Preparation for CARS 2015 season

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Preparation for CARS 2015 season

Postby Razkal » February 18th, 2015, 6:05 pm

what's the scene fellas and ladies?
how the prep coming along with everyone?

I got my diff installed finally, just driving in people car park to break in currently, I also have two (or maybe one big) exhaust leaks to sort out. turbo gasket and manifold gasket I believe.
just regular fluid changes after and some rubber for the front.

hope I could finish all that ish in a week, I wanna try out this lsd thing under proper load @ d&w's first event

allyuh talk na...I feel competition gonna be fierce this year, men quiet! lol

Re: Preparation for CARS 2015 season

Postby pete » February 19th, 2015, 8:57 am

I have lots to do. Still waiting on new springs so haven't changed my shocks yet. Still have to install a thermostat and now I have to change my fan relay. Would be missing autocross 1 but hope to get to take a spin at the first D&W event as well.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 19th, 2015, 10:31 am

finally got all my parts in hand...

work to be done still
change brake pads
change brake fluid
clutch master and slave cylinder
change clutch fluid
install engine damper
install injectors
dial in cams
retune on dyno
corner balance coilovers

Postby Razkal » February 19th, 2015, 9:55 pm

allyuh fellas making me feel reassured I gonna make it in time lol..
I have to corner balance as well and make a dyno pull so Trevor could stick me in a class before Autocross #1.
also I have two locking clips to change on the axle stubs before I do much driving and fcukshitup. I have a 3mm play and it sounds like 3ft when the diff locks in slow turns

Postby cinco » February 19th, 2015, 10:07 pm

I have to install my new exhaust nothing changed from last year so I doubt I need a redyno. I have so many holes my car smells like exhaust all the time lol

Postby Razkal » February 25th, 2015, 10:51 pm

got the busted exhaust gasket out today. I have to get a T2 flange gasket, some new nuts and lock washers and I should be up and running again.
just plugs, fuel filter, diff oil change and rear tyres and I good.

still have time to make a dyno pass before Dex1.
final weight was 26** lbs and a cross weight of 50.5%. Amir has a screen shot of the final weight I believe.
I have a final screen shot of his final weight and cross weight as well.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1424919080.632039.jpg

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 26th, 2015, 9:04 am

well ..... got the master and slave clutch cylinders changed
brake pads and shifter bushings should be done today
and injectors and retune tonight

AKS on the scales
IMG_20150222_144107.jpg

Postby pete » February 26th, 2015, 2:47 pm

Those weights were with driver?

I changed my rear shocks. Did not think that it would make such a difference to the car, I guess 22 year old shocks would be pretty horrible :|

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 27th, 2015, 12:21 am

both with driver

Postby Razkal » February 27th, 2015, 11:24 am

sweet Amir, thanks for the screenshot, I have the progression of yours when we were balancing, from initial to final.
I guess my total weight is 2460lbs,
I assume my power is unchanged (or less even), but I'll confirm after this weekend when I make a dyno pass.

at my old power (200whp) I should have a w/p of: (10.695 )~ 10.7
base class should be EP and my penalty list looks like:
-coilovers (3)
-anti-roll bars (2)
-brake upgrade (2)
-aftermarket lsd (2)
-boost controller (3)

final class Open??

Postby Razkal » February 27th, 2015, 11:37 am

seriously, I may install a 38mm external wastegate and run a 12 or 14psi spring to eliminate the need for a controller.
I still maintain that 3pts for a boost controller is unnecessary. I could use it elsewhere or have room for three points in case I need to change something

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 27th, 2015, 2:58 pm

Razkal just take off the controller for Autocross and put it back for Drag and wine. That way you will not get the 3 points.

I only installed a larger rear sway bar and some stiffer springs. Have to change oil and my clutch master tomorrow morning. Coming with the tires from last year which only have 50% left.

Postby Razkal » February 28th, 2015, 2:16 am

still gonna be a two class bump with 9 points. I not going through that heights. I'll take the points lol

Postby Razkal » March 4th, 2015, 11:04 pm

so the car worked well for the drag and wind meet, tyres were crap though.
the lsd is fun to drive, didn't really push too hard in the squiggly bits because front grip was minimal.

still gonna get aligned and get a set of new tyres. also I have some heat shields to put on and a dyno pull.
the only new tyre I can get in the appropriate size is the Falken FK452 so guess I stuck with that for maybe a year

Postby Razkal » March 7th, 2015, 9:28 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1425777971.309474.jpg

@ 12psi, I went down from 14 because I was getting a spike. still spiking but not as high and not for long.

might be time for a new actuator or entire wastegate. excuse for an external and a screamer dump pipe! lol

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » March 7th, 2015, 10:05 pm

I so envy your power Razkal. Wish I could make some more power.

Postby Razkal » March 9th, 2015, 11:35 am

that power is toots, the torque is nice though, early delivery.
on the highway that power feels like crap, all out of breath by 5500-6000, doh even make sense shifting that high lol

very nice for dex though

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 27th, 2015, 2:19 pm

nice tq akash....

Postby Razkal » April 16th, 2015, 8:14 am

I had some serious ignition problems for drag and wind on the 12th.
The car was experiencing lots of breaking up and sputtering under load, I did some sleepless troubleshooting and narrowed it down to MAF, CAS, distributor module or trigger disc for the CAS in the dizzy.
changed all one by one last night and retimed the engine. turned out to be the module and trigger disc. still, I changed out the rest.
it's almost back to normal now, just gonna drop the fuel rail, clean the injectors and install a 0 gauge charge wire to the battery in the back.

hopefully I could be there on Sunday with the car.

this forum gone very quiet, what you guys up to? nitrous and A048s?

Postby pete » April 16th, 2015, 6:03 pm

Nah just KU36s :)

I have lots to do on the car, definitely can't get it done before Sunday but I'm coming with the car as is.

Postby Razkal » April 17th, 2015, 11:03 am

I mostly get through, for the while. have to take a drive later and make sure. what kinda problems you experiencing Pete?

Postby pete » April 17th, 2015, 1:45 pm

Steering ends inner and outer, wheel bearings, sway bar links and sway bar bushings need to change.

I'm hoping the ends arrive early next week, once that's here I'll get the rest of stuff and hopefully will be able to get the used lowering springs I've been waiting on and install those and the new shocks for the front.

Postby pete » April 17th, 2015, 5:26 pm

Well yes, gone to check the package tracking and I see this

Delivery message MERCHANDISE IS MISSING. UPS WILL NOTIFY THE SENDER WITH ADDITIONAL DETAILS. / ALL MERCHANDISE MISSING, EMPTY CARTON WAS DISCARDED. UPS WILL NOTIFY THE SENDER WITH DETAILS OF THE DAMAGE

wtf, ebay ftl yes

Postby Razkal » April 27th, 2015, 7:40 am

Autocross #3 this weekend guys, everyone ready?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 27th, 2015, 8:30 am

nope ........ not even close

Postby cinco » April 27th, 2015, 8:33 am

Oil need to change

Postby Razkal » April 29th, 2015, 8:14 am

I actually ready and have nothing to do. this is a strange concept for me, not sure how this will turn out :/

Postby pete » April 29th, 2015, 9:50 am

If you're looking for something to do I have some shocks and springs to change... :)

JJustCool

Postby JJustCool » April 30th, 2015, 2:32 pm

Razkal wrote:I actually ready and have nothing to do. this is a strange concept for me, not sure how this will turn out :/

except thats normal for me.. just gas up and go race

Postby Razkal » April 30th, 2015, 10:01 pm

Pete if you willing to check me home Saturday I can help, hit me a pm :)

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”