Rally Trinidad 2011 (video & pics pg. 5-8)

Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: sio, rcadiz, 3ne2nr Mods

Finners

Re: Rally Trinidad 2011 (31/03/11-03/04/11 )

Postby Finners » March 24th, 2011, 11:39 pm

This is going to be amazing for a young prospect full rally driver i look forward to seeing what Trinidad has to offer and hopefully learning a lot! See you guys there!

sio

Postby sio » March 25th, 2011, 10:40 am

Directions to south and central stages
Cedar Hill stage - Take the Tarouba Flyover after the Brian Lara Stadium and turn left heading east. At the junction: turn right, then one 1km up: turn left onto Daisy Road, then left at the Ring Road. Drive along for about and look for 1st gravel road on the right. Drive straight up the hill. For second point continue down Ring Road it's the next gravel road on the right, the biggest entrance.

Or coming from south along San Fernando bye pass turn right at Mon Repos roundabout you are now on Naparima Mayaro road
Drive about 3km and turn right onto Manahambre road.
Continue along Manahambre road until you pass Usine Factory on your left,
Keep driving and pass Food Basket no your right.
Drive past La Paille road on your right and continue to drive past Solomon Street on your left, drive past play ground on left hand corner, right after bridge on road turn right onto gravel road and keep right.

Bronte stage-
Turn left at end of highway, then left again at Golconda Traffic lights.
Turn right at triangle onto Cipero Road and continue along Cipero Road , passing Chinese Wrecking Service, Peterloo Street on the left and St John Masjid Road on your right.
Stay right as the road curves and continue to drive for 1.4 km as the road descends look for a narrow street on the right opposite a small bar, drive up hill turn left at T junction and continue until road turns to gravel. Or keep on main road, turn right onto gravel Bronte Extension road and drive for about .2km to the start of stage.
Look out for the TTRC directional arrows.

To Pits-
Continue past Bronte Extension road and start of Bronte stage, drive along the road 1.6km past CO!S Garage on the left ,and at the bridge on the flat before hill turn right on to gravel for the pits.

The Chaguanas Mayor’s Cup is easy to find. Enter Chaguanas north from highway turn left past Marios and Singer take first left. Look for parking, park and walk west to Saith Park for the best View- the Marshals and Police will guide you along to the best viewing locations.

sio

Postby sio » March 25th, 2011, 11:45 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=byVin_FhkUc

The top 2 WRC cars will be here in 6 days for Rally Trinidad 2011

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 25th, 2011, 3:38 pm

nicee!

sio

Re: Rally Trinidad 2011 (action start Thur 31st)

Postby sio » March 28th, 2011, 10:34 am

John 'Penti' Powell will be defending his Rally Trinidad title in none other than his 2006 ex-works Subaru S12B WRC car (Shell Helix / Intercontinental Shipping).

When Powell entered Rally Trinidad in a new Group N Mitsubishi Evo X, most people thought he was a bit ambitious to be contesting one of the biggest rallies in the region in a car that in no way matches the capability of the Jamaican Fords, or the SX4 out of Barbados. Worse yet for Powell the regional competitors behind those machines just happen to be Gregg, Panton, and Gill.....names that would intimidate most regional competition no matter what they were driving. So the question for the last few weeks was 'is there even a Trini capable of winning Rally Trinidad?' Coupled with the fact that the Evo X would be a new platform for Powell, he also does not have seasoned co-driver Nicholas Telfer by his side due to other commitments. So with 1 week to go and the WRC cars already in Trinidad, Powell as they say 'buss de mark'. The decision is purely a strategic one as John will be right at home behind the wheel of his Suby that he won with a year ago against a top field which included Mark Higgins and Nicky Grist (Grp N Evo IX).

It should be very interesting to hear the responses of Gregg, Panton, and Gill, although i am sure all of them have been expecting this move from Powell all along, and have already geared up for Rally Trinidad knowing that they each have to drive an almost perfect rally to end up topping the leader board on Sunday. Powell's entry with the Suby moves the WRC class to 4 entrants - the most ever for a Rally Trinidad event. Hopefully this will be the start of a well established WRC class in years to come, and local fans will finally see the Roger the Sheriff 'Skeete' and the Roger the 'Ninja' Hill in Trinidad, along with a return from Paul the Surfer Bourne. And who could forget the ever electric Trevor 'Micey' Manning as another of Barbados' best.

Now if you were following the article, you would probably be wondering exactly what we all are - if Powell is driving the Suby - who's behind the wheel of the new Evo X??? hmmm...as they say - 'Watch this space' Details are sketchy but we can confirm that the new Mitsubishi will not be stuck in a garage this coming weekend. Stay tuned for more details as the excitement of Rally Trinidad 2011 unfolds.

So if you were thinking about coming to see this action next week, you probably want to sure up your plans because when the green light flashes on the clock for the first stage of Rally Trinidad, its going to be the start of a major Caribbean Rally Showdown.

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » March 28th, 2011, 4:42 pm

bachanal fuh RT11

Wolla

Postby Wolla » March 28th, 2011, 4:52 pm

Daz what we talkin bout!!! Now it is action! Come on Trinidad let's come out and support, we taking the 1st place!

Walk with your T&T flags!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 29th, 2011, 1:02 am

Can you TTRC guys please post proper signs & directions, as well as banners to the entrances to the stages?

Last time a group of about 4 of us got lost along daisey road looking for the entrance to the South Rally :(.

Postby wagon r » March 30th, 2011, 1:13 am

....I spy with my little eye...

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » March 30th, 2011, 1:44 am

Powell rippin out the hawkeye!!!!!!!!!!

kar_freak

Postby kar_freak » March 30th, 2011, 8:03 am

bessssss!
but just wondering. dem cars nuh gonna stay plain white and un-decaled n thing rite?

Postby wagon r » March 30th, 2011, 10:57 am

no hawkeye....so relax, as far as i know.

the livery (stickas) will be going on between today and tom.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 30th, 2011, 11:03 am

^^ nice

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » March 30th, 2011, 1:50 pm

wagon r wrote:no hawkeye....so relax, as far as i know.

the livery (stickas) will be going on between today and tom.

So you telling me this is lie :( :cry:
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/2011/03/27 ... -for-rt11/

kar_freak

Postby kar_freak » March 30th, 2011, 1:57 pm

@romany
Unfortunately the one name that is officially declared absent from this lineup is defending champion John Powell. Recently advertised as entered in the WRC Suby, a late delivery on the rear differential which was damaged in the Jamaica crash has resulted in the car not being able to make it. John will have to make a good attempt at running down the WRC front runners in the recently acquired Group N Mitsubishi Evo X.

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » March 30th, 2011, 11:19 pm

kar_freak wrote:@romany
Unfortunately the one name that is officially declared absent from this lineup is defending champion John Powell. Recently advertised as entered in the WRC Suby, a late delivery on the rear differential which was damaged in the Jamaica crash has resulted in the car not being able to make it. John will have to make a good attempt at running down the WRC front runners in the recently acquired Group N Mitsubishi Evo X.

Oh noes :cry:
HELL RALLY IS RALLYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D

LOUD AND CLEAR AUDIO

Postby LOUD AND CLEAR AUDIO » March 31st, 2011, 12:01 am

SO wish i can attend --------- ill be depending on the media and TUNER for info and pics -----sob ------------

sio

Postby sio » March 31st, 2011, 1:33 am

EVENT ITINERARY
Remember ALL events are open to the public, and FREE excepting the National Stadium where there will be a small charge of TT$20 to assist with expenses.

Thursday March 31 – Scrutineering – MOVIETOWNE PORT OF SPAIN - 3PM to 7PM

Although this is the official scrutineering for competitors, it will be the first opportunity for spectators to see the cars up close and personal. You will get a chance to see the cars up close and meet the drivers. Bring your cameras. ALL SPECTATORS are kindly asked to park on the link road to the immediate North of Movietowne's car park. There will be signs indicating where to go and we ask that you obey all TTRC officials. This event is FREE ADMISSION

Friday April 1 – Opening Ceremony – HASELY CRAWFORD STADIUM - 5PM to 10PM

If you were there in 2008, you saw Rally Cars for the first time in full competitive mode at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Rally Trinidad is taking it to the masses this year as the Opening Ceremony kicks off at the Stadium on the eve of the Rally. Drivers will be in their full kit, and we will kick off the rally in full ‘Trini’ style as the cars will be doing a short super-special stage. Lights, Camera, Anti-Lag, Action – come and meet us in town – de lime starts here!!

INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE STADIUM:

1. The entry to the Stadium will be at the North Eastern Gate. There is very LIMITED PARKING in the Stadium and we advise that you park outside.

2. We advise that you walk with your coolers - NO GLASS BOTTLES ALLOWED

3. There will be a TT$20 admission charge to help offset some of the expenses incurred at the venue. Kids under 12 are FREE

4. Please leave the area as you have found it

5. You will be allowed to enter the 2nd floor of the Stadium for a better view but you must get there early (before 6:00pm)

Saturday April 2 – Stages
We advise that you get to the stages early on Saturday to be able to choose your spot. You will NOT be allowed into the stages after 7:45am and then again at the LUNCH break. Not to worry there are many areas that you can go to without having to actually go into the stage.

sio

Postby sio » March 31st, 2011, 1:56 am

FRIDAY APRIL 1 (gates open at 5:00pm - opening ceremony at 6:00pm)

1. Stadium - 7:00pm - 1.6km

2. Stadium - 8:00pm - 1.6km

SATURDAY APRIL 2

3. Cedar Hill FWD (Cipero Road to Manahambre Rd. Cemetery) - 9:00am - 10.7km

4. Bronte FWD - 9:40am - 9.7km

5. Cedar Hill FWD - 10:20am - 10.7km

6. Bronte FWD - 11:00am - 9.7km

7. Cedar Hill FWD - 11:40am - 10.7km

8. Bronte FWD - 12:20pm - 9.7km

LUNCH BREAK

9. Bronte REV - 1:35pm - 9.7km

10. Cedar Hill REV (Manahambre Rd. Cemetery to Cipero Road) - 2:15pm - 10.7km

11. Bronte REV - 2:55pm - 9.7km

12. Cedar Hill REV - 3:35PM - 10.7km

END OF SATURDAY

SUNDAY APRIL 3

13. Bronte Sprint FWD - 8:30am - 8.4km

14. Bronte Sprint FWD - 9:30am - 8.4km

15. Bronte Sprint REV - 10:30am - 8.4km

16. Bronte Sprint REV - 11:30am - 8.4km

LUNCH BREAK

17. Cedar Hill Sprint FWD - 12:45pm - 6.2km

18. Cedar Hill Sprint FWD - 1:45pm - 6.2km

END OF SUNDAY GRAVEL STAGES

SAITH PARK MAYOR'S CUP
19. Mayor's Cup 1 - 4:00pm

20. Mayor's Cup 2 - 5:00pm

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » March 31st, 2011, 8:12 am

kar_freak wrote:@romany

DOH FCUK ME UP NAH!!!!!

Wolla

Re: Rally Trinidad 2011 (starts Thur 31st)

Postby Wolla » March 31st, 2011, 10:42 am

DAMMIT!!! So close but yet so dam far! hahaha. Was really hoping to see Powell coming 1st in the WRC again. Well I guess he will have to do it in the EVO X hahahahaha.

Good luck everyone; will be there with the T&T flag in hand for sure!!

Trini drivers MASH IT UP!!!

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 31st, 2011, 2:20 pm

Ah so there ....... Wolla you more excited than me :lol: :lol:

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » March 31st, 2011, 10:42 pm

good luck to all d drivers and navigtors that flying d trini flag high, represent well my patriots!

Rensh

Postby Rensh » April 1st, 2011, 2:14 am

A few photos from Rally Trinidad Day #1!

Postby Sinister_Audio » April 1st, 2011, 9:54 am

^yummy

jusbitter

Postby jusbitter » April 1st, 2011, 10:21 am

nice, looking foward to the updates

Mini

Postby Mini » April 1st, 2011, 11:27 am

jusbitter wrote:nice, looking foward to the updates

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 1st, 2011, 11:50 pm

The super special at the Stadium was spectacular!
Kudos to the TTRC for organising a fantastic event.

Tomorrow morning will be intense! we hope the attrition wont be high.

Have a safe rally everyone!

Keep watching this thread and http://www.twitter.com/trinituner for updates

photos to follow

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » April 2nd, 2011, 12:20 am

PROVISIONAL RESULTS AFTER STAGE 1 AND 2 (min:sec)
1. Sean Gill - 3:03 (WRC)
2. Gary Gregg - 3:07 (WRC)
3. John Powell - 3:09 (N)
4. Jeffrey Panton - 3:11 (WRC)
5. Christian Bourne - 3:15 (A)
6. Mark Williams - 3:18 (N)
7. David Coelho - 3:20 (N)
8. Stuart Johnson - 3:20 (N)
9. Ryan Peyrau - 3:24 (2-3)
10. Rezan Mohammed - 3:24 (N)

This was a dexterity type event around the National Stadium, lots of fun but the real test comes tomorrow when the green light goes on Cedar Hill....Penti lookin super comfortable in the Evo X already.. Gregg clean as ever, Gill steppin off the Tarmac and onto gravel tomorrow so lets see how it all unfolds, cant wait to see Panton.....Cristian Bourne has started very well

Re: Rally Trinidad 2011 (ITS HAPPENING NOW)

Postby wagon r » April 2nd, 2011, 12:26 am

^ so has Ryan....!

Return to “TTRC - Rally”