Post Your Engine Bay Pics

Bezman

Re: Post Your Engine Bay Pics

Postby Bezman » July 4th, 2010, 9:10 pm

S13

Datsun 1200
DSCN2973.jpg
DSCN3010.jpg
DSCN3005.jpg
DSCN3005.jpg (32.74 KiB) Viewed 2717 times
DSCN3006.jpg
DSCN3009.jpg

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 4th, 2010, 9:29 pm

Bezman... the engine stock as it is? If so, you plan to do any mods on it?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 4th, 2010, 9:35 pm

The datsun CA18 has a STI turbo in it, and thats about it (dunno what clutch or anything) was thinking of rebuilding it with some arp bolts and cams and a new turbo. but when it blows up (which i am sure it will soon enough if i dont rebuild it soon) i am tempted to put in a different motor, maybe a NA S15 SR20DE or *gasp* a NA 12a Bridgeport. If we have no track coming anytime soon, makes no sense to me to be making 250-300+ rwhp in a 1750lb car.. 160-180 NA who would be much more fun and the throttle response from a tuned NA would make it very nimble

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 4th, 2010, 9:49 pm

Very true...i doh know wats the point of have 300hp+ and you can't use all of it...but i guess it's better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it! What about putting a honda engine in it,like the k20/F20B if you thinking of goin N/A Would be an interesting project.But that's just me :|

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 4th, 2010, 10:13 pm

trini mk5 wrote:
MG Man wrote:this ched so full of win it should be its own forum

What would you name the forum :?

the full of win engine bay forum

:lol: :lol: i like the sound of that

Postby Rooki3 » July 4th, 2010, 10:13 pm

What about putting a honda engine in it,like the k20

wait!!..................what?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 4th, 2010, 10:16 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
What about putting a honda engine in it,like the k20

wait!!..................what?

Yeah whats the problem?? Turn it RWD it can be done...

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » July 4th, 2010, 10:21 pm

^^^ it has been done before, along wit many other fwd engines....

from experience, the problem is 1) need to find a proper box wit the best ratio to mate to the motor
2) if its n/a , alot of power is lost through the drive train.... 3) when u done spend all dat money, u start seeing so much other options makin more hp within the same budget n even cheaper....

but for originality it does look noice....... esp if u got the itb's to go wid it

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 4th, 2010, 10:21 pm

Rooki3 wrote:TriniGT i thought you was going RB26?

I thought so too but the machinist has other ideas apparently so I will keep upgrading the SR looking for 500HP max. Sometime in life either the RB26 head will be done and the engine built or I will twin turbo the RB25 Neo and do some other stuff to it and call it a day. We'll see how it unfolds. Glad to see people showing their work and sss that turbo looking wicked up there. I have a link and I will be going the same route in some months down the road. Keep up the work peeps and feel free to update your ride and projects here ;).

Postby Rooki3 » July 4th, 2010, 10:25 pm

yuh know how hard it is to do a K20 RWD conversion & then the came CA18 walk pass yuh???

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 4th, 2010, 10:31 pm

You think it any harder than rapeing a 1200 engine bay with a RB sumtin??
it was just an opinion if i had the resources i would have done it to my car but would have gone with the S2000 engine..

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 4th, 2010, 10:38 pm

Bez ah dare yuh,

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 4th, 2010, 10:49 pm

Good to see honda doing some of the rapeing...lol

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » July 4th, 2010, 11:25 pm

once u keepin it 4 cylinder......... u hav a wide scope of options......... according to how much hp u wana make........ the f20c is a unique swap tho, n less head ache as it already comes with a box...

we have done a couple fwd toyota engines into rwd... the beauty in these are some boxes bolt direct eg; the 20/16 valve to a 4a charmant box or the t50 box from an ae86 (highly recommended),
a honda fwd swap project on the other hand isnt that simple... an adapter plate needs to be fabricated...
more hp means a stronger box, or u gona keep braking boxes... and if ratio isnt correct, u jus spinning top in mud... poor launching or either lazy top end.

a KA24 det swap wud be nice to see for a change....... they're not as beefy as the SR, but they're sure different from the regular swaps that we're always seeing.... the CA18 also has a huge selection of aftermarket parts and internals, i see more stuff for CA on ebay than i do for SR....

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 5th, 2010, 8:53 am

Okay enough bashing now back to engine bay pics. Let's try and keep it to pics and updates please.

Postby crazybalhead » July 5th, 2010, 9:29 am

The ole cyar. Doh have none with this one. Looks like a stock injin...
car 001.jpg

Postby Hook » July 5th, 2010, 11:26 am

Just a phone pic for now...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 5th, 2010, 1:13 pm

I had thought of the S2K swap and lots of others, the prob with the F20C is the cost of the engine and the crazy wiring..

a NA S15 SR20 is easy and local electricians and mechanics know it well, and a 12a wiring up like a car stereo :lol:

moti

Postby moti » July 5th, 2010, 1:44 pm

Bezman wrote:I had thought of the S2K swap and lots of others, the prob with the F20C is the cost of the engine and the crazy wiring..

a NA S15 SR20 is easy and local electricians and mechanics know it well, and a 12a wiring up like a car stereo :lol:

my opinion, though i know it does not count in your book,

the 12a will be best.
the SR is just to damn common now :|
and well as you said the F20 thingy to damn costly

Postby eliteauto » July 5th, 2010, 2:14 pm

common is not a bad thing when it comes to cost, availability of parts and widespread knowledge in terms of basic and mod support, a common engine can become uncommon in the hand of the right owner both cosmetically and performance wise

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 5th, 2010, 2:37 pm

But everyone knows the expression you get when yuh pop yuh hood and man see an SR in it...it so played out now. A rotary would be a nice change like the guy with the ford angila and the rotary turbo engine in it(good choice) but to each is own. And i hear yuh on the S2000 that engine like diamond but its a very reliable engine.

Postby Hook » July 5th, 2010, 2:47 pm

^^^ but everybody and dey grandmudda have a 20V and nobody hit myself and eliteauto the "dat so played out" card whenever we popped our hoods. It was always "waaaay!", or "nicccccce", or "how you do dat?", and my favourite "dah croam awha?" :lol:

An engine bay is what you make it. Just like any other part of a car. Just have a sense of style about it.

If you wanna go with a clean, normal-looking SR20 install like everybody else, there's nothing wrong with that. But when you have something that everybody else has, except it don't look like everybody else's, THAT makes you stand out amongst the crowd when you display your motor.

a wukkin motor dat pretty too = WIN

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 5th, 2010, 2:50 pm

Who still builds their personal ride to satisfy the taste of others? :s

Whatever works FTW!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 5th, 2010, 2:55 pm

Well it all depends how it is done, a scrappy install with wires everywhere and no looming and dirty as hell then yuh can cry typical swap but if you have a clean install, hidden wiring, upgrades, very neat then people may look at it differently. And besides, Datsun/Nissan so keeps it in the family ;).

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 5th, 2010, 3:11 pm

Conrad wrote:Anyone know how to remove the automotive paint used to label foreign used parts without damaging the finish?
Last edited by Conrad on July 5th, 2010, 3:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » July 5th, 2010, 3:11 pm

I doubt anyone's gonna go bleah at good neat work

Postby eliteauto » July 5th, 2010, 3:14 pm

now see your post Conrad.for non plastic pieces you can use cotton wool and acetone ( nail polish remover) for plastic pieces you can use bars and cotton wool and neaten up after with plastic polish

Postby Razkal » July 5th, 2010, 3:15 pm

^dat CRIPS

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 5th, 2010, 3:15 pm

Thanks alot!

trini mk5