Solodex starter car

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

humble.ute

Solodex starter car

Postby humble.ute » July 26th, 2011, 9:57 pm

I was considering the drift bluebird and the starlet as possible cars to begin solodexing as I have no real preference as to FWD or RWD. Experts please impart some knowledge on me? Give me other options or tell me where I can begin. P.S.. I have owned boosted cars before.

humble.ute

Re: Solodex starter car

Postby humble.ute » July 27th, 2011, 6:10 am

Reyos

Postby Reyos » July 27th, 2011, 12:05 pm

Well to be honest it all depends on what you want to do and what you are confortable with.

This debate has taken place quite often and in the end it all comes down to what you want to spend and what you want to achieve.

I have a friend who is great with handling and controlling the understeer of a FWD but now he is moving to a heavy RWD car.....seems to be doing good with it.

The drift bluebird seems to be a nice car. It was at the last BYCC and those guys had that thing doing magic!
The startlet is also a good option since it is light and has a short wheelbase and a some good power....had a few of them pass through dex and they were pretty good.

Some might even say the ultimate dex car is a swift...others might say the ek civic hatch.....
i personally love the evo 8 and the hawk eye sti....

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 27th, 2011, 9:57 pm

Ignis sport...story done :twisted: ....i had a friend with a monster of one for sale...ultimate dex machine...no1 take it on tho

humble.ute

Postby humble.ute » July 28th, 2011, 6:28 am

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 28th, 2011, 12:45 pm

wam humble ?

humble.ute

Postby humble.ute » July 28th, 2011, 2:29 pm

Who dat ?

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 28th, 2011, 4:04 pm

:roll: my advice wud be to get a suzuki...bone stock they handle great and won't break ur pocket either...if u have the cash...and evo or smt i guess as reyos said.

Postby Team Loco » July 28th, 2011, 8:57 pm

start off with a bone stock car. let the sport grow on you then grow into the sport with certain kods to the car and eventual upgrade. rushing into the high end output cars is not the best option if you entering for the first time. stick to an avg mobile for now

humble.ute

Postby humble.ute » July 29th, 2011, 6:18 am

humble.ute

Postby humble.ute » July 30th, 2011, 9:55 am

Talk to me

humble.ute

Postby humble.ute » July 31st, 2011, 9:19 am

Postby pete » August 1st, 2011, 8:13 am

Starlet would be an excellent car for Solodex. Short wheelbase and light with decent power and torque.

drinker41

Postby drinker41 » August 2nd, 2011, 8:54 pm

dont buy anything german they just gonna eff with ur emotions

humble.ute

Postby humble.ute » August 2nd, 2011, 9:24 pm

Thanks Guys. Keep the advise\opinions coming.

drinker41

Postby drinker41 » August 2nd, 2011, 11:25 pm

short wheel base is the way to go

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » August 2nd, 2011, 11:34 pm

drinker41 wrote:short wheel base is the way to go

Not necessarily, they alternate the track layout from tight to high speed.

Dawg just use any regular car. Yuh have to learn to drive first, yes i said it, cause most guys think they is boss drivers and when a lunchbox, b11 or swift with 1.5 to 1.3 unmodified engines runnin on pump gas open a can of whoopass on them, they does run away with they tail between they legs.

Your technique will improve eventually and then you will know what kinda car you want for the long haul.

humble.ute

Postby humble.ute » August 4th, 2011, 6:08 pm

What did most of you guys start with and how did you progress? What would you have done diffeent?

Postby pete » August 4th, 2011, 6:30 pm

What exactly do you want to find out?

As has been said before in other threads, Solodex is mostly about the driver and less so about the car. I have beaten evos etc with my bone stock swift and there's a guy with a B11 sunny that sets times close to me, I think he has even beaten me before.

In general, short wheelbase FWD cars do well at solodex because the courses are mostly slow and twisty. If you wanted to choose between a Starlet and a "drift bluebird" then strictly for setting a fast time I think the Starlet would be a better choice. If you want to learn how to drift and have fun at the events, I would say go with the bluebird.

Once you make your decision, don't go expecting to set the fastest time or be able to drift perfectly but know that you will start the learning process and get better with time.

humble.ute

Postby humble.ute » August 4th, 2011, 9:29 pm

Thanks. Anything else?

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » August 4th, 2011, 9:54 pm

youth. just bring anything and try it for a few events. u will figure out which type of ride u want.
now stop asking so much questions and come drive dammit. yuh ever hear the saying seepaul luck is not gopaul luck. good. nuff said.

humble.ute

Postby humble.ute » August 4th, 2011, 10:42 pm

Ok I get it.

mazdamaniac

Postby mazdamaniac » August 5th, 2011, 6:34 am

pete wrote:What exactly do you want to find out?

As has been said before in other threads, Solodex is mostly about the driver and less so about the car. I have beaten evos etc with my bone stock swift and there's a guy with a B11 sunny that sets times close to me, I think he has even beaten me before.

In general, short wheelbase FWD cars do well at solodex because the courses are mostly slow and twisty. If you wanted to choose between a Starlet and a "drift bluebird" then strictly for setting a fast time I think the Starlet would be a better choice. If you want to learn how to drift and have fun at the events, I would say go with the bluebird.

Once you make your decision, don't go expecting to set the fastest time or be able to drift perfectly but know that you will start the learning process and get better with time.

Just to clarify one point, if yuh want to learn to drift join the DWO, Dex is not the place to learn to drift cause it is a different type of sport that requires different safety precausions and training which DWO provides. 8-)
Drifting is some times allowed during the fun runs under close monitoring and only the most experienced drivers in drifting are allowed to drive. No offence intended. :oops:

The rear wheel drive blue bird can work but it's alot harder to control.

Postby crazybalhead » August 8th, 2011, 4:01 pm

I started with a civic, the understeer was horrible, but teh suspension mods was only lowering springs.

Had a evo VII and now VIII.

What I have learned:

The driver makes all the difference
The driver makes all the difference.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » August 8th, 2011, 6:05 pm

^^^x2

humble.ute

Postby humble.ute » August 11th, 2011, 9:52 pm

Anybody else want to put in their 2 cents?

Postby MG Man » August 12th, 2011, 9:01 am

dude how many times u gonna ask that?
the long and short of it is bring what u have and make a start
have u been to an event?
have you talked to any competitors?
do you even have a car or a drivers license?
or are you just idle and wasting these peoples' advice?

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » August 12th, 2011, 9:48 pm

^^you know how long i wanting to ask him those questions...but i was just staying quiet

humble.ute

Postby humble.ute » August 12th, 2011, 11:57 pm

Thank you for all the advise and experience.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » August 13th, 2011, 5:29 am

I also would be trying solodex for the first time at the soon, using my nze corolla bone stock

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”