the 12" is 800 rms

and the 10" is 400 rms

2nd company

15" is 800rms

12" is 400rms

10" is 200rms

every single spec on the subs are the same except power

if i runnin the subs off identical systems
would 1 400rms 10" sub sound the same as 2 of the 10" 200rms subs ?

:shock: :shock: :shock:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 31st, 2007, 3:04 pm

NOPE

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 31st, 2007, 3:05 pm

2 10's w/same power pushin more air

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 31st, 2007, 4:28 pm

jeff

Postby jeff » May 31st, 2007, 7:32 pm

power ratings are not the only factor in a sub..state the rest of the thieles and brands

Postby X_Factor » May 31st, 2007, 8:02 pm

size of enclosure might also play a factor...
but generally...a pair of subs would be louder than 1 wit both equaling same power i think...as djq said..the pair has more surface area therefore moves more air

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 31st, 2007, 8:12 pm

^^size of enclosure does play a factor

Postby cinco » May 31st, 2007, 8:49 pm

2 x 10 = 20
1 x 10 = 10
think about that

Postby 3stagevtec » May 31st, 2007, 10:17 pm

every single spec on the subs are the same except power

i doubt that...

Postby X_Factor » May 31st, 2007, 11:36 pm

now there are things like the type of materials used /quality in constructing the speaker--cone material..coil...etc

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » June 1st, 2007, 6:42 am

the best high end speakers are made with paper cone
an its highly unlikely that 2 different companies would have the same exact specs

Postby SR » June 1st, 2007, 7:33 am

i suspect that there are 2 questions here

company 1 10" sub against company 2 10" sub with different poewr handling

which will be louder

the key thing to look at is the sensitivity

the sub requiring less power may be more sensitive than the sub requiring less power and with the quality buid of the sub the lower pwered sub may sound just as loud or even louder when the required rms power is applied

i will use orion hcca as an example
originally when orio first came out with the hcca subwoofer it only required 600 rms of power and could compete with subs requiring as much as 2000 watts
this was due to the eficiency of the subwoofer

however more power handling seems to be a marketing tool more than anything else
and some people are shocked when a lesser powered sub performs just as well as one requiring twice the amount of power

take a look at any high end subwoofer company and you will see most only require 300-500 watts rms to perfrom well

in most cases that addtional power requirement is really to get the motor assembly of the subwoofer moving due to its stiffness rather than for sound

when i spoke to the original engineers from orion years ago regarding power requirements for the hcca sub this is what they said
the subwoofer motor assembly requires 200 watts to get it moving so the best match for an hcca subwoofer was either the hcca 250 or the xtr 800 both amps put out 800 rms loaded 200 rms for the motor assembly and 600 for the sound
note the sub was rated at 600rms 1200 peak

these day people feel that having a sub rated 100wattss and more and amplifiers to play it is what is needed
however for everyday playing you can achieve the same sound and even better quality with subs rated at much less and less than 1000 watts of power on the bass

typically 300-500 rms on bass is sufficicnet for the everyday sound system

phew................

now for the second question

1 10" over 2 10"

based on cone area alone 2 10" will move more air than 1 10" so the 2 10" will be louder

the rest will be based on correct box size power etc

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » June 1st, 2007, 8:37 am

cinco wrote:2 x 10 = 20
1 x 10 = 10
think about that

^^^wha dat supposed to mean?

jeff

Postby jeff » June 1st, 2007, 8:58 am

^^ :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :shock:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 1st, 2007, 9:08 am

SR yuh had to go there eh?! d basic concept is that 2 10's pushin more air than one. das it. d man hypothetically say power handlin is d ony difference... allyuh eh easy jed

Postby 3stagevtec » June 1st, 2007, 9:09 am

SR wrote:when i spoke to the original engineers from orion years ago

Dude!! :o

spam

Postby spam » June 1st, 2007, 9:09 am

dadio wrote:
cinco wrote:2 x 10 = 20
1 x 10 = 10
think about that

^^^wha dat supposed to mean?

i think he knows his 10 times table :lol:

spam

Postby spam » June 1st, 2007, 9:17 am

DJ Q wrote:SR yuh had to go there eh?! d basic concept is that 2 10's pushin more air than one. das it. d man hypothetically say power handlin is d only difference... allyuh eh easy jed

like people feel is real brands i was talkin bout

and to sr so that is why they say it better to give subs more power than stated ?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 1st, 2007, 9:36 am

^^^ doh try dat wit any an every speaker eh

spam

Postby spam » June 1st, 2007, 9:44 am

i meh cousin hook up a pair of hurrican subs to a 4 channel and it blow :shock:

he components takin more power than he subs

Postby SR » June 1st, 2007, 9:47 am

spam wrote:
DJ Q wrote:SR yuh had to go there eh?! d basic concept is that 2 10's pushin more air than one. das it. d man hypothetically say power handlin is d only difference... allyuh eh easy jed

like people feel is real brands i was talkin bout

and to sr so that is why they say it better to give subs more power than stated ?

yes and no

compare an amplifier to an engine

you dont want to be running at max rpm to achieve top speed
same goes for the amp
you dont want it running full steam to achievr max output on the subs
its always best to have reserve that way the amplifier will run more efficiently

your engine wont last as long or be as reliable if u run it at max rpm all the time

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 1st, 2007, 9:54 am

unless yuh draggin^^^