Tools Used I.C.E ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 25th, 2008, 11:02 pm

well i see ppl talking about tools used in car audio builds in my box thread so im thinking we all can discuss it a bit & share some knowledge even though its not technically car audio equipment , its sometimes used in d installation process

my 2 cents on small compact table saws - if anybody is thinking of buying d home use model around $1100-1200 to use for box building , consider this : a sheet of mdf or plywood is typically 4ftx8ft & would be cumbersome & dangerous to cut that on small table saw

use a power saw with a straight edge clamped on each side as a guide - i use a spirit level since u cant get straighter than that ... :wink: ... or if u have 2 sheets of wood use d side of 1 as d straight guide ....

after sectioning that full sheet of wood into smaller more manageble pieces with a power saw then u can make final cuts with a table saw ...

how to choose a table saw
http://benchmark.20m.com/articles/Selec ... lesaw.html

http://www.motherearthnews.com/Renewabl ... e-Saw.aspx

http://www.woodcentral.com/bparticles/c ... able.shtml

tuners : feel free to add any input & advice ... 8-)

***hope some ppl dont spam d thread causing d mods to put it in ole talk section ....
Last edited by - Rovin's car audio - on January 12th, 2009, 11:35 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 25th, 2008, 11:36 pm

B&D has been around long b4 we born & its good stuff for d home user

that "laser guide" thingy is a waste of flippin time since no matter if is d worlds best laser its ur crooked cutting bend hand thats doing d work !

i have ah padna who into car audio yrssssssss b4 me & he cuts free hand - no need to explain how 'straight' it comes out ...for precison work nothing beats a clamped straight edge

invest in some quailty C Clamps , spring clamps & quick grips clamps to make life easier too ...... :wink:

as u in south check dansteel too - that place big & they have a good variety of stuff ...also SWS & laughlin & degannes (hope ah spell it correct - .... :mrgreen:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 25th, 2008, 11:45 pm

now see ur post

i think its a 32 teeth fine cutting carbide blade i used (IRWIN) cuts like butter when i bought it but after hitting steel & 1 or 2 teeth knock out :lol: & cutting few a few screws i didnt see it not as sharp now obviously but still works good ...have used nicholson carbide blades & they work good too

$160 is about d price right now some places still chargeing 200

thats y if u notice in my box pics in d back ground u will always see a small stack of mdf since weather u buy 1 sheet or 100 sheets d bigger hardwares charging a standard fee while some of d smaller places delivering free

when i occasionally want 1" mdf well i carry my p\saw , str8 edge , clamps to d\ware & cut it there & put d pieces in my wagon .... :mrgreen:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 25th, 2008, 11:49 pm

pioneer wrote:Yeh i plan to use a straight edge, would an L square work?...i thinking it's not thick enough to properly guide the saw, as it might "climb" over it

The split level sounds like a plan, i'll get a good aluminium one.

Price on MDF?

no thats less than 1\8" thick & d saw will jump over that & cut ur hand

spirit level - well they have expensive models & cheap 1s ...i bought a econo metal alloy 1 since i dont care if d bubble not accurate once d edge str8 that will serve d purpose ....have it a few yrs now , still working good ......

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 26th, 2008, 6:37 am

Good thread, Rovin. Are the more powerful power saws better to cut MDF? Or does it matter?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 26th, 2008, 8:12 am

** takes note... gotta get me some clamps**

i fedup use a straight piece of pine or teak fuh my fence.

gonna get a level like u mention

nice :mrgreen:

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 26th, 2008, 9:34 am

dont need ah level jus ah straight edge + clamps,
40 teeth works best (more tooth better finish), i use irwin blades dunno both others,
u guys can buy black and decker but if u buildin on a regular scale it "will" let u down in time.... :twisted:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 26th, 2008, 9:59 am

makita 12v drill never let me down in the 3+ yrs i had it ...

what about routers? i have never worked with them but i have seen the wonders they can do ..

who here can say how it works and what are the jigs u have to make ?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 26th, 2008, 10:25 am

dont need ah level jus ah straight edge + clamps

read bro

he bougt it because its a "sure " straight edge

its alot better to work with actaully

the B&D saw wont fail..
if u dont care it

it wont then

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 26th, 2008, 10:40 am

^^^^
alot of tuners seen my work....i kno u dont need it jus tellin tuners my way
my cuts are real straight....
i hav been workin wit tools since i was 12 years from home tools to heavy industrial tool
and as im a machinist i kno about precision (as fine as a hair grain) :twisted:
i hav been workin wit straight edge and up 2 dis day it gives me a STRAIGHT EDGE :D
an black and deckers cant take pressure dey does back out :lol:
Last edited by Loudsound Customs on April 26th, 2008, 10:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X_Factor » April 26th, 2008, 10:43 am

Dewalt - circular saw using a 30 teeth blade...my partner who does woodworking told me, they change blades very often even though they know its still sharp its less stress on the saw

the straight edge i have is about 4 pieces of 1x2 hollow steel that they use in gate framing...its light and works perfect

various G clamps and clothes pin type clamps bought in william h scott( best 100.00 ever spent)

the butane torch...madness( even did aluminum wielding on a intake in my car)

skill jig saw...works perfect soo far...
http://www.skiltools.com/en/AllTools/Ca ... cid=192165
who ever invented that 360deg. scrolling tingy..sweet....

all i wanna get is the screw guide that you pull over the screw so the screw doesnt slip off the drill
http://www.amazon.com/DeWalt-DW2054-4-I ... B0000225P8

an electric plane is the next tool i wanna get

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 26th, 2008, 10:45 am

^^^^^home mart has a full dewalt kit WIT THE SCREW GUIDE for $275

Postby X_Factor » April 26th, 2008, 11:05 am

[...Rovin...], as for the table saw issue being too small..i've seen in woodworking places extend the table using a sheet of mdf..its like a table attached to the table saw to accommodate the sheet of mdf

pioneer, honestly i'd put the extra and get a better brand circular saw than the B+D, i think the quality of the products kinda drop a bit recently
its just a couple hundred $ extra anyways

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 26th, 2008, 11:10 am

black and deckers cant take pressure dey does back out

oh gorm.. i go stay quiet now yes

i have been workin with tools since i cuda walk hoss... my pops was a carpenter.. so that ambition inside of me burning like a fire...

pioneer eh goin do large scale work.. so the B&D will do him just good...

*theres something i wanna say..but i wont.. its gonna make the thread old talk....

but a tool is as good as u make it and care it *

Postby X_Factor » April 26th, 2008, 12:33 pm

WHOO HOO

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 26th, 2008, 1:22 pm

iight iight my bad :lol:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 26th, 2008, 2:28 pm

know some1 who bought a dewalt last yr & he paid $850 i think - never used their p\saw but on d whole DEWALT is a very durable well made brand close in quality to MILWAUKEE (whose quality i like even more) but dewalt is priced a bit more reasonable....if fact i have a metal chop saw from them going on almost 10yrs (used to be a welder yrs ago) , 3/8" keyless chuck dril & a sander\polisher ...all dewalt

well for my preference i like using d edge of a level since like i said cant get straighter than that & mine cost me less than a 100 think i paid $60 for it

IMO - B&D p\saws good for d home user who may use it now\then for small projects
if u doing carpentry for a living d B&D wont last as long as d higher end brands ...like said above using d correct blade is d key

Router - well i got 2 ...a B&D which works alright but i feel it can be better
got a PORTER CABLE mini laminate trimmer\min router - works rel sweet for smaller jobs

yes u can use table extensions on a compact tablesaw it will take up some garage space though .....

Postby X_Factor » April 26th, 2008, 3:23 pm

http://www.spectools.com/spec.htm

who got those?...works sweet for backdash work

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 26th, 2008, 7:04 pm

wda is a rip fence? i know a fence is to keep de neghbours out but i guessin its some sort of guide?

ok so i not the best in the carpentry section ... this thread i actually learning somn

keep the posts comin fellas

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 26th, 2008, 7:18 pm

well B&D \ skil \ reg series craftsman are all in d home use catagory

where as makita \ dewalt \ milwaukee \ bosch \ ported cable etc in d better built catagory - good for builders\contractors

that rip fence doesnt seem very usefull for wide wood in box building - they probably have it as incentive to buy like how B&D has d laser thing

if u can still get a dewalt for $850 like how they were priced last yr i would buy that for sure - check by bhags

btw - i use a reg craftsman p\saw in my box work ..its about 5-6yrs old ..a bit bulkily built but at d time was either that or B&D ...if i had to buy id pick a heavier built brand ....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 26th, 2008, 7:33 pm

well IMO i consider dewalt & makita to be close in quality so that sounds like a good deal...could always search it online & see what reviews & faults ppl have to say about it .....

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 26th, 2008, 8:32 pm

good info here seeing I want to buy ah saw to build some cupboard/wardrobe.......

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 26th, 2008, 9:04 pm

dewalt and makita real good .....my fren which does carpentry has a 3Hp makita routor
da sheit does geh on :D...
makita bess ....dewalt good as well...
skil tools are great also...
if yuh wanna go top ah d line milwalkee 4 it
i hav a milwalkee jig about 10 yrs now and up to dis day it doe back 4 nothing...
i lookin 2 change all my tools into milwalkee soon...:D
buh pios i tink makita MITE hav d edge ova d dewalt its acordin to the model..

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 26th, 2008, 9:13 pm

makita hs a huge edge over dewalt dewalt is in the same bracket wid b&d

Postby hydroep » April 26th, 2008, 9:39 pm

I concur...good thread.

Dewalt is actually Black & Decker's high end line. I find it still has a "cheapy" feel to it tho'.

If considering high end I always go for Milwaukee and/or Porter Cable. Makita is damn good as well. Dem t'ing is "never done" tools.

Even if you're looking for budget brands, try to get the power tools that use ball bearings instead of bushings. A lot of the cheaper brands use bushings. But after a few heavy duty uses they wear and the tool(s) loses some precision...8-)

Lance

Postby Lance » April 26th, 2008, 11:31 pm

I'm a weekend warrior, and Skil has never failed me. yet :oops:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 26th, 2008, 11:46 pm

i use Skil carbide router bits to do those nice smooth edges on my boxes ...d results speak for itself..... :wink:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 27th, 2008, 12:49 am

Dewalt is actually Black & Decker's high end line

dats wat i didnt want to say....

this thing about tools can go so many directions eh.. ppl have their own opinions and watever...it all comes down to wat de heck u can afford and your type of work...

im a weekend worrior as well..so i eh need no heavy duty ting.. but skil hasnt failed me one damn bit as yet....

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 27th, 2008, 5:08 am

i find skil works great as one of my saws is skil an it works bess :D

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » April 27th, 2008, 9:20 am

i got a normal circular saw :D
the quality and construction is well built