Something Wicked This Way Comes

Red Dawg

Something Wicked This Way Comes

Postby Red Dawg » April 29th, 2015, 9:14 pm

Things to make you go hmmmm.
1430356424849.jpg

Re: Something Wicked This Way Comes

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 30th, 2015, 12:53 am

CK Lancer looking good.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » April 30th, 2015, 6:55 am

:mrgreen:

Postby eliteauto » April 30th, 2015, 7:41 am

local CK? Looks well kept

moti

Postby moti » April 30th, 2015, 11:23 am

Always liked the green those CK's came in.

troublemaker

Postby troublemaker » April 30th, 2015, 11:26 am

PBJ ones always looked great...idk y :/

Lance

Postby Lance » April 30th, 2015, 11:52 am

What is Gel Coating?

Postby eliteauto » April 30th, 2015, 1:35 pm

Lance wrote:What is Gel Coating?

tyre shine?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 30th, 2015, 2:38 pm

nice to see some progress .... not just a set a ole talk at the track :lol:

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 30th, 2015, 6:16 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Lance wrote:What is Gel Coating?

tyre shine?

That doesn't have something to do with fibreglass work?

Postby K74T » April 30th, 2015, 7:26 pm

Dem rims on de lansah rel badd boii

Dragist

Postby Dragist » April 30th, 2015, 8:14 pm

The Terrapin cant wait to see it when Finished .

Postby MG Man » May 1st, 2015, 9:13 am

dem shocks look real stiff tho

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 2nd, 2015, 7:21 am

Is that this one that was posted in here some time ago ?

viewtopic.php?t=95041

Postby sliderz1 » May 4th, 2015, 2:53 pm

light and nimble

very nice

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » May 5th, 2015, 8:15 am

Dragist wrote:Is that this one that was posted in here some time ago ?

viewtopic.php?t=95041

This is not our car.
I believe that this is Becks Gonsalves car, from St. Vincent.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » May 8th, 2015, 10:19 am

question: why was square section steel used instead of circular hollow section?

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2015, 12:50 pm

most tube frame cars use square tubing....easier to cut and join

Postby black start » May 10th, 2015, 4:54 pm

but is it fassup?

me em seein no essar twenny or no beeforden enjun

Postby Ted_v2 » May 10th, 2015, 6:37 pm

Who building these locally?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 10th, 2015, 6:48 pm

Bedroom slippers

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » May 13th, 2015, 2:28 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:question: why was square section steel used instead of circular hollow section?

This car was originally built in 1972 out of 7/8 inch hollow section and as MG Man says, it is easier to cut and join square section tubing.

MG Man wrote:most tube frame cars use square tubing....easier to cut and join

That being said, If I had to build a new one from scratch I would use round tubing because we now have the benders and notching tools. We can now make the main frame rails from one piece of tubing.

Ted_v2 wrote:Who building these locally?

With the exception of the frame, all other aspects of this car was engineered by Red Dawg Racing and built at Dow Fabrication. Although we can simply copy this frame we do hope to soon have a copy of the original blueprints.

racedriverpro wrote:Bedroom slippers

MOST CERTAINLY NOT.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 13th, 2015, 3:06 pm

Red Dawg wrote:
cacasplat3 wrote:question: why was square section steel used instead of circular hollow section?

This car was originally built in 1972 out of 7/8 inch hollow section and as MG Man says, it is easier to cut and join square section tubing.

MG Man wrote:most tube frame cars use square tubing....easier to cut and join

That being said, If I had to build a new one from scratch I would use round tubing because we now have the benders and notching tools. We can now make the main frame rails from one piece of tubing.

Ted_v2 wrote:Who building these locally?

With the exception of the frame, all other aspects of this car was engineered by Red Dawg Racing and built at Dow Fabrication. Although we can simply copy this frame we do hope to soon have a copy of the original blueprints.

racedriverpro wrote:Bedroom slippers

MOST CERTAINLY NOT.

I knw it isn't. First thing that came to mind when I saw it. From the looks of it that don't look like it have the level of fyahz....

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 13th, 2015, 6:51 pm

What formula specification is the car being built to?

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » May 14th, 2015, 9:13 am

racedriverpro wrote:I knw it isn't. First thing that came to mind when I saw it. From the looks of it that don't look like it have the level of fyahz....

I am sorry
I really wish I understood what you are trying to say...

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » May 14th, 2015, 9:16 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:What formula specification is the car being built to?

The car was originally built in 1973 to compete in the Caribbean Formula Championship.
We havent really deviated from that design. It was originally designed in England back in the 1960s as a sprint and hill climb car and does not really subscribe to any of the set "Formulas".
Last edited by Red Dawg on May 15th, 2015, 2:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 14th, 2015, 9:17 am

Red Dawg wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:I knw it isn't. First thing that came to mind when I saw it. From the looks of it that don't look like it have the level of fyahz....

I am sorry
I really wish I understood what you are trying to say...

Dbu small thing.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » May 14th, 2015, 9:34 am

Here is our car, as it looked back in 1974...

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 16th, 2015, 8:08 am

Cool car love then Open wheel racers , do you have any idea where the Single seater that came out a few times on the Drag track I think was owned by Silbourne Clarke at one time or the other ?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 29th, 2015, 10:07 am

Hi Red Dawg how yuh goin. Nice to see the project back on stream again.
What power unit? Ol' school 1275 Cooper... or something newer?

BTW what ever happened to the ex-Tom Miller Terrapin from the same era?
IIRC he bought an alloy (4-valve?) head for the engine back in the day. Who has that setup now?