now dat is a sweet bass amp

Soundstream_626

now dat is a sweet bass amp

Postby Soundstream_626 » May 31st, 2007, 11:47 am

[img]http://pasmag.com/audiolabs/store/photos/{FAEFD51D-1F83-4427-AD06-7BD85C479822}.jpg[/img]

I spend quite a bit of time visiting all kinds of car audio shops. I always find it interesting to see what’s new, how it’s being presented, and what makes both the store, and the products they have chosen to carry, different. I’ve been to stores that do a great job of pointing out the various benefits of their brands and what sets them apart. They sell their service, selection and professionalism. Other times, I get the impression that no one working in the place knows much about anything they sell, and don’t even try to differentiate themselves from their competitor across town. The attitude is, yeah, we have something sorta like that, and we’re 10 dollars cheaper.

This same observation can be applied to a lot of the car audio brands available these days. As part of doing the consulting work that is the backbone of my company, I also spend a considerable amount of time in Asia, visiting the factories where much of the current car audio product on the market is manufactured. But, over the last 10 years or so, I’ve seen only a handful of really innovative products that were not basically a copy or a re-do of someone else’s original idea or concept. Usually, with nothing more than a different cosmetic look to it, the same internals roll out the doors under several brand names, and these generic products find their way to store shelves, and eventually into our cars. In this age of individualizing everything from cell phones to running shoes, I have always found it interesting that we readily accept these generically devolved products.

Well, this review is not about one of those copycat products. This review is all about the Arc Audio 4000SE amplifier, and I’m here to tell you it’s not assembled in an Asian copy house. Its design comes from the legendary Robert Zeff, it’s assembled here the USA, and it’s unlike any other big subwoofer amp I’ve ever measured. It’s not a Class D amp, nor is it Class A/B. It uses a sophisticated microprocessor, but it has no DSP. Interested now?

COSMETICS

The Arc Audio 4000SE is not a small amplifier by any measure you care to use. Measuring approximately 32 inches long, 10 inches wide, and 3.25 inches tall and weighing almost 25 pounds, this is a behemoth of an amp. It comes in a sturdy carton, and is delivered to the customer in a nice fabric velour-like bag that protects it from damage and provides a touch of class that you don’t get from an amp wrapped in the usual shrink-wrap.

The top of the amp is constructed of heavy gauge sheetmetal, and powdercoated in a low gloss black. A removable 4-inch wide brushed aluminum strip runs down the center of the amp and holds an illuminated badge and the script proclaiming this is a Robert Zeff signature edition amplifier. I’m told by Fred at Arc Audio that the colour of the badge is customizable as well, in over 200 different hues between blue and red. When you remove the four small Phillips screws that retain the aluminum strip, you can access all the controls and settings that allow you to dial in the amp for your application. This particular amp that was sent to me was a very early production unit, and was shipped to me before an owner’s manual was ready, so you’ll have to excuse the omission of any mention of the manual in this review.

In the current market of flash and bling, the big 4000SE looks a little plain, but I don’t know too many people who buy this type of amp to look at it.

FEATURES & DESIGN

The 4000SE has all the usual features you’d expect on a subwoofer amp, and a few that are definitely different and cool. One look at the power connections and you know this thing’s serious… it uses dual power and ground connections, with each sporting a pair of terminals that will accept 1/0 wire. Yes, you read it right, a total of four 1/0 connections!

The speaker wire connections are a little different as well. Sure, they take large gauge wire, (I used 8 gauge during testing) but these connections are covered by a protective shroud that prevent someone from getting a good zap if they’d accidentally touch the speaker wires while the amp was playing. Yes, this baby makes enough voltage and current to give you a potentially painful jolt! To ensure that some lazy installer doesn’t just chuck the guard away, they have cleverly made it a safety interlock, so if the guard is not fastened in place, the amp won’t turn on. This way, there is no chance for an accidental shock to the installer or user.

The amp’s control features are pretty much what you’d expect from Mr. Zeff; a full complement of the tools you need to get the amp dialed in exactly the way you want. In addition to the usual gain pot and remote gain control, there is a 30-250Hz crossover pot, with selectable -12or -24dB slopes, an adjustable 10-80Hz defeatable subsonic filter, and a parametric-style bass EQ that provides up to 15dB of boost at any frequency you select between 20 and 80Hz.

There are other features hidden inside as well that make this amp really unusual. The 4000SE is a fan-cooled 4,000 Watt Class G/H mono-block amplifier. This topology uses three stages of secondary windings in the power supply to deliver different voltages to the output devices by a “Rail Switcher.â€

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 31st, 2007, 12:02 pm

:yankit:

casper

Postby casper » May 31st, 2007, 12:03 pm

wuh wahhhhhhhhhhhh....dat amp rell bess fuh real soundstream 626.....first time i see an amp to be rated at them weird figures yesss :lol:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 31st, 2007, 12:39 pm

might have to sell d car to buy dat amp yes ....... :wink:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 31st, 2007, 1:07 pm

^^my car probably eh worth enuff :(

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 31st, 2007, 2:29 pm

how much u feel tha amp selling for rovin or casper?

casper

Postby casper » May 31st, 2007, 2:41 pm

it looks like it valued at around $7500 :?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 31st, 2007, 2:45 pm

an tha rated in watts or rms? :?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 31st, 2007, 2:48 pm

rms...
na casper i think we around 9G's

casper

Postby casper » May 31st, 2007, 2:50 pm

rms most likely...is arc yuh know.....NOT boss :lol:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 31st, 2007, 3:09 pm

That amp and four premiers...
or a 8102SPL :onfire:

HOT FUH SO

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 31st, 2007, 4:25 pm

it have any dealers for arc in trinidad?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 31st, 2007, 6:31 pm

electromania i think

Postby 3stagevtec » May 31st, 2007, 10:34 pm

A class G/H amp... interesting...

casper

Postby casper » May 31st, 2007, 10:58 pm

DJ Q wrote:rms...
na casper i think we around 9G's

yea u could be riight

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 1st, 2007, 10:07 am

^^goin to buy my lotto ticket

gfbl

Postby gfbl » June 1st, 2007, 12:01 pm

that prob costing at least 4k US

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 1st, 2007, 12:05 pm

aviboy

Postby aviboy » June 1st, 2007, 9:04 pm

i saw that amp today @ electromania $15000.... yes and its worth every cent... ask anyone who really knows about music and they would tell you the arc audio signature line is unbeatable in quality,build etc... none ah dem Rockford fosgate , kicker,mmats etc want anything.. yes thats how good it is..

Lance

Postby Lance » June 1st, 2007, 9:18 pm

15K not bad at all

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 1st, 2007, 11:25 pm

^^^agreed - i find dat kinda cheap for something of dat quality ,was kinda expecting it to be @ least ah lil 20k TT$......

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » June 1st, 2007, 11:40 pm

ill admit daz na a bad price but i kno where u cud get anamp with more dan twice as much power for bout 20k an bout 5800 rms fuh under 15k..but ppl go jus put down the brand cuz dey dunno :roll:

aviboy

Postby aviboy » June 2nd, 2007, 4:44 am

arc audio is high end..

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » June 2nd, 2007, 5:13 am

i na doubting dat i know arc is high end but the amp i have in mind is really high quality but daiz no scene in iasca u go see it in action :sleeping:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 4th, 2007, 11:55 am

i kno where u cud get anamp with more dan twice as much power for bout 20k

*looks up to sky, dreaming*
that and two pioneer 8102SPLs...

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » June 4th, 2007, 2:58 pm

dream bout the mtx jackhammer :twisted:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 4th, 2007, 3:36 pm

NA HOSS

dat waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyy tooo big. 22">!! YUH MAD.

SS XXX-15 :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » June 17th, 2007, 7:20 pm

is it jus me or is the THD 1%