camber plates - class bump?

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

camber plates - class bump?

Postby MG Man » August 3rd, 2010, 12:52 pm

ok guys, here's the thing:
I need to replace both shock mounts on the MINI due to deterioration
A pair will cost around US$300
However, I can get aftermarket camber plates for a similar price:

would these lead to a class bump, or just points?

Please advise

mazdamaniac

Re: camber plates - class bump?

Postby mazdamaniac » August 3rd, 2010, 3:25 pm

the way you ran at dex4, if yuh breath too fast, fart too hard or close de car door too hard it go be ah class bump

Postby MG Man » August 3rd, 2010, 9:10 pm

burr??????
113whp doh lie

but nah, not for that car.............for the MINI

Postby MG Man » August 4th, 2010, 10:57 am

am I in the wrong forum again????????????????

mazdamaniac

Postby mazdamaniac » August 4th, 2010, 11:41 am

we have we eye on yuh, which ever car yuh runin is ah class bump, then we go add pionts for mods

Postby MG Man » August 4th, 2010, 12:12 pm

since when allyuh have ah eye onm y jokey ol car?

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » August 4th, 2010, 2:45 pm

I really don't see what all the fuss is about.......is still ah Mini with ah retarded CVT...... :|

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » August 4th, 2010, 3:06 pm

MG Man wrote:burr??????
113whp doh lie

as if we didnt have enuff pressure already with having suzukis in ESP...

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » August 4th, 2010, 9:14 pm

From Solodex_2009_rules.pdf,

D. ALLOWABLE MODIFICATIONS: Applicable Classes – ESP, SS and EP
8. SUSPENSION
g) The following allowances apply to strut-type suspensions. Adjustable camber
plates may be installed at the top of the strut and the original upper mounting
holes may be slotted. The drilling of holes in order to perform the installation is
permitted. The center clearance hole may not be modified. Any type of bearing or
bushing may be used in the adjustable camber plate attachment to the strut. The
installation may incorporate an alternate upper spring perch/seat and/or mounting
block (bearing mount). Any ride height change resulting from installation of
camber plates is allowed. Caster changes resulting from the use of camber plates
are permitted.

Adjustable Pillow ball mounts – 1 Penalty point

Now checking this year's rules from CARS_SoloDex_2010_RUles_Rev1-2.pdf

SECTION D: Allowable Class Modifications
The items listed in this section are “free” modifications. If an item is not listed in this
section, it attracts a penalty. If such an item is not listed under Section C-V at present, it will be assessed and awarded a penalty value which would be applied to the car or cars
found with the new item.

............there's no mention about "Adustable Pillow ball mounts" OR "Adjustable Camber plates" in SECTION D: Allowable Class Modifications.

Therefore one would assume that it attracts a penalty, amount of points for that penalty we don't know, because its not listed in "Section C-V", i.e;Table 2 & Table 3.
:?

Postby MG Man » August 5th, 2010, 8:52 am

Rudman wrote:I really don't see what all the fuss is about.......is still ah Mini with ah retarded CVT...... :|

quoted for future flag waving :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » August 5th, 2010, 8:54 am

thanks Zuki but I was hoping for an 'official' response

Reyos

Postby Reyos » August 5th, 2010, 9:33 am

Hey Kevin,
I looked over the 2010 rules last night and according to the rules you cannot be penalized for the camber plates. However, if you upgrade the shock or spring, then that would result in modification points.
Hope this helps.

Postby MG Man » August 5th, 2010, 10:29 am

many thanks reyos
I have no intention of upgrading the MINI because as Rudi said, the retarded CVT will never make it competitive.....but I HAVE to replace the shock mounts, and the price difference between stock (which guaranteed to fail in a couple years) anf the adjustable is US$150, so it makes sesne in the long term to upgrade

Postby MG Man » August 5th, 2010, 10:32 am

rjaggs wrote:
MG Man wrote:burr??????
113whp doh lie

as if we didnt have enuff pressure already with having suzukis in ESP...

didn't devi run your car and knock six seconds off david's best time?
You guys can do so much more with that car if you stop overdriving it so much.......the GTi swift is one of the ightest and nimblest cars in its class
And in terms of power, I routinely get trounced by cars with less horsepwer......and I've beaten cars withmore orsepower when i used to run the MG

Just look at curtis in his B11 Sunny............car? or DRIVER?
Curtis is putting down ESP times with a car that I am sure is heavier than the GTi and has less WHP...........think about it

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » August 5th, 2010, 11:24 am

MG Man wrote:didn't devi run your car and knock six seconds off david's best time?
You guys can do so much more with that car if you stop overdriving it so much.......the GTi swift is one of the ightest and nimblest cars in its class

agreed, but i drive d mivec...

Postby MG Man » August 5th, 2010, 11:36 am

rjaggs wrote:
MG Man wrote:didn't devi run your car and knock six seconds off david's best time?

lol well uyou have even less excuse than David :lol:
what tyres you guys run?
I run Toto Proxes Vimode, which have a TW rating of 360.....they don't come much harder than that :(

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » August 5th, 2010, 11:50 am

rjaggs wrote:

lol well uyou have even less excuse than David :lol:
what tyres you guys run?
I run Toto Proxes Vimode, which have a TW rating of 360.....they don't come much harder than that :(

we bought a set of new sumitomo 160tw tyres but i'm almost sure they perform worse than a 280tw tyre...

d mivec rated at 123 whp and weighs 2500+ lbs...d swift should outperform...

Postby MG Man » August 5th, 2010, 12:10 pm

Why would the Sumis be worse?

Postby pete » August 5th, 2010, 1:43 pm

Sumitomos work fine on my car.

Postby MG Man » August 5th, 2010, 2:02 pm

They worked well on the HSR too............but the Vimodes work significantly better, even witht he higher TW.........might be the AA traction rating *shrugs*

Postby pete » August 5th, 2010, 2:20 pm

Maybe better than the HTR 200, not the Z

Postby MG Man » August 5th, 2010, 2:27 pm

yup
the Z does not come in a size to fit my car :-(

Postby MG Man » October 3rd, 2010, 10:47 pm

well finally got the camber plates
now I just need some spring compressors and a balljoint separator and I good to go

anybody know where I can get the balljoint separator to buy?

Postby wagonrunner » October 4th, 2010, 12:45 am

Guess he couldn't tell you where to get one...............

Postby MG Man » October 4th, 2010, 3:25 am

din call him
phone kept dropping signal :-(

mazdamaniac

Postby mazdamaniac » October 4th, 2010, 6:20 am

I'm sure D'Spike have one, but we does normally call it ah sledge hammer. It does wok real good and is found in any hardware store

Postby MG Man » October 4th, 2010, 7:36 am

nah
that is mango tree mechanic ting
tends to damage the joint..................rather not go that route

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 4th, 2010, 5:51 pm

i find the tool actually damages th eboot rubber on the joint kev. i was looking to buy one but i saw one got damage in the removal process. let me know if yours get damage. if not tell me the brand of tool you used an di will buy same

Postby MG Man » October 4th, 2010, 6:00 pm

from what I have seen, a pry bar (tuning fork style) does more damage
but that is an issue with track rod ends.............what I need it for is to pop the hub carrier off of the lower control arm, to release the MacPherson Strut

Postby pete » October 4th, 2010, 8:55 pm

Grooved Ball joint FTW :)

Took mine out with a normal spanner.

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”