T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

agent007

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby agent007 » February 4th, 2020, 8:51 pm

Nice review sharadu and congrats on the purchase.

The Santa Fe 2.4 7 seat awd @ $569k competes directly with the Sorento 2.4 for $479,286.89. The 2.2 CRDi awd 7 seat is $514,579.27. You are basically paying an additional $90k for the Hyundai which to me doesn’t make sense. I know overall it’s a newer design with some additional features and having awd etc but the $90k variance is huge.

The Chevy trailblazer 2.8 7 seat 4wd is $590k and a Fortuner starts at $825k. The Nissan Pathfinder 3.5 awd is now $795k and a Prado is million+.

But they finding owners right? So.....nothing will change

sharadu2

Postby sharadu2 » February 5th, 2020, 5:01 am

Agent007 thanks and yuh sure right they finding owners nothing will change.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 5th, 2020, 6:45 am

See are being raped and some people watching and encouraging the rapists

Postby Dizzy28 » February 5th, 2020, 10:29 am

agent007 wrote:Nice review sharadu and congrats on the purchase.

The Santa Fe 2.4 7 seat awd @ $569k competes directly with the Sorento 2.4 for $479,286.89. The 2.2 CRDi awd 7 seat is $514,579.27. You are basically paying an additional $90k for the Hyundai which to me doesn’t make sense. I know overall it’s a newer design with some additional features and having awd etc but the $90k variance is huge.

The Chevy trailblazer 2.8 7 seat 4wd is $590k and a Fortuner starts at $825k. The Nissan Pathfinder 3.5 awd is now $795k and a Prado is million+.

But they finding owners right? So.....nothing will change

Are they finding owners though? How many of us have seen that model Santa Fe on the road? I have seen one and it was a Furness so more than likely is a company lease. (I know I am not representative of the country wide sample though)

snypaz

Postby snypaz » February 5th, 2020, 3:07 pm

K74T wrote:ImageImage
I was considering this til the price. If it was 450k it would be my next vehicle. I still think it's too much even with all these features. I also thinks it's looks good but that price aches.

Postby Dave » February 5th, 2020, 3:27 pm

Did the older Santa Fe models have 7 seats?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 5th, 2020, 3:28 pm

Nope... Not the ones that were sold here anyway. If they were they are rare

Postby Dave » February 5th, 2020, 3:30 pm

So it's a premium feeling vehicle with 7 seats but still cheaper than other premium 7 seaters which has always been the Korean invasion marketing plan.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 6th, 2020, 9:26 am

kamakazi wrote:Nope... Not the ones that were sold here anyway. If they were they are rare

There are quite a few 7 seaters one in the last model. The top end leather, glass roof 2.2 diesel version came with 7 seats. That's the one that went for about 450k.

Postby eliteauto » February 6th, 2020, 3:16 pm

kamakazi wrote:Nope... Not the ones that were sold here anyway. If they were they are rare

There are quite a few 7 seaters one in the last model. The top end leather, glass roof 2.2 diesel version came with 7 seats. That's the one that went for about 450k.
Correct when I was shopping around I looked at the 7 seater previous gen model at Massy, decided that the people mover ( H1) was the better choice for my use. Was considering the SF or Sorento next but with current pricing and the new Sorento being revealed internationally next month I figure there's going to be some deals on the used/ex lease market later in the year

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » February 6th, 2020, 4:59 pm

I think its wrong to compare that Santa Fe against vehicles like the Pathfinder and Prado as they are bigger vehicles and are in a different class. I also believe Massy got ahead of themselves with pricing this new Santa Fe. The new BMW X3 goes for less than this and is roughly the same size as it. The Sorento is cheaper for now until the 2021 model year comes out within the next month. I expect similarly ridiculous prices.

Postby Gladiator » February 7th, 2020, 7:25 pm

Dave wrote:Did the older Santa Fe models have 7 seats?

It was optional... the Diesel model had 7 seats the gas had 5

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 7th, 2020, 9:51 pm

Is the seven seater any bigger than the five seater... All the Santa fe's I have seen are 5 seater .. Both diesel and gas
Be wary of the diesel if you plan to keep it for longer than 100000 kms. At least based on the model just before the latest one

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 7th, 2020, 11:50 pm

I was at Massy today buying some consumables at the parts counter and saw a grey SF at the Hyundai section. You might think I am crazy but I'll gladly buy it over a starter X3, Q5 or GLC. I was sold on the space which was really awesome and the overall quality seems superior to the updated Tucson. The non turbo engine which is a 2.4 GDi unit should be a reliable motor paired with a regular torque converter 6AT. @ $569k? Why not! Or maybe I'm just fickle.

Then I had a good look of the Tiguan R-Line for $495k. Again, I'll gladly take that over starter X3, Q5 and GLC. That R-Line in terms of fit, finish and material quality felt exactly where other high end marques are currently at (and it from Mexico eh).

Then I saw the Tucson for $329k. I must admit, the kit you get for that price and the fact that it has awd and a very responsive 1.6 turbo engine, I can see why people would rush this.

I may have to re-evaluate my thoughts on the entire segment because just when I thought Subaru, Mazda and Honda had it cornered, other brands listened and are not sleeping. They are churning out great products!

Postby A172 » February 8th, 2020, 12:37 pm

agent007 wrote:At $700k, these STi’s sold out already...

At $550k, these special ordered Type R’s will find homes easily...Image

At less than half the price of the type r, I suspect owners of this will probably smile more per every dollar spent..
ImageImageImageImage
bro u have any more pics of this STi? seeing the yellow brakes like the Japan Type S but can't tell if those are the 18 or 19" Type S wheels. Is it the recaro or regular STi seats? Local is EJ25 too right?

Postby Dave » February 8th, 2020, 1:11 pm

EJ was abandoned a few years now.

Postby A172 » February 8th, 2020, 1:19 pm

VAB chassis still carries EJ

Postby Dave » February 8th, 2020, 2:53 pm

Wow. Didn't realise that.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 8th, 2020, 3:13 pm

Sure A172, see below:
20200203_085322.jpeg
20200203_085238.jpeg
20200203_085209.jpeg

Tyres are 245/40R18 Dunlop SP Sport Maxx
Seats are Recaro IIRC and
Engine is 2.0T

Postby A172 » February 8th, 2020, 8:10 pm

thanks bro
seems like those are regular sti seats
the recaros have the red bolsters & logo

i thought it would have been the EJ25@ 700k tag, didn't know they getting the same Japan 2000cc now
the fella i called in Massy like he dont even know what an EJ25 is

The Japan Type S has the Recaros, 19" wheels & DRL on the front bumper finishers but this still damn worth it imo, love this car
2018_subaru_wrx_and_2018_subaru_wrx_sti_110_876x535_8d43f8080605ba9377a975fbb47b6125ec258a67.jpeg
IMG-20200128-WA0106.jpeg

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 8th, 2020, 10:51 pm

Ahhh you've educated me as well so thanks. Maybe you can save a $203k and get yourself this:
FB_IMG_1581216594287.jpeg
FB_IMG_1581216591975.jpeg
FB_IMG_1581216587415.jpeg
FB_IMG_1581216589774.jpeg

And give it a nice tune...

Postby A172 » February 9th, 2020, 5:35 pm

lol nah
a wrx might as well be a ts

CloudBoi

Postby CloudBoi » February 12th, 2020, 11:53 am

Anyone know if Hyundai fixed their issues with the 2019 Tucson dct? I know the other markets did away with the 1.6t for the 2.4 and went back to traditional auto for the 2019 model year. Finding it hard to track down any info whether Hyundai addressed anything for markets that still bring in the 1.6t dct.

Also, on that note, I see the 2020 Ioniqs are shipping worldwide with dct.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 12th, 2020, 1:50 pm

I think the ioniq uses the electric motor to get the vehicle going from stationary which should in theory reduce problems with the trans
CloudBoi wrote:Anyone know if Hyundai fixed their issues with the 2019 Tucson dct? I know the other markets did away with the 1.6t for the 2.4 and went back to traditional auto for the 2019 model year. Finding it hard to track down any info whether Hyundai addressed anything for markets that still bring in the 1.6t dct.

Also, on that note, I see the 2020 Ioniqs are shipping worldwide with dct.

agent007

T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby agent007 » February 13th, 2020, 10:07 am

I know hybrids are generally paired with CVTs as in the case with Toyota’s. These CVTs don’t have the torque converter so wear and tear is less and longevity is increased with the 2 motor planetary gear setup (eCVT). Being built by Aisin also helps which has one of the better records out there in the transmission world.

Nissan applied something similar but using 2 clutches paired with 1 motor which is independent. When the clutch engages thus pairing engine with motor, the combined power is impressive. The downside is, the CVT part of the transmission is a regular type unit which is still Jatco made and is known to be weak and has a high failure rate despite the lack of having a torque converter (Xtrail Hybrid).

With vehicles like the Vezel and Ioniq which are dual-clutch, those vehicles transfer power to the wheels slightly different. They don’t have a torque converter so the electric motor may have a different interactive relationship towards clutch wear and tear, meaning, in traffic situations, if driving the Vezel and Ioniq exactly the way you would in a conventional torque converter automatic by inching your way forward by releasing the brakes, you do not wear the clutch as rapidly nor build heat. In a regular dual-clutch, by doing this whether in traffic or balancing on an incline, you are wearing out the clutch which is slipping continuously awaiting to snap into another gear and you’re also creating heat that has 0 fluid to bathe in to reduce temps. I expect the hybrid dual clutches to outlast non hybrid ones but I would still tell owners to prepare to part ways with a lot of cash when troubles appear. Many Vezel owners experience a wide array of problems with their vehicles, some are too proud or embarrassed to give us details. Surprisingly, the problems I am hearing about Ioniqs are mostly typical electrical related and not with the drivetrain itself.

To all my friends with the Tucson dual-clutch mated to the 1.6GDi-T engine. I see your smiles. Your vehicle is light and powerful. A segment leader in performance I admit. 175hp and 265Nm of peak torque paired with a lightning fast transmission would make said Tucson feel like a hare over turtles like the Sportage, Xtrail, CX5, Forester and RAV4 etc. Those smiles would be short lived though. As Korean vehicles age, their electrical issues are like gremlins getting wet. They will multiply and get out of control if not attended to properly. Combined that with a transmission overhaul and soon I expect these Tucson owners would eventually pass on these vehicles to the unsuspecting few in the used car market and they would not be repeat customers. They will return to turtle performance because sense would return, and it’s better to be slow and reliable vs fast and gremlin.

CloudBoi

Postby CloudBoi » February 14th, 2020, 3:28 pm

Really appreciate the responses, thank you. Going to have to make up my mind in a couple months. Leaning towards awd and the tucson was in a very attractive price bracket. Also looking at the crv awd trim but the price jump is eye watering.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 14th, 2020, 4:01 pm

Nice? Image

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 15th, 2020, 1:14 pm

For half mil, what vehicle can mimick the performance of a WRX? Civic Type R comes to mind but what else? Not even a 320i, A4 2.0t or C180 can come close. Reaching 100kmph in around 5s and covering the 1320 in 14s are some quick figures. The STi is actually faster by 0.5 of a second for $200k more. I would say it's a good deal.

Postby A172 » February 15th, 2020, 3:20 pm

damn good deal
in love with these 2020 models <3

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 16th, 2020, 11:28 am

metalgear2095 wrote:Nice? Image

Urm .... Why is a vehicle that was 360k 4 years ago and its engine is under 2000cc SO its tax bracket falls under the "engine size exceeding 1799 cc but not exceeding 1999 cc" now over 500K?

Also why is Subaru being marketed and sold as a Luxury vehicle at massy?

I guess the real question is how stupid are we? :drinking: