T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

drchaos

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby drchaos » February 8th, 2017, 8:09 pm

Hyundai Ioniq hybrid almost here and they have prices
Base model is 169 and high end is 209

Electric model will land around the end of the year.

And the Talk is battery warranty might be pretty good! Rumor has it that may be 6-8 years.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 9th, 2017, 1:30 pm

Honda prices:

Fit
$175k
$185k Sport

City 1.5 CNG
$160k

Civic
$235k 1.6
$275k 1.5t leather, sunroof

Accord 2.0
$379k leather, sunroof

Hrv 1.8
$239 fabric
$269 leather

Crv 2.0
$339k fabric
$379k fabric 4wd
$395k leather, sunroof

Hyundai Tucson:
$255k gl 2.0
$260k gl 1.6t
$295k gls mid spec 2.0 4wd
$309k gl 2.0 crdi 4wd
$330k gls 2.0 fully loaded
$335k gls mid spec 2.0 crdi 4wd
$345k gls fully loaded 2.0 4wd
$355k gls fully loaded 1.6t 4wd
$360k gls fully loaded 2.0 crdi
$370k gls fully loaded 2.0 crdi 4wd

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 10th, 2017, 7:07 pm

Woooooi!
Massy own dealerships in Bogota, Cali and Medellin now. Dem jetta's that was jam packed with drugs starting to make sense now.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170209 ... o-colombia

Postby Gladiator » February 14th, 2017, 9:25 pm

Any reviews on the Hyundai TUCSON 1.6T with the DCT. I am reading horror stories online from the US. Any local problems? Have the issues been sorted out?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 15th, 2017, 12:10 pm

1.5 Civic Turbo Update
MPG is amazing 4.7L/100KM, just do a sando to chaguanas run which is 50 MPG(US) or 60 MPG(UK)
A/C on but car was in Eco mode and average speed 80 to 95 KPH

bess almera

Postby bess almera » February 20th, 2017, 4:27 pm

Looks decent-ish. The rims fail though.

20170220_072113.jpg

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 20th, 2017, 6:29 pm

Post ah pic of the rims nah.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » February 24th, 2017, 8:54 pm

Specs on the ioniq are excellent for the price

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 24th, 2017, 11:38 pm

Only problem is that dry 6 speed dual clutch set-up that every manufacturer has been ketching their a$$ses with. Including Hyundai with it in the tucson turbo, We really have to wait and see what the reliability of that unit would be.

Postby Gladiator » February 25th, 2017, 3:45 pm

drchaos wrote:Only problem is that dry 6 speed dual clutch set-up that every manufacturer has been ketching their a$$ses with. Including Hyundai with it in the tucson turbo, We really have to wait and see what the reliability of that unit would be.

Any local issues with the DCT Tucson that you know of?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 25th, 2017, 4:27 pm

None thus far, early days tho and only a few on the road. We may never see the same problems the states had but its very new tech and very difficult technology to get right.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 7th, 2017, 9:43 am

Did some more reading on the hyundai DCT issues. Seemed to be isolated to the states and was a software glitch which was rectified late last year via a hushed recall. Asia and Oceania countries seem to not be affected and they get more or less the same spec cars as we do.

The Low end Ioniq seems pretty well equipped for 169K. The SE Model includes
Push button start
Reverse sensors
Reverse camera
Parking sensors
Daytime running lights
7 airbags
Wireless phone charger
Bluetooth
Audio control
Immobilizer
Keyless entry/burglar alarm
from Hyundai TT facebook page

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 7th, 2017, 11:24 am

I went to see the Ioniq.
From the outside the only thing that tells them apart is the sunroof and the LED tail lights.

Same rims and colour options in both models.

Things I noticed in the top model that the other didn't have:
Ventilated seats
Leather Seats
Sunroof
Auto wipers
LED Tail lights

Outside of that they both have great stuff like:
Auto lights
Cruise control
bluetooth

and all the other listed things above.

Didn't have the time to take it for a test drive, but honestly, that is, in my opinion, without a doubt, the best new car you can buy for less than $200,000 in this country.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 7th, 2017, 12:24 pm

Does the high end model come with that small screen as well? Also does it come with android auto or carplay?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 7th, 2017, 1:59 pm

Well I was so flooded with customer service it was too overwhelming to really get all that info [/sarcasm]

The battery was either dead/disconnected on the units when I saw them so I can't comment on the features but they both had the same screen.

Because of the proportions the engine bay seems really wide and it's very tightly packed.

Rear passenger seating was not very spacious. I'm 5'9 and my legs barely had room. Worse yet the back of the driver and passenger seats aren't fabric or even sponge... they're a really hard plastic that's harsh to the knees. Thing is, I couldn't move the electric seats in the top model and didn't check the base model to see if the seats were manual.

Not much of a drawback to me personally as my kids aren't tall enough for this to be a hassle lol.

noobie

Postby noobie » March 8th, 2017, 9:46 am

Seeing updated pricing in the body of the thread, but the first post still seems to have old prices?
Is that first post being updated as prices change, or do we have to scroll through the thread to find the latest pricing?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 8th, 2017, 10:47 am

I think the cars probably in dealership/showroom mode. Its a low power mode the car is in till delivery. It limits battery power draw so as to keep the battery in good shape while its being transported.
Ioniq also does not have a lead acid battery like the prius. Draws all the power from the Li ion batteries.
So no need to ever have to change a battery.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 8th, 2017, 10:53 am

I read somewhere that they will have an upgraded electric on that has maybe a range of 250 miles coming out late next year. This will exceed the 125 range of the electric one coming out this year. I could get behind that one

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 8th, 2017, 1:39 pm

That will be expensive! probably in the mid 300k range ... The 130 mile electric one will be priced between 250 to 300k.

Plus why you need more than 200km range on this island? Also massy gonna put fast chargers everywhere.

POS to Sando is only about 100 km to and from.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 8th, 2017, 2:23 pm

Hyundai's product planners seem to have a bit of an issue on their hands.

The South Korean automaker is set to launch an all-electric version of its Ioniq hatchback, alongside the conventional hybrid and plug-in hybrid versions of that model.

Called the Ioniq Electric, it has an estimated driving range of 110 miles EPA-rated range of 124 miles.

DON'T MISS: 2017 Hyundai Ioniq product team discusses U.S. hybrid, electric markets

Unfortunately, the Ioniq Electric will arrive just as an anticipated new crop of mainstream-priced 200-mile electric cars—led by the 238-mile 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV—will start to appear at U.S. dealers.

But Hyundai is already planning a response to that trend, it seems.

It plans to launch a version of the Ioniq Electric with at least 200 miles of range by 2018, reports industry trade journal Automotive News (subscription required).

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 8th, 2017, 2:29 pm

Not sure how you figure out that pricing because in England the Hybrid is 19,000 pounds while the electric is 23,000 pounds.

I expect that the electric to come in locally at about 200,000

Any price for the 200 mile ranger is just speculation

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 8th, 2017, 3:06 pm

The Ioniq electric is significantly cheaper than the bolt and the model 3 hence the lower range. That's how they marketing it.

Also the UK gives a grant of 4500 pounds back on electric cars. So that 23K price is after the grant ...

So the real price in the UK 27500 pounds. Which means a price around 280 here in T&T cause massy have too add their significant mark up. They will want to make a higher profit due to the fact that they will not be making much off you for the maintenance.
Last edited by drchaos on March 8th, 2017, 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 8th, 2017, 3:10 pm

Yes but the hybrid sells for 19000 pounds while in Trinidad the price is 169000. I do not think it will be that high

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 8th, 2017, 3:14 pm

They might probably include charging at their charge points at that price and a step 2 charger for your house installed as well. But who knows .....

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 8th, 2017, 5:04 pm

drchaos wrote:I think the cars probably in dealership/showroom mode. Its a low power mode the car is in till delivery. It limits battery power draw so as to keep the battery in good shape while its being transported.
Ioniq also does not have a lead acid battery like the prius. Draws all the power from the Li ion batteries.
So no need to ever have to change a battery.

Well until the lithium battery decides to call it quits...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 8th, 2017, 5:57 pm

In other countries they are giving lifetime warranties on the batteries. It is only a matter of time before it is generally accepted that electric vehicles are just better than IC vehicles

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 8th, 2017, 6:05 pm

My main concern is how those batteries will stand up to our hot conditions. The nissan leaf had issues in hotter parts of the states with batteries degrading to fast due to the heat. Lets hope Hyundai put adequate cooling systems, from reading it looks like they went with a air cooling system, tesla uses a liquid cooled set up.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 8th, 2017, 6:21 pm

Quote from hybridcars.com

“Personally, I think there’s much less to worry about with EV battery longevity than there is with the volatile global oil market. We’re always one big storm, one terrorist attack, one surprise announcement from an oil dictator away from $8/gallon gas and rationing. I know the cost of electricity won’t suddenly double overnight,” said Saxton. “For most people, by the time their battery pack has lost significant capacity, they will have saved more than enough in gasoline costs to cover any associated loss in value.”

In addition in Trinidad we pay no taxes in electric vehicles which could be a saving of more than 30000. Also our electricity is cheap and liquid fuel prices have been rising

To me it is a no brainer

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 8th, 2017, 7:03 pm

Just remember the government plans on raising electricity prices very soon as well, but I hear yuh. Maintenance and fuel savings would be significant.

But it would suck if you buy a car with a battery rated at 130 miles and in 6 months after purchase you lose 30% capacity due to the heat degradation. I say wait a 2 years before buying. Even if the warranty high, dealing with the dealerships with warranty work in T&T is pressure.

Postby RedVEVO » March 8th, 2017, 9:07 pm

Amarok 4x4 on sale $299K . It was $350K .
Amarok 4x2 $239K. It was $260K

German engineering .

You can get bed liner, side steps etc. Biggest tray in TT ! Double turbo etc.
It drives like a car when the tray is empty . No side curtains in back though.
Sleek looking .

All international reviews gives it a high rating . Some TT mechanics are saying " no issues "

But not seeing many on the road.