Any Model Car collectors?

CARVtech

Any Model Car collectors?

Postby CARVtech » February 13th, 2012, 10:14 am

Just wondering if any on the forum are model car collectors.
I know there is a Scalextric club up north, never heard much of scale replica folks though.
A link to my own collection below.

http://www.carvtechpc.com/die-cast.html

Would be interesting to know who has what, stuff they would sell etc.

Re: Any Model Car collectors?

Postby MG Man » February 13th, 2012, 10:32 am

WTF DUDE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AWESOME COLLECTION
rough guestimate of my stuff:

1: 18
Ferrari:-
F40
F50
Enzo
550 Barchetta
Testarossa (1984)
250 GTO
250 Testa Rossa
246 Dino
F333SP
365 GTS (Daytona Spyder)
F355 spyder

Lotus
Esprit (007 Edit.)
Esprit Turbo
Europa
Elise Type 49
Elise Type 29
Elise Mk1
Elite

Porsche:
Cayman
Boxter
911 convertible

Jaguar:
XKE (FHC) x 2
XKE Roadster x 3
XK8 (DHC)
XJ220

Maserati:
Spyder
Quatroporte

Misc:
MGB GT (1974)
Triumph TR6
VW Beetle (Cabrio)
Lancia Delta Integrale
Opel Speedster
Renault Alpine
Lancer Evolution 7

1: 24
Ferrari 641/2 F1 (Gerhard Berger)
Testarossa
Testa Rossa (1957)
F40
F50
Jaguar XK180 Concept
VW Karmann Ghia
(BMW) Mini Cooper
Porsche 911
Pontiac Solstice
Pagani Zonda
Ford Mustang (Boss 302)

1: 43
Ferrari 288GTO
Ferrari 288GTO Evoluzione
Ferrari F40 (Red)
Ferrari F40 (Black)
Ferrari F355
Ferrari 365 GTS (Daytona Spyder)
Ferrari Testarossa (1984)
Ferrari 348
Ferrari 456

Lotus Esprit S1
Lotus Europa
Lotus Super 7 S3
Lotus Elan (DHC)
Lotus Esprit Submarine (007)

MGB
MGA

Vauxhall Astra
Vauxhall Viva GT
OpelCalibra
Opel Speedster
Bedford CF Van
Aston Martin DB5

Rally Cars
Mc Rae Focus
Tony Pond TR8
Tony Pond TR8 'dirty'
Tony Pond MG Metro 6R4

Postby MG Man » February 13th, 2012, 10:35 am

BTW my stuff is cheap compared to yours
mostly Hot Wheels, the odd Kyosho and Auto Art, but nothing in the league of Exoto and the stuff u have there
I would love to ultimately have all the Jim Clark era Lotuses and the ground effects / Andretti Lotus cars as well....heck anything with lotus

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » February 13th, 2012, 11:24 am

Ferrari is the single largest part of my collection as well. The pictures do not show all of the Ferrari and Porsche models.
Also have all but one of the Gilles Villeneuve and Niki Lauda Ferrari F1 cars in 1/43.
Ronnie Peterson Lotus 72E of 1973 from Exoto; also the original Esprit and the Esprit Turbo.
The Mazda 787B is at home waiting on me as well to open up the box.
Been collecting these things since 2000.
Check out the Lotus Forums Shop, they always feature one of the older day models. Also if you look through Grand Prix Legends' web-site you can see all the Lotus cars available.

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » February 13th, 2012, 11:30 am

Drop me a line when you ready to pipe out the 1:18 Ferrari cars.
Put up a picture of the TR6 if you can.
Nice collection you have.

Postby MG Man » February 13th, 2012, 11:38 am

lol nothing for sale
I know where to get stuff, just not where to get cash :(
I'm actually trying hard to kick the habit, but lately I'm hooked on 1:43 historic rally cars from Ixo.

In terms of rally cars I tend to collect by driver, my favorites being Airikkala, Pond, Brookes and Jimmy McRae (cuz they drove HSRs)........also the younger McRae and Marcus Gronholm. Ixo covers them nicely with their 1:43s

If I spend money on F1 cars, it will only be Lotus, particularly from the 1960s up to 1970s when Colin Chapman's innovations really evolved the sport

My other collection passion is for Vauxhall cars, which are mostly available in 1:43. Just got in a 1:64 Opel DTM Calibra...not a Vauxhall badge, but close enough

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » February 13th, 2012, 3:50 pm

weyyyyyyyyy... i thought i had a collection till allyuh fellas start to talk lol. only vws in my collection though...most still in the box

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » February 13th, 2012, 4:42 pm

"I'm actually trying hard to kick the habit"

Yeh right..........and no sex, take taxi, stop drinking and become a dex spectator ent?

This is a dred sickness and zero paper is the only sure cure.

As far as the packaging goes, that's the way to retain the value. Sorry, but I do not enjoy them in the box so maybe more than 1/2 of the value of my collection is lost.

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » February 13th, 2012, 7:40 pm

only still in box cuz i have not decided as yet how i will display the little guys

Postby Monk BANzai » February 13th, 2012, 8:25 pm

ok.. MG mAn you no longer meh horner man....WOW!!!

question though..that display case..was i made locally? if so..PM me teh person that did it with a contact number.....

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » February 13th, 2012, 8:45 pm

great collections you guy's got there.
i've only just started collecting, mostly 1:24 models.
you give me encouragement,thanks.
are there any model car owner's display shows.

Postby MG Man » February 15th, 2012, 9:06 am

CARVTech all of mine are in their boxes because I have nowhere to display them yet....maybe twice a year I open them and give them a wipe down. Even i the boxes, they get a dirty film over time...a few of the older Bburago models are even getting bubbles in the paint, which is no biggie, but when my Kyosho Europa started bubbling is when I started cussing

Banzai yuh like dem Ixo models ah have eh :P

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 15th, 2012, 10:21 am

I also collect model cars but is the 1:64 size. I have over 100 of them, my collection is over 20 years old, the first I collected was a corgi junior ford wrecker. I will try to post some pics if i get some time over the weekend

Postby MG Man » February 15th, 2012, 10:41 am

hmm
you sound like me.........I have Corgi and Matchbox cars from back in the late 70s and early 80s

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » February 15th, 2012, 11:20 am

MG Man, all of them deteriorate over time. I have some Exoto, high end AutoArt, Mini Champs, GMP and other top end brands that have paint start to go bad (even in the boxes). It starts off with the oils on your fingers, if not just, then the humidity I think starts to screw them up. I run the AC in my display area to try to keep the humidity down, plus silica gell packets.
As of now, it's over 130 1:18 models and 12 1:12 in the collection.............but I have a buddy with over 500.....in Trinidad.
This have a tendency to cause wife to want to kill!

Postby MG Man » February 15th, 2012, 11:24 am

well wifey bought quite a few for me so she can't complain...............much
I don't buy as many 1:18s anymore, at least not locally, but those 1:43 IXO models on eBay have me hooked

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » February 15th, 2012, 3:25 pm

corgi woy woy..........u know how long me eh hear that name.

Postby MG Man » February 15th, 2012, 7:50 pm

CARVtech, these are thelast few I got off ebay this week
1:43 from IXO

1:64 from micro champs...first time I ever bought this brand but they pretty awesome

Postby Morpheus » February 16th, 2012, 2:30 am

Wheyyy.....I always wanted to start but..............$ :-(

And Corgi yes. I never forgot that brand. LoL

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » February 16th, 2012, 4:09 am

MG, I likes the Opel and the Focus, nice.

Check this one bellow: Guranteeeee I have the only PartyTime (Satan) rail on the planet.......yeh, I made it and it's got nitrous (2 capacitors on the motor).
It's historically significant as well, becuase it was from before he won the FIA award. :mrgreen:
IMG_0291_Rail.jpg
IMG_0291.jpg
Last edited by CARVtech on February 16th, 2012, 4:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » February 16th, 2012, 4:22 am

MG, twice I bought from e-bay (1:12 scale), 100% rated suppliers and twice I get the shaft with damaged goods. Fraid that e-bay thing.

Postby MG Man » February 16th, 2012, 7:25 am

you safer with the small 1:43 models. The 1:43s come well and truly stuffed with bubble wrap / newspaper in a sizeable box, so I never had a bad experience. The bigger models are harder to insulate from bumping and banging around

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 16th, 2012, 9:23 am

If wanting to buy JDM cars in die-cast where should one look? Recommended brands?

Postby MG Man » February 16th, 2012, 9:28 am

Kyosho and Auto Art make good stuff that's not about mid-range in terms of price, but great in terms of quality. For a 1:18, expect to pay anywhere between US$40 and US$100 depending on the model....eBay is a great starting point to see what's out there
Don't get too stuck on brands though...just look at quality....I've bought some 1:18 models from Yat-Ming out of china and their quality is better than Hot Wheels imo...not to mention they had some interesting stuff, like a Lotus Europa and Aston Martin Zagato, both of which are not exactly mainstream models...

BTW does it annoy anyone else to see someone's collection, and every car on display has all the doors, trunk and bonnet open?
sheesh

Postby Dizzy28 » February 16th, 2012, 9:52 am

Feels sad after reading this thread and watching alluh pics.

My only lonely car :( :(

Postby MG Man » February 16th, 2012, 10:07 am

hey man, all of us started with just one........I think have that one in 1:24 as well

Postby turbosingh » February 16th, 2012, 10:09 am

Have all the models Silvia's an Skylines hehehehe :mrgreen:

Postby Dizzy28 » February 16th, 2012, 10:30 am

MG Man wrote:hey man, all of us started with just one........I think have that one in 1:24 as well

Yea we have to start somewhere. More into Matchbox though. This is is the start ah mine collection. Is actually twice the number of cars now. The skybusters same thing. Twice as much planes.

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » February 16th, 2012, 11:23 am

The market is flooded with 1:43 and smaller models because the price of good well detailed 1:18 and larger is getting very expensive.

read this: http://www.autoartmodels.com/article.we ... F6ABFF8BC8

The days of $40-$100 cars are gone. You may find stuff on e-bay at old prices like that.
I can safely tell you that for US$100.00 I would not buy a model without seeing it first, detail may be acceptable, but when you see a good model for twice or three times the price then you see the difference in quality.
HotWheels have a couple of lines within the same model release, if you see an Elite from HotWheels it is almost as good as newer AutoArt. HotWheels BASIC releases are in the US$100 range.
HotWheels even have a very limited series they do of the F1 cars with Tobaco branding, you will almost never see this for sale. As an example, my Michael Schumacher collection is missing the 2003GA. I am presently trying to secure one of these HotWheels with the Marlboro branding on it................it eh cheap!!
Same with AutoArt, they have a cheap and an expensive range. All of the "collectibles" that are of historical significance will be the higher priced models.
Some models are released specifically to different parts of the world as well and the relative exchange rates make a huge price change.
Models which were popular and stopped, tend to hold better value than the new ones re-released after a few years by the same company. The 1:18 AutoArt McLaren F1 and the Mazda 787B are two good examples.
If you want a race car with the correct livery, as raced, and that included tobaco sponsorship, then you are in trouble. The models cannot be advertised with that sponsorship due to tobaco laws. HOWEVER, you can get them. Looks at the McLaren MP4/4 1:12 on my site. That's Senna's Championship Car, with the Marlboro decals.............extremely rare and extremely expensive. Same for the 97T Lotus, Senna's 1st win. The car is from the Portuguese Grand PRix in the rain, but was sold without the JPS decals. I had to buy the decals separately. Once they are on the value of that car is virtually doubled from my initial £350.00 investment.
History and detail is very expensive!
Also the OEM's tend to liscense the reproduction of their cars, HotWheels have a contract with Ferrari for instance, if you want a Ferrari model you can go to the shop and buy a BASIC model. If you want a propper model of the same car, buy the ELITE. If you want outstanding detail, buy BBR brand (also Ferrari authorised). Having said that HotWheels ELITE has been getting alot better.
If you just want a model car, then you can shop price and be selective in acceptable quality. If you want a specific car, detailed correctly and of collector quality and value there is no way you will find it new for $100.00.

I would have to agree to disagree with MG about the brand, if you buy AutoArt (new ones), Exoto, Tamiya, CMC, GMP, BBR, Minichamps, True Scale, the basic quality you get is very very good. With the higher price you generally get better quality as well.
Until you see these things side by side to compare, the detail will blow your mind.

I'll take some pictures of some of the more detailed models I have and put them on my site. Stuff like the screws on the butterfly shaft inside the DCOE Webbers and being able to trace a wire from the ignition module on the engine, back to the dashboard.

Postby MG Man » February 16th, 2012, 12:05 pm

please don't post pics
the rest of us are already depressed ;p