The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Re: The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Postby zoom rader » June 8th, 2016, 12:38 pm

rspann wrote:I always ask for their price, I will never put a price on someone's property. If I can afford it I will buy ,if I can't, I gone. On the other end of the spectrum is the Bharat Jacksons( not Barrett-Jackson). Ah eh go take nutten less dan one hundred thousand.
I went to see a Pontiac ,the man say he want not a cent less than $60 g. I walk with cash, when he uncover the tarpaulin and I see that tatabox,I just walk out the man yard.

Anytime u see a car under "tarpaulin" is to run cause it's a magnet for rust. Best to leave car open if you can't afford a breathable car covering.

Postby MG Man » June 8th, 2016, 8:08 pm

Calor wrote:I always wondered what PO 4717 was...often saw one like that on the way to maracas(back road in san juan)

Sunbeam Rapier, yuh nOOb :P

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » June 8th, 2016, 10:36 pm

Calor wrote:I always wondered what PO 4717 was...often saw one like that on the way to maracas(back road in san juan)

Sunbeam Rapier, yuh nOOb :P

Thanks...its the only one ive seen in T&T :oops:

Postby rspann » June 8th, 2016, 11:37 pm

Allyuh is babies ,that is why. :lol: I saw these cars when they was new. There is also the old model rapier in Trinidad,I will post a pic if I find it.
There were viva sprints, sunbeams , vogues,alpines, Morris marinas ,Opel kadetts, Opel rekords,wolesleys, princesses, westministers, austins , morris oxfords, vanguards, all the vauxhalls, MGs, jaguars,Triumphs,Rovers, Humbers, ford anglia prefect cortina escorts and the list could go on and on.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » June 9th, 2016, 12:11 am

would you be able to help the babies find one like this for sale?...supposed to have a few out there :mrgreen:
benz coupe.jpg
benz coupe.jpg (35.43 KiB) Viewed 3722 times

Postby cinco » June 9th, 2016, 1:07 am

Saw this the other day in traffic the interior and all immaculate for a taxi

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » June 9th, 2016, 2:12 am

Maybe it was licensed H from new

Postby Monk BANzai » June 9th, 2016, 4:31 pm

Vauxhall Velox. Lots more pics from the email that has been circulating. Owner needs to adjust price to something more realistic though....

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » June 9th, 2016, 8:51 pm

wonder if they asking more than $30g for that Velox...really and truly..owners of antiques, especially ENGLISH ones really have a skewed sense of value of their cars. As good as that body is I'm SURE the motor needs to be over-hauled, complete brakes system and electrical...if restoring completely to original spec an English car would be runnin you near $150g or more...and the ONLY English cars that have some semblance of value OTHER than IN England are the Austin Healey and some MGAs...not even the 2 door Morris Minor in mint condition is worth over $15,000euro.

now had it been a 37 Chev or even a 57 Bel Air...well....American Classics are going through the roof world wide.

Get a 2 door pre 1960 car from Detroit or a 67 to 73 Mustang or Camaro, restore it and you have a $250,000tt car easy like peasy.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » June 9th, 2016, 9:00 pm

oh shucks those are the two from Tunapuna...old guy wants $70g for the 2...one has no engine

hornchile

Postby hornchile » June 9th, 2016, 10:39 pm

Yeah...good advice there...lets go ahead and bring in more American LHD CARS.
Cars that have no history or place in Trinidad...and that only a returning resident can legally register.

Lets ignore the treasures we have right here and leave them to rust to hell.
Good advice there...

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » June 10th, 2016, 12:53 am

[quote="hornchile"]Yeah...good advice there...lets go ahead and bring in more American LHD CARS.
Cars that have no history or place in Trinidad...

it's either you are under 35 or not much of a reader...LHD cars and to be more specific..AMERICAN LHD cars BUILT this country and were the majority of cars imported here by companies such as Massy, Charles McEnearny etc until just after WW2 (1945) take a read son... viewtopic.php?f=25&t=506281&hilit=real+cars+of+T%26amp%3BT and do observe WHICH SIDE OF THE CAR THE STEERING WHEELS WAS ON in the pics from 1930 to 1962

This bit of history would also be good for you to assimilate: P1 was not the first car imported into Trinidad however it was the first car registered under the current registration system the is
a RHD 1957 Chevrolet Bel Air
The first owner was Chief Justice Mattew Perez
Second owner was JN Harriman
Third owner John Booze of JB Valpark
Fourth owner was Mr. Booze's mechanic Frenchie from Diego Martin
Then Mr. Danny Hamid
IMG_6846934011170.jpeg
IMG_6846934011170.jpeg (24.12 KiB) Viewed 3922 times

Believed to be the very first car driven in Trinidad...again...note where the wheel is.
7711341_orig.jpg

An 1899 Locomobile was the first car appearing on the streets of Port of Spain being occupied by Messrs Garner and Khun on March 24th 1900

Take a read young fella, it would broaden your view of two door cars...especially LHD ones.
http://www.vintagecarsoftrinidadandtoba ... story.html

And perhaps you misread and misunderstood what I stated...I said GET not BRING a car from Detroit...meaning GET A CAR BUILT IN DETROIT....not Canada, or Mexico as they dont have the value of a true Detroit built car.

hornchile

Postby hornchile » June 10th, 2016, 7:26 am

V8 Boys wrote:
hornchile wrote:Yeah...good advice there...lets go ahead and bring in more American LHD CARS.

it's either you are under 35 or not much of a reader...LHD cars and to be more specific..AMERICAN LHD cars BUILT this country and were the majority of cars imported here by companies such as Massy, Charles McEnearny etc until just after WW2 (1945) take a read son... viewtopic.php?f=25&t=506281&hilit=real+cars+of+T%26amp%3BT and do observe WHICH SIDE OF THE CAR THE STEERING WHEELS WAS ON in the pics from 1930 to 1962

This bit of history would also be good for you to assimilate: P1 was not the first car imported into Trinidad however it was the first car registered under the current registration system the is
Then Mr. Danny Hamid
IMG_6846934011170.jpeg

Believed to be the very first car driven in Trinidad...again...note where the wheel is.
7711341_orig.jpg

An 1899 Locomobile was the first car appearing on the streets of Port of Spain being occupied by Messrs Garner and Khun on March 24th 1900

Take a read young fella, it would broaden your view of two door cars...especially LHD ones.

And perhaps you misread and misunderstood what I stated...I said GET not BRING a car from Detroit...meaning GET A CAR BUILT IN DETROIT....not Canada, or Mexico as they dont have the value of a true Detroit built car.

OH!!!!

So sorry u old fart!!!

I guess all our fathers and grand fathers who were judges bought these cars.
They were brought in such abundance that they flooded our streets and could be seen on every corner, nook and cranny.

God forbid a man decides to restore a Datsun, or Toyota because in your own words they have no value.

Why the hell should we do everything like the Americans?!?!?

Why can't we have our own bloody identity instead of copying the next man.
You promote no original thought or deed.
You copy and paste everything you see and hear and you do a piss poor job of it.

Now...in your typical fashion you may proceed to go on the defensive and bash my character to kingdom come...but here's what...your opinion counts for nothing at all.

Proceed.

Oh!!!

Postby Morpheus » June 10th, 2016, 7:43 am

Okkkk then.......

antlind

Postby antlind » June 10th, 2016, 8:02 am

People can't we all just get along.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 10th, 2016, 8:05 am

Aye...allyuh want the "owner" of trinituner to ban allyuh?

Postby eliteauto » June 10th, 2016, 8:23 am

hornchile wrote:
V8 Boys wrote:
hornchile wrote:Yeah...good advice there...lets go ahead and bring in more American LHD CARS.

Then Mr. Danny Hamid
IMG_6846934011170.jpeg

7711341_orig.jpg

OH!!!!

So sorry u old fart!!!

I guess all our fathers and grand fathers who were judges bought these cars.
They were brought in such abundance that they flooded our streets and could be seen on every corner, nook and cranny.

God forbid a man decides to restore a Datsun, or Toyota because in your own words they have no value.

Why the hell should we do everything like the Americans?!?!?

Why can't we have our own bloody identity instead of copying the next man.
You promote no original thought or deed.
You copy and paste everything you see and hear and you do a piss poor job of it.

Now...in your typical fashion you may proceed to go on the defensive and bash my character to kingdom come...but here's what...your opinion counts for nothing at all.

Proceed.

Oh!!!

so you misunderstood the man's original post, he clarifies and explains and you go bashing? What exactly is our "identity"? US cars have as much a place in our automotive history as European and Japanese, you think your car is original and part of T&T's identity? YOU choose to to copy the Japanese does that make YOU original? The man simply was looking at international sales values of certain cars vs others, he's passionate about those you're passionate about something else what's the problem?

Postby rspann » June 10th, 2016, 9:49 am

Elite is correct as is Tardieu. The cars that shaped our country were the American and English, probably because of shipping logistics back then.. Japanese only came around in the late sixties and early seventies in a meaningful way. Everyone is entitled to his preference, and Clifford is biased towards American, so he comes across as hating Japanese. He criticizes Navaras and Hi lux but if you know the guy you won't take him on, heck , he even had a Japanese sunny as his prize in the last show.

hornchile

Postby hornchile » June 10th, 2016, 2:32 pm

I know him well...and consider him a fraud and a thief...and I have told him as much to his face.

But the "owner of trinituner" does no wrong lol

Postby rspann » June 10th, 2016, 3:02 pm

What he do you bai? You wasn't in the last show with the Cressida?

hornchile

Postby hornchile » June 10th, 2016, 3:07 pm

rspann wrote:What he do you bai? You wasn't in the last show with the Cressida?

Yes I was..but I wasn't there in support of him
I was there for the love of cars
And it was just before this show that the gentleman showed his true colors.

In fact just the night before he told me my car was not good enough for his show and don't come hahaha.

But have no fear. His calling card is his ability to tell u all the details of how he was right and all others were wrong and that he was unjustly accused and abused.

Wait for it

Postby rspann » June 10th, 2016, 3:29 pm

Your car was a star in the show,you know that right?

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » June 10th, 2016, 4:05 pm

hornchile take yuh personal chit out of the thread please.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » June 10th, 2016, 8:42 pm

hornchile wrote:
rspann wrote:What he do you bai? You wasn't in the last show with the Cressida?

Yes I was..but I wasn't there in support of him
I was there for the love of cars

The short reply is that that "love for the cars' should allow you to drop it and just move on.....

Postby MG Man » June 11th, 2016, 8:31 am

rspann wrote:Allyuh is babies ,that is why. :lol: I saw these cars when they was new. There is also the old model rapier in Trinidad,I will post a pic if I find it.
There were viva sprints, sunbeams , vogues,alpines, Morris marinas ,Opel kadetts, Opel rekords,wolesleys, princesses, westministers, austins , morris oxfords, vanguards, all the vauxhalls, MGs, jaguars,Triumphs,Rovers, Humbers, ford anglia prefect cortina escorts and the list could go on and on.

There was an old PE reg Rapier in Curepe that I didn't buy for 3k because I had no place to hide it....it ended up in Powder Magazine
There used to be a pair of Humbers, a Hawk and a Super Snipe in the back of Princes Town...all the crap I couldn't buy because nowhere to hide them....at least I have a place to hide the Magnette I paid 500 for :)

Postby rspann » June 11th, 2016, 8:55 am

Mg, or anybody else , ever saw the Pre war Mercedes blocked up in a room?

Postby MG Man » June 11th, 2016, 9:23 am

V8 Boys wrote:oh shucks those are the two from Tunapuna...old guy wants $70g for the 2...one has no engine

70k for a complete car and a parts car not too bad tho......that's say 45 for one and 25 for the other
If I had 70k, I'd bring them home today and call the divorce lawyer tomorrow

Postby MG Man » June 11th, 2016, 9:26 am

rspann wrote:Mg, or anybody else , ever saw the Pre war Mercedes blocked up in a room?

you sure you not talking about the Rolls in a room parked next to an MG TC?
I know the guy very well

Postby eliteauto » June 11th, 2016, 9:27 am

hornchile

Postby hornchile » June 11th, 2016, 9:29 am

One owner Galant from Golconda