2015 Corolla vs Cerato vs Elantra Etc

Re: 2015 Corolla vs Cerato vs Elantra Etc

Postby sliderz1 » February 13th, 2015, 3:29 pm

surely not the swift sedan. that thing is horrible on the eyes

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 13th, 2015, 3:34 pm

MG Man wrote:hoping to check out the new Suzuki sedan soon....

What sedan they have??
I know they have the new S Cross
And surely you can't mean the Dzire??.....that looks like something Shah Rukh drove in Kuch Kuch Hota Hai!!

I have seen these around and no matter the number of times I've seen it, they look like they've been rear ended.

Postby cinco » February 13th, 2015, 3:43 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
MG Man wrote:hoping to check out the new Suzuki sedan soon....

What sedan they have??
I know they have the new S Cross
And surely you can't mean the Dzire??.....that looks like something Shah Rukh drove in Kuch Kuch Hota Hai!!

I have seen these around and no matter the number of times I've seen it, they look like they've been rear ended.

Looks like a tiida sedan rear ended a swift

Postby MG Man » February 14th, 2015, 12:56 pm

lol no, they launching a new model, not the Dzire

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 15th, 2015, 11:38 am

MG Man wrote:lol no, they launching a new model, not the Dzire

Good to hear, not bashing Suzuki as I have two Vitaras myself but the Dzire design is just awful.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 15th, 2015, 12:00 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
MG Man wrote:lol no, they launching a new model, not the Dzire

Good to hear, not bashing Suzuki as I have two Vitaras myself but the Dzire design is just awful.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1424016020.683780.jpg

This^^^ :?

Postby cinco » February 15th, 2015, 12:04 pm

He driving a Telstar anything is an upgrade

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 15th, 2015, 12:28 pm

I hope the 1.4 is not like the 2.0 in the Vitara I personally find their engines could use some more pep, step, umph.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 15th, 2015, 12:30 pm

It's a 1.4 n/a in a mid-sized sedan. There is no good way that can turn out.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 15th, 2015, 12:32 pm

maybe it's rotary :roll: :lol: :lol: :oops:

Postby j.o.e » February 15th, 2015, 4:55 pm

Cliff notes.....car is sheit

Postby MG Man » February 16th, 2015, 12:27 am

how'd you arrive at that conclusion?

Postby j.o.e » February 16th, 2015, 11:58 am

MG Man wrote:how'd you arrive at that conclusion?

It's just my opinion doesn't have to be 'right'
1. It's ugly..suzuki sedans always have weird dimensions...look strange and narrow. Hate their design language

2. Can't imagine suzuki can work miracles and build a 1.4 to not feel lethargic....their engines are not that impressive generally

3. In the video they showed a top spec version and it still looked very cheap inside. So I can't imagine how bad things can get in the lower specs that will probably be the standard locally.

4. No sense buying a cheap car that will potentially have high running costs because of limited /expensive parts. Lifestyle.isnt know for cheap parts and no where else will stock parts for this.

5. There is no particular factor that puts this car above the rest of the market. I see no reason to wait around to see how good it is.

I reiterate...my opinion.

Postby sliderz1 » February 17th, 2015, 9:12 am

interior is nice

Postby MG Man » February 18th, 2015, 3:34 pm

looks pretty decent to me
the way he said cliff notes, I tort the vid indicated the car was sheet....seems worth considering if you in the market

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 18th, 2015, 3:54 pm

the Suzuki Ciaz is not exactly a bad car but @ $165k that is too much money. The outgoing SX4 hatchback and sedan sold for nearly the same price and you got 17" rims with the Sport, 4 disc brakes, lip spoiler and a 1600 motor (M16A) and these came from Japan.

The Indian made Ciaz 1.4L with 91HP and 130Nm torque should be priced around $145k tops. Right now you can get a Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.6 sedan for $155k and they sold for as low as $150k recently on a promo. That is a bigger and more powerful car than any Ciaz and Mitsubishi has better brand cred than Suzuki. Choice is clear. You can even get a fully loaded Sonic, Fiesta, Rio and Accent for less than a Ciaz. Heck even the Versa 1.5 cheaper and Nissan doh need to beg anyone to buy their cars. They sell themselves based on reliability alone. Lifestyle took a risk with the Ciaz but as we consider Suzuki's from the past ie. Baleno, Liana, SX4 you realize they never really had a successful car here to begin with.

As far as the topic is concerned the Corolla is my #1 followed by the 2 Korean twins. If you can look past the fake leather seats, sunroof and backup camera in the $220k Hyundai you would realize the better driver and safer car is in fact the Corolla.

Postby MG Man » February 18th, 2015, 4:00 pm

how exactly did you arrive at the Corolla being safer?
DId anybody see the Elantra that committed suicide over the weekend? Engine fell out as per proper design, doors were able to open, passenger compartment held in shape, ten billion air bags deployed......damn impressive wreck imo

Postby MG Man » February 18th, 2015, 4:02 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1424289708.127006.jpg

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 18th, 2015, 4:08 pm

safer does not mean supplemental safety systems like airbags. Vehicular control is equally important if not of more importance. The handling dynamics of Korean vehicles are not up to par with the likes from Europe or Japan. Perhaps, with more control the Elantra would have been on the road still. We know none can defy the laws of physics but in keeping with the OP's choices, the Corolla is the much better car. Oh and if its of any worth, the Corolla is equipped with a knee airbag system. The Elantra is not so equipped.

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 18th, 2015, 5:47 pm

The fully loaded corolla yes not he cheaper but love the corolla never the less

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 18th, 2015, 6:09 pm

Other than airbags, the korean vehicles has lots of safety controls to avoid an impact in the first place. Doubt the Corolla comes close in this regard. From my experience Autocrossing with the cerato, these korean cars handle pretty well if not better than its competitors. No matter how you try to trash it, you always maintain stability even with traction control turned off.

Postby j.o.e » February 18th, 2015, 6:14 pm

I come in here just to listen to acesinghit share his vast knowledge of vehicles..I just love the way his opinion is spoken as fact and he makes up stuff along the way to plug holes in his story.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » February 18th, 2015, 6:22 pm

j.o.e wrote:I come in here just to listen to acesinghit share his vast knowledge of vehicles..I just love the way his opinion is spoken as fact and he makes up stuff along the way to plug holes in his story.

You not the only one .........
I really wonder about him and his facts

Postby MG Man » February 19th, 2015, 7:25 am

idlemind wrote:Other than airbags, the korean vehicles has lots of safety controls to avoid an impact in the first place. Doubt the Corolla comes close in this regard. From my experience Autocrossing with the cerato, these korean cars handle pretty well if not better than its competitors. No matter how you try to trash it, you always maintain stability even with traction control turned off.

first hand experience driving the elantra, it has an impressive stability control system....de man grasping at straws now with the knee air bags....apparently that justifies paying more for a basic crapbox

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 19th, 2015, 7:52 am

lolz

I drove both the corolla (new) and elantra(new) and the elantra outperformed the corolla in terms of safely putting down lap and lap of consistent autocross times.

USDM spec cars btw... same electronics systems in the JDM cars

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 19th, 2015, 8:04 am

MG Man, you've lost credibility as the writer you portray to be. You of all people who appreciate the finer attributes of an automobile can now label one a crap box? One good thing about this though is that at least something other than old British cars can be good in your books.

Postby MG Man » February 19th, 2015, 9:21 am

lmao
touched a nerve, did I?
I've owned quite a few crapboxes in my time, good sir, so I am well qualified to know one when I see one
There is nothing about the current Corolla that justifies its price among its contemporaries
It continues to be the same car it has been for the last two decades......reliable and generic...there's nothing exceptional about it, it brings nothing particularly remarkable to the table, other than a roomy interior

Postby MG Man » February 19th, 2015, 9:50 am

here's a nice objective review..I actually looked at this one last year when I was shopping around for a new car
The USDM car definitely has a nicer front fascia

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 19th, 2015, 7:38 pm

Lol. All this beatup over a car that coming standard with hubcaps. Yea...in 2015.

Postby DVSTT » February 19th, 2015, 8:02 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:How you coping with the crap fuel we have here?
Heard plenty people getting blows with it

Gasoline versions are giving headache, had a neighbour actually shutdown infront my home (injectors clogged) on his way for his son lent him the diesel and he came back in shock at the difference. Diesel so far has been solid and the tiny snail makes for fun.

Sometimes I feel the diesel is keep as a secret and the ones that know grab them up, I also believe that the initial cost sway most.There is no other reason I see for so little being on the road in comparison to the gas version.

hoverauto wrote: On the day I was in Massy I didn't even consider the Tucson for some reason.

I looked at A LOT of cars that day......Cerato, Navara, Veloster, Elantra, Corolla, Civic, City and the Ranger. By the end of the day it felt like I had walked miles and I was confused as feck....lolol

hoverauto we've all been there, as I mentioned before the Tuscon was no where on my radar just opportunity presented itself. Was actually looking at a Q5 then lost the Navara, then I lost my main income so cutbacks had to be made and now have no regrets.

My old boss has a gas Tucson and the amount of problems he had with it and Massey I ended up with an Xtrail 2.5.