SUB BOX DIRECTION

spam

SUB BOX DIRECTION

Postby spam » May 31st, 2007, 7:51 am

so watching pics of cars in those show i notice that the boxes point in different directions

some point the sub into the car and some point out the trunk and some even point up to the trunk lid

my question is does it matter which way it faces? would that hamper loudness and how clean the bass is?

:shock: :shock: :shock:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 31st, 2007, 8:03 am

I've been wondering that for some time... I never really checked the difference but i usually point it to the trunk and not the back seat... i gueess for blingage

Postby pugboy » May 31st, 2007, 8:38 am

not much, low frequencies are not very directional like highs
however you dont want the speakers right up against something to block them either as it wont help with any potential corner/cabin gain

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 31st, 2007, 9:26 am

besides... if yuh have a nice sub, wen yuh open yuh trunk, ent yuh want evrybody see it get orn :wink:

Postby hydroep » May 31st, 2007, 9:48 am

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 31st, 2007, 9:53 am

directional sound is one thing, acoustics is another.

There can be cancellation of low frequencies based on the orientation and placement of the enclosure.

I think its best to place a sub in a corner where possible.

Ppl also say that facing the sub to the back has a "gain" in spl. imo, it's less cancellation.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 31st, 2007, 10:45 am

hydroep, good read thanks!!

That explains why when you stand around a car at certain points, you get NO bass..

tristanrules

Postby tristanrules » May 31st, 2007, 10:51 am

Different cars different places, yuh have to try all de positions and see which one is best for you :mrgreen:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 31st, 2007, 11:04 am

yuh have to try all de positions

ah workin on dat :twisted:

casper

Postby casper » May 31st, 2007, 12:08 pm

face box backwards for more cabin gain...BUT...make sure your trunk is properly dampened....cuz if not...it will give u a $hitty rattling effect

spam

Postby spam » May 31st, 2007, 12:17 pm

when yuh say downward yuh mean the subs pointin to the floor how yuh doin that now

any way people hear my next project

i lookin to squeeze either 3 12" or 4 10" into a trunk

now i know 3 svc 12" 4ohm is 1.3ohms right but can i play that on an amp if they say is 1 ohm ? i mean if they dont actually say 1.3 capable would the amp play it and not trip ?

or does the amp have to say 1.3ohm

casper

Postby casper » May 31st, 2007, 12:21 pm

nah it could play spam...once u dont go under the recommended ohmage load of the amp u safe...u can stay over...is no scene.....

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 31st, 2007, 1:48 pm

when yuh say downward yuh mean the subs pointin to the floor how yuh doin that now

he say backward. i.e. to d trunk lid/away from d back seat.

an spam, once your resistance is more than than amp could handle, yuh safe

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » June 1st, 2007, 8:38 pm

depends on the install n vehicle. cabin gain. RF. and somethin to load off.....

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 2nd, 2007, 12:54 am

u knwo spam ... patience is one thing .. but repitition is a next thing...

learning a simple formula where u can simply plug in the figures and get ur ansa instead of posting it up here every time will test even the most patient person

again ... ohms law says .. product over sum.. so u multiply the sub ohms which is the numerator or the number dat goes ontop and u add the bottom ohms and then divide the two ...

simple enuff? this way u neva have to ask us when u get ur 12 or 16 subs !!!

spam

Postby spam » June 2nd, 2007, 8:41 am

i aint ask nothing bout ohm law i already get that

i ask if the amp go play the load what law it have for that i could learn that too :lol:

and by the way that is wat a forum for people like me ask the question people like u, casper and the rest ansa i sure yuh aint born wit the knowledge

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 4th, 2007, 7:55 am

MonsterPower, yuh like one a dem school teachers jed...