Discuss this why did this car score the highest in SQC

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 4th, 2008, 8:29 am

look at it this way. the top 2 cars in SQC didnt need it...

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 4th, 2008, 8:49 am

but wait ent you have a ..............................( never mind)

:roll: :lol:

Postby SR » December 4th, 2008, 8:51 am

evo-STI-k wrote:so what yuh saying SR is that i sould throw out meh waste of time alpine h701 procesor?

well if you want to throw it out it have a garbage bin in meh store room

besides all these years with all the best antique stuff and we have yet to hear your vehicle

SO

ah challengin yuh next year
my van against your van sound quality only
and let the masses decide no iasca judge

old school amps
orion against linear power and whatever else yuh still have hiding under the desk

and to make it fair you will get free use of my rta to help in tuning your van

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 4th, 2008, 9:07 am

yes I do have a 701. I am not allowed to compete in SQC. MY SQ score was 240.

I think I want in on this challenge. I have some 12 year old focal comps and subs sleeping...hmmm, Lets lay down the conditions of this challenge and put some backing behind it.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 4th, 2008, 9:14 am

:shock: but WTF? an iasca judge/offical callin me out? Lil old arse me tuh ah challenge?
:idea:

yuh could have Pm-ed meh yunno! :lol:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 4th, 2008, 9:15 am

Paper Trail...

Pirate

Postby Pirate » December 4th, 2008, 2:06 pm

now things sounding nice!
paper trail is rite!
:D

Lance

Postby Lance » December 4th, 2008, 2:42 pm

nigel1977 wrote:yes I do have a 701. I am not allowed to compete in SQC. MY SQ score was 240.

I think I want in on this challenge. I have some 12 year old focal comps and subs sleeping...hmmm, Lets lay down the conditions of this challenge and put some backing behind it.

firetruck 240?

Do you have a live band in that vigo when you judging? WTF

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 4th, 2008, 3:42 pm

Aiming for at least 245 next event. A couple more 19's, some 9's in imaging and some 13's and 14's in staging... We'll know after the rebuild...

nello-sello

Postby nello-sello » December 4th, 2008, 5:01 pm

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » December 8th, 2008, 8:35 am

err sr a still waiting to hear d van

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 8th, 2008, 8:54 am

Join the line hoss. lol.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 8th, 2008, 12:03 pm

Well sr call me out van vs van, so im guessing that By NExt March his "VAN" will finally make its debut!

Postby SR » December 8th, 2008, 12:52 pm

i dont have the budget to build the van at this point in time

the car is almost done

i will not be investing as yet due to the downfall of the economy

if you havent seen it as yet you will

but i will probably do the old school challenge van for van first before doing the final build

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 8th, 2008, 3:27 pm

SR, it's nice to see that you post the cheaper side of SQ. But that is still 9,000 plus batteries and wiring which will run you over 10 grand

and if you're not as professional as said installer, you will have to pay more to have the install done.

The expense with SQ is all that runs me from it.

<not starting a fight just stating WHY i run from SQ>

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 8th, 2008, 4:36 pm

^^^Also not trying to argue, do you prefer to drop around 10 k on a sub, enclosure, amp, wiring, batteries, deck to do 30 second spl as opposed to have a sound quality system you can enjoy 100% of the time?

Again, just asking. THIS IS NOT ME TRYING TO START AN ARGUMENT.

jeff

Postby jeff » December 8th, 2008, 5:23 pm

DJ Q wrote:The expense with SQ is all that runs me from it.
<not starting a fight just stating WHY i run from SQ>

i guarantee if i ask u what a sq car is u wont know, because spl cars cost more than sq cars, it s a fact, and by saying that u are defniitely not helping yourself even far less anyone
so why come in and spam and discourage ppl?
how have you benefited the thread?

better than that dj q

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 8th, 2008, 6:57 pm

nigel1977 wrote:^^^Also not trying to argue, do you prefer to drop around 10 k on a sub, enclosure, amp, wiring, batteries, deck to do 30 second spl as opposed to have a sound quality system you can enjoy 100% of the time?

Again, just asking. THIS IS NOT ME TRYING TO START AN ARGUMENT.

Well honestly SPL doesn't need to cost 10K in rookie.

In my case:-

Sub + box - 1700
Amp - 3000
wires - 1500

And i came 2nd in my class

And if you add 1200 for mids, highs and another 1100 for another amp... there's my daily system

That's 6200 in SPL
8500 daily

And I have a very good system.

Also, i didn't make a mistake when I excluded the battery... still running stock.

I understand what you're saying nigel... And honestly, my next car WILL have an SQ system.

Jeff I'm going to go ahead and ignore your comments because if I respond to you this thread will really turn a waste.

Once again, thank you very much SR for the post educating the ignorant, newbies (like myself) who do not know the details of the sport.
I'll be trying it someday :wink:

jeff

Postby jeff » December 8th, 2008, 8:41 pm

DJ Q wrote:Well honestly SPL doesn't need to cost 10K in rookie.
That's 6200 in SPL
8500 daily

Jeff I'm going to go ahead and ignore your comments because if I respond to you this thread will really turn a waste.

lets not make this negative now, lets talk facts here k

ok for discussion, the install sr quoted even tho simple, competed against pro cars and is in no way considered a 'rookie' install, simple but not rookie

so if you want to compare prices of SPL VS SQ installs lets do it in the same categories? agreed

a rookie install, lets use 1 of the rookies install from earlier on this season

1 pair componenets up front ~ 1200
1 4 chanell amp ~ 1500
headunit ~ 1500
10 " 306 in box ~ 600
3 way cross ~500
wiring etc ~300

total system for sq rookie = 5600
your rookie spl system = 8500

and advanced sq system may cost between 8-15k, maybe less maybe more, this is just the average here

AND now can anyone tell me what is the cost of an ADVANCED SPL system????

rookie system for rookie system , advanced system for advanced system

what yal think
dj q respect, im just tryin to make the encourage the sport if u ketch my drift

Postby SR » December 8th, 2008, 9:07 pm

sq doesnt need to cost 10k in rookie either

my "budget" system wasnt about the cheaper system but about the basic principles in sound q
and once you apply the basics it can be competetive without the need for applying
"other" theories and principles

the s2000 system would compete in the pro class due to other reasons

however a do it yourselfer could have used a similar system and be quite comptetive in the rookie class

thats the point i am trying to make

keep to basics
as you develop your skills in building your car and your ears in listening to music you cna then advance to higher categories

while i am able to compete amongst more complex installs it was noted that i have over 18 years experience in building and tuning sq cars so that gives me an advantage withoiut having to use additional equipment

BUT
it shows that it is possible and one should not feel that you need to spend above a certain amount to be competitive
its how you use what you have

sitting there and thinking it cant be done is fooling yourslef
its better to fail at trying than to fail for not trying as you wont learn anything for yourself

experience is always the key but some people feel that they can just shell out money have a car built and expect it to win

same goes for spl
you have to keep trying to do better

i love to see people who have never competed in sq comment on the cost never really compare the cost of spl to be competitive

sq however you can build a simple system and still appreciate it after the show

to each their own

but dont knock it till you have tried it

or at least experienced it

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 8th, 2008, 9:32 pm

But Jeff... you can't compare an SPL system to an SQ system in terms of daily play. It's just not fair. That's a fact.

I appreciate though that we're now able to maturely discuss the topic.

Let's not look at "daily playing" and just look at the competition aspect of the sports. For the real "rookie" in SPL taking full advantage of cost vs. equipment and rules

headunit - 700
0g wiring (including big 3 etc) ~ 1300
two 10" subs and box ~ 1800
pre-amp - 250
mono amp ~ 1500

Hmm... 5550...

Touche Jeff... I see where you're coming from...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 8th, 2008, 9:34 pm

sitting there and thinking it cant be done is fooling yourslef

it's not that you know...

I've always been afraid of the cost of SQ..

I never thought I could use

10 " 306 in box ~ 600

for SQ...

jeff

Postby jeff » December 8th, 2008, 9:43 pm

one of the best sounding cars had no subs
and this is not anything new

those who came ice test and tune saw that i had audiopipe and hurricane wire with audio pipe distros and audio pipe battey termials etcetc :twisted:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 8th, 2008, 9:47 pm

ok ok you have my interest... shut up before you empty my bank account :evil:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 8th, 2008, 10:16 pm

but Q i thought after u heard my daily sqish set last wk saturday u wud see it does not need 2 cost a arm\leg - well jeff u heard d front d day after so u know what im saying

wish i cud afford 3 cars so i cud compete in all aspects since i have a appreciation of all ...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 8th, 2008, 11:27 pm

DLS RS6a $1600

wow I really got mine on a good deal bro!!!!!!!

too bad right now they are being totally under-utilised....*sigh*......next year, next year.

Sully

Postby Sully » December 9th, 2008, 6:57 am

I never thought I could use

Quote:

10 " 306 in box ~ 600

for SQ...

In a lot of cases, anything more than a 10" might be overkill for a SQ system. For years I've used a single 10" in a small sealed enclosure for both competition and daily driver.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 9th, 2008, 7:12 am

ok i learned something

roger

Postby roger » December 9th, 2008, 7:40 am

enjoying spl for competition = $8500
enjoying sq after competition = priceless

i have been running prolly the cheapest sq systems around, and i can compete with the forerunners and give a decent showing..

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 9th, 2008, 7:57 am

enjoying sq after competition = priceless
enjoying spl from by the beach after competition > priceless

so here's what i *seriously* want to enter something with...

2 Audiopipe 6"
stock tweeters
Zebra 10" in sealed box

Just want to see what i score :)