Rover 200 Project.

EDora

Re: Rover 200 Project.

Postby EDora » February 21st, 2016, 12:09 am

Good to hear, await updates

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » February 21st, 2016, 5:27 pm

SO.....right back into it. This is how she sits currently at home, still unable to go back out to work so I'll work on her from home for now, until the near future. Tomorrow I'm gonna tackle the couple areas needing repairs on the inside, and then all left to do would be the front, which is where the work gets major.
12769474_10208687469890688_1926783703_n.jpg
12767674_10208687469690683_496925021_n.jpg
12767274_10208687470010691_1739263712_n.jpg

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » February 27th, 2016, 8:59 pm

Ok so I have reached a point in the build where I cannot move forward without replacing the suspension components. There are things that can be done, but I just cant bring myself to doing them, knowing that the car is still far from being road perfect. So next up on the agenda, since i cannot locate any dealers in the country selling parts for these cars, is to place an order to get all the OEM parts from the UK. Its not gonna break my pocket, but it will take some time to get everything here as I am going to place a single part order first, to ensure the reliability of the foreign dealer, wait for it to ship here, and then place the order for the others.

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » February 27th, 2016, 9:01 pm

Ok so I have reached a point in the build where I cannot move forward without replacing the suspension components. There are things that can be done, but I just cant bring myself to doing them, knowing that the car is still far from being road perfect. So next up on the agenda, since i cannot locate any dealers in the country selling parts for these cars, is to place an order to get all the OEM parts from the UK. Its not gonna break my pocket, but it will take some time to get everything here as I am going to place a single part order first, to ensure the reliability of the foreign dealer, wait for it to ship here, and then place the order for the others.

Postby cinco » February 27th, 2016, 9:34 pm

avimadvibez wrote:Ok so I have reached a point in the build where I cannot move forward without replacing the suspension components. There are things that can be done, but I just cant bring myself to doing them, knowing that the car is still far from being road perfect. So next up on the agenda, since i cannot locate any dealers in the country selling parts for these cars, is to place an order to get all the OEM parts from the UK. Its not gonna break my pocket, but it will take some time to get everything here as I am going to place a single part order first, to ensure the reliability of the foreign dealer, wait for it to ship here, and then place the order for the others.

That's how it goes sometimes. Glad to see you doing it right the first time

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » February 28th, 2016, 12:18 pm

cinco wrote:That's how it goes sometimes. Glad to see you doing it right the first time

I had a somewhatofaproject sunny before, tried to do it the shortcut way, lets just say its sitting in a scrap iron yard somewhere. One thing I've realized about a project, its gonna cost alot more than you intend to spend, and in the end you could never get back that kinda money for it. You really gotta love what you're doing to get it done the right way

Postby cinco » February 29th, 2016, 2:43 pm

avimadvibez wrote:
cinco wrote:That's how it goes sometimes. Glad to see you doing it right the first time

I had a somewhatofaproject sunny before, tried to do it the shortcut way, lets just say its sitting in a scrap iron yard somewhere. One thing I've realized about a project, its gonna cost alot more than you intend to spend, and in the end you could never get back that kinda money for it. You really gotta love what you're doing to get it done the right way

exactly!!!!
but like i said once you do it right the first time you end up with a much longer lasting end product

shivam1984

Postby shivam1984 » March 2nd, 2016, 2:27 pm

Respect to you guys, have an old that i recovered w126 sitting in my garage but struggling to find the time to sweeten her up, anyone know of any benz specialist down here and where i can get parts?

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » March 4th, 2016, 6:12 pm

shivam1984 wrote:Respect to you guys, have an old that i recovered w126 sitting in my garage but struggling to find the time to sweeten her up, anyone know of any benz specialist down here and where i can get parts?

If its something you could do/attempt to do on your own, you should definitely try. As far as parts go, I think your best bet would be to locate them in the UK and import them, as parts for that locally either gonna cost a arm and a leg, or gonna be in the worst condition possible. Parts definitely is the hardest thing, as I knew it would be from the start, but there's always an option available.

A lil hour today and a lil 2 hours on a weekend could get you up to speed in no time :lol:
anytime u spending doing nothing could go right into the car, and you'd be amazed how quickly things come together.

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » March 9th, 2016, 11:09 am

Okay so I've placed the order for the suspension parts, along with some other goodies for the car :wink:

so in just a couple of weeks i should be back on track with it, gonna be on hold until i get those parts

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » March 19th, 2016, 11:31 am

Looking for the outer door handles, might only need 2 but if i get all 4 ill take them. any help??

also in the meantime....
resize.jpg

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 21st, 2016, 3:08 pm

nice stuff man
inspiration to continue

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » March 22nd, 2016, 2:23 pm

New parts, fresh outta the UK at 52% of the cheapest price locally. I really dont mind giving local businesses the sale, but when I know theyre trying to make the cost price in profit, I gonna order it myself yes.
12895305_10208963024619384_257451661_n.jpg

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » April 2nd, 2016, 11:18 pm

Got to doing some serious work this easter week. Knew i had a bearing problem, so I decided to gut out the front and and start fresh, meaning new joints, hubs, bearings, ends, bushings etc, and installed the new control arms and brakes.

The car is now basically back to 100% working order in the front, meanwhile as for the back, still have to change shocks but coilovers should arrive soon, and I also got my hands on a pair of original OEM rover 200 rear disc brakes, just to install.

Plenty pics to upload but tuner is currently undergoing its v4 update so pics arent loading right now, will post them soon

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » April 7th, 2016, 9:23 pm

some pics from the front end work
12919243_10209125837729610_813157378_n.jpg
12910662_10209125836969591_1973431792_n.jpg
12910640_10209125838769636_1884205241_n.jpg
12910581_10209125836809587_651627193_n.jpg
12939470_10209125837529605_1426591253_n.jpg
12939470_10209125837529605_1426591253_n.jpg (10.45 KiB) Viewed 7384 times
12939442_10209125837329600_1326951749_n.jpg

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » April 8th, 2016, 9:36 pm

Got to installing the rear disc brakes and rear coilovers today.
12966657_973226672774145_1624062793_n.jpg
12992150_973226509440828_1837196151_n.jpg
12939686_973226649440814_1804441930_n.jpg

Postby Monk BANzai » April 9th, 2016, 4:33 am

Rear coils?!?! do tell good man!!! from whence did you procure such goodness?

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » April 9th, 2016, 4:25 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Rear coils?!?! do tell good man!!! from whence did you procure such goodness?

lol dont mind me. Its just coilover sleeves on tokico b14 shocks. The height of the b14 shocks allows for a drop with the coilovers without compressing the shocks too much since they're shorter than the original rover shocks. Just used back the original strut mount and came up with that. No rough ride no cut springs no bottoming out, and an automatic 2" drop to start with. can still go 2" lower.

Postby Monk BANzai » April 9th, 2016, 5:28 pm

^^ mindblown... gonna try that.... saves a whole bunch buying Axo Coils...... infact go just throw a wad of cash your way and have you come do it for me...lol

thats really cool tho...

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » April 11th, 2016, 3:04 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ mindblown... gonna try that.... saves a whole bunch buying Axo Coils...... infact go just throw a wad of cash your way and have you come do it for me...lol

thats really cool tho...

yup no complains from me thus far. got them running front and rear now, put on new links so the entire car suspension is brand new, not even the smallest bushing spared lol. If u want I can give you all the details, or even send some info on fully adjustable coilovers your way

Postby Monk BANzai » April 12th, 2016, 3:27 am

share the details her eif you want... or inbox me. Prepping the car for track/street use.... so yeah it will help...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 12th, 2016, 7:39 am

Yes this sounds like something I'd like on my 200 as well.

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » April 12th, 2016, 5:39 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:share the details her eif you want... or inbox me. Prepping the car for track/street use.... so yeah it will help...

i eh want everybody to be rocking my secret na....lol jk. so long as allyuh interested lemme shoot out some info.

i not sure about allyuh suspension, but mine carrying b14 shocks and spindles in front to use original axles n joints etc, and i use the b14 back shocks with the original rover 200 shock mount, as its basically a mount frame with a double pieced bushing in it.

Since the b14 shocks in the back are shorter than the original rover 200 shocks, the coils didnt have to set too low to bring the fender down to the tyre. eg8 shocks are also an option but they are a bit longer.

for the front, im not sure what the original lenght of the rover 200 shocks are, but with the b14 shocks, the coilovers were set at the same increment and magically the front was level to the back :lol: :lol:

for the coilovers i used a cheap pair from DNA Motoring as i was a bit skeptical on them since they had so many mixed reviews, but I know now it depends on how you use them. obviously if you set it very low, you are going to end up with a seriously stiff ride, especially if you're running on stock shocks, but its very comfortable for me, while also being very stiff so rough roads and potholes are definitely your enemy.

heads up when buying the coilover springs, they are heavy so expect shipping costs to be in the higher hundreds

http://www.ebay.com/itm/151926171954?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » November 2nd, 2016, 12:59 pm

Havent updated this in a while, but its almost a year since i got the car and it has come a long way. Will start updating again this weekend.

chosen1

Postby chosen1 » May 10th, 2017, 11:29 am

Any updates?

I recently purchased a Rover 200 (Nov. 2017) with a d15b manual conversion. I have done some engine/bay work to it and it runs good. But like DjQ i need to get a fuel pump (as the car cuts off when it wants) and a radiator, so the car is sitting at the moment. I am about to switch to some coilover sleeves just like you did and change up some gaskets in the meantime.

interested to know how things turned out with your project and how it looks now.

Postby Monk BANzai » May 11th, 2017, 7:20 am

chosen1 wrote:Any updates?

I recently purchased a Rover 200 (Nov. 2017) with a d15b manual conversion. I have done some engine/bay work to it and it runs good. But like DjQ i need to get a fuel pump (as the car cuts off when it wants) and a radiator, so the car is sitting at the moment. I am about to switch to some coilover sleeves just like you did and change up some gaskets in the meantime.

interested to know how things turned out with your project and how it looks now.

Check out Kamikaze (James Harris) he just cleared a ton of Rover parts, including some MG ZR bits..i picked up some for my (shuddup ppl) project.

Postby Monk BANzai » May 11th, 2017, 7:38 am

Some pics of the stash he has available..

Mirrors and the dash already sold. He had the entire front setup to convert your Rover to a swanky mg ZR..

chosen1

Postby chosen1 » May 11th, 2017, 8:14 am

Wow... Thanks

Any contact #?

Postby Monk BANzai » May 11th, 2017, 8:45 am

check inbox....

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 11th, 2017, 7:58 pm

Send it to me too please