The Hybrid Fuel Economy Thread

Supra GT-FOUR

Re: The Hybrid Fuel Economy Thread

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » June 4th, 2018, 12:06 pm

DJ Q wrote:So, my experiment is over.

For one full tank, I had the car in PWR mode.
It's really a different car when you do that. So much torque.
I was driving harder than the "normal" driver.
No pulse and glide, no coasting, no any kind of typical hybrid driving.

Had 2 sprints from 0 - 145
Another from 0 - 177

Just pretty aggressive overall. A/C was on 90% of the time.

I didn't monitor the charge level of the battery, watch the km readout or anything.

It's weird because if you don't pay attention to the speedo, you really can't tell how fast you're going.

Time for the results.
With a fill up price of $155.09

...drum roll..

I managed

... more drum roll.....

*pause for effect*

*still paused*

831.2km :shock:
Nice job Q.
I recently joined the hybrid family as well and am now the proud owner of a 2016 Aqua.
On my 1st tank got 802km and it took $120 super to fill up.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 4th, 2018, 3:03 pm

My best so far is 982km to $160

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 5th, 2018, 9:08 pm

DJ Q wrote:So, my experiment is over.

For one full tank, I had the car in PWR mode.
It's really a different car when you do that. So much torque.
I was driving harder than the "normal" driver.
No pulse and glide, no coasting, no any kind of typical hybrid driving.

Had 2 sprints from 0 - 145
Another from 0 - 177

Just pretty aggressive overall. A/C was on 90% of the time.

I didn't monitor the charge level of the battery, watch the km readout or anything.

It's weird because if you don't pay attention to the speedo, you really can't tell how fast you're going.

Time for the results.
With a fill up price of $155.09

...drum roll..

I managed

... more drum roll.....

*pause for effect*

*still paused*

831.2km :shock:

Well that's double my current mileage so worth it then.

Thanks for the sacrifice in the name of science..

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 1st, 2018, 9:44 pm

So long since I dropped some info in here.

I've tried on more than one occasion and I've come to the conclusion... NEVER drive a Prius in "Normal" mode.
It's more efficient than a standard vehicle but way less Priusy. Barely scrapped 780km with normal driving.

ECO or PWR for me.

foots

Postby foots » August 3rd, 2018, 4:46 pm

I have a question. How is the fuel economy on a hybrid if you drive mostly in heavy stop and go traffic every day?

How does it compare to the fuel economy on a normal non hybrid 1.6l sedan (say an elantra or a tiida or something) under the same conditions.

I ask because I see some real heavy gas consumption on my pops car (7km/l) which i assume is from him being in traffic making short trips all the while.

I usually see about 16-18km/l on my non hybrid car, but I do mostly highway driving at times of light traffic. Never really drove in heavy traffic much to see the impact on fuel economy because my car is manual and I naturally avoid getting stuck in traffic every day with it.

NS10

Postby NS10 » August 17th, 2018, 11:28 am

Thanks for all the great info you Prius owners are posting.

I was wondering how the A/C performs running on the battery. I spend a lot of time with my car idling to use the A/C, I'm talking sometimes up to an hour. Does the AC perform well if you're parked and therefore running off the battery?

NS10

Postby NS10 » August 17th, 2018, 1:13 pm

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 5th, 2018, 11:26 am

foots wrote:I have a question. How is the fuel economy on a hybrid if you drive mostly in heavy stop and go traffic every day?

Depends on one major factor: Use of A/C.
I've noticed that with the A/C off, there is a MAJOR difference in the time to the recharge cycle. And that would of course be due to the fact that the A/C runs off the HV battery. With the A/C off in stand up traffic, my car almost never restarts and can creep for very long distances. With A/C on, the car can go for up to 20 mins if the A/C temp is not too low but that doesn't include creeping. You might get 5 - 10 mins with creeping.

foots wrote:How does it compare to the fuel economy on a normal non hybrid 1.6l sedan (say an elantra or a tiida or something) under the same conditions.

It's better in every way. Literally every way.
Not slow either. I hit 180+ Sunday morning but the speedo stops increasing at the 180 mark. Car was definitely still accelerating though. Will try using my ODB II app to read what the ECU is putting out.

foots wrote:I usually see about 16-18km/l on my non hybrid car, but I do mostly highway driving at times of light traffic.

At 95km/h:
If the car is charging while driving on the highway, I'd average 20-25 km/l
If the battery is fully charged, average 30-35 km/l

At 70km/h:
If the car is charging, average 18-24 km/l
Fully charged, switching between 30-40 and EV

Hope this helps!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 5th, 2018, 11:29 am

NS10 wrote:Thanks for all the great info you Prius owners are posting.

I was wondering how the A/C performs running on the battery. I spend a lot of time with my car idling to use the A/C, I'm talking sometimes up to an hour. Does the AC perform well if you're parked and therefore running off the battery?

The compressor in a Prius is electric. The 2ZR-FXE is the first production engine to have no belts.
That said, the A/C only runs off the HV battery. There is literally no performance gain or drop when the car changes modes.
The only thing that changes (depending on the temperature) is how often the car will start to charge itself.

foots

Postby foots » November 10th, 2018, 11:12 am

Thanks for the response DJ Q. That's pretty cool!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 21st, 2018, 7:41 am

My best tank so far

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 21st, 2018, 7:56 am

DJ Q wrote:My best tank so far

That's amazing. Normal conditions or did you actually have to focus on 'hybrid driving'?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 22nd, 2018, 9:05 am

The only 'hybrid driving' I do is switching the car into what is called "Super highway mode".
It's a neat simple trick that when you get up to speed (for me that's around 90 km/h), take your foot completely off the pedal then depress again. The car will do it for itself but it'll take a longer time to switch.
I've grown accustomed to longer braking distance and coasting while rolling in traffic.. so it's not really a focus.

Because the car reacts differently, it kinda naturally changes your driving style.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » February 11th, 2019, 10:39 am

DJ Q wrote:The only 'hybrid driving' I do is switching the car into what is called "Super highway mode".
It's a neat simple trick that when you get up to speed (for me that's around 90 km/h), take your foot completely off the pedal then depress again. The car will do it for itself but it'll take a longer time to switch.
I've grown accustomed to longer braking distance and coasting while rolling in traffic.. so it's not really a focus.

Because the car reacts differently, it kinda naturally changes your driving style.

Is that what people are calling the "heretical mode"?

https://priuschat.com/threads/heretical-mode-on-third-gen-prius-what-do-we-know.75020

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » February 22nd, 2019, 9:15 am

My 2014 aqua i get close to 700km and cost $120 Super and thats everday doin 140km plus

kaiza

Postby kaiza » February 22nd, 2019, 6:19 pm

Im getting 650 km on $150 super on my 2016 Axio Hybrid. Started using premium today. Cost is $30 extra to fill up. Will update if any difference is noticed.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » February 22nd, 2019, 6:23 pm

kaiza wrote:Im getting 650 km on $150 super on my 2016 Axio Hybrid. Started using premium today. Cost is $30 extra to fill up. Will update if any difference is noticed.
That's really good tho... Do you mash kick down often or do u gradually increase ur speed?

kaiza

Postby kaiza » February 22nd, 2019, 6:31 pm

I drive it like a normal car. Normal highway driving is around 100 km with no sparing the pedal. Avg 21 km/|

My ‘06 cs3 gives 480 km on $ 215.

Does anyone know if oil change & injector cleaning will increase km?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 27th, 2019, 9:53 am

Jonathan wrote:Is that what people are calling the "heretical mode"?]

This is actually the first time I saw this. Thank you for sharing!
It's amazing how much I learn about how this car works as I drive.
But to answer, yes. Taking your foot off the pedal and putting it back on once you're cruising at 90+ tends to trigger it quicker than waiting for it to kick in on its own.
When the battery is fully charged and cruising with the OSD showing about 60% depression on the pedal, the car actually starts picking up speed, km/l shoots up to 40 and i'm doing over 100 km/h. I usually get this when I on Butler/Hochoy

kaiza wrote:Does anyone know if oil change & injector cleaning will increase km?

In my experience, oil only affects your mileage when it's really time to change it. In my fielder, my mileage would start to decrease as I neared 7,000 km since the last oil change.
Injector cleaning made a MAJOR difference for me.

See below. I bet you can tell when I serviced my injectors.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » February 27th, 2019, 10:06 am

Dude you should really get the Hybrid Assistant App. All you need is a Bluetooth OBD adapter to interface with the car. It's like cheating really. Makes efficient driving easy. Check it out.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 27th, 2019, 2:34 pm

Steups.
I was super excited to hear about an app that helps to achieve more.
Then to see it's Android only.

STEUPS

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 19th, 2019, 7:49 am

So in the name of science I just tried a tank of Premium since it only costs $30 more to fill.

38.273L of Premium gave 944.3 KM (24.32 km/L)
38.256L of Super gave 945.1 KM (24.7 km/L)

I can thereby confirm that Premium makes no noticeable difference

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » March 19th, 2019, 8:18 am

Yea i never got more mileage on premium... The only thing premium does is makes you drive faster

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 20th, 2019, 8:45 am

How exactly does premium make you drive faster?

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » March 20th, 2019, 5:35 pm

Bcuz the vehicle responds better when premium is used... Faster pick up with little touch to the x

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 20th, 2019, 7:22 pm

You honestly feel that difference bro?? Might have to get me an ioniq for all da fyazz

Postby Dave » March 20th, 2019, 7:30 pm

Yup, in one of my cars that premium could barely cut it, the accelerator gets very soft with it.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 21st, 2019, 11:50 am

Jade_Inc. wrote:Bcuz the vehicle responds better when premium is used... Faster pick up with little touch to the x

In my opinion, that's a state of mind thing.
I drove my car the same way and it responded no differently.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 25th, 2019, 3:31 pm

Anyone with a Prius C from TTL?? what's your real world range like?

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » April 23rd, 2019, 5:57 pm

Fellas, does the aqua have a 12vdc to hook up an amp?