The Official Car Care Thread

trvs

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby trvs » January 22nd, 2013, 9:17 am

Saw a video on the Paint Pro system a earlier last month. It looks promising. Simple 2 step system.

More info here: http://www.autoglym.co.uk/enGB/News-lat ... ?v06VQ=IEE

Postby DVSTT » January 22nd, 2013, 12:03 pm

Guys, what's a good sealant to use after I wax with ultimate wax?

Postby Rainman » January 22nd, 2013, 12:39 pm

DVSTT wrote:Guys, what's a good sealant to use after I wax with ultimate wax?

seal then wax.

I use Klasse AIO and HGSG to seal then top with Collinite 845 wax

Postby pioneer » January 22nd, 2013, 7:22 pm

What's a good paint available locally that i can use to paint my wiper arms?

Need a flat black....durable

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 22nd, 2013, 8:54 pm

Powerdercoat

Postby pioneer » January 22nd, 2013, 10:29 pm

I went to ACE in Montrose and they told me I could use something called bumper coat...it comes in flat finish and another with a textured finish

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 23rd, 2013, 3:18 am

Dupli colour has a product called trim paint I've been meaning to try out

http://www.duplicolor.com/products/trimPaint/

Costs around $90 from the dealer iirc

Postby Rainman » January 23rd, 2013, 7:12 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Dupli colour has a product called trim paint I've been meaning to try out

ding ding ding....we have a winner.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 23rd, 2013, 10:01 am

pioneer wrote:What's a good paint available locally that i can use to paint my wiper arms?

"Matrix Bumper Trim " comes in a normal spray can
Available at S Khan Paint Shop, top of munroe rd $65.

I use this on all my vehicles, interior and exterior
works great for those soft suede feel plastic interiors that get finger nail scratches, mostly in euro cars

the mirror, wiper arm and window trim i used it

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 23rd, 2013, 10:03 am

and did this yesterday

the emblem

aidan

Postby aidan » January 23rd, 2013, 3:01 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Dupli colour has a product called trim paint I've been meaning to try out

Excellent stuff. Used this already, holding up almost 3 years so far, and still looks great.

Postby nervewrecker » January 23rd, 2013, 9:21 pm

half way through pic.

anyways, that kinda circular mark near the center, what can I use to get rid of it? I have no idea what it is, I suspect asphalt :shock:
Last edited by nervewrecker on January 24th, 2013, 9:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » January 23rd, 2013, 11:24 pm

copper_shot wrote:
pioneer wrote:What's a good paint available locally that i can use to paint my wiper arms?

"Matrix Bumper Trim " comes in a normal spray can
Available at S Khan Paint Shop, top of munroe rd $65.

I use this on all my vehicles, interior and exterior
works great for those soft suede feel plastic interiors that get finger nail scratches, mostly in euro cars

the mirror, wiper arm and window trim i used it

Thaz when you come off the highway and bend the first corner heading east?

Postby javishm » January 24th, 2013, 12:36 am

Any advice on how to restore some shine back?

Postby equipped2ripp » January 24th, 2013, 2:11 am

chrome polish and elbow grease

Postby pioneer » January 24th, 2013, 9:59 am

Might never come back if the clearcoat gone tru

Doh pee does corrode it bad

Not me and dem lip rims

Postby gastly369 » January 24th, 2013, 10:04 am

and

Postby javishm » January 24th, 2013, 10:37 am

was just hoping to restore some shine....

tried the mothers chrome polish and the waxco rim polish....no difference

dam dog pee caused that

Postby cinco » January 24th, 2013, 10:41 am

javishm wrote:was just hoping to restore some shine....

dam dog pee caused that

wet sand the lip with some 800 then 1000 grit then 1500 grit
then use that mothers aluminum polish
rub till it turns black

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 24th, 2013, 10:44 am

pioneer wrote:Thaz when you come off the highway and bend the first corner heading east?

yup

bought the 3M Rubberized undercoating yesterday at ACE

great product in a can

not too rough, not too smooth
with 2 applications you get a nice textured matte black
i used it on the bottom edge of my bumper, looks like factory

Postby DVSTT » January 24th, 2013, 1:37 pm

Rainman wrote:

ding ding ding....we have a winner.

Where in south has this? If you get it on the paint does it wipe off easily if still wet?

Postby pioneer » January 24th, 2013, 2:46 pm

cinco wrote:

dam dog pee caused that

rub till it turns black

Problem is most of dem wheels is not even aluminium...they just clear coat metal and make it look so

Once the clear coat wears down from dog pee and other acids, gloss will go from the wheels cuz the clear coat disintigrates

Ha nuttin polish could do...most u can do is sell them to some phaggot and buy a full-faced set of wheels

Postby cinco » January 24th, 2013, 2:47 pm

cinco wrote:

dam dog pee caused that

rub till it turns black

Problem is most of dem wheels is not even aluminium...they just clear coat metal and make it look so

Once the clear coat wears down from dog pee and other acids, gloss will go from the wheels cuz the clear coat disintigrates

Ha nuttin polish could do...most u can do is sell them to some phaggot and buy a full-faced set of wheels

serious? that sucks well best you paint the lip then

Postby pioneer » January 24th, 2013, 7:15 pm

Yepp rem de rims I had?...same lip crap...mostly those high end wheels would have a "legit" aluminium lip.

I tried the sanding method and it didn't work...what it did was remove the rest of the clear coat

Postby javishm » January 24th, 2013, 10:06 pm

Thanks much :D

will let you all know where any attempts at cleaning gets me

Bacon

Postby Bacon » January 25th, 2013, 2:43 am

copper_shot wrote:and did this yesterday

the emblem

OOOOOOOOOoooooooooo gotta get my hands on dat to do my emblem.... 8-)

Bacon

Postby Bacon » January 25th, 2013, 2:54 am

Would not mind a visit from Mr Khan... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

:mrgreen:

Oh Mr Shot ..... picked up the items over the weekend, still not installed due to some technical requirements....will send pics once done....

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » January 25th, 2013, 6:44 am

Bacon wrote:Would not mind a visit from Mr Khan... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

:mrgreen:

Oh Mr Shot ..... picked up the items over the weekend, still not installed due to some technical requirements....will send pics once done....

thanks man, if i am ever coming up your way i will let you know.. I myself would not mind cleaning it up for you!!!

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 25th, 2013, 8:43 am

Bacon wrote:

btw..
shes gone bro :(

the black is a deal i got right after..
still no replacement for the Z

Bacon

Postby Bacon » January 25th, 2013, 9:17 am

Karim Khan wrote:thanks man, if i am ever coming up your way i will let you know.. I myself would not mind cleaning it up for you!!!

Yip.....Please do..... 8-)