Automotive Paint

djaggs

Automotive Paint

Postby djaggs » May 23rd, 2016, 3:58 pm

Does anyone know much about automotive paint ?

Are there any specific brands that might be preferable over others ??

Im interested in a non metallic finish.

Re: Automotive Paint

Postby cinco » May 23rd, 2016, 4:26 pm

Ask yuh painter what's his preference some painters won't touch a different brand

Postby rspann » May 23rd, 2016, 6:31 pm

If you are not using metallic ,you are going with a straight colour. You can do it in a direct gloss paint which uses a thinner and hardener alone. You can also do it in a basecoat /clearcoat system. The thing to consider is cost and durability. Automotive art is a good choice, price is good and it's easy to apply and buff. Penta is also very good and reasonably priced. There are many other paints ,but like I said, it boils down to what you want to spend and what results you want.

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » May 23rd, 2016, 9:51 pm

Bro. Use sherwin William automotive paints. Painted a vehicle 9 years ago and still look great. Don't use penta. outlets can't mix paint and sell you thinners loose and you will have problems

Postby rspann » May 26th, 2016, 7:11 pm

I've been using Penta for thirty five years, every single day ,owned a Penta outlet and cannot complain. I painted a Bentley ,Rolls Royce and many other exotic cars in it and no problems.I painted an RX 7 in penta and redid it because of an accident 14 years later. A lot of people blame the paint ..........
You know that Penta is a franchisee for Nexa Autocolor, one of the biggest brands worldwide. PPG,Right?

djaggs

Postby djaggs » May 27th, 2016, 9:11 am

Thanks guys

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » June 9th, 2016, 12:07 am

rspann wrote:I've been using Penta for thirty five years, every single day ,owned a Penta outlet and cannot complain. I painted a Bentley ,Rolls Royce and many other exotic cars in it and no problems.I painted an RX 7 in penta and redid it because of an accident 14 years later. A lot of people blame the paint ..........
You know that Penta is a franchisee for Nexa Autocolor, one of the biggest brands worldwide. PPG,Right?

This. Have been using Penta for many years now without any problems. It really boils down to personal preference.