The Official 2014 SS tuning Thread

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

zakowski

The Official 2014 SS tuning Thread

Postby zakowski » February 19th, 2014, 6:35 pm

So All in SS category this year , What have you learned from the previous year that you think will improve your performances this year ? I think for me , its that i think if i can source a reliable set of tires for the season and utilize what the driving school taught , things will be mighty interesting.Though I wish Razkal could bring the corolla so it could be a toyota vs toyota kinda deal lol . :D :D
033.jpg

Re: The Official 2014 SS tuning Thread

Postby Razkal » February 20th, 2014, 6:07 pm

I don't need race tyres or even low treads quite yet.
I raced all last year on busted front coilovers and stock shocks in the rear so just getting that replaced will make a big difference for me. next might be an lsd really.

I wanted to run ep with the rx, but I'll need that lsd and atleast new street tyres instead of used ones to be competitive or even near it.

I'll drive the corolla at bycc days cause I really want to compete with the rx. can't drive both.

Postby Razkal » February 20th, 2014, 6:07 pm

will need a lil moar power for ep as well, not quite ready for that. much broke lol

zakowski

Postby zakowski » February 22nd, 2014, 7:30 am

More power in EP ,darryl and them civics have less than your motor .I think you just need to concentrate on driving and getting the most out of the setup.I ran SS with an ESP classed car and kept up best i could > I would recommend fresh tires and good tire management to keep pace.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 25th, 2014, 4:02 pm

zakowski wrote:More power in EP ,darryl and them civics have less than your motor .I think you just need to concentrate on driving and getting the most out of the setup.I ran SS with an ESP classed car and kept up best i could > I would recommend fresh tires and good tire management to keep pace.

the bench mark for EP class isnt darryl :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Razkal » February 26th, 2014, 1:53 pm

haha.. why you so?

I won't be competitive in ep as is unless I have race tires...maybe. can't afford an entire season of that.

by competitive I mean aiming for the fastest time each run and atleast making a podium finish each event to grab points.

zakowski

Postby zakowski » February 28th, 2014, 12:24 pm

Setup for the First Autocross will be determined on the tires I purchase. Currently from what Dave has tested using a tire durometer , most tires score a 70 out of 100 (with 100 being the hardest setting) So i am up for either going to Toyo route using the R888's and 38-40 (hot) or the Maxxis Z4S (35 Hot).I have used the Toyos and enjoyed the grip available and for my wider fronts they seemed never to drop off no matter how hard I push. With the standard toyota bushings flex is not very bad (OEM stuff) After two years they are holding fine . I would invest in a bigger rear bar for the car .For the front I may look at fabricating an H brace but only if my car will be a dedicated track car.

Postby Razkal » March 2nd, 2014, 6:58 pm

no race tyres for me. better to learn that madness on street tyres before I get spoilt with grip lol
same for the corolla IMO, my dad and bro will share that car this season so it's more affordable to run used or new street tyres

zakowski

Postby zakowski » March 2nd, 2014, 10:45 pm

Rather than the rip afforded by the compound of R's its more the width that helps my setup.Cause even using the durometer , the R's when used score close to a street tire.

moti

Postby moti » March 7th, 2014, 9:14 pm

EP, SS............classes I won't be in.

Thank God.

zakowski

Postby zakowski » March 8th, 2014, 7:52 am

ES or ESP is where you might be listed .

moti

Postby moti » March 10th, 2014, 8:30 am

Slowest car in SS checking in.

I'm placed in SS :lol:

Postby Razkal » March 10th, 2014, 8:36 am

^i don't think that's fair btw. unless you secretly making a lil more power than on the dyno. nice driving btw.

moti

Postby moti » March 10th, 2014, 9:09 am

Thanks Bro.

Car made 90WHP on the Dyno and still is.
No mods done, just clutch changed after burning it in BYCC.

Apparently I was told the car is a ESP car and with the coilovers and factory LSD it bumped me to SS.

I always thought though the car was an ES car (power to weight) and therefore I would have been in ESP with the extras (5 points).

*shrugs*

moti

Postby moti » March 10th, 2014, 9:12 am

923–1,089 kg (2,035–2,400 lb)
90WHP

Someone do the maths please.
Not sure how you all work it.

moti

Postby moti » March 10th, 2014, 9:16 am

power = 90 horsepower = 90 horsepower
weight = 923 kilogram = 2034.8666799675 pound

power to weight ratio (horsepower:pounds)=0.044228941820127

meh......I confused.

Postby Razkal » March 10th, 2014, 11:25 am

i understand the coilover penalty, although the gains of having them vary drastically from platform to platform.

what i dont get is being penalized for a factory LSD, that means Dave with his evo 8 RS is racking up two sets of penaly points for TWO oem lsds?

CLASS
W/P Ratio Range
GS 30+
HS 26 - 29.9
ES 20 - 25.9
ESP 14 - 19.9
SS 11.5 - 13.9
EP 10.1 - 11.4
EPR 8.6 - 10.0

taken from: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=530243

the ratio represents how much weight each horsepower unit has to move basically.

so 2035/90 =22.61, which according to above, you should be an ES base car. that is unless the revised P/W ratio ranges have been adjusted (as per the rule change thread) for 2014 and you'd then be an ESP base car.

i still say ESP should be your final class, but just my opinion

moti

Postby moti » March 10th, 2014, 11:28 am

Was the rule changes finalized though?
I can't remember seeing anything about that in there.....let me go check.

moti

Postby moti » March 10th, 2014, 11:41 am

No changes in rules for 2014.

Sooooooo, next event I can negotiate?

zakowski

Postby zakowski » March 10th, 2014, 9:00 pm

Don't worry moti , all will be sorted soon enough .

Postby MG Man » March 12th, 2014, 2:14 pm

taking tiki time out
Last edited by MG Man on March 12th, 2014, 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

moti

Postby moti » March 12th, 2014, 2:45 pm

^^ BBS, let me help to "un confuse" you.

My car is a base ES car.
However it has LSD + Coilovers + sway bar (thanks Gerard).
So I'm racking up 7 points.
This means that I'm now bumped in ESP.
All this was known on Dyno day as my car was scrutinized.
The only off point would have been my weight which can be got from the internet seeing that it's a car that has tons of information on the web about it.

Postby pete » March 12th, 2014, 3:01 pm

MG Man, they don't use WHP if you already have BHP. Just use the BHP to get 3047/184 = 16.777 which is still well inside the (too wide) ESP range.

moti

Postby moti » March 12th, 2014, 6:55 pm

Lol at tiki time out.

zakowski

Postby zakowski » April 7th, 2014, 6:50 am

SS group how did autox #2 go what were your highlights and oversights ? did any setup changes yield more positive results ? or is their some tinkering still to do :) .

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » April 10th, 2014, 12:52 pm

All i did this year was get some new tires instead of used ones. Still running 195/50/15. I have to say the 205 do make a difference I could feel less grip as i take corners and get out of them. This year like last, is to try and use what I have and become a better driver. You could have what mods, if your not a good driver you will do poor.

SO my advice, master the car now and improve the nut behind the wheel. Autocross 2 was a smooth learning curve for me. Trying different driving lines, braking points and momentum helps better times.
1622631_10150358936464981_1129852504_n.jpg
IMG_4289.JPG

zakowski

Postby zakowski » April 10th, 2014, 5:22 pm

I would say when you have an Lsd it brings out the best in the tires you have for the power you are running . in my case i've run my car on 195/205/225 and there is a difference in how much i can carry the car around a corner. Less understeer with the wider tires .

zakowski

Postby zakowski » April 10th, 2014, 5:26 pm

Good stuff moses .

Postby Razkal » April 10th, 2014, 10:22 pm

still on used tyres this year, but decided to really make use of those coilovers penalty points I have and replace them.
ended up with a hard rear set for Sunday and rear grip was a scene. changed up tyre spec a bit, 215-40-16in front from 225 and 225-45-16 rear from 225-40.
by next event I'll balance the car. I fiddled all day with the rear. drag and wind on Sunday gonna be mostly wind for me

Postby Razkal » April 10th, 2014, 10:28 pm

yeah Moses, different lines and braking lines helped a lot but the wet didn't really give me even comparison from the first session.
I gonna return to 225 width in front once I find them used, the extra grip is nice. that size seems to be ok in the back once I get good rubber

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”