Incorrect classing of cars at Solodex

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

ng357

Re: Incorrect classing of cars at Solodex

Postby ng357 » October 13th, 2014, 3:46 am

pete wrote:I also find that an average driver weight should be added to the vehicle weight as the driver weight affects low weight cars more than heavy cars. Like in a 3000lb car 150 lbs driver weight is a 5% increase but in a 2000 lb car it's a 8% increase in weight.

True statement pete but many will say the smaller cars have other advantages to out weigh the cons of a little extra weight

ng357

Postby ng357 » October 13th, 2014, 3:48 am

wagonrunner wrote:the time of meals and quantities hadda be in the rules too?
yuh could get food by the pound in pecos for weigh day, and race light after yunno. :lol:

I always put down a fast before I race and use my lightest clothing...

Dress pants
A light material jersey
Canvas shoes
No socks
Jockey shorts (not boxers)
No belt
No watch or chain

:D :D :D

moti

Postby moti » October 13th, 2014, 8:09 am

ng357 wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:the time of meals and quantities hadda be in the rules too?
yuh could get food by the pound in pecos for weigh day, and race light after yunno. :lol:

I always put down a fast before I race and use my lightest clothing...

Dress pants
A light material jersey
Canvas shoes
No socks
Jockey shorts (not boxers)
No belt
No watch or chain

:D :D :D

Let me guess, you have a half face helmet and not a full face one right?

ng357

Postby ng357 » October 13th, 2014, 1:10 pm

Hahah good one!

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2014, 1:40 pm

yuh does remember to have just over a quart of oil and two liters of fuel right? (both vary per engine)
oho, and empty yuh washer bottles. each liter is 2.2lbs.

moti

Postby moti » October 13th, 2014, 2:05 pm

wagonrunner wrote::lol:
yuh does remember to have just over a quart of oil and two liters of fuel right? (both vary per engine)
oho, and empty yuh washer bottles. each liter is 2.2lbs.

If you remember correctly, you can recall my Tiida running with all fluids on minimum level as we were discussing same at dex last year.

Postby pete » October 13th, 2014, 2:17 pm

You talking about 10 lbs difference vs 150?

When I was taking out the back seat in the swift it was removing about 120lbs and it did make a difference.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 13th, 2014, 3:12 pm

The weight savings getting extreme.

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2014, 3:20 pm

pete wrote:You talking about 10 lbs difference vs 150?

according to the ever esteemed rules, can that not be a difference between one class and another? :poke:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 13th, 2014, 3:44 pm

I can't fathom a back seat weighing 120. 20-50 maybe but not 120. I'm sure the seat is easier to move than those 5 gal bottles of water.

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2014, 3:52 pm

kamakazi wrote:I can't fathom a back seat weighing 120. 20-50 maybe but not 120. I'm sure the seat is easier to move than those 5 gal bottles of water.
:lol: 4 bolts vs 1 clip? could even just hold the sprayer and empty it.
And those are pete's seat weights, as was done on the scales some time ago.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 13th, 2014, 9:02 pm

Wow. .. OK
Move..... not remove :grin:

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2014, 10:44 pm

:lol: my bad.

Postby pete » October 14th, 2014, 12:03 pm

I have no idea why the swift seats were so heavy, if it is just reinforced more as it can fold down and also completely forward. It was just 5 minutes, a 14 spanner and 7 nuts to remove but they were a pain to lift out of the car.

Yeah it could move the car from one class to another. Even with them removed the car still fell in ES but I was racing in the next class up. (Where I could have been competing against a 175whp wrx if it was stock)

Postby MG Man » October 14th, 2014, 5:06 pm

the MINI seats were heavynoass too

Postby Razkal » October 15th, 2014, 10:58 am

honestly? I couldn't care less about the issue at hand. I have to deal with this same crap at Drag&Wind and I've realized it pays more to focus on me, the car and my driving.
what is funny, nay, hilarious; is the fight down, beat up and whine for trophies. I've never seen anything like it!
see you guys at dex 7 :)

moti

Postby moti » October 15th, 2014, 12:09 pm

YAY ^_^

Dex 7 with the RB7

Postby pete » October 15th, 2014, 1:41 pm

I also prefer to focus on my driving and my car.

At the same time, the ideal system will allow for any car driven by a good driver to have a good chance of winning by being classed against similar cars.

However, until everyone buys the exact same car and doesn't modify it at all, that ideal situation can never exist. One car may always have an advantage over another or it may depend on the type of the course.

moti

Postby moti » October 15th, 2014, 2:13 pm

pete wrote:I also prefer a Tiida.

I agree with you, and that's why I love to look at the shootout as true driver skill shows there.

Postby pete » October 15th, 2014, 2:53 pm

Not really, I've benefited by being the last driver for two years and being able to see how the car responds and where people make mistakes.

I have a car that I could probably lend for the shootout. A 1.6 Auto Baleno that I should have probably used for the last two events instead of starting fresh in SS.

moti

Postby moti » October 15th, 2014, 3:16 pm

No pete, you different.
My observation don't work for you.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 15th, 2014, 3:19 pm

pete wrote:Not really, I've benefited by being the last driver for two years and being able to see how the car responds and where people make mistakes.

I have a car that I could probably lend for the shootout. A 1.6 Auto Baleno that I should have probably used for the last two events instead of starting fresh in SS.

I think that would give you a bit of an advantage ...as you already know how the car responds and brakes in the corners.

Postby pete » October 17th, 2014, 8:06 am

I never drove the car at solodex before. It was my wife's car and I didn't really drive it around much either.

I wasn't going to enter it on the day either, I was going to run the swift then go pick it up to bring back for the shootout.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 17th, 2014, 8:50 am

pete wrote:I never drove the car at solodex before. It was my wife's car and I didn't really drive it around much either.

I wasn't going to enter it on the day either, I was going to run the swift then go pick it up to bring back for the shootout.

I still disagree

Postby pete » October 17th, 2014, 11:01 am

I don't see how. If the car cannot be allowed because I've driven it before on the street and it's a stock car does that mean that the shootout car should not be a type of car that has ever been driven by any of the people in the shootout? It worked out great last year with the sonic as it was new on the market but how practical is that this year?

I only really offered it because she doesn't drive it any more, I'll be putting it up for sale soon and I know the shootout won't do any damage and I know how hard it is to get vehicles for the shootout. Definitely wasn't to get an advantage if I take part in the shootout.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 17th, 2014, 1:19 pm

pete wrote:I don't see how. If the car cannot be allowed because I've driven it before on the street and it's a stock car does that mean that the shootout car should not be a type of car that has ever been driven by any of the people in the shootout? It worked out great last year with the sonic as it was new on the market but how practical is that this year?

I only really offered it because she doesn't drive it any more, I'll be putting it up for sale soon and I know the shootout won't do any damage and I know how hard it is to get vehicles for the shootout. Definitely wasn't to get an advantage if I take part in the shootout.

cause is you ....... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

and I don't want to have to use it as an excuse when u beat me again for the third time :cry: :cry:

moti

Postby moti » October 17th, 2014, 1:47 pm

At least someone else notice the same thing I do.
Pete different.

Postby pete » October 17th, 2014, 2:33 pm

But Amir, if I now say that I've driven an AE92, NZE corolla, the two models after that, Auto BJ 323, Elantra, Tiida, Matrix, Swift GTi, new model swift and the Baleno you gonna say we can't use any of those?

I'm not even the one to worry about. The man who setting SS times with a 1.5 CVT civic hatch is the one to worry about if he gets into the shootout.

moti

Postby moti » October 17th, 2014, 2:51 pm

BAKE!!!

Postby cinco » October 18th, 2014, 4:58 pm

The shootout is terrible the way the same car is run back to back. The brakes would be hot and tyres worn.

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”