fiberglass thread...boxes eyelids kicks etc

jeff

fiberglass thread...boxes eyelids kicks etc

Postby jeff » April 5th, 2007, 8:44 pm

yea casper i didnt want to spam the dude thread with my pics
yea fiber glass could be a possibility this box in the pic is 2 cubs heavily braced and weighs less than 15 pounds if not so much! it was an install done on my side this week by a mecp installer..you see for yourself that the trunk an spare still available

Last edited by jeff on May 6th, 2007, 9:49 am, edited 5 times in total.

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » April 5th, 2007, 9:14 pm

nice amp.
which model?
what impedance u runnin it at?

jeff

Postby jeff » April 5th, 2007, 9:33 pm

its a 5 channel zeus, eclipse speakers in the car @ 4ohm, sub at 2ohm

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 5th, 2007, 9:49 pm

coool ! - some pimp my ride styling there hoss ..... :fadein:

Postby 3stagevtec » April 5th, 2007, 11:36 pm

nice install! lookin real professional dey...

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 6th, 2007, 4:05 am

i cant tell from the pics... are the panels covered in vinyl or painted?

Either way, looks quite nice.

The level of work is what is expected from a mecp grad.

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » April 6th, 2007, 12:09 pm

110X4 + 300X1
rel nice amp.
how does it sound.
how long did it take?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 6th, 2007, 12:34 pm

the install looks real good..it look like it take a lil time fuh dat

TK!

Postby TK! » April 6th, 2007, 1:55 pm

sweet

casper

Re: fiberglass install

Postby casper » April 6th, 2007, 2:58 pm

jeff wrote:yea casper i didnt want to spam the dude thread with my pics
yea fiber glass could be a possibility this box in the pic is 2 cubs heavily braced and weighs less than 15 pounds if not so much! it was an install done on my side this week by a mecp installer..you see for yourself that the trunk an spare still available

NICE!!!!!!! :shock: ....how much will it cost when i'm ready to do my trunk like that???cuz my main problem with bass subs is taking it back out for my spare tire...cuz i FOREVER bussing my tires.... :oops:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 6th, 2007, 10:56 pm

wa kinda car it installed in?

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » April 7th, 2007, 1:22 am

^^am from the looks of that sign it looks like a toyota hilux vigo

ah like it tho its nice and clean :o

Firewall

Postby Firewall » April 7th, 2007, 10:49 am

^^^^ exactly which part of that looking like a Toyota Hilux?? :?: :|
Install looking good though.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 7th, 2007, 12:05 pm

i 4get d model no but its d shape as d PBD local lancer ......

jeff

Postby jeff » April 9th, 2007, 12:13 am

yep nigel everything is wrapped in vinyl

casper a custom box like that can vary in costs depends on type of box materials used ie paint vinyl port...down to the port is fiber...
and size etc..
pimptac can take maybe up to a week to build as the glue needs time to cure for the vinyl the glass needs to cure also etc..
and yall from the MITSUBISHI logo it IS a toyota hilux vigo... :twisted:
firewal it was a joke...
its a ck2 lancer :?

Firewall

Postby Firewall » April 9th, 2007, 9:07 am

sorry :mrgreen:

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 9th, 2007, 11:03 pm

nice i want a similar install, for 2 10's, but that project on standby.

this is a great looking install, how does it sound?

casper

Postby casper » April 10th, 2007, 10:56 am

^^me too...i want one like that for a single 12" install....

Postby Hook » April 10th, 2007, 11:18 am

*sigh* beat me to it...I still tryin to organize mine like dat since December

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 10th, 2007, 11:40 am

The high cost items, apart from the labour, is the fiberglass resin itself.

A 1.8cuft box could use at least 5 gallons to achieve a 3/8" thick back mold and front overlap. Thats 500 in resin alone not to mention fleece for the front and the mat/roven/finishing cloth. Then there is filler .....

One of these days, I'll post a step by step pic tutorial on how its done. In the mean time go here..

www.fiberglassforums.com

This guy is doing a decent job...
http://www.fiberglassforums.com/showthr ... 203&page=6

Postby Hook » April 10th, 2007, 12:24 pm

^^^ :shock: thas ALOT of fibreglass jed...but why not just make the major or flat portions of it in MDF and only fibre the curves/show pieces?

isn't that how most ppl do it anyway?

jeff

Postby jeff » April 10th, 2007, 1:12 pm

nigel1977 wrote:The high cost items, apart from the labour, is the fiberglass resin itself.

A 1.8cuft box could use at least 5 gallons to achieve a 3/8" thick back mold and front overlap. Thats 500 in resin alone not to mention fleece for the front and the mat/roven/finishing cloth. Then there is filler .....

One of these days, I'll post a step by step pic tutorial on how its done. In the mean time go here..

www.fiberglassforums.com

you hit the nail on the spot there...costly and time consuming

casper vexdog hook once you go fiber you wont go back..mdf boxes..been there done that

hook it can be done using mdf in some parts...
ive seen it done before where they use tonnnsss of little pieces to try to make the shape of the back but i think fiberglass for the back part really utilises all of the space behind...it all depends on where its goin and application i guess

the bottom of the box tho can be made out of mdf

vexx dog it sounds pretty good not a competition car for sq nor spl but perfect daily driver...eclipse very clean on the frontstge ..bass is very heavy..reproduces like a 15"..bass junkies would like this setup...and with the trunk empty what more you cud want
:D

casper

Postby casper » April 10th, 2007, 3:58 pm

jeff wrote:
nigel1977 wrote:The high cost items, apart from the labour, is the fiberglass resin itself.

www.fiberglassforums.com

you hit the nail on the spot there...costly and time consuming

casper vexdog hook once you go fiber you wont go back..mdf boxes..been there done that

hook it can be done using mdf in some parts...
ive seen it done before where they use tonnnsss of little pieces to try to make the shape of the back but i think fiberglass for the back part really utilises all of the space behind...it all depends on where its goin and application i guess

the bottom of the box tho can be made out of mdf

vexx dog it sounds pretty good not a competition car for sq nor spl but perfect daily driver...eclipse very clean on the frontstge ..bass is very heavy..reproduces like a 15"..bass junkies would like this setup...and with the trunk empty what more you cud want
:D

%^^^^^THAT...is exactly what I WANT :D

Postby Hook » April 10th, 2007, 6:00 pm

yup..that's exactly the plan...even for a competition SQ install it has to be practical as well...cuz nobody likes to move around a sub box to get to their spare (I believe that particular rule has been dropped tho, I could be wrong)

and then there's the "stealth" reason..in that position, a passer-by at first glance likely won't make out that's a sub and amp there and mark your car to come back and pick up the goods later...there's montly only pro's to an install like that

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 10th, 2007, 6:24 pm

where u buy the fiberglass material?

jeff

Postby jeff » April 11th, 2007, 5:11 pm

peakes around 180$ a gallon of resin MEKP included mat Around 50 a yard and filler is about 25 a quart

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 12th, 2007, 1:42 am

one of thebetter stores is corsa marketing on independance ave in san do.

they even stock polyester resin for $95.00 a gallon with enough mek !!!

at that price, why bother with the green exoxy resin?

jeff

Postby jeff » April 12th, 2007, 6:54 pm

^^yup thats the rel shiz there d poly resin

good price also there are also a few more places to get up here but unfortunately thats on the other side of the country for me

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 13th, 2007, 3:16 am

yeh buh umm jeff corsa number in chaguramas is 634-1054 have a place in chaguramas in coral cove where joes pizza is..an peaks rel buss ya head fuh a gallon resin dawg..an down south is 657-4880

jeff

Postby jeff » April 13th, 2007, 6:30 am

^^ i never said i got it from peakes isaid there are a few more places to get up here

just giving people a general location that everones knows
thanks for the number tho