MEET WAS GREAT!!! Time Attack was bess!

Re: MEET WAS GREAT!!! Time Attack was bess!

Postby sliderz1 » July 8th, 2013, 8:21 am

so its similarly fashioned to a Touge then? :D

vids anyone?

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » July 8th, 2013, 9:58 am

Actually, I only remembered the camera AFTER I left home. It would have been great to show what the course offered in vid format.

Very similar to a Togue type track: elevation changes, on and off camber corners, ability to let the course flow corner into corner. Attacking a course for approx 1/2 mile then to turn around and see it in reverse was fun, fun fun. Obviously, some changes will have to be made to make it a viable legal and safe event, but definitely has potential.

We ran 1 run, but the car was not prepped to run that day. We stil put down one of the fastest times for the day. Those damn SUVs!!!! LOL.

Kirk

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 8th, 2013, 10:27 am

Pics look great.

Congrats on pulling off a touge-style event.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 8th, 2013, 10:48 am

Good stuff

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 8th, 2013, 12:03 pm

glad this event went off well..... would love to be part of the next one

Glitch

Postby Glitch » July 8th, 2013, 12:20 pm

This was an excellent event...I did not expect the course to be that good...

i will be back again for sure...My car teach me a few new things that day....lol

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 8th, 2013, 12:31 pm

Put me down for the next one... not sure I can beat that "filled-with-win" RAV4 though... but I'll try :)

nemesis

Postby nemesis » July 8th, 2013, 7:42 pm

Congrats on pulling off the event. Pics look like it was fun.

pornstar#1

Postby pornstar#1 » July 8th, 2013, 10:17 pm

bump for ali crashing in evening, doh worry it goh fix...

mafia-boss

Re: MASS MEET TODAY! Inviting all bikes, stanced & drift car

Postby mafia-boss » July 9th, 2013, 6:44 am

Garage Fresh™ wrote:
ingalook wrote:
Mr. Fixables wrote:The Time attack was great. Very different to what we are used to, definitely liked it.

Would be interested to see if this develops.

Kirk

What you run it in Kirk? Was it as scary fast as it looked?

well Mr Ho Hing made a Dry run on the course came up with a time of 2mins 13 secs but said he wasnt pushing it , i could imagine if he was pushing it

mafia-boss

Postby mafia-boss » July 9th, 2013, 6:56 am

Garage Fresh™ wrote:Great Turn Out... Well Participated Event.

Thanks to everyone who took part, it was a huge success.

No police issues what so ever, guys raced their 'belly full' all afternoon...
clearance was given by the local police authorities,

Those who didn't participate, well you guys jus missed out :cry:

Ryan Seepersad (Subaru Impreza) & Reagan Birbal (Drift A31) tied for first place.

special thanks to Nicholas Rajpaulsingh & Mark Ramdhansingh for taking care of the Time Attack... and special thanks to Street Concepts for their continued support.

Best Stanced Vehicle went Sean of Street Concepts (Altezza)

Even some ATV's came out to run the course, made some pretty fast times...

and not to mention that spectacular drift display courtesy Dirty Projects.

Look out for it on SynergyTV & Lime.tt

Was a very nice event & it wasnt a problem handling the time attack & we would be there for the next event for sure
here are a couple pics we took at the event:

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » July 9th, 2013, 8:45 am

What I like about this is that even without a proper and official track, we are still looking for a safe options to run our cars. Keep it up guys.

Ingalook: the course was not that fast. Probably no faster than D&W. The fun part was off-loading your suspension with the elevation changes while attacking a corner ..... ( and looking out for the curbs waiting to attack you) LOL. It was kinda like making a Banzai Maracas run.
Kirk

TUNER POPO

Postby TUNER POPO » July 9th, 2013, 10:50 am

1001510_599557510095508_1357336484_n.jpg

GarageFresh

Postby GarageFresh » July 9th, 2013, 1:24 pm

More Photos from Lime.tt here : http://www.lime.tt/2013/07/garage-fresh ... -car-meet/

thanks very much for the full coverage Lime.tt !

Postby wagonrunner » July 9th, 2013, 1:37 pm

Glitch wrote:This was an excellent event...I did not expect the course to be that good...

i will be back again for sure...My car teach me a few new things that day....lol

From the vid on fb I see you learned some new tricks prior. color me surprised. :mrgreen: :lol:

Postby sliderz1 » July 9th, 2013, 1:38 pm

limett needs to step up their automotive game

Glitch

Postby Glitch » July 9th, 2013, 1:41 pm

Glitch wrote:This was an excellent event...I did not expect the course to be that good...

From the vid on fb I see you learned some new tricks prior. color me surprised. :mrgreen: :lol:

Carlos i learn all dat from u....lol

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 9th, 2013, 1:49 pm

Not starting an online battle here but a few questions if anyone could answer would be great:
- What were the car safety regulations required - cage, seat, harness, etc?
- What were the marshaling procedures, starting order, radio communication on the course etc?
- Was there any thought of testing the driver's competence prior, i.e. not just a guy showing up in a 300+hp road car who 'says he can drive'?
- Did the event have Pub liability insurance?

Obviously I'm in support of all forms of motorsport but there is always the major concern that if and when an accident happens, will the authorities shut all of us down as a result?

I could be wrong but this event did not seem to be sanctioned or hosted by a recognized or experienced body. Again just asking questions and seeking some more info on the event? The TTRC has plans for hosting a similar tarmac time attack (2km) in Central before the end of the year, but the entries would be limited to cars with the proper safety. Unfortunately it does limit the entrants, but those measures save lives.

Looking forward to some responses.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » July 9th, 2013, 2:08 pm

From the vid on fb.... well done Riaz.... Hats off to u.....

Postby wagonrunner » July 9th, 2013, 2:11 pm

Glitch wrote:

Carlos i learn all dat from u....lol
Ahahahahaha. doh be on dat sheit. :lol:

seems the rx gone, but not that far away. :mrgreen:

hmmmm............from my bystanders POV.

A game of "kick the bottle" (some barefoot, some with footwear kicking a plastic bottle) football doesn't conform to FIFA standards
It is a starting point, or should it be stopped because you are at risk (buss toe, etc)?

Yeah it's a public road, but a dead end. really easy to control.
Yeah lots of time / man power / cost to recover / repair IF........ yet with no resources IF didn't happen, though that makes for more "bravery".

granted the risk is thousand times plus magnified, I think it's the same comparison
I think it can be as useful.

Glitch

Postby Glitch » July 9th, 2013, 2:37 pm

How NASCAR got started with approval??????

This could be molded into something great

Glitch

Postby Glitch » July 9th, 2013, 2:48 pm

Riaz try and join with Autosport and develop this if you can...so epic racing could be had here

mafia-boss

Postby mafia-boss » July 9th, 2013, 2:51 pm

rcadiz wrote:Not starting an online battle here but a few questions if anyone could answer would be great:
- What were the car safety regulations required - cage, seat, harness, etc?
- What were the marshaling procedures, starting order, radio communication on the course etc?
- Was there any thought of testing the driver's competence prior, i.e. not just a guy showing up in a 300+hp road car who 'says he can drive'?
- Did the event have Pub liability insurance?

Obviously I'm in support of all forms of motorsport but there is always the major concern that if and when an accident happens, will the authorities shut all of us down as a result?

I could be wrong but this event did not seem to be sanctioned or hosted by a recognized or experienced body. Again just asking questions and seeking some more info on the event? The TTRC has plans for hosting a similar tarmac time attack (2km) in Central before the end of the year, but the entries would be limited to cars with the proper safety. Unfortunately it does limit the entrants, but those measures save lives.

Looking forward to some responses.
cadiz if alyuh not in charge of a motorsport event is a seta bashing it was a charity event TO RAISE FUNDS

Postby tr1ad » July 9th, 2013, 3:24 pm

actually it seems valid on some points...

if the "sport" is to be developed... and something happened during this event, what would be the outcome?
can't make an omelette without breaking a few eggs... but how many eggs ?
i'm just asking as an neutral outsider, everyone is involved in motorsport in some form or the other.... but if something unsafe were to cause all of it to crumble then what?

i wasn't there so i'm not sure, but things like fire officials, medics etc were on hand?

again, this is not a bashing, just a mere re-adjustment of cadiz's points

Postby wagonrunner » July 9th, 2013, 3:32 pm

what happens when there's an accident in "the nuts"? all cars are banned? only allowed to commute via bicycle?
why the blanket theory here?
when footballer is injured on a FIFA field, worldwide stadiums are closed?

Postby tr1ad » July 9th, 2013, 3:41 pm

take win wr

if it was an event like this at camden, with some other body... im sure you'd be in "support"

i've just raised what cadiz was getting at, which i've also wondered, i've put it forward as best as i can
but say what... like i mash a corn

Postby MG Man » July 9th, 2013, 3:42 pm

I wonder of the concerned clubs have extended an olive branch to Garage Fresh? Here is a group of guys with an awesome idea, which they have tried to execute. I admit I chose not to attend on the offchance police might shut it down and impound my lil old car...however, I think there is a HUGE opportunity to work with GF and really make this event and venue something great!
Roll cages? I'm not 100% sure this is an issue...you can take your Mazda6 (for example) road car to the Nurburgring and stuff it into the guardrail, but I don't see anyone banning it...
I sense an air of chessburn here.............these lil upstarts from south wanna have ah racing event?
NAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!! nip this shyt in the bud oui

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 9th, 2013, 3:53 pm

again this is not meant as any attempt to say 'we' must do it. Further to that we would happily be on hand as a FREE consultant so that the event can make use of our experience and suggest things that may improve or ensure that risk is minimized. We have all the infrastructure, radios, timing systems, flags, extinguishers etc. so why knock us for being experienced.

The only reason i decided to ask is that i would hate for the TTRC as an established organization to be denied use of a road due to 'remember when dem fellas race and somebody mash up dey car on a lightpost'. The TTRC doesn't make money nor would we charge if someone asked us for our opinion on running a time attack (ironically something we do on a much bigger scale 8 times a year). Hell it doesn't bother me if the promoters don't even mention our involvement. I care about the reputation of motorsports on the roads and if its done the wrong way everyone loses.

Whether the event was for charity, competition, FIA or otherwise, speed is speed. These types of events do not necessarily need to be sanctioned by anyone but they need to be done in a certain manner. You want to say that the event is safe BEFORE, not get lucky and say how safe it was AFTER.

People don't read anything malicious into my statements, it's purely for information and advisory purposes.

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 9th, 2013, 4:03 pm

roll cages are a matter of opinion for these events. You can find all sorts of examples overseas of time trials and time attacks being done without roll cages. If anyone watches motorsport ranch on tv most of the cars race without cages. Rallying demands cages due to the risk involved. I've needed mine a few times and believe me i ain't getting in a race car without one. But yes i like the rest of Trinidad drive down the highway with the rest of the crazies at 120kph without a cage. I competed in the Chaguaramas hill climb held by TTASA in 2009 without a cage and i was fine. There was a car there that almost wrote off in some trees and we were all reminded of the dangers really quickly......and that was a first and last for that event. Do you get my point now. Thankfully i'm a little more experienced now.

It's really down to the risk associated with the event, the speed attained, the danger areas of runoff, etc. D&W, Solodex, 11sec+ drag cars etc really doesn't need a cage.

Just trying to be helpful guys, and to the question about have we ever extended an olive branch. To be honest i didn't even know that this was taking place. I will be more than happy to help if it means more events happen as a result with more people interested in competing.

Postby tr1ad » July 9th, 2013, 4:03 pm

MG Man wrote:I wonder of the concerned clubs have extended an olive branch to Garage Fresh? Here is a group of guys with an awesome idea, which they have tried to execute. I admit I chose not to attend on the offchance police might shut it down and impound my lil old car...however, I think there is a HUGE opportunity to work with GF and really make this event and venue something great!
Roll cages? I'm not 100% sure this is an issue...you can take your Mazda6 (for example) road car to the Nurburgring and stuff it into the guardrail, but I don't see anyone banning it...
I sense an air of chessburn here.............these lil upstarts from south wanna have ah racing event?
NAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!! nip this shyt in the bud oui

oh goar... you too?

i'm not saying it's a crap event...

hell from when he started, it would only be a matter of time before bigger and better

don't you take part in events in a controlled environment?
all i was asking was... is it controlled?
if it wasn't and something was to happen.... then loads more chessburn from those that can't take part anymore not so (base it on those that talk about soup car etc)
?