fiberglass thread...boxes eyelids kicks etc

jeff

Postby jeff » May 8th, 2007, 9:20 am

weapon-X wrote:jeff, we waiting to see how the box lookin in th x-trail, organize some progress pics nuh.

which ones? :twisted:

shhh.....top secret

mabye ill release some later on in the week :twisted:

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » May 8th, 2007, 10:18 am

jeff wrote:
weapon-X wrote:jeff, we waiting to see how the box lookin in th x-trail, organize some progress pics nuh.

which ones? :twisted:

shhh.....top secret

mabye ill release some later on in the week :twisted:

doh worry nuh breds, i wouldn't give out any details, i wouldn't buss yuh files jus so

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » May 8th, 2007, 10:22 am

jeff, check yuh pm

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » May 8th, 2007, 11:11 am

pioneer wrote:yeh some spots missing filler...it not complete...still have some spots to do and level off

pios, boy dem eyelids looking real good, take ur time, it go finish out nice!

spam

Postby spam » May 8th, 2007, 1:02 pm

where can i buy fiber glass and resin ?

spam

Postby spam » May 8th, 2007, 3:13 pm

any place in the north pio i from tunapuna

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » May 8th, 2007, 3:37 pm

i bought a gallon ah resin for 177 an d hardener for 40 dollars in a paintshop in chandy lane el socorro...d matting was 55 a yard ...d kinda fabric one not the kitty hair ....

i built a backdash for 4 8 inch an 4 bullets ...will post pics soon so i cud get ur opinions

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 8th, 2007, 3:49 pm

corsa have a place in chaguramas..in coral cove where joes pizza is..think it wud be the same price an u get hardner with yuh resin an doh hadda pay extra :wink:

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » May 8th, 2007, 7:33 pm

ok this is after first coat ah filler i didnt sand it yet

this is d first time im doing anything like this...but ive been taking in u guys tips thanks alot

so lemme
kno what u think of it thus far

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » May 8th, 2007, 7:36 pm

ok this is after first coat ah filler i didnt sand it yet

this is d first time im doing anything like this...but ive been taking in u guys tips thanks alot

so lemme
kno what u think of it thus far

Postby cinco » May 8th, 2007, 8:04 pm

lookin good fellas allyuh inspirin me

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 8th, 2007, 8:28 pm

what the hell you mean you eh sand it yet. :evil:

man yuh real sticking.

I usually start sanding before the filler hardens. Its a technique called "greenstage" sanding, where you cut most of the filler off with the least effort. Its at the point just before the filler hardens, it cuts with 32 grit spaper like butter!!!

If you sand in green stage, your first stage in smoothening cuts down at least 2-3 hours prepping afterwards. We dont even use the filler file, normal 32 grit cuts it quick and very smooth, leaving very little fillering needed in the final stage.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » May 8th, 2007, 9:26 pm

lol when i was going to isand it , it was still too soft so i leave it ..sides it eh that ruff
dsi i go put in d elbow grease...hadda learn ent

buh i doing 2 interior panels as well so ill do what u say

jeff

Postby jeff » May 8th, 2007, 9:49 pm

good luck sanding!! thats gonna take a while.... 8-)

make sure you have your safety gear on....fiberglass dust in your lungs is not too copasetic.. :twisted:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 8th, 2007, 10:01 pm

yeh make sure u have on a dust mask that rel unhealthy

an pios u cuda ask me..waeva u need from corsa or wa find out i cuda check an tell u :lol:

spam

Postby spam » May 8th, 2007, 10:02 pm

i have a lil question about starting

i watchin that back dash he mahe and the base lookin like mdf or some other wood

but wah if i doin like a pod for the front door and wood not goin to sit flat on it

do i just tape it up put some glass let it harden and start my pod with that mold ?

spam

Postby spam » May 8th, 2007, 10:22 pm

pimptacular wrote:corsa have a place in chaguramas..in coral cove where joes pizza is..think it wud be the same price an u get hardner with yuh resin an doh hadda pay extra :wink:

you talkin bout peaks ?

in chaguramas ?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 8th, 2007, 11:45 pm

i talkin bout corsa..corsa price chag an corsa sando is the same price not too sure buh i kno in south when u buy a gallon of resein fuh 95 dey dont charge u for the hardner an plus they give u a lil extra hardner

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 8th, 2007, 11:45 pm

or an peaks is fuh rich white ppl who dunno any better :roll:

spam

Postby spam » May 9th, 2007, 7:16 am

i go hadda look for this corsa place cuz i was askin somebody from around there and they could only think of peaks. i will have to take a small drive

Postby SR » May 9th, 2007, 7:27 am

project lookng good

please remember to wear at least a disposable dusk mask when working with fibre glass and sanding

spam

Postby spam » May 9th, 2007, 8:11 am

spam wrote:i have a lil question about starting

i watchin that back dash he mahe and the base lookin like mdf or some other wood

but wah if i doin like a pod for the front door and wood not goin to sit flat on it

do i just tape it up put some glass let it harden and start my pod with that mold ?

whey de glass men at ?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 9th, 2007, 8:14 am

you need to do a back mold (starting or base mold as its sometimes called).

then use stand offs to angle the mounting ring.

cover with cloth, fiberglass, and the rest is history.

http://www.fiberglassforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11

its that easy.

spam

Postby spam » May 9th, 2007, 8:36 am

right i have all that is just the starting i wanted to make sure of

thanks once i get the fiber and stuff i will start and post pics of progress

spam

Postby spam » May 10th, 2007, 8:56 am

2 questions

does it matter what type of tape i use to take up the spot ? can i use like maskin tape and foil?

anf for a irregular shape sub i saw they talk about packin peanuts but which method alyh use ?

jeff

Postby jeff » May 10th, 2007, 9:23 am

you can use any tape, painters tape masking tape etc and foil

we use water to check volume..alot more accurate

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 10th, 2007, 11:20 am

dont use masking tape, the heat from the fiberglass reaction melts the adhesive as it goes exothermic, and it stays on the panel and is a pita to clean. Always use blue or green painters tape. Adheres like a biatch and doesnt leave adhesive residue on the job.

apart from water, you can use packing sytrofoam bits.

jeff

Postby jeff » May 10th, 2007, 11:30 am

^^cheap masking tape this happens..never had a problem with the high grade maskin tape tho

i guess you cant go wrong with the painter tape

spam

Postby spam » May 10th, 2007, 11:52 am

explain the water method

i could visualize the foam but not the water

jeff

Postby jeff » May 10th, 2007, 12:04 pm

......uh am

how much water it takes to fill the box will be the volume of the box........... :shock: