CARS-Solodex :Driving School (THIS SUNDAY)

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Reyos

CARS-Solodex :Driving School (THIS SUNDAY)

Postby Reyos » February 3rd, 2011, 5:23 pm

CARS is pleased to announce that we will be hosting a driving school this Sunday at the Arima Race Club car park.
The intent of the driving school is to demonstrate to our new drivers the proper technique involved at Solodex.

Please note that you do not have to be a member of CARS to attend the driving school. ANYONE who may be interested in learning proper race technique can come to the driving school and take part in the practical session after.

Some of the items we intend to cover are:
(1) Proper race posture and cockpit set up
(2) Race lines, apex, braking zones etc.
(3) Rules and regulations of the 2011 Championship series

The day will be split into 4 sections.
Section 1: Classroom session followed by Q&A
This is scheduled to start at 9:30AM. Come with questions and feel free to ask. Remember, we are there to help each other and learn from each other....so don't be afriad to ask anything.

Section 2: Practicals
This is scheduled to start at 11:00am. We are going to set up 3 practice sections.
a. Brake zone
b. 90 degree turn
c. Hairpin and a 360 degree turn.

Section 3: Open course
This is scheduled to start at 1:30 pm
A course will be set up and you will have the chance to make 3 continuous laps with an experienced driver as your navigatior. The intent of this session is to allow a one on one while on the course. At the end of the 3 laps you come off and join the back of the line while another driver takes to the course. We will allow 3 cars at a time on the course with enough space in between. The navigators will all have stop watches so that they can time you in the car while on these runs. The most appropriate race lines will be marked on the course so that you can reference it while driving.

Section 4: Offical timed runs.
The CARS offical timing system will be set up and each driver will be allowed to make a timed lap. At the end of the lap he/she may join the line to try again if desired.

This is a great opportunity to come out and learn how to handle your car under the supervision of our more experiened drivers.

We have a packed day so we really want to start on time so that we can maximize the amount of seat time each driver gets.

COST: $150. per driver
GATE FEE: $20. for non members...Members enter free
TIME: 9:30am to 4:30pm
VENUE: Arima Race Club Car Park.

Remember you can sign up for membership on the day as well. We will also have our CARS tee shirt on sale so feel free to purchase one and represent!
Food and drinks will be on sale

NLVA200

Re: CARS-Solodex :Driving School (THIS SUNDAY)

Postby NLVA200 » February 3rd, 2011, 7:24 pm

Fun times to be had :o

Postby pete » February 3rd, 2011, 7:43 pm

Hope it runs on schedule. I gonna have to leave by 3 so hope I can get in some track time.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » February 3rd, 2011, 7:47 pm

Sounds all good and well....but we never ever start on time....and at the end of the day things just get cut out and nothing goes according to plan. I hope this is not the case sunday.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » February 3rd, 2011, 10:52 pm

nice!

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » February 3rd, 2011, 10:53 pm

Excuse the retarded caliber of this question. We need our own cars? We need our own helmets?

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » February 4th, 2011, 1:59 am

Sounds like a good even to attend, but unfortunately I will be working. I will try to catch the next one. There will be more right?

Reyos

Postby Reyos » February 4th, 2011, 8:18 am

chris1388 wrote:Sounds all good and well....but we never ever start on time....and at the end of the day things just get cut out and nothing goes according to plan. I hope this is not the case sunday.

We will be moving on time.

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » February 4th, 2011, 9:49 am

Romany wrote:Excuse the retarded caliber of this question. We need our own cars? We need our own helmets?

Walk wit yuh car :) If you are a new-comer, you'll make friends over time and someone MIGHT trust you with their wheels. Is ah nice group of people though.

Helmets are mandatory and a limited number is available for rental on the day if you don't have your own.

Reyos

Postby Reyos » February 4th, 2011, 10:12 am

^^ good info there Anthony :)

Guys the guest speaker for the classroom section is Mr. Kirk Ho Hing aka Mr. Fixables on the forums

duchess

Postby duchess » February 4th, 2011, 1:12 pm

psstttt.....reyos..............ah could borrow yuh car on sunday :puppydogeyes: :puppydogeyes: :puppydogeyes: :puppydogeyes: :puppydogeyes:

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » February 4th, 2011, 3:28 pm

^Yuh late, Reyos has no car....... :shock:

Postby eliteauto » February 4th, 2011, 3:45 pm

pablo_tt wrote:Sounds like a good even to attend, but unfortunately I will be working. I will try to catch the next one. There will be more right?

same here will there be another one?

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » February 4th, 2011, 5:57 pm

So will I need new tires or anything after attending this? budget rather tight...this is why I am asking.
Is it possible to attend the class even though you might not have a car =/

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 4th, 2011, 6:35 pm

what's the price to sign in for membership, and when is it renued...????

VIP2Nr

Postby VIP2Nr » February 4th, 2011, 8:37 pm

I was unable to make the dyno session, but still gonna join the new comers line Sunday. Hope I get a helmet rented before they run out.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » February 4th, 2011, 10:12 pm

Even if they run out just go ask one of the guys that rent one to borrow it and tell them u will pay for half the rental...thats all. And walk with a bandana or something to put so u wont transfer sweat/germs.

Postby pete » February 4th, 2011, 11:01 pm

Last year I think they made it $50 for two persons. Each person gets a shower cap. That gonna be the case for Sunday?

Reyos

Postby Reyos » February 4th, 2011, 11:30 pm

hey guys....just wanted to quickly answer some of the questions asked.

Pablo/Mr. Mayor : We intend to only host one driving school for the year....which will be this Sunday. However, the club is only as strong as it's members.....so if the members want another one later on in the year at another BYCC then I am sure we can work something out that will make almost everyone happy.
We will be giving out the theory on cd's this Sunday. The information is free and will be distributed on a first come first serve basis.

Romany feel free to ask any questions you like...
It's ok to attend the class if you don't have a car.....having your car there will be a tremendous benefit to you though. I'll be honest with you, when I now started dex driving I destroyed quite a few tyres trying different techniques or going to hard into a turn. What i can say is that destroying the tyres will be up to you. You can come to the driving school and then slowly practice the turns. Most of us at dex are always on a tight budget so control over the car is not the only thing you learn at Solodex :)

playerscrew: Price for the driving school is $150. per driver.
Membership fees for the 2011 championship series is $100. Membership expires at the end of the competition year.

Sully

Postby Sully » February 5th, 2011, 3:55 pm

Who are the instructors?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 5th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Out of curiousity, how long is the solodex course? What is the average time that people take to run a lap?

Also, where do you people source your helmets and for how much. Coming to think of it, I understand the need for a helmet in regular racing but not so much in solodex.. I assume its a relatively tight track and carpark then because if the lot was big enough there should be nothing to actually hit in dex..
Not sure there is anywhere in the country with that kind of space though..

Reyos

Postby Reyos » February 5th, 2011, 7:56 pm

Instructor for the Theory Section : Mr. Kirk Ho Hing ...AKA Mr. Fixables.

Instructors for the practicals:
Devi Nath (Hair pin)
Kirk Ho Hing (90 degree)
Reyos Seeberan (brake zone)

Just keep in mind that we are going to have a few of our solodex regulars at the event...and they are all very well versed in the techniques needed....and I can safely say that 99% of them are always willing to help or offer assistance if asked....so feel free to chat with us up there....
we help each other out as much as we can...

CA4 Accord...the course varies in times. The BYCC course is fixed, but the competition course changes for each event...so understanding technique is important.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 5th, 2011, 8:54 pm

?What is the directions to solodex venue?

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » February 6th, 2011, 12:46 pm

Sorry I can't make today fellas.. Bad luck this weekend.

Las weekend was worn studs now this weekend I hit a dog yesterday on the highway and seriously bent the h-brace bar underneath and then woke up this morning to find a screw in one of my tyres to be used today (already mounted all 4 yesterday in anticipation of an early departure)

:( :(

I'll be there for dex1 though !! :twisted:

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » February 6th, 2011, 1:39 pm

INTRESTED IN THIS , when is the next one at ARC

Postby pete » February 6th, 2011, 6:16 pm

First competition event is last Sunday of the month. Next BYCC is a little later in the year

Postby MG Man » February 7th, 2011, 9:31 am

blacktriple_s wrote:Sorry I can't make today fellas.. Bad luck this weekend.

Las weekend was worn studs now this weekend I hit a dog yesterday on the highway and seriously bent the h-brace bar underneath and then woke up this morning to find a screw in one of my tyres to be used today (already mounted all 4 yesterday in anticipation of an early departure)

:( :(

I'll be there for dex1 though !! :twisted:

between you and Chris I eh kn ow who tryin harder to take mih perseverance trophy :lol:

Reyos

Postby Reyos » February 7th, 2011, 10:23 am

Guys...to me yesterday was a great success!!

I must say thank you to all that came out and took part in the driving school. From my count we had 20+ new novices attending the school and taking part in the practical and open course.
On behalf of CARS I want to say it was a pleasure having you all there and we hope to see more of you in future events! CARS is a family type club and we welcome you to the family.

A very speical thank you must go to Mr. Kirk Ho Hing for hosting the theoretical part of the driving school. Your course content and the clarity of explanations were excellent. (If this were boy scouts, You would have earned your teaching badge)
To the instructors and assistants for the day....Devi,David, Roland, Vishnu, MadCrix, Randy, Pete, Gen ...I must say a special Thank you to you guys as well. From the feedback I was getting throughout the day, a lot of the novices were liking what they were doing and enjoying the challenge. We also got some good feedback from the novices about ways to improve the driving school experience.
Guys I have some driving school theory to send for you all. I had it on cds in front of the class, but I did not get a chance to give it to everyone. So please send me an email or pm me your email address and I will send the information to you. My email address is reyoss@hotmail.com

I just want to stress the fact that it takes time and discipline to practice all the stuff that was thought. It may take some adjusting of current everyday driving style to get where you want to be.
I encourage you to keep trying...read the theory and feel free to ask any questions and we will try and answer as best as we can. I am sure you all would have noticed that a lot of the experienced guys out at dex have a lot of knowledge and all very willing to help...so use it to your advantage.

To the folks asking about helmets to purchase. I will find out some more info about pricing so that we can pass it on to you guys.

Again...thanks again for making our driving school a success!
Class in session (Photo by Devi Nath) (Medium).jpg
Teacher Teacher (photo by Devi Nath) (Medium).jpg
Theory Session (photo by Devi Nath) (Medium).jpg
Walk through practical (photo by Devi Nath) (Medium).jpg

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » February 7th, 2011, 10:54 am

ah man get cetch sleeping behind randy dere yes...
who was the presenter at that time??? :lol:

Reyos

Postby Reyos » February 7th, 2011, 10:55 am

me :(

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”