Autocross 2013 Season

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

whizpig

Autocross 2013 Season

Postby whizpig » December 18th, 2012, 10:37 am

Hello everyone, I started this thread to ask, when is the 2013 season starting? i doh need to know the entire calender right now, but i would like to know when the weigh in and dyno day is and perhaps the first event. (trying to figure out how much time i have to prepare :twisted: )

Which brings me to my next reason for this thread, to maco/ spark up disscussion on what you guys and gals are doing to prepare for 2013

My to do list:
thorough servicing
tires (hopefully something in the Max performance catagory on tirerack)
tuning
studying autocross tutorials found on youtube :D

Re: Autocross 2013 Season

Postby wagonrunner » December 18th, 2012, 10:41 am

been asked to ride along. so working out the life insurance premiums for impending heart attack. :lol:

want to get in the pool more often, to not throw off the car's handling too much. :oops:

Postby MG Man » December 18th, 2012, 3:40 pm

trying to bring my lil sis into the sport. Hoping she gets clearance to run either the NX200 auto with the SR20 or the B13 with the manual SR20 DET and SE-spec suspension

Other than that, I might run the odd event when a) time permits and b) something will actually start and drive properly...........and NO Maria, I am NOT running in ES for you to 'buse me :p

And Wagonrunner, you better be looking to drop a few pounds so the weight penalty as a passenger won't be too bad. Pretty sure you can drop the seven or eight pounds that your driver weighs, so it would be back to the weight of one person in the car :P

Postby wagonrunner » December 18th, 2012, 4:13 pm

So you in the habit of lifting the driver? :stalk:
One day yuh will come clean and tell me all the valvoline rubdowns get yuh eh. :evilbat:

María

Postby María » December 18th, 2012, 4:55 pm

mg man i promise i'll be gentle :)

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » December 21st, 2012, 9:31 am

i'm looking forward to the 2013 season. Dunno how competitive i'll be but it's been way too long since i've had the thrill.

Postby MG Man » December 21st, 2012, 10:28 am

María wrote:mg man i promise i'll be gentle :)

Lol
I've heard that one before

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » December 21st, 2012, 2:28 pm

we need some more driving classes

Mini

Postby Mini » December 24th, 2012, 2:59 pm

Planning to return after a 7 or 8 year absence from the sport. I think the last time I competed was at Pier 2 in 2004 (or was 2005).

Two questions:
1. is my competition number still the same?
2. since the last time I competed, there's now the NE class... would I be eligible for this class after being absent for such a long period?

María

Postby María » December 24th, 2012, 5:29 pm

Mini....yes your competition number should still be the same.

there is no longer an NE class. we now have "rookies" in each class (HS, ES, etc). Rookies are the persons new to the sport and remain rookies for their entire first year of competition but i don't know if you'll be considered a rookie since you took part before even though its been so many years.

BlackMamba

Postby BlackMamba » December 28th, 2012, 11:40 am

whizpig wrote:Hello everyone, I started this thread to ask, when is the 2013 season starting? i doh need to know the entire calender right now, but i would like to know when the weigh in and dyno day is and perhaps the first event. (trying to figure out how much time i have to prepare :twisted: )

ditto
Last edited by BlackMamba on March 24th, 2013, 9:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

whizpig

Postby whizpig » December 28th, 2012, 8:39 pm

BlackMamba wrote:
So any idea when the 2013 season gonna start?? First timer fever nah!!! :D

So far, nope, i'm using the 2012 schedule as a guide for my preparations
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=415249

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » December 29th, 2012, 10:02 am

María wrote:mg man i promise i'll be gentle :)

Maria in ES?? Hmmmmm.............. :twisted:

María

Postby María » December 29th, 2012, 1:00 pm

Well Rudman I'm supposed to still be running in HS for the while but unless we get more competitors in that class I might consider running in ES actually

Postby MG Man » December 29th, 2012, 4:30 pm

I haz no HS car and my ES car is at the bottom of the barrel. I get licks from my sister at dex enough already :p

whizpig

Postby whizpig » January 2nd, 2013, 6:44 am

Postby cinco » January 3rd, 2013, 12:53 pm

i definitely would like to enter this year

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » January 4th, 2013, 11:04 am

come thru

whizpig

Postby whizpig » January 16th, 2013, 3:51 pm

So i was going through the rules today to see what effects my future plans might have on my classing in C.A.R.S. Autocross and i hit a gray area. If one was to add an OEM LSD of any type one would incur a 2 point penalty but if one was to install an aftermarket LSD the penalty would be 3 points; whereas there is no such clarity with respect to suspension upgrades or brake upgrades.

Is there or should there be a distinction between penalties for upgrading your suspension and/or brakes with OEM parts as opposed to aftermarket parts? I'm sure this question must have come up before, so what was the solution found? cause i might just have an old copy of the rules pdf.

For those that may not understand what i am referring to, let us say for instance a subaru TS is classed based on its 1.6L engine's power output and how many ever pounds it ways, BUT it has been outfitted with the brakes, shocks and springs from a WRX (mind you i mean OEM brakes, shocks and springs) what would be the associated penalties if any as opposed to if the brakes, shocks and springs were aftermarket parts?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 18th, 2013, 11:20 am

no TS came with those parts ....so they will incure points

.... and there is no stock upgrade LSD or suspension for the swift sport :lol:

a good expample of a stock upgrade will be a 2006 sss swaping the final drive from a 2009sss
4.1 to 4.4

the rules are very well defined when it came to those things

Postby pete » January 18th, 2013, 6:05 pm

No TS came with them but both a TS and an STi are both Subaru Imprezas.

You saying an EXi civic with SiR springs and shocks should get points?

whizpig

Postby whizpig » January 18th, 2013, 8:24 pm

pete has the idea of what i was trying to bring up, sorry if my example was a bad one, and i'm not saying that they should or should't get points, i just want to know whee the rules stand . . . you know clarity, cause i find the rules clear on the difference between a OEM LSD and an aftermarket LSD while there isn't any differentiation with respect to suspension and brakes.

Amir, i'll keep that tip in mind especially as i see there are no penalties for that upgrade :twisted:

Postby Razkal » January 19th, 2013, 10:55 am

i dunno what class i'll be in either :|

not much of me cares though. i just want to run :arrow:

María

Postby María » January 25th, 2013, 8:28 pm

Razkal wrote:i dunno what class i'll be in either :|

not much of me cares though. i just want to run :arrow:

dyno day is tomorrow 8am-4pm at mas tuning....come and we'll class your car

Postby MG Man » February 7th, 2013, 10:19 am

so Maria, run in ESP nah :P

María

Postby María » February 7th, 2013, 5:59 pm

^^^ sure.......find ah esp car for me to drive nah

Postby Razkal » February 13th, 2013, 10:27 pm

soo...ah geh classed yet orr?

Postby wagonrunner » February 13th, 2013, 11:12 pm

d man sticking in the same way he competes. :|

Postby wagonrunner » February 13th, 2013, 11:12 pm

Razkal wrote:soo...ah geh classed yet orr?

d man to post that info sticking in the same way he competes.

xauss

Postby xauss » February 14th, 2013, 2:02 pm

hey guize...wuts goin on hya?

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”