T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

ACT DA FOOL

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby ACT DA FOOL » January 12th, 2018, 9:14 am

Okay, so question.

Honda HR-V vs Chevy Trax?

View? Focusing on features, handling, reliability, ease of use for every day highway motoring, servicing woes?

Lets leave out resale value. I know... HONDA..

Capleton

Postby Capleton » January 12th, 2018, 10:51 am

ACT DA FOOL wrote:Okay, so question.

View? Focusing on features, handling, reliability, ease of use for every day highway motoring, servicing woes?

Lets leave out resale value. I know... HONDA..

Hmmm, good comparison to look at as both are B Class SUV's in the market segment. The Trax LS starts at $212,950 and the LT starts at $239,950 with a $13,000 cash back on both models. The HR-V base model starts at $259,000 and the fully loaded starts at $289,000.

To me, that's a significant price difference. But there are other factors to consider. The Trax comes with a 1.4L Turbo charged engine with 138hp @4,900 rpm and 148 lb-ft of torque at 2,500 rpm. The HR-V comes with 1.8L SOHC VTEC engine that makes 139hp @ 6500 rpm and 127 lb-ft of torque@ 4300. Based on that, the Trax will easily out perform the HR-V in real world driving conditions, more torque at a lower RPM.....(Usable power). With the Honda you will have to get into the revs to access the cars peak torque (something Honda's are known for). Not sure about fuel consumption, though.

Tech wise, the Trax LT has MyLink which will work work seamlessly with Apple car play, not sure if the Andriod Auto is sorted as yet (as the app is not available in the app store for thuis part of the world as yet). The LS does not come with MyLink. Not sure what kinda of infotainment system the Honda has, but it comes with 5" display, the Trax has a 7" touch screen display.

The HR-V does look good, so too does the face lift on the Trax (looks really sharp). I guess it depends on your own preference. With regard to parts, out side of the firm, not sure if they are easily available locally, but with Chevy''s you can basically get any part you want online and ship it in.

My advice would be to schedule a test drive in both cars and make your choice. Personally I would go with the LT Trax, and save me and extra $20,000 easy.

ACT DA FOOL

Postby ACT DA FOOL » January 12th, 2018, 1:26 pm

Capleton wrote:
ACT DA FOOL wrote:Okay, so question.

My advice would be to schedule a test drive in both cars and make your choice. Personally I would go with the LT Trax, and save me and extra $20,000 easy.

Thank you for your feedback. Really appreciate it. I've made plans to view both so we'll see how it goes. Though, what I would say for test drives, it doesn't really give you a feel of how well it fits into your daily routine. I think a few years ago Kia did a really cool thing with their Optima where they 'loaned' you the car for a week for this exact purpose. Ofc there was long red tape involved, but still a very fantastic service.

I wish more companies allow a 48 hour test phase. I'll see how it goes.

Cen-Serv Ltd

Postby Cen-Serv Ltd » January 12th, 2018, 6:57 pm

quattro

Postby quattro » January 13th, 2018, 12:19 pm

Any word on the 2.0t wrangler?

tony125

Postby tony125 » January 15th, 2018, 3:32 pm

Anyone know which vehicles come with adaptive cruise control as standard or an option locally?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 17th, 2018, 10:51 am

I believe Mercedes E-Class and above has that option as standard.

Haven't seen that anywhere or anything else.

A6 and up had CC when I checked, but weren't adaptive.
BMW's did not come with CC at all (according to the sales rep) since they're "not needed in Trinidad"

agent007

Re: T&T OFFICIAL new vehicle prices and discussion thread

Postby agent007 » January 17th, 2018, 12:18 pm

Capleton whoever you are that was a nice write-up there! You seem to know a lot about the Chevy Trax and the Honda HRV. May I also add that the future of the HRV is a bit uncertain now as the new tax that was implemented also affects 1.8 and 2.0 vehicles meaning expect to see increases yet again with the HRV price. The Trax (for now) got away because it has 1400cc. I know many of us do not care about these things but the Trax has 18" rims, a roof rack and a sunroof whereas the HRV does not offer those features locally. So its a win-win for the Chevy. Resale value obviously goes to the Honda but I would expect that the Honda maintains its $60k or so difference in the used car market. If you buy a used PDL Trax @ $150k then I consider that fair but we both know there is no way a PDL HRV will ever sell for $210k? Or just maybe?

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 17th, 2018, 12:20 pm

The Kia Optima and Hyundai Sonata locally has smart cruise control. Is this different to adaptive cc?

tony125

Postby tony125 » January 17th, 2018, 4:34 pm

Thanks for the info DJ Q and agent007, very good to know. I believe smart cruise control is just another name for it. My experience with the south to north run wholeheartedly disagrees with that BMW sales rep's opinion. More so for adaptive cruise.

Postby Morpheus » January 17th, 2018, 7:53 pm

tony125 wrote:Thanks for the info DJ Q and agent007, very good to know. I believe smart cruise control is just another name for it. My experience with the south to north run wholeheartedly disagrees with that BMW sales rep's opinion. More so for adaptive cruise.
Steups @ local Sales Reps

car

Postby car » January 17th, 2018, 7:56 pm

tony125 wrote:Anyone know which vehicles come with adaptive cruise control as standard or an option locally?

Toyota C-HR has it

Postby A172 » January 17th, 2018, 9:39 pm

DJ Q wrote:I believe Mercedes E-Class and above has that option as standard.

BMW's did not come with CC at all (according to the sales rep) since they're "not needed in Trinidad"
c class has distronic plus

Postby 16 cycles » January 18th, 2018, 9:23 am

audi has it but not sure if offered locally - Adaptive CC

https://www.audi-technology-portal.de/e ... o-function

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » January 18th, 2018, 10:12 am

Pls, I use it alot..

tony125

Postby tony125 » January 18th, 2018, 10:27 am

A33_VQ35 wrote:

Pls, I use it alot..

Adaptive? If so how does it make out in traffic?

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » January 18th, 2018, 5:15 pm

tony125 wrote:
A33_VQ35 wrote:

Pls, I use it alot..

Adaptive? If so how does it make out in traffic?
Not adaptive, regular CC.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 18th, 2018, 5:29 pm

It might work but not in the way intended... When a taxi in between both lanes... Or when they cut in at the last minute... It will be interesting to see it in operation

ACT DA FOOL

Postby ACT DA FOOL » January 30th, 2018, 2:23 pm

Hey guys. Have anyone checked out or priced the new Suzuki SX4 S-Cross? Views?
maxresdefault.jpg

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 30th, 2018, 5:58 pm

I think Suzuki products are generally not competitive and lackluster in nature but that's just me (sorry but I didn't mean to offend anyone by that comment, its just my personal opinion as of late). The S-Cross has been out a while though with a minor face-lift so I won't call it new. If you like it ADF, give it a try. It's a fwd crossover so it would compete with the Kia Soul, Hyundai Creta, Nissan Juke and its very own sibling, the Suzuki Vitara. Given those options, I would choose the Vitara All Grip.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 3rd, 2018, 9:43 pm

New yaris just launched with amazing new features!
Drum brakes in the back and hub caps on the wheels for 180K

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 3rd, 2018, 10:07 pm

Lol

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2018, 10:08 pm

Any idea in wants the price of the 2 door np300 and if it comes with coil springs, 4x4 manual?

Postby Morpheus » February 3rd, 2018, 10:14 pm

drchaos wrote:New yaris just launched with amazing new features!
LoL you got me there.

I was like, "Toyota? Amazing new features? I gotta see this"

*Meggie

Postby Gladiator » February 3rd, 2018, 11:01 pm

Morpheus wrote:
LoL you got me there.

*Meggie

Allyuh want to wake up the Toyota fan boys....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 4th, 2018, 2:45 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Morpheus wrote:
LoL you got me there.

*Meggie

Allyuh want to wake up the Toyota fan boys....

But Bro ... It's so reliable ....

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 16th, 2018, 11:05 am

Massy has a promotion that is very rare. Currently, the 2018 Versa fully loaded which sold for $179k has been reduced to $145k. That is a massive $34k discount. This means anyone who earns $5,000. Monthly with no debts can get this brand new car for $14,500. Down payment and $2,000. Monthly. Expect PDT to reach quicker than usual guys lol.

car

Postby car » February 16th, 2018, 1:08 pm

agent007 wrote:Massy has a promotion that is very rare. Currently, the 2018 Versa fully loaded which sold for $179k has been reduced to $145k. That is a massive $34k discount. This means anyone who earns $5,000. Monthly with no debts can get this brand new car for $14,500. Down payment and $2,000. Monthly. Expect PDT to reach quicker than usual guys lol.

Do you know if its premium or super gas it uses?

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 16th, 2018, 1:28 pm

HR15DE is super
HR16DE is premium

rlall

Postby rlall » February 16th, 2018, 5:01 pm

Whats the resale value of the chevy trax. I am getting a 2015 model (registered in 2016) for 160,000. The vehicle is currently doing 22,000km.