my fellow members

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

my fellow members

Postby MG Man » September 29th, 2014, 11:37 am

OK guys, I think we've had enough belly-aching (myself included) about the club and all the shortcomings etc
Time to step back for a moment and rethink everything
It's pretty clear that the exec is struggling. David, Trevor, Ramon are really trying but let's face it, it's a huge task for a few guys, working in their spare time.
Time for us to help these guys bring the club back to a level where nobody's unhappy and nobody can complain about how things are run.
In past years, there have been sub-committees that helped each exec. How many of us are willing to volunteer to lend a hand?
Is it really that hard to get to Santa Rosa early and offer some support?
If the committee is willing to say what they need help with, I'm sure we can fix things
Course layout
Scrutineering
Course Design
Scoring
Tabulating of results and championship points
Laying out and picking up cones
These are just a few things off the top of my head that any number of us can help out with.
Rather than beetch and moan about the crap job a handful of guys are struggling to do, let's remind them there are people willing to lend a hand and get there early

Who's with me?

racedriverpro

Re: my fellow members

Postby racedriverpro » September 29th, 2014, 12:01 pm

Wha club u referring to?

Postby MG Man » September 29th, 2014, 12:37 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Wha club u referring to?

Johnny Gobin's Bedford Lovers Club

moti

Postby moti » September 30th, 2014, 2:19 pm

I am willing to help.

Just say when and we (all volunteers) can all meet and set it up.

Postby MG Man » September 30th, 2014, 6:35 pm

well considering the overwhelming response, I guess early Sunday morning?

moti

Postby moti » October 1st, 2014, 10:24 am

What time is early?

I can be there for around 9 as anytime before that my wife will beat me.

Yeah I not shame to say I does get licks.

Postby MG Man » October 1st, 2014, 11:13 am

same here (licks and 9:00am time)

Postby pete » October 1st, 2014, 2:07 pm

From my simple observation it seemed that they took a while to actually put all the names into the timing system before they started and that caused the delay. Also, I think that for the person collecting money, this hand written receipt system can be very tedious. Those are the places that I saw a keep back / a lot of stress to the people performing the tasks.

Maybe a second receipt book and person collecting money would help. Or maybe they show some more people how to enter names into the timing system so that they can focus on everything else?

Postby MG Man » October 1st, 2014, 2:18 pm

both can be addressed if a couple of us show up early...I don't mind helping write up receipts

Postby SR » October 1st, 2014, 2:25 pm

You need to have hired staff to handle all the administrative duties on the day of an event from names on the system to receipts and any other administrative duties under the tent and let the officials do exactly that officiate all technical aspects as well as queries on classifications etc. Plus you also require a hired team to help setup and tear down ....please note use of the word 'hired'
This way duties are assigned and is not 'a favor' being done so dont rush meh

moti

Postby moti » October 1st, 2014, 2:32 pm

Doubt the club makes that kinda money to "hire" help on the day.

Postby MG Man » October 1st, 2014, 2:38 pm

exactly....in any event, it's in members interests to get involved...but judging by the response here, things will continue as they are....show up, swell up yuh face because things not perfect, come here to bytch and moan about the exec, and do nothing to assist.....I mean, look at the response in this ched, compared to others....everybody know what wrong and what to do, but nobody assisting the executive....if each exec had a subcommittee of two or three people to help them, things would be greatly improved...as it stands, they still begging for marshalls :-/
So yeah, if the members not willing to help improve their own club, well so be it...

moti

Postby moti » October 1st, 2014, 3:01 pm

Yes, the marshaling aspect always has me a bit annoyed.

Why would you have to beg for people to marshal, yet same people complaining when they taking to long to switch between groups and to start the runs etc.

Would be nice if the members help out some more.
I make it my duty to marshal at least once for the day, and so should others.
That way some people will not have to marshal twice.
Just like you who want to lime in yuh tent and watch the race you can actually let others get a chance to do the same thing.

Would love to have some of the regulars respond to this topic so we can really get things in a gear for 2015.

Postby MG Man » October 1st, 2014, 3:26 pm

I gonna start roping off my tent and only allow marshalls to lime in the shade
Worst thing is to be in the last run group of the day...the previous group never gives a flyingfuck to marshall, because they already have their runs and points in hand :-/
Some people feel they have 'paid their dues' and simply refuse to marshall....

time to start keeping a marshall roster and penalize repeat offenders

Postby pete » October 2nd, 2014, 6:26 am

The new rule is that if you don't marshal for the day you do not get scored and I believe your times will just appear on the white board on the day.

Postby MG Man » October 2nd, 2014, 10:08 am

Not sure that actually happened tho. I still heard them begging for marshalls from my run group

Postby cinco » October 5th, 2014, 8:08 pm

wait I am now seeing this after you spoke to me about it today, I dont mind coming early to help i pretty much offer to marshall all the time anyway

ng357

Postby ng357 » October 8th, 2014, 2:09 am

Cool well hope the agm is well attended I am willing to help but I don't come very often to dex so as mentioned a sub committee needs to be put in place

Postby MG Man » October 8th, 2014, 7:12 am

I wonder if I say ramon is a closet elephant fondler and david on the run from jesus for fornicating with a muslim chick, the committee will make a comment here :-/

moti

Postby moti » October 8th, 2014, 10:02 am

We have Elephants in Trinidad?

kliq

Postby kliq » October 8th, 2014, 12:36 pm

wow what a big closet he has to fit an elephant

Postby MG Man » October 8th, 2014, 1:45 pm

Lol
Sad that this forum is so useless

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » October 9th, 2014, 12:15 pm

hey i am willing to assist at any motor sport event any way that i can

Postby cinco » October 9th, 2014, 10:08 pm

SUPERMAN2 wrote:hey i am willing to assist at any motor sport event any way that i can

can you provide an elephant?

moti

Postby moti » October 10th, 2014, 7:45 am

Read in another post that Ramon has elephants in a closet.
Maybe he can get one from him?

*shrugs*

kliq

Postby kliq » October 10th, 2014, 5:14 pm

I know I am new to this club/sport but I have some suggestions that may make some improvements.
I don't know how things are currently done but with some better record keeping and availability of info will encourage members to follow rules and for the executive to enforce rules.
At a competitors first event for the year (dyno day) they should fill out a vehicle / scrutineering form for the entire year. If the competitor enters with another vehicle then they will fill out another form. This form will be used by the club/competitor at each event for scrutineering / class placement. This form will act like a vehicle journal/log which can be used to verify any changes/modifications to the vehicle and to have info readily available for scrutineering on each day. This may also help speed up registration on each day as you would have a simpler form to complete.
Here is the form I did....not perfect but just an idea.
Vehicle Card pt1.jpg
Vehicle Card pt2.jpg

Postby MG Man » October 10th, 2014, 5:31 pm

Cool. All I remember from dyno day is some twit asking me to park 'here' but failing to explain to me they were going to put my car up on the lift, then getting upset that I didn't park properly...then scratching his head under the front of the car, looking for the engine

kliq

Postby kliq » October 10th, 2014, 6:18 pm

Btw sorry for the poor quality pic. Suggest a better way for me to upload and I'll do it.

Postby MG Man » October 10th, 2014, 7:07 pm

Opens fine on my phone. Club elections coming up soon. I suspect it will be interesting. Remember, members can only make a change if they come out and vote or run for a position

Postby Razkal » October 11th, 2014, 12:20 pm

I'm in support if this movement, I try to get to arc as early as I can and help the guys lay down the course, admin tent etc. marshaling has never been a problem for me, I always volunteer. twice if I'm not hungry at the moment.
I bought two large push brooms to help move debris and loose material at problem spots on the carpark also, well be there early for dex7

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”