Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: rcadiz, sio, 3ne2nr Mods

rcadiz

POWELL AND FENNELL - Peru NACAM Rally - September 8-9

Postby rcadiz » September 4th, 2012, 4:16 pm

Folks,

It's that time again. This weekend the Caribbean team is back in action in the 4th round of the NACAM Rally Championship in Peru. This Rally will prove to be the most challenging in terms of altitude. The Rally is mostly at 12,000ft and there may be a few high points that peak at close to 14,000ft. Its going to be very interesting how John's Evo IX reacts to the high altitude and tuning will be crucial, as the car is going to be starved for oxygen. This event is also a 2-day event which is different to all the others which were only 1 day of incredibly long mileage by our standards. The stages range between 8 and 17km long, doing a combination of 6 different stages once fwd and once in rev.

The Itinerary
Wednesday - Fly to Panama, then to Lima, Peru, then to Cuzco Peru.
Thursday - Find the car, prepare for the Rally
Friday - Pace Note / Opening Ceremony
Saturday - Rally 6 stages - 72km
Sunday - Rally 6 stages - 74km then Prize Giving then fly to Lima
Monday - Fly home

As you can see it's a super tight schedule again, with little time to spare. You can imagine with the schedule as it is, there is no time for any hiccups with the car or team, and you pretty much have to just deal with whatever happens.

John is currently 3rd in the NACAM championship:
- Trivino - 68pts
- Izquierdo - 40pts
- Powell - 36pts

A win will give him a much needed 25 pts and although John would never plan on Trivino not finishing, the truth is that the DNF he registered in Leg 2 in Oaxaca has put him quite a ways off Trivino. So John needs a strong finish and for Trivino to register a low scoring event between now and the end of the series to even things out. On the gravel John has proven he can beat Trivino, but it's going to be left to him finishing a clean event.

The updates will be as best as i can get phone and internet in Peru. So look out for news and pictures.....

HondaHo de 1st

Re: POWELL AND FENNELL - Peru NACAM Rally - September 8-9

Postby HondaHo de 1st » September 4th, 2012, 6:04 pm

GIVE DEM HELL BOY PENTI!!!!

link

Postby link » September 4th, 2012, 8:06 pm

will it be considered mean to hope Trivino registers a DNF this round ?? :P

ken mohammed

Postby ken mohammed » September 4th, 2012, 8:16 pm

GOOD LUCK JOHN ALL THE BEST

Postby wagon r » September 4th, 2012, 10:15 pm

Go Penti....!

...guess this means i not seeing him on Saturday... :(

mrkessy

Postby mrkessy » September 5th, 2012, 2:24 pm

Good luck guys!

IRSHAAD

Postby IRSHAAD » September 5th, 2012, 5:04 pm

Good luck john & mike

Wolla

Postby Wolla » September 5th, 2012, 5:29 pm

Mash them up fellas!!

Postby sliderz1 » September 6th, 2012, 12:35 pm

subscribed

wish them teh best!

Postby crazybalhead » September 6th, 2012, 12:47 pm

Wish i could be there, Peru is incredible!

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » September 6th, 2012, 2:49 pm

Well after the long travel to Lima yesterday, we got about 2 hours sleep before catching the flight to Lima. The scenery is crazy, landed to around 20 degrees C which is a nice change from the previous rallies. Of course this was all just buttering us up to the bad news upon arrival at the hotel. Once again event logistics are in plagued with bad 'luck'.

Apparently all the NACAM cars that were coming from Costa Rica are stuck in Lima on the port. Although the government of Peru (Sports Minister) advised the bond value, Peruvian customs is not accepting an insurance bond from NACAM. They want a cash deposit for the temporary importation instead. The cash was too much to scramble, so they changed the importation documentation from the NACAM series to the local auto club. Customs has supposedly accepted a bond from the local club and is releasing the cars this afternoon. The problem is that Cuzco is a 24 hour drive from Lima, so the cars would arrive sometime tomorrow night.

John has at least 8-10 hours of prep to do on the car, and the service truck with all the tools has once again not made it. Apparently it came on a separate ship and did not dock in time. Another chapter of this crazy book.

So Plan B is for the organizers to run the Rally only on Sunday, giving crews a chance to prep, however we are all booked to fly out on Sunday evening. Fun has begun.

Stay tuned folks, and if you see my writing start to get a little c r a z y, its because we are all fighting the altitude at 11,000ft. Chewed a bunch of coca leaves today which is supposed to help with the headaches but has only succeeded in getting us all a bit red-eyed.

The organizers are updating everyone in a few hours so will keep you posted.

Postby tr1ad » September 6th, 2012, 2:54 pm

stop taking cocaine robbie

stop it

Postby wagon r » September 6th, 2012, 4:23 pm

...just remember to empty yuh pockets before yuh return home. TTRC doh have any money to bail you out....!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 6th, 2012, 5:09 pm

Great experiences to document for the future running of the Caribbean NACAM Championships.

So when I thought that back in the 80’s when we sent cars to Barbados twice a year and on one occasion the cars passed through Grenada,
and … we waited, and … we waited, and … we waited,
and then found out that the boat was “arrested” because somebody was owing some body some money, and the incredible Bajan Camaradarie stepped up to the plate and lent us 3 cars to Rally with, well your experiences are now on a much grander scale!

And if you find that seeing treble only because of what you are chewing.

Postby tr1ad » September 6th, 2012, 5:35 pm

allyuh eh realize logistics and everything else was good until robbie start going?

sio

Postby sio » September 6th, 2012, 10:54 pm

Stress keep the reports coming Robbie, once you can type one line and not three lol

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » September 7th, 2012, 12:31 am

Well its 11:00pm in Peru and here's the scoop...

Penti and Mike went to take some stress off on a quad tour this afternoon and unknowingly ended up on some of the stages. Although the formal reccee is tomorrow they got a sneak peak today. By the time dusk met them, the temperature had dropped to about 15 deg C, so i don't think heat is going to be a factor at all.

At dinner the updates on the car weren't great. They managed to clear the cars that were shipped from Costa Rica, but with 1000km in between the port in Lima and the Service Park in Cuzco, its till some crazy logistics. Apparently the car transporter that was arranged is not permitted to travel between 6pm and 6am, so they had to arrange trucks to bring the containers up to Cuzco to then un-stuff them. Basically the cars will arrive sometime tomorrow night, and the crew has at least 10-12 hours of work to do. Radiator, transfer case, brakes lines, and a complete run through. And this with bare minimum tools as all the equipment - tools, generator, compressor, jacks, etc are all in the service truck which never made it.

If the crew were to work tomorrow night on the car, they would flat out tired for the Saturday stages. It's not just a problem for John. You would recall Carlos and Memo Izquierdo blew the engine before the Costa Rica Rally, well they have an engine waiting in Peru but no car as yet, so they are in much the same predicament.

The stewards and the NACAM guys are looking at all the logistics now. They may start the event at noon on Saturday and run a full day on Sunday. Who knows, what's even worse is that the opening ceremony tomorrow has no cars to show off, and may have all the drivers simply walk over the line. Not great for the spectators.

All this crazy stuff that seems to be more of a norm than an exception as the organizers are now 4 for 4 with major delays before the events. Its unfortunate as the series has huge potential with all the different countries and very scenic stages. All these countries have a ton of options for stages and all the series really needs is the competitors and their cars, something that is becoming increasingly difficult to put in place. The bad luck continues.

Going to have a look at the stages tomorrow, rumour is that they are fast, but at 12,500ft, we'll see how fast the cars can actually go.

As for the altitude, we found some tablets today which have helped a little. Its like having a hangover headache, and short breath all day long. Penti and Mike are in good spirits despite everything. John deserves an award for his patience with all this.

Stay tuned.......

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2012, 12:51 am

^ thanks!!!!

great reporting - where the photos from that new Canon 7D???

Postby wagon r » September 7th, 2012, 9:35 am

De boy could barely type and take drugs for headache at the same time, yuh want him shoot pics too...!

sio

Postby sio » September 7th, 2012, 3:04 pm

Hang in there guys. Robbie stop eating the leaves lol

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » September 7th, 2012, 7:11 pm

Updates from 12,000ft......

Well some good news, some bad news, some just news....

Good news - We seem to have gotten accustomed to the altitude. No more headaches and i can stop eating the damn coca leaves, and drinking strange tea.

Bad news - Cars have still not arrived, they are due sometime tonight, so none of the NACAM series competitors have any cars to go to the ceremonial launch. The organizers have pushed the start of the Rally to midday tomorrow, but the NACAM competitors have signed a petition to request Saturday be cancelled all together, and just race on Sunday. To be honest its doubtful that any of the cars will be prepped in time to make the 10:30am parc ferme, which is about 45min drive from the hotel. So a decision will be made later tonight on that.

Just news - the food in the hotel is great, and i am once again the tallest guy in the street.....once Penti and Mike stay inside of course.

We did pace notes today for all the stages as a precaution even though the cancellation of Saturday looks likely. Stages are unreal, probably the best gravel stages i have ever seen in my life. They range from 7km to 18km, and are all super fast, smooth, flowing, sweeping stages, with some tight hairpins, and typically what you would expect in a snaking valley. From the stages we can see snow capped mountains in the distance which gives you an idea of the altitude. We passed lakes, and just about every form of livestock imaginable - donkeys, pigs, cows, sheep, dogs, you name it, and lots of it. You literally come around a corner and plough into a herd of animals and a little kid with a stick walking them. Oh and lots of cliffs....all of a sudden a 300ft drop is a few ft off the roadway....

The stages pass through at least a couple hundred houses. All the houses are these hand built clay brick type, a fairly poor area but they seem anxious for the Rally. You could never achieve this in Trinidad without someone complaining but it seems all the villages have no objection. The service park is in one of the football fields and is in a really convenient location to the stages.

Essentially if the Rally runs as planned:
Stage 1, 2, 3 Service 4, 5, 6 End of Saturday
Stage 7, 8, 9 Service 10, 11, 12 End of Sunday

With Saturday jumping up right now, apparently there is a concern that for the Rally to be sanctioned FIA, it must be over 100km, so in that case some of the Sat stages may move to Sunday. Will be loads of fun considering we are supposed to fly out on Sunday afternoon. Oh well we will see what they decide later. Some much awaited pics are below, sorry no cars to take pictures of as yet.

Just been informed we are heading to the ceremonial start without cars......so gotta run.

will update more later.

sio

Postby sio » September 7th, 2012, 9:04 pm

Wow the stages really look great. And the mountains are beautiful

LevinBZR

Postby LevinBZR » September 7th, 2012, 10:41 pm

Some a/v stuff would be great, even just one or two video clips of their runs through the stages, regardless of the quality. Great to see what's going on here with a truly inspirational story being written during my generation.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2012, 10:47 pm

Gran Turismo kinda scenery there!!!

can't wait to see the video!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 7th, 2012, 10:50 pm

"With Saturday jumping up right now, apparently there is a concern that for the Rally to be sanctioned FIA, it must be over 100km, so in that case some of the Sat stages may move to Sunday. Will be loads of fun considering we are supposed to fly out on Sunday afternoon."

Take a vote with the other competitors to have the final stage head straight to the airport - but the crew might get left behind!

Postby sliderz1 » September 7th, 2012, 10:53 pm

scenery is remarkable!

X2 on vids...getting in on some of the action!

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » September 8th, 2012, 1:43 am

OK the verdict on the Rally is in....

The cars will arrive sometime around 2am-3am. Here's the funny part, first thing first they need to be offloaded from a container which was never catered for so there will be some delays trying to source the flat bed or some other means of taking them out. Second part of the equation is that it's 5 degrees C outside haha, so there's no heated garages anywhere and mechanics cannot possibly do what they need to do in those temperatures. Well they probably could but no team is prepared for it.

So the Rally will start as planned tomorrow for the Peruvian National Championship which includes about 30 cars. And the NACAM series which is only about 8 cars will join them on Sunday. They won't compete for overall, only the NACAM points but at least the teams have all day tomorrow to prep and scrutineer. They have also extended the number of stages on Sunday to 9 instead of the planned 6 in order to make up the mileage. After speaking with John, Trivino, and Izquierdo, everyone seems to be in agreement. Team Powell's challenge is that we were booked to leave Sunday afternoon which won't be possible now. We can't get a flight later than 4:30pm because after that time, the wind is too strong at the airport so they close it. haha boy the logistical issues are never ending. Ah well one more night in Lima it looks like.

Went to ceremonial start tonight. Huge crowd and they seem very passionate. Also running in the event is Nicolas Fuchs - Peru's champion and top PWRC driver so that helps when there's a local hero. So far this event seems to be the most competitive as there are a lot of 4WD cars, and supposedly good drivers from Peru.

We waited for some late meetings concerning the Rally and ended up late to the ceremonial start. By the time we got there about half the cars had already gone, and it was almost impossible to get a good vantage point for photos but here's a few..

Mike prepping for the cold weather, haha

One of the many Peru Evo's

John and Mike doing an interview at the hotel Rally HQ

Huge crowd at the launch

Amazing scenery

More scenery....Lyden Thomas i need your help...

The guy in the wheelchair is the head of the Peru Auto Club which is part hosting the event

Cuzco at night, huge lit up mural

So the plan is work on the car tomorrow, and try to make alternative travel arrangements for Sunday. Mike and John will probably go over their notes, and try not to over strategize Sunday. Been spending a lot of time with Trivino and Izquierdo. They are both very interested in Rally Trinidad so we are trying to see what can be arranged.

Saw a request for video but the internet is a bit slow here so the video uploading might have to wait until Trinidad.

IRSHAAD

Postby IRSHAAD » September 8th, 2012, 7:40 am

Wow robbie i lov the scenery just wonderful.... Good pics

brandon005

Postby brandon005 » September 8th, 2012, 11:15 am

wo gard.. this rally looking sweet .. all the best guys!

dumplin

Postby dumplin » September 8th, 2012, 12:02 pm

Take some of those coca leaves and rub it on Powell John head and car,take away the recent misfortunes!

Return to “TTRC - Rally”