THE V8 BOYS present: T&T's 1st V8 Drift Car.

Re: THE V8 BOYS present: T&T's 1st V8 Drift Car.

Postby MG Man » June 9th, 2015, 7:22 pm

by the time I had a fun car, those days were over :(
My brother did manage to back it into the pit wall some years back :-/
What became of that Capri tho?
chev_03035l copy.jpg
chev_03035l copy.jpg (189.21 KiB) Viewed 4022 times

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 9th, 2015, 8:31 pm

I went to a stag party down the islands one night and drank a bottle of rum and the stag buss up cause everyone girl start to cuss... Driving home overtook all the boys in their vans and went straight through the fence by TTYA near the chag convention center/army base :lol:

Then had to drive it back through the fence to get it out the carpark as it was locked and well that's what you do when your 21 and drunk :lol:

It survived surprisingly with a bent control arm, cracked windscreen and new fence texture to my paint :lol:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 9th, 2015, 8:32 pm

I then sold the car to mr Kennedy from morvant who had a few capris and cortinas. He was very happy. As I had all new fenders, hood and trunk, recaros and much more.

I had got fed up of the car and had a chance to get the Silvia from my friends mom for 25k :D

Postby Ted_v2 » June 9th, 2015, 9:05 pm

25k huh. Those were the good ole days.

Postby MG Man » June 9th, 2015, 11:25 pm

Bezman wrote:I went to a stag party down the islands one night and drank a bottle of rum and the stag buss up cause everyone girl start to cuss... Driving home overtook all the boys in their vans and went straight through the fence by TTYA near the chag convention center/army base :lol:

Then had to drive it back through the fence to get it out the carpark as it was locked and well that's what you do when your 21 and drunk :lol:

It survived surprisingly with a bent control arm, cracked windscreen and new fence texture to my paint :lol:

I never got to drive the HSR until I was probably 28.....and never really limed / played the arse with it because 1: impossible to get part, and 2: it's very unforgiving and you don't want to provoke it into biting you...it WILL kill you if you play the arse at the wrong moment....that Wallerfield shunt was stress.....could not locate a new-old stock tail light, and ended up with a used one off a car. it was covered in moss and mud, and the reflector is dodgy, so the brake light isn't as bright as the right side one.....still trying to source a new one :-/
Luckily, the tailgate flew open on impact, so wasn't really damaged except for a cracked bit at the top.....tailgates are part of the fibreglass kit, so a replacement would have to be special ordered. The rear windscreen rubber is unique to the fibreglass tailgate, so that would have been a whole other drama....car was unscathed for over 25 years, and he just had to put it into the wall :-/
This is what happens when you tell your brother to stop babying the car like a meow

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » June 11th, 2015, 9:14 am

First phase of color down....

Next block sand and double coat, then clearcoat at least twice.

11391659_1076059669089822_893534642280225915_n.jpg

droppa

Postby droppa » June 11th, 2015, 9:24 am

its about time we see some V8 drift in Trinidad, after attending the SDN2 and comparing to a previous event a good few years ago, trini drifters came a long way, fellas got sum skillz.....

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » June 21st, 2015, 7:10 am

GymKhama seven four wheel drive mustang...
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg (15.42 KiB) Viewed 3856 times

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » June 28th, 2015, 12:15 am

I'm aiming for a mirror finish! One more pass with the 2k black, then it's cut with 800wet and then base coat black and double clear.

Tranny came out today...gearbox should be in by next weekend.

Engine mods start soon.

525isport

Postby 525isport » June 28th, 2015, 10:04 am

V8 Boys wrote:I'm aiming for a mirror finish! One more pass with the 2k black, then it's cut with 800wet and then base coat black and double clear.

Tranny came out today...gearbox should be in by next weekend.

Engine mods start soon.

Looks good...real good

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » July 1st, 2015, 10:18 pm

a mustang two!! one of 2 mustangs i find ugly as hell, but this will be interesting..what happened to the capri?

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » July 1st, 2015, 11:05 pm

haha! Yup they ugly...but when I'm done with it, it'll be one that'll make heads spin!

I got a knack for makin ordinary cars look killer! Just a few more weeks and the body will be done.

I changed up the lines on the car a little and fabricating a new front bumper...will drop it ever so nicely over the 18" staggered rims on super wide tires. Might also be blackin out the chrome trim as much as possible, not sure about a rear wing, will have to experiment with a few. But the the motor will bubble spit and gurgle... 510 lift baby!

Redoin the interior a combo of grey and black, got some nice recarros the other day.

Always loved Capris but felt that i'd have to start from scratch with the one we had...so onward ever with the Pony car. Hey a Mustang IS a Mustang ent?

Here is the direction I'm going in...although this is the fast back version...I'm goin to take some ideas from the front of these two>
imagesfinf.jpg
imagesfinf.jpg (14.29 KiB) Viewed 3740 times

imagesrev.jpg
imagesrev.jpg (7.5 KiB) Viewed 3740 times

imagesrer.jpg
imagesrer.jpg (7.65 KiB) Viewed 3740 times

nigie

Postby nigie » July 6th, 2015, 3:07 pm

Finally some real drift power.... :lol:

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » July 19th, 2015, 1:56 am

That first pic looks cool..the second and third not cutting it..

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » July 27th, 2015, 3:17 pm

whats he cost of a fuel injected v8 and a box

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » July 27th, 2015, 5:28 pm

I've never bought a crate engine and tran/box before, but Summit Racing has 5.7 sbc starting from $3500us and a little more for a sbf same 5.7.

I used to go up St Maarten every 6mths and buy entire Mustangs, Thunderbirds, Camaros, Malibus etc scrap them down and bring the motors, trannies, boxes and diffs and sell them to the guys in the club, but had to stop for health reasons.

I used to sell the sbc for $3000-$5000tt eng only and the tranny for $2000tt....gearboxes were about $3500tt as is no warranties, but they were good for rebuilding...engines up there do very little work (island is only 37sq miles) That was then but now v8s are very hard to find nowadays.

I've seen a few guys bring in LS1 and Vortec motors...like Colors that fly in Preysal...but for big $. Esp those Ls motors...they are very pricey. About $7500.us and more.Hard to get even in the States.

If you're gonna be bringin one in yourself expect to spend at least $25,000tt landed. The sbc or sbf that is.

I might be goin back up St Maarten in Sept if I feel well enough and will be taking one of my guys to help scrap out a few Mustangs and Chevs I have lined up there.

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » July 27th, 2015, 9:39 pm

Thanks 4 the info been following this build good stuff and was thinking of my next build being a v8 turbo or super charged .
Hope you are doing better and stay strong brother