The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Re: The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » February 28th, 2015, 5:13 am

Man looking for 13k for this artifact

Driving...

Postby MG Man » February 28th, 2015, 8:55 am

price not bad....lots to do tho...I reckon 50-75k to build it right

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » February 28th, 2015, 8:58 am

dont think so much....?

Postby MG Man » February 28th, 2015, 9:35 am

looks loaded with filler, which would mean lots of new panels....interior needs everything.....the overall condition indicates the suspension and underpinnings would need a complete overhaul as well.....
so....20k bodyjob, more depending on who does it, another 10+k in panels, maybe 5-10k in seals and rubbers, maybe 10k for correct interior, another 10+ for suspension....then you have engine, hydraulics, wiring, and the seven hundred other little things you never saw.....
when I bought my yellow MGB, it was a working, driving car.....I spent 15k that first year on all sorts of minor things just to keep it as a daily....spent 15k the second year on more minor things....I stopped checking after that.....and my B was in pretty good condition.....
I've spent maybe 30k on the MGF in the three years I've had it, again, a nice working car......these things are NEVER cheap....unless you just plan on patching it up, and leaving it as is, and fixing as things break down, which will be every month

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » February 28th, 2015, 9:50 am

^^I fully understand your point.
As you said, it depends on how far one is willing to go wrt resto works.
my new project is heading down that same direction but im going no holes barred and looking at about 40k so far.

Postby MG Man » February 28th, 2015, 10:12 am

even if you leave it exactly as is and just deal with mechanical issues as they arise, that car gonna eat some money...but at 13k, it's a good starting point

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » February 28th, 2015, 11:01 am

i actuall drove it tho.
suspension in tact, engine working good apart from a head gasket small leak.
Car is driving quite well for a 60 year old car

antlind

Postby antlind » February 28th, 2015, 12:25 pm

I don't think that a PP series is 60 years old. PL series was from 1966.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » February 28th, 2015, 9:46 pm

ish....

hindian

Postby hindian » March 1st, 2015, 10:19 pm

RWD 2 door 626. First time I ever saw one of these. Left hand drive too

hindian

Postby hindian » March 1st, 2015, 10:32 pm

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » March 1st, 2015, 11:03 pm

another type 3 fastback :shock: download/file.php?id=335544&mode=view

How many of these car are there in T&T?
861547_336547173123514_2085076050_n.jpg
861547_336547173123514_2085076050_n.jpg (36.09 KiB) Viewed 3818 times

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » March 2nd, 2015, 1:02 am

hindian wrote:RWD 2 door 626. First time I ever saw one of these. Left hand drive too

Silver? I've seen it around a couple times. It is in desperate need of a body job before it is completely ruined

STREETFREAK

Postby STREETFREAK » March 2nd, 2015, 4:02 am

There's also a PAO one in Tobago .....silver to.....that bet up but not rotten.....

hindian

Postby hindian » March 2nd, 2015, 6:06 am

Midnight_Demon wrote:
hindian wrote:RWD 2 door 626. First time I ever saw one of these. Left hand drive too

Silver? I've seen it around a couple times. It is in desperate need of a body job before it is completely ruined

Yup silver, trying to post a pic but it not happening. Will try later...

Postby Monk BANzai » March 2nd, 2015, 12:48 pm

Fastback owner inquiring about the bodywork:

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=617617

Postby MG Man » March 2nd, 2015, 2:11 pm

I've lost hope on finding anyone to do that kind of work for a reasonable price...and even if u pay top dollar, no guarantee of good work

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » March 2nd, 2015, 6:41 pm

what kinda car is this?
IMG-20150302-WA0000.jpg

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 2nd, 2015, 8:12 pm

MG Man wrote:I've lost hope on finding anyone to do that kind of work for a reasonable price...and even if u pay top dollar, no guarantee of good work

These are the type of challenges i like.
Why not learn to do it ourselves?

Postby MG Man » March 2nd, 2015, 10:56 pm

right now, time is the enemy....I can figure out most mechanical things, but bodywork is also about skill, talent and the right eye for detail...not all of which can be taught....and I'd need to practice on about three cars before I tackle one of my problem children

Postby MG Man » March 2nd, 2015, 10:58 pm

Calor wrote:what kinda car is this?

ford zephyr...unless I'm mistaken, that one used to be in a shed on that side road off Munro that takes you back to Price Smart side...supposed to have important past owner, but the old brain not too sharp n such to remember who

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 2nd, 2015, 11:29 pm

MG Man wrote:right now, time is the enemy....I can figure out most mechanical things, but bodywork is also about skill, talent and the right eye for detail...not all of which can be taught....and I'd need to practice on about three cars before I tackle one of my problem children

I have one now that has me seriously contemplating the undertaking.....

Postby rspann » March 3rd, 2015, 3:51 pm

Mg man, like you want me to come up by yuh and buss up the MG windscreen oarr? Boy I ask yuh for the RX7 adress or ask the man if he selling.

Postby nervewrecker » March 5th, 2015, 8:18 pm

Went massahood today to see if I found the cars calor asked about.
Best I found was two Bedford truck.

Went to check the owner of the two jags in avocat. Place rented out to some Chinese that don't understand English.

Postby nervewrecker » March 5th, 2015, 8:19 pm

All they know is ryce chow ming chikkin

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 6th, 2015, 7:24 am

nervewrecker wrote:All they know is Fly lyce chow ming chikkin

fixed

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 6th, 2015, 7:45 am

Guys. Looking for the "D" center caps for these rims.
Please bee on the lookout if you know anyone.
Thanks

Postby Ignorant Ignis » March 6th, 2015, 11:19 am

^^^try ebay

Postby nervewrecker » March 6th, 2015, 5:45 pm

I come bearing gifts. Thanks calor

More later, hold a teaser.