T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Kronik

Re: RE: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Kronik » September 1st, 2016, 11:51 am

agent007 wrote:All of you all are awesome and thanks for the constructive input. I failed to mention that the base 3 series and a base c class are more expensive than the sonata/optima by $87k and $88k respectively. Unfortunately I cannot reach that far at this time. Thus far I think it's a split on opinion for the optima vs sonata even with the responses I got so far lol. Sonata for more mature buyer and optima for the younger buyer I guess.

Some of you all would not believe this but there is an ultra basic c180. If you want a fully loaded c180 with AMG sports kit prepare to spend $500k. This you get full leather, panoramic roof, seat warmers and coolers, lots of tech and electronic equipment not to mention the AMG signature on the windshield, huge rotors and AMG rims with xenon and led lights etc etc. If you want 16" rims, fabric seats, halogen headlights and a lot less ( I mean a lot less) equipment well that model starts at $380k

Are some of you all willing to spend $88k more on a base c180?

When I checked out all the features and specs of the optima and sonata, I decided on the optima. The driving assist features are awesome, especially the autonomous emergency braking. The automatic brake function would be very handy for traffic situations. Also in the US, it is ranked very high (yes I know it's not the same engine, but overall it's the same features).

For the price between both, MY opinion is the optima gets the win, plus there are some nice aftermarket accessories for it.

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Dave » September 1st, 2016, 12:38 pm

Now all the talk about European cars and then price....what about the cost of servicing these cars? Shouldn't one also consider these costs?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 1st, 2016, 12:52 pm

Dave wrote:Now all the talk about European cars and then price....what about the cost of servicing these cars? Shouldn't one also consider these costs?

Typical Trinidadian mentality is to only look at the capital cost of an asset and not the life cycle cost.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 1st, 2016, 12:57 pm

BMW's tend to have a 5 year service plan and 5 year warranty all in your capital cost.

Postby Dave » September 1st, 2016, 1:25 pm

I always put cart before horse and then badman doh service at the dealer either lol

scotty_buttons

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby scotty_buttons » September 1st, 2016, 1:31 pm

Dave wrote:Now all the talk about European cars and then price....what about the cost of servicing these cars? Shouldn't one also consider these costs?

First service with Sterling on a 2015 c180 AMG costed 1200-1300.
Honestly I haven't heard of that huge of a difference in servicing costs between euro and japs like Toyota and Honda. But guess I'll see for myself later on.

baigan

Postby baigan » September 1st, 2016, 1:51 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:

Honestly I haven't heard of that huge of a difference in servicing costs between euro and japs like Toyota and Honda. But guess I'll see for myself later on.

^ this

It's not a huge difference like others make it out to be lol
Esp for parts etc

Only time it's ever a huge difference is if you skip the dealer and go to some mechanic who'll say 'iza benz' and overcharge based on that lol

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 1st, 2016, 2:41 pm

When it's new service price is comparable..but keep it for more than two years and u better have deep pockets

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby cinco » September 1st, 2016, 3:01 pm

Nasrallah wrote:Walked into SS the other day and pointed to the fully loaded Mazda 3 and said I want that.....in manual.

Told them I have meh morney and I am willing to wait but...no.

Is there any firms out there besides pick-ups where you can get the manual version?
Say a manual elantra or civic..etc

Thanks

Manual swift and lancer are about yuh only choices outside of germans

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 1st, 2016, 3:48 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:

Well oil and filter is sort of a standard thing around the place ... What about OEM brake pads, injectors, filters, suspension parts?

I have heard they are way more expensive on the luxury german brands. What is your experience with this?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 1st, 2016, 4:57 pm

drchaos wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:

Well oil and filter is sort of a standard thing around the place ... What about OEM brake pads, injectors, filters, suspension parts?

I have heard they are way more expensive on the luxury german brands. What is your experience with this?

First Euro car here so no previous experience :lol:

But I researched these things early before purchasing and stuff like OEM brake pads and filters and suspension parts are either around the same price. Or, if they're significantly more expensive, owners told me they tend last way longer than the Japanese counterparts so price somewhat balanced off there.

Had air and oil filter changed in the first service and price was pretty decent on the receipt IMO. I'll continue to post my experience though.

What I did realize, from my research, is that after warranty period, is when service costs with the dealer tends to get a bit high. But once u order your parts online and have a decent mechanic with experience on euro cars, you should be fine. Costs should be similar to maintaining an Evo or STI at worst. Which I was fine with.
BMWs tend to be more expensive than the lot to maintain, especially post warranty period.

Postby Dave » September 1st, 2016, 5:07 pm

An evo is a cheap car to maintain if driven normally

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 1st, 2016, 5:43 pm

Sounds good then! So parts are really not that bad for the lux german brands.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 1st, 2016, 6:11 pm

Delete
Last edited by agent007 on September 21st, 2016, 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 1st, 2016, 7:10 pm

I'm guessing PCX... Agent007

While I love some euro vehicles...I will only consider one of there is a clutch pedal.

Regarding parts... Short of bringing it in yourself... There are very few places that have them available besides the dealer. Ausco and Erm come to mind. Our aftermarket is predominantly focused on Japanese vehicles.

Parts longevity can also be argued... All manufacturing worldwide seems to have gotten more cost effective, read cheap. There are very few who stick to quality over the price tag and While all vehicles are built to a pricetag I find the euro vehicles have fallen the furthest.

So the older Audi a4 1.8t as an example, no dipstick from factory... That is an option and it is an option that comes in plastic. Plastic that doesn't play to well with heat.

DIY cost on the hilux
46000Km - $8000 total cost in parts, oil, grease and tools.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 1st, 2016, 8:05 pm

agent007 wrote:One of our cars is a 2013 Chevrolet Cruze LT and I must say this is one beautiful compact car. Surprised all of us including family, friends, neighbors even co workers. It continues to give us solid ROI but there is no word on the arrival of the new model 2016/2017 Cruze nor it's bigger brother 2016 Malibu turbo. If they were available now and priced right then we would not have mind owning another GM product even though it was manufactured in South Korea and not Detroit. Anyway see breakdown below for the service costs:

1st service: $931.82 @ 7935kms
2nd: $1413.29
3rd: $2053.54
4th: $878.54
5th: $3459.14
6th: $888.03
7th: $3391.58
8th: $3252.43
9th: $3528.23
10th: $1154.37
11th: $2905.82
12th: $4807.58
13th: $1699.47
14th: $3168.56
Total: $33,532.40 @ 76,619kms or month 43 of ownership

Warranty issues:
1. Sunroof wind deflector replaced due to some cracks in the black hard plastic that got swollen
2. Steering wheel replaced due to minor peeling on the left
3. Coolant reservoir bottle cracked
4. Left side boot rubber replaced
5. Early detection of transmission failure which was replaced with a brand new upgraded replacement unit after 2.5 months of waiting (car was in company for that time) and was given a 2010 Suzuki Grand Vitara 2wd as a loaner for a few days
6. AC Delco battery failed in month 11 of ownership so LSM replaced it with a new battery called "Superior American" iirc
7. LSM damaged my oil pan so they replaced for free lol don't ask

Warranty issues list not in any particular order

Are anyone else willing to share their documented experience?

Interesting ... have a co worker who has had a tranny failure on her cruze as well. First misdiagnosed as an engine issue and then after work was started was told the transmission had to be replaced. Sadly happened to her 1 month after warranty was up so they tried to make her pay for the replacement transmission. But after some distress she got them to cover the costs.

Is this a common issue with the CRUZE?

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 1st, 2016, 8:37 pm

Delete
Last edited by agent007 on September 21st, 2016, 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Gladiator » September 1st, 2016, 8:53 pm

Believe it or not servicing on a MB is cheaper than a Toyota....

Postby Morpheus » September 1st, 2016, 11:12 pm

Genuine parts for the Japs ain't cheap. People are soo accustomed to used parts or new replacement parts that they use that to say servicing is cheaper...
Try buying genuine parts right through you'd be surprised at the cost.
Last edited by Morpheus on September 1st, 2016, 11:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 1st, 2016, 11:25 pm

Not even euro car owners use genuine all the time... Stay in ausco long enough and you will see personnel coming over to price parts for one of the nearby euro dealers.
The beauty of a Jap is the choice and availability. Who replaces everything in their car with new original...I like the ability to choose.
I can give you a long list but to keep it short, safety and headache items I purchase original... Everything else is aftermarket

neexis

Postby neexis » September 2nd, 2016, 6:31 am

agent007 wrote:One of our cars is a 2013 Chevrolet Cruze LT and I must say this is one beautiful compact car. Surprised all of us including family, friends, neighbors even co workers. It continues to give us solid ROI but there is no word on the arrival of the new model 2016/2017 Cruze nor it's bigger brother 2016 Malibu turbo. If they were available now and priced right then we would not have mind owning another GM product even though it was manufactured in South Korea and not Detroit. Anyway see breakdown below for the service costs:

What's the service intervals here??

Most of those service costs are much higher than what I paid for my VW when I serviced at BA for the first 2 years..
For 7, 8, 9, 12, 14, what kind of work are they doing on your vehicle that costs that much?!

Also, I've found it cheaper and easier to ship in parts or even get them from VW dealers in the US. With the exception of the air filter (K&N) and cabin air filter (OEM Mann) I've stuck with original VW parts - oil filters, brakes, tie rods, plastic door light that I broke, etc.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 2nd, 2016, 9:43 am

neexis wrote:

Most of those service costs are much higher than what I paid for my VW when I serviced at BA for the first 2 years..
For 7, 8, 9, 12, 14, what kind of work are they doing on your vehicle that costs that much?!

Also, I've found it cheaper and easier to ship in parts or even get them from VW dealers in the US. With the exception of the air filter (K&N) and cabin air filter (OEM Mann) I've stuck with original VW parts - oil filters, brakes, tie rods, plastic door light that I broke, etc.

Man U should see the prices for Toyota servicing. Especially coming to the end of warranty, Crossing 2000, close to 3000 easy for a RAV4

Postby *KRONIK* » September 2nd, 2016, 9:48 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
neexis wrote:

Man U should see the prices for Toyota servicing. Especially coming to the end of warranty, Crossing 2000, close to 3000 easy for a RAV4

Doh say that nah...
Was thinking about send my rav4 there for 100k km servicing

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 2nd, 2016, 9:51 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:
neexis wrote:

Doh say that nah...
Was thinking about send my rav4 there for 100k km servicing

Probably more too!

Cuz this was 10 years ago for the 06 RAV4 :lol:

Approaching 200k on mine. Found a good mech who used to work Toyota but has his own place a while now. Really honest guy and he often gets discounts from Toyota. Located south though.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 2nd, 2016, 9:53 am

Pm me the contact info plz....
I bought my rav4 used....so i now almost at the 100k km mark...
Will need a lot of work done on it
Timing belt/tensioner/water pump
Coolant
All drivetrain fluids
And whatever else is required

Postby cinco » September 2nd, 2016, 12:08 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Pm me the contact info plz....
Coolant
All drivetrain fluids

Why do you need a Toyota tech for hat tho? All those repairs are diy so the average mech will be able to perform it

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby *KRONIK* » September 2nd, 2016, 12:23 pm

cinco wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Pm me the contact info plz....
Coolant
All drivetrain fluids

Why do you need a Toyota tech for hat tho? All those repairs are diy so the average mech will be able to perform it

I kinda easing off my current mech as he is a bit too old school for me.

I would rather just have everything done at 1 location as i really dont have time to shop around for parts only to realise i got the wrong things, and go to 2-3 different persons for different things.
A toyota specific mech would be familiar with the vehicle and would know before hand where is best to shop for parts and would know if i have the correct items.

General maintenance stuff is diy for me:
Brake pads, brake fluid flush, spark plug change, air filter, a/c filter, bulb replacements.

I dont change my own oil as i dont have disposal facilities...so i would rather pay 40 dollars to have the old oil stored properly and disposed of properly.
My mech charges 20 but throws the oil in the drain...which i hate to see happen.

Postby cinco » September 2nd, 2016, 1:03 pm

Ah makes sense. To be honest these days I does collect my parts then go by a mech if I not gonna diy. Even them company techs does have problems with getting parts right

aidan

Postby aidan » September 2nd, 2016, 11:54 pm

Nasrallah wrote:Walked into SS the other day and pointed to the fully loaded Mazda 3 and said I want that.....in manual.

Is there any firms out there besides pick-ups where you can get the manual version?

Thanks

Recently drove a manual new Mazda3 abroad.....that is one fun car. well done mazda.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 3rd, 2016, 6:27 am

aidan wrote:

Thanks

Recently drove a manual new Mazda3 abroad.....that is one fun car. well done mazda.

Talking bout walking into SS......... Is that nasty looking building on Cipero Road their showroom/service area? Place looks old and run down.