Solodex in Tobago

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Solodex Tobago 2010 - PICS!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2010, 5:06 pm

This is a blog post. To read the original post, please click here »
Written by Narend Sooknarine

'Bagodex or Tobago Solodex was last held in 2008. The event brought all of the dexterity/defensive driving competition to the laid back landscape of our sister isle Tobago, with great success and a tremendous first showing from the Trinidadian competition. Having skipped 2009, 'Bagodex 2010 was set to let Tobago's best answer the call. After all entries were evaluated it was agreed that just four classes would be run - ES, SS, EP and EPR.

The SS class was the best subscribed with Vishnu Charran, Devi Nath and Reyos Seebaran trading top times of the day. Anthony Farah threatened to come close to their times and in the end was a half second away from third place in class. In the end Vishnu took the win with a 43-second time. The ES class proved to be a battle as well between Randell Thomas and Nicholas English. Despite having to revert to "plan B" i.e. his mom's Nissan Tiida Randell Thomas would take the fastest time of ES for the day showing particularly good driving skill neatly sliding the car around the final hairpin cone.

The EP class was filled with cars that we don't normally see, like Garth James' Galant VR4, Jack Azar's RWD RB26DETT Skyline, Bushan Tackoor's homebuilt Impreza WRX and Larry Rampersadsingh's hopped-up "Angry Lunchbox" Suzuki Ignis which came complete with roll cage and slick tires. In the end Larry took the win and the fastest official time of the day with a blistering 42.238 pass. The EPR class saw the lone Evo VII of Raoul Yates
posting the fastest Mitsubishi competition time of the day of 43.286. It was not enough to hold off rally aficionado Skene Howie who despite sharing his car for the day with Troy Small managed to lock in the fastest time in EPR - 42.911 seconds, less than a second off of the day's top time.

After regular competition was over each class winner was entered into the final round to determine the overall 'BagoDex 2010 Champion. Randell, Skene, Vishnu, and Larry were given the same car with a fresh set of tires. This year the Race of Champion car was the SR20VE-powered B14 Sentra of Reyos Seebaran shod with a fresh set of Pirellis. 2008 Champion Devi Nath was automatically entered into competition as well. After a short warmup lap each driver was given one hot lap and in the end Skene Howie took the win.

All in all 'BagoDex 2010 was an amazing event and the challenge trophy was kept in Tobago. Our sister isle seems to be producing some serious driving talent as well and there was talk after the event of setting up a dedicated Tobago Solodex series of events. With two class winners and the overall Championship, they have got the Trinis on the run. By all accounts, everyone was eagerly looking forward to 'BagoDex 2011.

Photography by Miguel Granville and Celeste Hart
click here for PICS!!!
[nggallery id=376]

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

tobago

Postby MISHI » September 18th, 2010, 8:09 pm

GREAT EVENT!!

Congrates to all the winners. The event was quite well organised and a last minute track adjustment made for a most exiting competition.

Re: ***** SOLODEX TOBAGO...UPDATED!!*****

Postby Rooki3 » September 18th, 2010, 11:24 pm

chris1388 wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:i saw a PBS **** ignis with a Carvtech vunyl on the windscreen in prospect las night, is that yurs??

No thats not ignorant's car....another guy by the name of larry.

this larry dude had the fastest time for the day!!!

DEVI

Postby DEVI » September 19th, 2010, 8:01 am

yup Chris 1388...Larry did the fastest time...he was unstopable...his best time was a 42.2 and the closest to that was an EPR subie from Bago that did a 42.9...however during the shootout it was reported that Larry while driving a certain B14 did not realise the revs could cross 6500 lol...Bago took the overall Champion....It was a great event, Tobago was well represented with Ajmal, Mishi , Skeene ( who won) and a fwd specialist Randall....i get good cutarse in SS...congrats to Vishnu in SS....sigh it looks like i have to chew on a mountain of humble pie...was spanked and told to go back to ESP!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 19th, 2010, 8:11 am

I SO wanted to get that fastest EP-R time... till I mis-shifted on the last run....

Postby Rooki3 » September 19th, 2010, 8:46 am

yea randall surprised many with that Tiida

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 19th, 2010, 1:16 pm

DEVI wrote:yup Chris 1388...Larry did the fastest time...he was unstopable...his best time was a 42.2 and the closest to that was an EPR subie from Bago that did a 42.9...however during the shootout it was reported that Larry while driving a certain B14 did not realise the revs could cross 6500 lol...Bago took the overall Champion....It was a great event, Tobago was well represented with Ajmal, Mishi , Skeene ( who won) and a fwd specialist Randall....i get good cutarse in SS...congrats to Vishnu in SS....sigh it looks like i have to chew on a mountain of humble pie...was spanked and told to go back to ESP!

wait na devi suzuki didnt get 1st 2nd ???? Anyhow ignis sport FTW :twisted:

boostbaby

Postby boostbaby » September 19th, 2010, 3:18 pm

Bago was well representedd fun runs was FTW and i vex i didn't reach on time to enter cuz it would of been a good batte for the 4wd's . . . for those who don't kno randall wants it hav wheels he could spin it and make it go around corners. CONGRATULATIONS to all the bago men for representing and showing trinidadd what we hav see u guys nex yr we'll be waiting on you larry

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 19th, 2010, 3:52 pm

boostbaby wrote:Bago was well representedd fun runs was FTW and i vex i didn't reach on time to enter cuz it would of been a good batte for the 4wd's . . . for those who don't kno randall wants it hav wheels he could spin it and make it go around corners. CONGRATULATIONS to all the bago men for representing and showing trinidadd what we hav see u guys nex yr we'll be waiting on you larry

doh worry about larry .............. i coming for allyuh next year

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 19th, 2010, 8:10 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
boostbaby wrote:Bago was well representedd fun runs was FTW and i vex i didn't reach on time to enter cuz it would of been a good batte for the 4wd's . . . for those who don't kno randall wants it hav wheels he could spin it and make it go around corners. CONGRATULATIONS to all the bago men for representing and showing trinidadd what we hav see u guys nex yr we'll be waiting on you larry

doh worry about larry .............. i coming for allyuh next year

me too :twisted: daz ignis x 3 :mrgreen:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 19th, 2010, 9:00 pm

Poor Mishi wrote….”I SO wanted to get that fastest EP-R time... till I mis-shifted on the last run....”

So MISHI, yuh know what you have to do with the car, I waiting by the Port early in the morning for it to arrive!

And thanks for all your support from the Tobago end with this Event.

Thanks also to Roger and Ian for holding the fort for me.

Congrats to all the winners, and the CARS Management Team for the efforts they put in to make this a reality.

And I certainly hope that we do not have to wait another two years for another Dex in Tobago.

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » September 19th, 2010, 9:16 pm

Had a fantastic time at bago dex. since no one else ended up being in ESP, i was bumped to SS so.... that made things interesting :D

thanks to CARS and all organisers involved for a memorable event.

ravi901

Postby ravi901 » September 19th, 2010, 10:53 pm

Bago dex was Real fun, looking forward to the next one.
Congrats to Larry : best time for the day.

Postby Rooki3 » September 19th, 2010, 11:24 pm

as we on the the topic of MISHI, who drove the car for the fun run, that run was epic, think the time was either 40 or 41

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 19th, 2010, 11:29 pm

Oh, Oh, more embarassment for Mishi!
Send back the car!

Reyos

Postby Reyos » September 20th, 2010, 12:07 am

Bago dex FTW.....was by far my most favorite event for the year !
Sun..Sand...Sea ...Solodex!!......
Congrats to all on a fun and SAFE event!!.....loved the fact that we were able to have our same family type atmosphere over in our sister isle.
Guys....Tobago have real driving talent!!....they took the championship away from Trinidad...and they took it away in a car from Trinidad lol!!.....we have to go back there next year and fight for it :)

I said it so many times for the weekend, but i have to say it again...Bago boys!!....alya good!!...it was a pleasure coming over there and racing with you guys. I hope that bago dex 2011 will be bigger and better. You guys have some talent and you earned the respect of all that was there.
It was certainly a welcomed surprise to see how much spectators came out and got involved in the event....you guys really know how to support each other...the crowd was following the times as Narin announced it and really cheering you guys on!!... Hopefully next year we get more guys coming out and taking part.....remember, Dex is for anyone who has any functional road worthy vehicle (sorry..no SUV or pick ups)....

Bago boys.....alya feel free to come check out Solodex in Trinidad on the 21st of November 2010....meet and discuss it among yourselves and feel free to contact us and we can try and help where we can.....the 21st will be our last BYCC for the year and we go ALL OUT for that event....head to head challenges, grudge matches, call outs...we also bbq, curry duck and lime whole day at our last BYCC....I am sure you guys would love the format of our head to head challenges!....

Media guys from bago...good work and nice coverage....very professional and polite. Seeing some pics up on fb and i know you guys were out trying to capture everything. Feel free to watermark your pics and add some here

Will get the results and post it ASAP.

Reyos

Postby Reyos » September 20th, 2010, 12:41 am

MISHI wrote:GREAT EVENT!!

Congrates to all the winners. The event was quite well organised and a last minute track adjustment made for a most exiting competition.

boy i honestly thought Devi was going mad when he was describing the change to me but when i saw it i was impressed!!....definitely one of the more fun courses for 2010!

bagobuzz

Solodex in Tobago

Postby bagobuzz » September 20th, 2010, 3:41 am

Pics from Solodex in Tobago at :arrow: www.bagobuzz.com :D
Bago Buzz.png
Bagobuzz 2 di world!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 20th, 2010, 7:05 am

Rooki3 wrote:as we on the the topic of MISHI, who drove the car for the fun run, that run was epic, think the time was either 40 or 41

AutoSport wrote:Oh, Oh, more embarassment for Mishi!
Send back the car!

:lol: We still have to sort out the "nominal" fees applied :lol: :lol: :lol:

For the fun run 701 was driven by none other than Ryan Ramsaran (A.K.A Madcrix). He wanted to show basically to trust more in the car and push it as far as it could go...

Personally I was opting more for consistent runs and not hitting cones/ dnf and I think I had one of the cleanest runs for the entire session. Also admittedly, was a bit concerned that the car would have slid in a couple areas that had gravel/ grit as many cars suffered during their runs...

All in all the EVO did pretty well being in a class of Wrx's... 2nd in EP-R and sure a top 5 overall time of 43.2

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 20th, 2010, 8:06 am

:( :( :( :(
:( :( :(
:( :(
:(

DEVI

Postby DEVI » September 20th, 2010, 8:51 am

^ dam a$$...told ya u would of cleaned up...then again larry was in a mood

Reyos

Re: Solodex in Tobago

Postby Reyos » September 20th, 2010, 9:48 am

Thanks for the coverage guys. Nice work! Will give you guys a heads up early next year so you can help spread the word.
We will have an article ready by the end of the week. Will send it to you guys as soon as it is ready.

Keep checking the forums here to keep updated on what CARS is doing...
Bago guys you can also send your contact infomation to carstt@gmail.com and we will add you on our mailing list so that way you can keep up to date on whats going on with Solodex!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 20th, 2010, 9:57 am

Good to see the immediate comments here where those who were not able to attend can have early feedback..

Karting yesterday ??

Rallying yesterday ???

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 20th, 2010, 10:31 am

DEVI wrote:^ dam a$$...told ya u would of cleaned up...then again larry was in a mood

work first .... :( :(

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 20th, 2010, 12:02 pm

next shoudl see me there next year in meh evo as well. hope it actually have open class cars to compete aganist then.... i sure larry go come up to open to keep me company otherwise lol

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » September 20th, 2010, 12:23 pm

^^ you still drive that car crix, I thought it was a decoration for the driveway.

fras

Postby fras » September 20th, 2010, 1:55 pm

View in HD, tho the quality not all that
Last edited by fras on September 21st, 2010, 12:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rooki3 » September 20th, 2010, 4:48 pm

or ok, well i real rate crix, that run was EPIC

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 20th, 2010, 9:53 pm

fras....no vids with the fastest car for the day??? yellow ignis....

boostbaby

Postby boostbaby » September 20th, 2010, 10:11 pm

chris1388 wrote:fras....no vids with the fastest car for the day??? yellow ignis....

yea and what about the evo ix and the rest of cars in the fun run setion, the white car is d jokes

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”