What Class Will I Be In?

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

mitsu4life

What Class Will I Be In?

Postby mitsu4life » September 2nd, 2010, 2:16 pm

I competed in dex 5 an i have never had so much fun driving my car EVER, so i wanna find out what class i'll be placed in...i tried going to the carstt site to get the classing but my internet browser seems to think its an attack site :?

Suspension mods:

Aftermarket Springs (Stock Shocks will be upgrading to aftermarket)
ES bushing
Front & rear sway bars (OEM, they came standard with the car)
Front upper strut bar (will be getting front lower and rear upper and lower as well with a X bar from the c-pillar to the shock towers)

Last dyno put me at 114whp (Garth dyno)
Engine is also the original engine the car came with
D16A9 (1600 non-vtec dohc)
Weight is around 2200 lbs (internet specs)

Re: What Class Will I Be In?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 2nd, 2010, 2:41 pm

whp/lbs = 19.29 that makes you esp

what mods do you have to the engine ?

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » September 2nd, 2010, 2:55 pm

Headers, intake (not cold air), msd coil, adjustable fpr and that's about it, may put in an safc to squeeze out some more ponies

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 2nd, 2010, 5:56 pm

looks like you will be rumbling with the ignis next year :p .... shud be fun....i coming out with a vengeance :twisted:

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » September 2nd, 2010, 6:10 pm

lol that's motivation, so I definitely looking forward to that :twisted: ....couple things I noticed,

1) I need gloves cause my hands were sweating a lot
2) You coulda tell a brother walk with an umbrella an some sun block...my nose peeling :?
3) Walk with garden boots in the event of rain my feet were soaked :lol:

all in all I will be in the next one for sure :!:

Postby pete » September 2nd, 2010, 6:25 pm

I hear ya on the sunblock. I always forget and end up getting burnt.

Glad you enjoyed the event. I've always wanted a car like yours, I think it has a lot of potential at dex.

Postby MG Man » September 2nd, 2010, 7:54 pm

gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa not another ESP car tuh wash me :-(

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » September 2nd, 2010, 8:19 pm

lol the car might have the potential......the driver have to get some skill first :oops:

mazdamaniac

Postby mazdamaniac » September 2nd, 2010, 8:29 pm

yuh welcome to join SS where hondas come to die. Just ask X2 and Ingalook

DEVI

Postby DEVI » September 2nd, 2010, 9:24 pm

buy some cycling gloves...perfect and cheap....if my plans go right for next year, i will be running a turbo charged FWD in EP or EPR, not the swift eh! :)

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 2nd, 2010, 9:25 pm

same licks .. bring it come

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » September 2nd, 2010, 10:24 pm

mazdamaniac wrote:yuh welcome to join SS where hondas come to die. Just ask X2 and Ingalook

oh gosh let me work my way up the food chain nah lol, besides I aint's gots no vtak :(

.....yet

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 3rd, 2010, 12:17 am

you shud enlighten some of ur ignorant partners in that honda forum that like to bad talk solodex....now that youve seen for urself how exciting it can be

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » September 3rd, 2010, 8:01 am

Well I'm a honda fanboy without the honda fanboy mentality lol well a few others too, I know Honda_Crew will be there competing again and JDM_GUY had some stuff come up so he couldn't participate this time

I didn't do to bad for first time....after watching some of the pics and vids I could have pushed MUCH harder and I slow rolled into the finish box lmao, I rel laugh when I saw one of my vids.

To each there own I guess, I tried the straight line thing and its also fun but to be me the skills needed are limited...learn to launch without much wheel spin and get max traction and shift quickly....I mean with higher hp vehicles a couple other things come into the mix.

In dex/circuit/grip driving those are just basic skills needed lol i could watch the HKS drag meet and be like yeah cool....if i watch keiichi, orido, iida, kazama and ito run a touge or on tsukuba my foot starts to twitch....I does catch my self heel n toeing with them sometimes :oops:

Postby SUPAstarr » September 3rd, 2010, 8:07 am

Its the same as i told all of them, all you have to do is enter dex once, an thaz it, i was hooked. I fightin very hard not to put the mazda 6 eeen...must ....resist.... urge

DEVI

Postby DEVI » September 3rd, 2010, 10:04 am

lol^ at you guys...but honestly can't blame you...dex looks boring from a spectator pt of view , thats a fact!...but when you sit in a car and drive whoa boy!....whole lotta fun to be had in a carpark and for a small price:)

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 3rd, 2010, 11:05 am

mitsu4life wrote:Well I'm a honda fanboy without the honda fanboy mentality lol well a few others too, I know Honda_Crew will be there competing again and JDM_GUY had some stuff come up so he couldn't participate this time

I didn't do to bad for first time....after watching some of the pics and vids I could have pushed MUCH harder and I slow rolled into the finish box lmao, I rel laugh when I saw one of my vids.

To each there own I guess, I tried the straight line thing and its also fun but to be me the skills needed are limited...learn to launch without much wheel spin and get max traction and shift quickly....I mean with higher hp vehicles a couple other things come into the mix.

In dex/circuit/grip driving those are just basic skills needed lol i could watch the HKS drag meet and be like yeah cool....if i watch keiichi, orido, iida, kazama and ito run a touge or on tsukuba my foot starts to twitch....I does catch my self heel n toeing with them sometimes :oops:

welcome to the club ... glad you enjoyed it.

take my advice .. get the best suspension, chassis/strut/sway braces you can afford
combined with gripy tires and the fun has just begun :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » September 3rd, 2010, 11:18 am

Amir will you STOP givin de new ESP guys advice please :| :mrgreen:

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 3rd, 2010, 11:44 am

Ur frighten or what kevin ? haha....nex year should be interesting.

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » September 3rd, 2010, 1:25 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:

take my advice .. get the best suspension, chassis/strut/sway braces you can afford

I was going through the rules..well the 2009 ones...strut/chassis braces incur no penalty points?

I will be using upgraded shocks and possibly and an upgraded rear sway bar, so that's 3 and 2 points respectively?. I will then be 2 points away from a class bump as 7 points is a class bump?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 3rd, 2010, 2:45 pm

mitsu4life wrote:
Ignorant Ignis wrote:

I was going through the rules..well the 2009 ones...strut/chassis braces incur no penalty points?

I will be using upgraded shocks and possibly and an upgraded rear sway bar, so that's 3 and 2 points respectively?. I will then be 2 points away from a class bump as 7 points is a class bump?

Well if it is 7-points leeway you have, install 6-points worth of mods! :D

But there are alot of things you can do to lower your times without inuring points... even something as simple as aligning you car can help immensely... just ask X2 :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 3rd, 2010, 3:00 pm

chris1388 wrote:Ur frighten or what kevin ? haha....nex year should be interesting.

not as frighten as you, Junior :lol:

Reyos

Postby Reyos » September 3rd, 2010, 9:23 pm

mitsu4life send me your email address and i will email the 2010 rules for you.
It would give you a good idea of how to class any car once you know the power, weight and mods.

I would also suggest that you come to our next BYCC in November. At the BYCC you can learn a lot.
walk with 2 extra tyres, drinking water and sunblock...and you can do as much laps as you want.
At the bycc everyone is a lot less tense and experienced guys can go in the car with you and give you some pointers....you can even ride along with them in their cars if they allow you.
If you take some time and read through the theory about race lines you can come and try different lines.....seat time is key for any driver wanting to do better.

Postby X2 » September 7th, 2010, 3:48 pm

Hmph... I find my name and picong in the same sentences too often.

May have to bring the heat next event and smack some fools !

:evilbat:

Reyos

Postby Reyos » September 7th, 2010, 4:34 pm

Come to tobago and win SS and you will feel the heat in the championship shootout.... :)

mazdamaniac

Postby mazdamaniac » September 7th, 2010, 4:50 pm

X2 wrote:Hmph... I find my name and picong in the same sentences too often.

May have to bring the heat next event and smack some fools !

:evilbat:

:rofl: Is the heat that cause yuh to loose SS the last time, and yuh want to bring more heat???? :lol: :lol: :lol:

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 7th, 2010, 5:25 pm

the event in tobago is a competition event ???

Reyos

Postby Reyos » September 7th, 2010, 7:22 pm

a competition event for Tobago only.
this is not part of our yearly championship.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » October 12th, 2010, 4:50 pm

If the OP doesnt mind I'd like to ask the same question, because of the same internet browser problem. (Delete if it's a problem ok)
U14 Bluebird SSS
FWD SR20DE with K&N cone filter, Automatic
4 wheel disc brakes
KYB shocks all round
205/60/14 Kumho Ecsta DX nitrogen inflated tyres (Traction:A), Steel Rims
Front Upper Strut Bar
Stock SR20DE: 140bhp
Weight: 2390lbs (Plus me = 2590lbs)

next week
Rear upper and lower bars
Pulleys
4-2-1 Extractors