2015 Corolla vs Cerato vs Elantra Etc

optimisticcharlie

Re: 2015 Corolla vs Cerato vs Elantra Etc

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 7th, 2015, 3:08 pm

MadCrix wrote:Wrt resale value the toyota will always sell for more because u paid more for it eh...so u nit comparing apples to apples

The toyota corolla and the cerato are the same price both basic and fully loaded prices match

Postby 16 cycles » February 7th, 2015, 9:24 pm

Op....check bess auto and mint motors...

They have vw and honda vezel at around your price range.

Might be worth checking out after sales service etc...

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 7th, 2015, 10:11 pm

hoverauto wrote:Whats the price of the Tucson Diesel? My budget is around $240000, hence the cerato Koup or the Navara.

The redesigned (diesel) was around $289k when I last checked slightly out of your range,that was when it was now introduced.
The Diesel is more expensive than the gas versions, I personally have the non led/drl light version (2012 CRDi 4WD). It wouldn't hurt just to take a look, that wasn't the direction I was going just stumbled into it and haven't regretted it, I was just surprised.

To sum it up Gas Tuscons are ok but Diesel is where it is, it surprises everyone I've had friends and neighbors test it, some actually own the gas version and they are shocked at the completely different machine the diesel is (the turbo makes everything better).

After 35,000kms I've had no problems, actually the first set of brakes wore out a bit quick, other than that it's been smooth sailing. It's my first Hyundai, matter of fact first Hyundai in my family and its received high approval from all.

Postby nervewrecker » February 7th, 2015, 10:44 pm

How you coping with the crap fuel we have here?
Heard plenty people getting blows with it

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 7th, 2015, 10:46 pm

I refering to de older sloyotas dat were sold wrt resale vaule. Current prices will see resale being de same

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 7th, 2015, 10:53 pm

Kk well we will see God spare life, seems like anything both hav their good n not so good,

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » February 8th, 2015, 2:01 am

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
hoverauto wrote:Whats the price of the Tucson Diesel? My budget is around $240000, hence the cerato Koup or the Navara.

The redesigned (diesel) was around $289k when I last checked slightly out of your range,that was when it was now introduced.
The Diesel is more expensive than the gas versions, I personally have the non led/drl light version (2012 CRDi 4WD). It wouldn't hurt just to take a look, that wasn't the direction I was going just stumbled into it and haven't regretted it, I was just surprised.

To sum it up Gas Tuscons are ok but Diesel is where it is, it surprises everyone I've had friends and neighbors test it, some actually own the gas version and they are shocked at the completely different machine the diesel is (the turbo makes everything better).

After 35,000kms I've had no problems, actually the first set of brakes wore out a bit quick, other than that it's been smooth sailing. It's my first Hyundai, matter of fact first Hyundai in my family and its received high approval from all.

Ok cool. Thanks for the info, I'll make some calls on Monday to get the price of the diesel now. Guess it's like the Sportage, I've driven both the diesel and gas. The gas is a dead horse....while the diesel has real pep.

On the day I was in Massy I didn't even consider the Tucson for some reason.

I looked at A LOT of cars that day......Cerato, Navara, Veloster, Elantra, Corolla, Civic, City and the Ranger. By the end of the day it felt like I had walked miles and I was confused as feck....lolol

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 9th, 2015, 12:58 am

nervewrecker wrote:How you coping with the crap fuel we have here?
Heard plenty people getting blows with it

Gasoline versions are giving headache, had a neighbour actually shutdown infront my home (injectors clogged) on his way for his son lent him the diesel and he came back in shock at the difference. Diesel so far has been solid and the tiny snail makes for fun.

Sometimes I feel the diesel is keep as a secret and the ones that know grab them up, I also believe that the initial cost sway most.There is no other reason I see for so little being on the road in comparison to the gas version.

hoverauto wrote: On the day I was in Massy I didn't even consider the Tucson for some reason.

I looked at A LOT of cars that day......Cerato, Navara, Veloster, Elantra, Corolla, Civic, City and the Ranger. By the end of the day it felt like I had walked miles and I was confused as feck....lolol

hoverauto we've all been there, as I mentioned before the Tuscon was no where on my radar just opportunity presented itself. Was actually looking at a Q5 then lost the Navara, then I lost my main income so cutbacks had to be made and now have no regrets.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 10th, 2015, 6:59 pm

optimisticcharlie wrote:Kk well we will see God spare life, seems like anything both hav their good n not so good,

OP check out this thread: viewtopic.php?f=39&t=473975
Reviews were based on the fully loaded 4 door model as the basic wasnt out yet.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 11th, 2015, 9:17 am

personally OP, the car in your profile pic is way better than all you asking about

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 11th, 2015, 9:22 am

Lol yes way better lol

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » February 12th, 2015, 10:47 am

i still cant believe he trying to compare a toyota with a kia/hyundia vehicle :|

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 12th, 2015, 10:48 am

Uhh, well well wats ur in depth view then

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 12th, 2015, 3:01 pm

why not? its de same price? hence a logical question as to pros and cons of each vehicle.

the blind view you have that somehow Toyota > all is flawed and incorrect.. fyi

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » February 12th, 2015, 5:39 pm

Hey guys, ended up buying the Navara, decided I liked it more than the car. Also, figured it would have better resale value that the Cerato Koup, and I can rough the van up a bit, take it places the car can't go. I'll get the luxury vehicle when I qualify for a company car in 2 years.

Guys...someone here said it the best....just buy what you like.

Cheers.

Details

Postby Details » February 12th, 2015, 7:30 pm

hoverauto wrote:Hey guys, ended up buying the Navara, decided I liked it more than the car. Also, figured it would have better resale value that the Cerato Koup, and I can rough the van up a bit, take it places the car can't go. I'll get the luxury vehicle when I qualify for a company car in 2 years.

Cheers.

Which one ? D40 or np300. 4x4 auto or manual?

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » February 12th, 2015, 8:46 pm

Details wrote:
hoverauto wrote:Hey guys, ended up buying the Navara, decided I liked it more than the car. Also, figured it would have better resale value that the Cerato Koup, and I can rough the van up a bit, take it places the car can't go. I'll get the luxury vehicle when I qualify for a company car in 2 years.

Cheers.

Which one ? D40 or np300. 4x4 auto or manual?

4x4 manual, leather. D40

Postby MG Man » February 13th, 2015, 10:06 am

test drove both the corolla cerato and and elantra
the korean cars are miles ahead
The corolla wins for interior and trunk space...other than that....unless you really feel you paying for name and perceived resale value, you'd have to be a real tuntun to choose the corolla at it's current price
The Koreans have tons more features, and their ride and handling are good for the class....there's a Cerato that ran dex last year, and it was very impressive.
The corolla still running the old 4 speed tranny, doesn't have a proper voice interface, and the steering wheel buttons look like a cheap afterthought....you'd swear someone took a hole-saw to the steering wheel and cut out the holes for the tacky buttons.....the dash is nice, if you like that retro / wannabe BMW horizontal layout....and of course you don't get the pretty screen on the USDM cars....

that new corolla is definitely the bottom of the barrel i this class......the idea of superior quality blah blah blah in this day and age, is an outdated misconception...the truth is, EVERYBODY making a quality car nowadays......so why pay TTTL's price for the worst car in class?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 13th, 2015, 10:10 am

my point exactly kev, in todays global market all manufacturers HAVE to make reliable cars else they buss. no one vehicle is way superior as a result.

ppl still thinking is the 80's where granted Toyota was king due to a more reliable car THEN

Postby MG Man » February 13th, 2015, 10:20 am

yup
been driving a Sportage all year, and compared to the RAV4 my sis used to own....the Kia is definitely the better car....I have no quality issues with the Sportage, and I am def ont one to take care of vehicles...no doubt the RAV is reliable too, but why buy that when the kia is such a nicer vehicle

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 13th, 2015, 10:32 am

I agree what uall r saying, just buy whatever u like i guess, to be honest i love the cerato n corolla and elantra, i eud choose a santa fe over rav 4 etc or the optima over alot of vehicles but depends on wat u want cuz my main issue is the size and space in this class, the cerato seems crampy when i checked it out but truely a superb vehicle n deffinitely a bang for buck but not size for me

Postby MG Man » February 13th, 2015, 10:43 am

hoping to check out the new Suzuki sedan soon....

Postby Dizzy28 » February 13th, 2015, 10:49 am

MG Man wrote:test drove both the corolla cerato and and elantra

Grammar Nazi and just cuz I feel like.....
MG yuh can't test drive three cars and say both :D :D

Postby MG Man » February 13th, 2015, 11:06 am

lol guilty as charged
saw it buh din bother to edit....I had forgot I drove the elantra too, so jus stuck it in at de end

also, fixed:
MG Man wrote:test drove both the corolla cerato and and elantra

Grammar Nazi and just cuz I feel like.....
MG yuh KANT test drive three cars and say both :D :D

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 13th, 2015, 11:08 am

Lol

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 13th, 2015, 11:15 am

Surprised you saying the Cerato interior is small..
I found it to be larger than the Elantra and even the Focus.
The Cerato trunk space was rated as the largest in its class in 2014.

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 13th, 2015, 11:20 am

No the trunk space is big but i meant the leg room in the back and front with an even ratio is smaller than the corolla. The cerato feels like a yaris inside and the corolla feels like a sylphy inside with respect to space but the trunk space in the corolla and cerato looks closely the same

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 13th, 2015, 11:25 am

Ok...I didnt even consider the Corolla when I was buying.
Overpriced and the Cerato safety features were miles ahead than what the corolla at the time was offering. I think thats something you should seriously consider as well.

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 13th, 2015, 11:42 am

Yea the basic corolla n cerato have the same airbags etc but the fully loaded corolla has more features with 9 air bags whiplash reducing features foot airbags and other safety features but as one of rhe guys said compared to the usdm models its missing the fancy screen and 2.0 n 1.8 models.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 13th, 2015, 1:50 pm

MG Man wrote:hoping to check out the new Suzuki sedan soon....

What sedan they have??
I know they have the new S Cross
And surely you can't mean the Dzire??.....that looks like something Shah Rukh drove in Kuch Kuch Hota Hai!!