[BLOG]: Solodex BYCC

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

[BLOG]: Solodex BYCC

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 13th, 2010, 11:01 pm

This is a blog post. To read the original post, please click here »

This was definitely one of the least attended BYCC events in years, given the world cup matches, Montreal F1 and Le Mans 24Hrs all this weekend it was not too surprising either.

It definitely was not the quietest BYCC though! The few drivers that took part got in ALOT of seat time as there was no line up to get on the track. Added to the "anti-lag" on Pyke's Vauxhall "Toco Special" Viva, was also the MONSTER sound coming from the engine, blowoff and drivetrain of Jody's 666 widebody Subaru Impreza.

[nggallery id=348]

Re: [BLOG]: Solodex BYCC

Postby MG Man » June 15th, 2010, 9:21 am

i missed this one, but I personally like the BYCCs that have fewer cars............more track time and shorter queue to run
I envy the guys who were there

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » June 15th, 2010, 9:32 am

MG Man wrote:i missed this one, but I personally like the BYCCs that have fewer cars............more track time and shorter queue to run

the downside is that I don't have tires for the next event

Postby MG Man » June 15th, 2010, 10:42 am

rjaggs wrote:
MG Man wrote:i missed this one, but I personally like the BYCCs that have fewer cars............more track time and shorter queue to run

the downside is that I got carried away

fixed :mrgreen:
the key is no matter what, to limit your runs
my intention was to do two sets of runs, max, and focus on clean lines, not speed
I have the same limit is you in that I only have one set of tyres. It's hard but when your budget is limited, you need to hold back, or in my case sometimes, just stay home :-(

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 15th, 2010, 10:57 am

i passed by around 2:30pm...didnt bother to stop...

there were about 3 evo's, ignis and a b13...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 15th, 2010, 11:08 am

It was good, felt like a real track practice day.

OMM NOM NOM NOM NOM

Crix you might want to check that back tyre :|

Postby MG Man » June 15th, 2010, 12:22 pm

***rolls back gate***
***kicks HSR***

moti

Postby moti » June 15th, 2010, 12:58 pm

damn; should have attended this event

Reyos

Postby Reyos » June 15th, 2010, 1:09 pm

Had about 15 cars doing laps during the course of the day....
Only 3 cars were allowed on the course at a time. Anytime anyone else wanted to go on, all they did was line up. When the guys on the course saw a car in the line one would come out to make room for the other. :mrgreen:
It was nice to see some of the new guys coming out to try the BYCC to get a little more aquainted with their cars...hope to see them at future events.

In the morning the track was a bit wet and very slippery but it dried out nicely in the evening.
I went through two tyres...but got A LOT of needed seat time.
Looking forward to the next event.

Reyos

Postby Reyos » June 15th, 2010, 1:11 pm

When I was leaving, I saw members of the V8 club rolling in. Would have been nice to hear those cars on the course!

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 15th, 2010, 1:55 pm

sorry i couldn't make it ...... i was in Guadeloupe at the time :(

moti

Postby moti » June 15th, 2010, 2:56 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:sorry i couldn't make it ...... i was in Guadeloupe at the time :(

and yuh still ain't lend me the iggy :x

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » June 15th, 2010, 8:48 pm

rjaggs wrote:

the downside is that I got carried away

fixed :mrgreen:
the key is no matter what, to limit your runs
my intention was to do two sets of runs, max, and focus on clean lines, not speed
I have the same limit is you in that I only have one set of tyres. It's hard but when your budget is limited, you need to hold back, or in my case sometimes, just stay home :-(

to add insult to injury is 2 drivers in 1 car...and 1 of them inherited his level of restraint from the other :lol:

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » June 15th, 2010, 10:25 pm

Couple of shots I took 8-)

More here

Postby Team Loco » June 15th, 2010, 11:28 pm

MG Man wrote:***rolls back gate***
***kicks HSR***

shut up kevin or thread may get locked

couldnt make it to this one.....committed myself this year to only solodex

Reyos

Postby Reyos » June 16th, 2010, 4:31 pm

rjaggs wrote:
to add insult to injury is 2 drivers in 1 car...and 1 of them inherited his level of restraint from the other :lol:

ROFL :lol:

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 16th, 2010, 8:00 pm

so what happen to all the hype that was made about ryan peyrau coming to that event to give tips ???

Reyos

Postby Reyos » June 16th, 2010, 9:53 pm

chris1388 wrote:so what happen to all the hype that was made about ryan peyrau coming to that event to give tips ???

Chris i must apologize to you and the others for that....That was a huge error on my part.
When I called Ryan a few weeks ago and he readily agreed to come help, I told him I would confirm all the details closer to the event. I had it on my list of things to do but it slipped me :oops: ....I remembered Sunday morning but it was too late to do anything.

I'll ask him to come at the next BYCC and if he agrees, I'll make sure to remind him a few days before the event. I am really sorry about that.... :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2010, 10:14 pm

nice photos Suzuki Sportsman!!!
you can add them to the main event if you like, PM me.

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » June 17th, 2010, 10:20 am

this event was the first time i took my swift sport for a spin at a bycc.

tis addictive :twisted:

Postby MG Man » June 17th, 2010, 11:20 am

blacktriple_s wrote:this event was the first time i took my swift sport for a spin at a bycc.

lol thats why I avoid them
easy to end up like djaggs and done yuh tyres :lol:
but in all honestly I love the poorly attended BYCCS
you get the hard core, serious dexers, more tack time, and people who you can bug for help in improving your times :!:

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » June 17th, 2010, 11:23 am

blacktriple_s wrote:this event was the first time i took my swift sport for a spin at a bycc.

you get the hard core, serious dexers, more tack time, and people who you can bug for help in improving your times :!:

yuh gone back callin meh djaggs again... :evil:

Postby wagonrunner » June 17th, 2010, 12:12 pm

MG Man wrote:lol thats why I avoid them
no bugging without testdrives eh.
rjaggs wrote:yuh gone back callin meh djaggs again... :evil:

throw some bitters on him. :lol: :lol:

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » June 17th, 2010, 12:45 pm

yea boi.. i only make a few laps an when i reach home i find like the outer edges of my tyres lookin a just little bit worn and have some abrasions.. :oops:

so fas dex does eat yuh tyres out?

Postby pete » June 17th, 2010, 12:57 pm

Should see mine from the last solodex event!

Generally we run a much higher tyre pressure at solodex than we would on the street. Softer tires tend to roll a bit and the sidewall starts to get eaten up. On the street I run 28-30 psi and for solodex I take it up to 36-38.

Also, overly aggressive driving tends to wear tyres faster than clean lines. If you find you're tyres are wearing too fast you need to look at where you're going into corners too fast and understeering as I find that is what really chews the tyres.

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » June 18th, 2010, 12:52 pm

pete wrote:Also, overly aggressive driving tends to wear tyres faster than clean lines. If you find you're tyres are wearing too fast you need to look at where you're going into corners too fast and understeering as I find that is what really chews the tyres.

also trying to catch up to/keep up with d car in front is not a good idea...it leads to what u said

Postby wagonrunner » June 18th, 2010, 4:18 pm

rjaggs wrote:also trying to catch up to/keep up with d car in front is not a good idea...it leads to what u said

as yuh say that. all well and good, to test your mettle a bit, and try to shorten the gap.
but the drivers who seemingly thought they could could bumper the car in front of them out of their way, (almost as if in the same manner they drive on the roads), WTF was up with that?

d spike

Postby d spike » June 19th, 2010, 8:44 am

rjaggs wrote:

yuh gone back callin meh djaggs again... :evil:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 23rd, 2010, 3:45 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It was good, felt like a real track practice day.

OMM NOM NOM NOM NOM

Crix you might want to check that back tyre :|

tyre went flat, picked up a screw..... that why the back came around and the bumper decided to eat that cone lol

drove home on meh donut :(

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » June 23rd, 2010, 6:12 pm

EVOs have donuts??..... :shock:

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”