fiberglass thread...boxes eyelids kicks etc

spam

Postby spam » May 12th, 2007, 10:22 am

ok so i watchin the door and thinkin i aint need all that if is just 1 6" goin dey

so if i want the pod to be where the blue line is in the image below what i could use to cut it if it even possible?

and how think should the base be for a small pod like this?

:shock: :shock: :shock:
Last edited by spam on May 12th, 2007, 10:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 12th, 2007, 10:27 am

Spam... you should beat the snot outta the man who tape down that door hoss. lord. the air pockets means that the tape isn't sitting down on the door. When the fiberglass pulls as it hardens, the tape could release off the door, rather than hold its shape.

If you did this last night, and you didn't add heat, it wont dry for sheit. What we do when we use fiberglass resin anytime after 5, is to heat up the resin, also known as cooking the resin. If you don't do that, the resin will never go exothermic, and never harden (cure).

What you need to to is put it the sun and make sure the first layer is drying, if not, then you've got problems, and you may need to mix a batch of resin with more hardner, to activate the first layer. DONT put another layer at this point. The top layer will dry and leave the bottom layer wet.

spam

Postby spam » May 12th, 2007, 10:41 am

nah nah the part with the fiber glass smooth is only the other parts do ruff it was just incase

What you need to to is put it the sun and make sure the first layer is drying, if not, then you've got problems, and you may need to mix a batch of resin with more hardner, to activate the first layer. DONT put another layer at this point. The top layer will dry and leave the bottom layer wet.

ok it in the sun now i think it gettin lil hardish

jeff

Postby jeff » May 12th, 2007, 12:46 pm

^^^ am ...is there any foil on dat and masking tape alone...........it not sure if i seeing no foil there...

spam

Postby spam » May 12th, 2007, 1:43 pm

yea it have foil layer of tape then foil then more tape

spam

Postby spam » May 12th, 2007, 5:33 pm

can i leave the base as 2 layers thick or should i get it thicker and how much thicker?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 12th, 2007, 5:36 pm

for a base layer is usually go with 3-4 layers, especially when its that curvy.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 13th, 2007, 11:16 pm

pios the extrail goin an look rel hott when it finish buh how come ya fogs lookin a bit yellow?

spam

Postby spam » May 13th, 2007, 11:46 pm

ok this is where i am at

yea the shapes not exactly the same but shite that it good enough

in time i would better

jed how do you stop yuh skin from feelin like it have glass on it?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 14th, 2007, 1:08 am

bathe with blue soap an daz serious talk also after ya bathe use lotion or cream an rub on ya skin

Postby SR » May 14th, 2007, 7:09 am

wear gloves and long sleeve clothing when working with fibre glass

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 14th, 2007, 7:12 am

bathe with COLD WATER.
use hand cream.

also what sr said

spam

Postby spam » May 14th, 2007, 8:51 am

nobody aint talk about how the mold and stand lookin

it sittin on the door nice and thing but what i want to know is how i puttin the cloth on it

last time my pod had a mdf base and top so i use a staple gun but the staples aint goin tru the base which is fiberglass

so can i wrap it twice in clothe starting at the bottom ?

gimme some ideas

Postby SR » May 14th, 2007, 8:53 am

use hot glue and and old t shirt

spam

Postby spam » May 14th, 2007, 9:20 am

ok ok

but when yuh say hot glue yuh mean the lil glue stick and a glue gun right

or i hadda hot some evo stick in a pot :lol: :lol: :lol:

i serious eh :|

Postby X_Factor » May 14th, 2007, 9:24 am

glue stick and glue gun jed

if u could get one of those really good glue guns borrow would be good
the lil ones doesnt cut it...

spam

Postby spam » May 14th, 2007, 9:55 am

stupes well i have a stupid lil one

anybody could cover it for me or lend me a good glue gun ?

the small one cyah work atall ?

Postby X_Factor » May 14th, 2007, 9:24 pm

try the small one...if it giving u trouble and the glue not coming out fast enuff
see if u can get the bigger ones

Lance

Postby Lance » May 14th, 2007, 9:56 pm

i Have a small one, works ok for what it is, paid like 30 for it.

spam

Postby spam » May 14th, 2007, 10:02 pm

i pull the cloth real tight and tigh it to the bottom it have a few pleet but that will come out

ok how that lookin dey ?

Lance

Postby Lance » May 14th, 2007, 10:11 pm

you could have glued the bottom instead. Make sure you get the kinks out before you lay the resin, or else that will pose some problems later on.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 15th, 2007, 12:56 am

:shock: pios dat rel good..mitent see the lil mistakes over the net buh pios it lookin rel offical :!:

jeff

Postby jeff » May 15th, 2007, 8:06 am

...dat doh look like no bomb spray

u painted yurself? can or gun?

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » May 15th, 2007, 1:20 pm

pios, dem ting looking good, well done!

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 16th, 2007, 3:44 am

an it come out lookin so smoothe? an the same color of the xtrail? :shock: i hadda buy myself sum ah dat..how much fuh a can of da?

Postby SR » May 16th, 2007, 12:55 pm

get rustoleum from ft farfan

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 16th, 2007, 1:03 pm

was the price on rustoleum? cuz i lookin fuh like a heat resistant spraypaint..kno any?

spam

Postby spam » May 28th, 2007, 7:28 am

where can i buy primer i hear it have one does come in a spray can

where i gettin that and what is the price ?

Postby SR » May 28th, 2007, 7:36 am

rustoleum ft farfan

they have everything in a can

spam

Postby spam » May 28th, 2007, 7:42 am

SR wrote:rustoleum ft farfan

that is english ?

i aint sure if that is the store or product but if is the product where i buyin that ?