, 9:23 pm

It is funny to think that the effectiveness of all these technologies can be significantly reduced by poor tyres
I wouldn't put it past Trini to buy cheap tyres because they have all these technologies
Last edited by kamakazi on October 19th, 2018, 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » October 19th, 2018, 9:36 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:On another note, has anyone tried the vovlo xc60?

It sure is gorgeous to look at

Even more gorgeous to sit in. Luxury galore

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 19th, 2018, 9:38 pm

So worth it over a c class? I'm trying to figure out what to do with next

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 21st, 2018, 10:01 am

jhonnieblue wrote:So worth it over a c class? I'm trying to figure out what to do with next

Loads better.

Not sure about reliability and longevity though.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 22nd, 2018, 10:57 am

kamakazi wrote:It is funny to think that the effectiveness of all these technologies can be significantly reduced by poor tyres
I wouldn't put it past Trini to buy cheap tyres because they have all these technologies
u saying cheap tyres ... when the sellers selling us some overpriced tyres . forcing some of us to go for d cheaper brand at still a high price

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 22nd, 2018, 11:35 am

supernedd wrote:
kamakazi wrote:It is funny to think that the effectiveness of all these technologies can be significantly reduced by poor tyres
u saying cheap tyres ... when the sellers selling us some overpriced tyres . forcing some of us to go for d cheaper brand at still a high price
If you could put a price on your life... Let me know... Cause it could be that or the little money you save

Postby j.o.e » October 23rd, 2018, 12:10 am

Saw a Mitsubishi suv being teased on FB. Looked small

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 23rd, 2018, 6:45 am

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 23rd, 2018, 7:31 am

j.o.e wrote:Saw a Mitsubishi suv being teased on FB. Looked small

Looked like the Eclipse

Postby RedVEVO » November 2nd, 2018, 11:01 pm

Any reviews from an actual owner ?

Anybody buy a Cerato ? Leather seats ?

Price really good .

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 3rd, 2018, 11:25 pm

Hey guys, in a few weeks, the 2019 Accent and Elantra will arrive at local showrooms. No confirmation on the Sonata or Santa Fe as yet but will keep you all posted

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » November 5th, 2018, 3:56 pm

I’m so watching the 2019 corolla hatchback. Totally sold into the marketing

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 11th, 2018, 1:29 pm

Animal Pak wrote:I’m so watching the 2019 corolla hatchback. Totally sold into the marketing

Just wait to see if you are sold on TTTL pricing for that car when it lands :lol:

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 13th, 2018, 2:20 pm

Hyundai has been updated guys:

H100 2.6: $149k diesel (2018)
Accent 1.6: $179k (2019)
Ioniq hybrid 1.6: $189k; $215k (2018)
Ioniq EV: $240k; $270k (2018)
Creta 1.6: $185k; $199k; $219k (2019)
Tucson 1.6T: $265k; $279k; $339k (2018)
Santa FE: $600k 2.4 petrol; $629k 2.2 diesel (2019)
No info on the Veloster 2019, Elantra 2019 and Sonata 2018 yet. I'll update when I get word..

Also, the 2019 VW Tiguan R-Line 2.0T 4MOTION has arrived for $490k

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » November 13th, 2018, 9:45 pm

Some of those prices are crazy...who will realistically buy an accent or creta when an ioniq is just 10k more?
The base and middle tucsons seem like the only decent value for money there.
At 600k, why would anyone buy a Santa Fe? That’s x3/q5/glc territory

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 13th, 2018, 10:55 pm

worksux101 wrote:Some of those prices are crazy...who will realistically buy an accent or creta when an ioniq is just 10k more?
The base and middle tucsons seem like the only decent value for money there.
At 600k, why would anyone buy a Santa Fe? That’s x3/q5/glc territory
For real eh . But u know we gullible . People buying

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 14th, 2018, 7:01 am

Animal Pak wrote:I’m so watching the 2019 corolla hatchback. Totally sold into the marketing
Would they bring this to Trinidad?.