Re: Ghetto Installs ........

Postby matthewmazda » December 6th, 2014, 6:47 am

12 inch in a pig tail bucket ported, thik it was Celestion

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » February 22nd, 2016, 10:04 am

Bout to Lazarus the s#it out this thread...

My old man swapped out the roof speakers at the hotel he worked at. They were these little boxes with some el cheapo 8's from the pool area. I had about 10 of them wired in parallel from a walkman (no, not a discman. A walkman) with the headphone jack pushed in 3/4-way so it sounded like "surround sound". :|

Postby Hook » February 22nd, 2016, 10:18 am

:lol: @ Lazarus the thread

That hadda be a sick walkman to be able to take less than an ohm load and playing normel normel.

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » February 22nd, 2016, 2:37 pm

Hook wrote::lol: @ Lazarus the thread

That hadda be a sick walkman to be able to take less than an ohm load and playing normel normel.

considering I had to put my ear to the cone(s) to hear it, saying it was "playing" would be a stretch.

Postby Hook » February 22nd, 2016, 3:58 pm

Postby Rovin » March 2nd, 2016, 12:58 pm

ole thread revival

1 of d greatest i ever heard was a shop told me a customer's car had come in with a piece of red brick used as a spacer under d amp to give it air circulation ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

sometimes i see customers connect a additional battery in d trunk & nothing around it to secure it & worst its not even fused , when i see that i tell them anytime u see fire just jump out d car & run

most dangerous i see when ppl rest down 2 mids boxes unsecured on their bass box in a wagon or hatchback car , they dont realize how deadly that can be in a accident or a sudden hard mash brakes .......

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2016, 3:06 pm

If you know how I hate to see these speakers in boxes eh.

Sent from my ONE E1005 using Tapatalk

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 6th, 2016, 7:43 pm

Fancy Fiberglass door pods built with multiple large drivers that attach to the plastic door upholstery with drywall screws.

Not only ghetto, but a driving safety hazzard!!!

Use common sense people. Even the OEM low power speakers are bolted to the door itself. So its either these Car manufacturers dont know what they are doing or ...

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 18th, 2018, 9:39 pm

Last week I saw this yellow ck2 lancer with a small box on d backseat that have about 8 6" speakers in it and 2 pioneer 10's prop up on the back glass no box it just free airing.. I dead serious! :lol: :lol:

Postby SR » September 19th, 2018, 6:39 am

Most vehicles in competition especially the "crowd pleaser" aspect installs leaves somthing to be desired.

Postby Rovin » September 19th, 2018, 12:43 pm

once it "wukkin" dem eh bisnis ....

Postby nervewrecker » September 20th, 2018, 10:16 pm

Someone was telling me about an accident where the mid speaker flew out the car.

Postby Rovin » September 28th, 2018, 6:48 pm

why buy speaker box carpet when u cud use yuh mudda ole towel ... :lol:

image91

Postby image91 » September 29th, 2018, 5:12 pm

Took this yearrsss back O_o

Postby Rovin » October 16th, 2018, 6:43 pm

while trinis put speakers on top of cars other ppl doing d opposite ......

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 10th, 2018, 6:41 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:while trinis put speakers on top of cars other ppl doing d opposite ......

surround sound :D

Postby Rovin » January 29th, 2022, 7:29 pm

this was a good thread in those days ... 15+ yrs ago yes

david12

Postby david12 » January 29th, 2022, 8:01 pm

thread revival?

Postby Rovin » January 30th, 2022, 1:40 pm

feel free to post ur own or friends who cud take a joke stuff or stuff found on foreign internet - we all screw up or do half way stuff sometimes in a hurry, due to lack of materials\tools or plain laziness

i wouldnt recommend posting substandard work of any installers to open any can of worms ...

Postby timelapse » January 31st, 2022, 9:37 am

Ah fraid the raj crew take offense.

david12

Postby david12 » January 31st, 2022, 9:45 am

And... lol
I see like they using the 3 conductor grey house wire plenty for the mids and sub boxes

Postby Rovin » January 31st, 2022, 1:04 pm

rajness is a whole story by itself which might be more suited to d ole talk section

its 4 core wire sometimes called rhino cause of a brand name, i know there is a 8 terminal neutrik type connector too but i never had cause to use it

nothing really wrong with that since its supposedly copper wire conveniently neat instead of taping & looming a bunch of wires together & its double insulated so it can take some abuse too, dem DJs have been using it decades ago

i actually have about 5ft of 4 core wire on my daily sub box a few yrs going, i doubt u will hear a difference with car audio wires & that ...

david12

Postby david12 » January 31st, 2022, 1:34 pm

I know the 4 conductor and 8 conductor you talking about, I had a 2 yards and a neutrik on a previous sub box. But some of them really using the 3 conductor house wire for like extension cord and either cutting the third one or pulling it out from the insulation. Like you said I wouldn't continue with this talk before I get ban lol.
Last edited by david12 on January 31st, 2022, 1:34 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Dave » January 31st, 2022, 1:43 pm

Did somebody say ban.....
My ghetto install ish was using the house wiring conduit in the plastic casing for jumping and splitting connections. It mounted neat as they had the screw terminal in the middle for affixing.
The stainless screws in the casing were very durable and you could get different sizes.
Pong on a budget!

david12

Postby david12 » January 31st, 2022, 6:02 pm

da hadda be before I meet you, me eh remember no ghettoness from any previous install nah

Postby timelapse » February 1st, 2022, 7:46 am

Not sure if you consider this ghetto,
I once built an 8 inch sub inside of a plastic tool box.Fiberglassed the inside and mounted the sub on mdf.Completely stealth imo

Postby Rovin » February 1st, 2022, 11:20 am

^^^ it sound good or like sh1t ? .... :lol:

david12

Postby david12 » February 1st, 2022, 11:27 am

timelapse wrote:Not sure if you consider this ghetto,
I once built an 8 inch sub inside of a plastic tool box.Fiberglassed the inside and mounted the sub on mdf.Completely stealth imo
Lol, bro that's next level stealth

Postby timelapse » February 1st, 2022, 11:59 am

Rovin wrote:^^^ it sound good or like sh1t ? ....
It sound good for the time.The toolbox started to dryrot, so I built a regular ported box for it .

david12

Postby david12 » February 3rd, 2022, 6:34 pm

I bringing something back up, not calling names. If you all remember we had a thread that was moved or deleted talking about this back in July/August of last year. The notorious Benz is now completed....

https://www.facebook.com/12507568549404 ... /?sfnsn=mo