Proposed 2014 rule changes

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Re: Proposed 2014 rule changes

Postby wagonrunner » November 12th, 2013, 9:54 pm

ng357 wrote:Ok well I think there will be an advantage but how much is dependent on a few factors.
i agree there too.
I also think the advantage per "upgrade" isn't equal amongst all cars, hence my opinion of the current system.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » November 12th, 2013, 10:29 pm

Moti u wont be penalised for both coilovers and springs. Just 3 points max for coilover and that includes the rear springs. So ur points are 3 + whatever for stock lsd

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » November 12th, 2013, 10:32 pm

Karl. I hear what ur saying about inconsistancy in mods but there is some unfairness to the higher base cars who only have a 4 point first penalty bump. 4 points to a stock base ss car makes no real benefit when compared to a ep car right of the bat.

moti

Postby moti » November 13th, 2013, 8:35 am

Yup adriano, so the 3 points for coils + the 2 for LSD + 2 for strut bar totals 7.
1 point of another class bump if I understand this correctly.

So my little 1.6 equipped car with no ABS etc will be in SS I think.

Oh well, we will see I guess come dyno day.

Postby pete » November 13th, 2013, 9:42 am

No points for strut bar. Only sway bar.

Any changes going to be made to the PWR ranges for 2014?

moti

Postby moti » November 13th, 2013, 9:58 am

pete wrote:No points for strut bar. Only sway bar.

Any changes going to be made to the PWR ranges for 2014?

Sway bar = Stabilizer bar?

If so, my car has two.
Still above 4 points with just the coilover and LSD. :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » November 13th, 2013, 12:49 pm

pete wrote:Any changes going to be made to the PWR ranges for 2014?

If enough people agree to any suggested change, it can be made.

Postby MG Man » November 13th, 2013, 1:31 pm

u sound like Kamla :-p

Postby pete » November 13th, 2013, 1:41 pm

How can that be done? EGM or on a competition day as has been done before?

Postby MG Man » November 13th, 2013, 1:53 pm

there supposed to be an EGM to discuss / vote on rule changes

moti

Postby moti » November 13th, 2013, 2:12 pm

MG Man wrote:there supposed to be an EGM to discuss / vote on rule changes

Where and when?

Postby MG Man » November 13th, 2013, 2:18 pm

exec is supposed to hold one before the new season.....that's how it was done in the past
blah blah rules, blah blah blah constitution, blah blah blah MG Man doh contribute so stfu etc

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » November 13th, 2013, 2:32 pm

i for one would like to see changes to
1. oem added penalties. i dont think the do as much as the penalty for them suggests
2. P-2-W ratio classing. i.e the wide uneven gaps between classes.
3. also i think if cars are above a certain weight no matter their power they should be given some sort of leniency.

Postby MG Man » November 13th, 2013, 2:36 pm

how would you define the parameters for point 3?

moti

Postby moti » November 13th, 2013, 2:39 pm

Cause normally the more weight there's more power to carry same, no?

moti

Postby moti » November 13th, 2013, 2:40 pm

Or you talking about driver weight?
Damn, I know I gained a few but that's below the belt right there.

Postby wagonrunner » November 13th, 2013, 3:27 pm

MG Man wrote:there supposed to be an EGM to discuss / vote on rule changes

rule changes can happen anytime members request it.
All it takes a suggestion of what they want changed and why?

Due to member absenteeism from meetings, it can even be done via email voting with a distinct cut off time.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » November 14th, 2013, 6:56 am

moti wrote:Cause normally the more weight there's more power to carry same, no?

more weight also means a disadvantage in cornering that is not shown in the P-2-W ratio.
MG Man wrote:how would you define the parameters for point 3?

not sure yet. haven't had time to sit and think about it.

Postby wagonrunner » November 26th, 2013, 2:08 pm

This seems to have gone cold.
Is there anything in the below link of interest.
http://scca.cdn.racersites.com/prod/assets/2013%20Solo%20Rules%20Book%20updated%205-1.pdf

moti

Postby moti » November 26th, 2013, 9:05 pm

One thing that would be nice is having briefing meetings, this can bring everyone together once a month (other than the event day) to discuss any issues or other plans for the club.

Or have like a special forum topic or email circulating or something if the sort as it's not all the time everyone may be available for a briefing meeting.

Just something that everyone can voice any concerns prior to an event as it seems that Trinituner.com does not get the attention of everyone in the club.

Postby wagonrunner » November 26th, 2013, 9:16 pm

Tuner, facebook, and email are all used currently.

IMO autocross needs more dex in it to revamp numbers.
During the champ shootout on sunday only one person had a good line to make the right after the long straight. He won. 8-)
Getting to the corner fast is one thing. Having courses where you can practice keeping momentum through it is another.

moti

Postby moti » November 26th, 2013, 9:30 pm

^^ Focus is placed more on making a course fast rather than challenging as the slower classes are not well equipped.
So the fast cars will be suffering with a slow course.

That's what I gather with the past course designs, a lot has changed from 2006 when I first got into Solodex with my then AD Wagon.
It even had a competitive HS class then.

Postby wagonrunner » November 26th, 2013, 9:49 pm

moti wrote:a lot has changed from 2006 when I first got into Solodex with my then AD Wagon.
It even had a competitive HS class then.

great times. :cry: :cry:

What are some of the changes that took place?
positive - to be recreated
negative - to be reevaluated

Postby cinco » November 26th, 2013, 9:50 pm

I wish i got more timed runs too kinda hard to get a feel for a course when weather conditions changed so much and we only had 4 runs

Postby wagonrunner » November 26th, 2013, 9:58 pm

cinco wrote:I wish i got more timed runs too kinda hard to get a feel for a course when weather conditions changed so much and we only had 4 runs

The rules currently say 6 runs.
But at the drivers briefing that morning, drivers voted to do four runs instead. I'm guessing to save on tires, and facilitate the shootout.

Postby cinco » November 26th, 2013, 10:11 pm

We had alot of time considerin the turn out

moti

Postby moti » November 26th, 2013, 10:44 pm

What are some of the changes that took place?
positive - to be recreated
negative - to be reevaluated

Positive: 6 runs (especially since noobs like me use at least 2 for Dnf)
But i fear this was only introduced because of the lesser numbers attending.

Negative: Less driver/spectator turnout (maybe more marketing can be employed)
Course design going faster (previously stated)

I think I need to complete 2014 competition year for me to actually understand the in's and out's and compare to what I can remember for "back in the day".

Postby wagonrunner » November 26th, 2013, 10:52 pm

Drivers said they wanted more seat time, so it was upped to 6.
The issue is a run back then was ~45 seconds long (fastest). Past and present execs are trying to get it back to ~60s (fastest).
The increased run time by 6 instead of 4, tends to stretch out the day as well as tire wear.
And with more practice at laying out courses there will be even fewer DNF's

Postby pete » November 27th, 2013, 8:18 am

I know personally by my 4th run I wouldn't be able to get much faster so I wouldn't need to do more. More than that would really take a toll on tyres which is why for most of the year I only did 4 runs even though I was allowed to do 6. I don't think it's a bad thing, especially for newcomers, having 6 runs means they can do the first one at a little more than the drive through speed, see how the course flows, the cone convention etc etc and have 5 runs to better there time. That way there's less pressure to do a fast time from the start.

Problem with long courses and 6 runs is that if we get even 30 competitors, you're talking like 180 minutes of just driving time alone. Then you have to factor in fixing knocked down cones, stoppages due to dogs on the track and any issues that may arise with the timing system. That adds up to double the driving time easy and would take us up to 5PM which is too late.

Postby MG Man » November 27th, 2013, 1:41 pm

moti wrote:One thing that would be nice is having briefing meetings, this can bring everyone together once a month (other than the event day) to discuss any issues or other plans for the club.

Or have like a special forum topic or email circulating or something if the sort as it's not all the time everyone may be available for a briefing meeting.

Just something that everyone can voice any concerns prior to an event as it seems that Trinituner.com does not get the attention of everyone in the club.

as wagonlancer indicated, meeting turnouts have always been poor. There used to be a briefing every wednesday before dex, and sometimes you'd see maybe 5-10 people....the club even tried offering 10 (IIRC) championship points for attending briefings...even that didn't make a big difference
I think once a quarter is good enough

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”