Old School Projects

Re: Old School Projects

Postby rspann » April 21st, 2014, 7:44 pm

Fareed put some pics of that crown please.

fareed7298

Postby fareed7298 » April 22nd, 2014, 7:48 am

Back
1398167258525.jpg

Postby MG Man » April 22nd, 2014, 8:45 am

love the colour

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 22nd, 2014, 8:51 am

fareed7298 wrote:Crown

Lo-pro 225ish tyres and a small fridge in front?

Tell me more :)

fareed7298

Postby fareed7298 » April 22nd, 2014, 9:01 am

Fridge in de back, original color 225 40 18 infront and 245 40 18 in de back 1 jz twin turbo stock auto everything on de car original lights front and back (still have new ones tho)

fareed7298

Postby fareed7298 » April 22nd, 2014, 9:03 am

Add me on Facebook fareed abdool pisc not loading here

nigie

Postby nigie » April 24th, 2014, 11:24 am

ALMOST READY.... FOR ROAD DUTY :lol:

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 25th, 2014, 1:43 pm

fareed7298 wrote:Fridge in de back, original color 225 40 18 infront and 245 40 18 in de back 1 jz twin turbo stock auto everything on de car original lights front and back (still have new ones tho)

Hard, crown is hard.

Mini looks exceptional with with all the original nickel/chrome finishers. Something I miss on newer cars.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 25th, 2014, 7:14 pm

Good work on the crown.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 27th, 2014, 11:01 pm

So as the weekend passed, I got some work done.

Got under the hood and got the head out.

So this is how a G63B looks like in a Ford.

Pulled the air filter housing out.

got a closer look at the badging and mikuni carb.

Cam case cover off showing the rocker arms and valve springs.

Went on to remove rocker arms and camshaft and the dropped the exhaust manifold. Had some downtime here as the head is secured in place by 10 - 10mm hex bolts, for which I didn't have the right tools. Had to spend about 45 mins trying to source one.

Got them out eventually.

From here, I lifted the head out with the carb, intake manifold and gas pump still attached.

Flipped it over to get a look at the valves and plugs.

Things to note:

1. Lot of carbon buildup. (Secondary air flow mini ports are clogged. Some kinda early Mivec ting, I dunno)
2. Head bolts were tough AF to remove, seems like this was never done.
3. Plugs are using adapters, for some reason, will remove before re-install with some platinum or iridium plugs.
4. Gasket had minor oil leak.

Removed the intake manifold and gas pump and cleaned the head up a bit, seems to be in pretty good shape.

Image Image Image

Here's a look at the block. Observe the carbon buildup on piston heads. The cylinder shafts are in pretty good shape though, no ridges.

Before and After:

Gonna send the head to the machine shop this week for inspection. A really productive day I'd say.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 28th, 2014, 4:52 am

Do some porting and polishing one time.

nigie

Postby nigie » April 28th, 2014, 7:29 am

Nice.....
many moons ago did a radical head shave ..on a mitsu 1600 manually advanced the camshaft by moving the pin lock a few degrees and shaved down the secondary actuator/tab on the carb plus drilled out the jets a bit....extractors/freed exhaust....Accel big yellow coil..... in a mark 3 cortina manual...and it was rubber galore...

Postby Monk BANzai » April 29th, 2014, 10:38 am

facebook spot:

Postby MG Man » April 29th, 2014, 11:56 am

the old Red Bull Mini?

moti

Postby moti » April 29th, 2014, 12:08 pm

MG Man wrote:he Bull the old Red Mini?

Fixed :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » April 29th, 2014, 1:02 pm

ougooooooooooooooooooood

nigie

Postby nigie » May 1st, 2014, 2:50 pm

WE CAPRI....from four to six... :D
Ford Capri was a name used by the Ford Motor Company for three different automobile models. The Ford Consul Capri coupé was produced by Ford of Britain between 1961 and 1964. The Ford Capri coupé was produced by Ford of Europe from 1969 to 1986. The Ford/Mercury Capri convertible was produced by the Ford Motor Company of Australia from 1989 to 1994.

The Capri name was also used by Ford's Lincoln-Mercury Division on six different models which did not bear the Ford name. The Lincoln Cosmopolitan Capri from 1950 to 1951; the Lincoln Capri from 1952 to 1959; the Mercury Comet Capri in 1966–1967; and three different generations of Mercury Capris from 1970 to 1994.
....wiki

Can be used as a mirror..... :mrgreen:

Shock reinforcement kit... :P
Last edited by nigie on May 1st, 2014, 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 1st, 2014, 9:05 pm

Is that mr Kennedy's Capri?

I sold him my Capri PX 1902
Was a 3.0L V6 Essex model. Over a few years I brought in enough burton parts to pay for another car. Rebuilt the engine and it exploded racing in valsayne :lol:. Absolutely complete interior, everything worked, a/c and all. I got so much arse back in the day because of that car haha, blue with white stripes and then when tardiier (sp) painted his lhd one blue with white stripes, I conceded and painted it sparkle silver. Lame pic but don't have many. Wish I had from when I bought it. Anyway.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1398992540.827049.jpg

Kennedy also had a red mk2 Capri like mine with a cossie whale tail that he drove along with his orange cortina

The Capri was my first dream car, dad had a magazine with the Capri and saying it was the poor mans Porsche haha. I sold it cause I god pisssing drunk after a stag party and tusty to go home to my angry girl I drove the poor car straight through a fence into a property and then had to drive it back through the fence to get out, ah to be young again!! Car had the fence printed on the hood and bonnet :D

Just my lame story

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 1st, 2014, 9:16 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1398993359.165126.jpg

Haha :)

Postby MG Man » May 1st, 2014, 9:57 pm

good stuff man

Postby Monk BANzai » May 2nd, 2014, 1:47 am

^^ steups..GREAT stuff man.. i remember seeing this car around and getting a piggy twitch off of it....

was on my bucket list of cars to own growing up...

DriveLine retailers

Postby DriveLine retailers » May 2nd, 2014, 8:51 am

Bezman, yup its his car....the other capri he sold though.....got first dibs on the orange cortina, lol....really cool guy....

DriveLine retailers

Postby DriveLine retailers » May 2nd, 2014, 8:55 am

Bezman, yup its his car....the other capri he sold though.....got first dibs on the orange cortina, lol....really cool guy....

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » May 2nd, 2014, 9:35 am

Now thats a cool story bro.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » May 6th, 2014, 12:17 am

guys need help with something...who rebuilds van/pickup trays OR can build a new tray?

hindian

Postby hindian » May 6th, 2014, 8:31 am

There's supposed to be a guy somewhere in Petit Bourg that builds pickup trays for different makes of trucks.Somewhere on your left hand side when heading west on the EMR after Kelly's tyre shop. Rasheed is the name of the dude i think. My in laws had a tray built for a 720 pickup many years ago by him...

nigie

Postby nigie » May 6th, 2014, 11:28 am

NICE 120Y!!!! :lol:

Postby cinco » May 6th, 2014, 12:10 pm

man some fresh plastic for dem lenses and dat car would be perfect

moti

Postby moti » May 6th, 2014, 1:46 pm

Send it by me, I'll give him the hook up.

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » May 6th, 2014, 10:28 pm

Dat 120y lookin crisp man...is that a local or foreign body?