TriniTuner.com  |  Latest Event:  

Forums

audio guys need some help here please....

(I.C.E.)In Car Entertainment - Mobile Audio and Video

Moderator: 3ne2nr Mods

User avatar
chris600
Posts: 0
Joined: April 14th, 2009, 8:33 am

audio guys need some help here please....

Postby chris600 » October 13th, 2009, 9:14 am

hey guys facin a lil problem here,...i got this old skool peavey mixer amp currently i use as a guitar amp,.....im in d process of scarpin it down an rebuilding it into a box (tryin 2 make it a all in 1 sumting) the amp has 2 channels rates @100w 4ohms each,..the previous speaker i had that worked well with the amp is a old 12" sound barrier..which i couldn't find anywhere to buy,....

how ever i have a zebra 12" box says 400w,...just wanted to know if both channels on the amp can be run in parallel to the same speaker or d amp wud "bun down" :roll:

http://www.henryga.com/80-200and300/peavey.jpg ...pic of the amp

http://www.peavey.com/assets/literature ... 361013.pdf ...specs

Advertisement
User avatar
chris600
Posts: 0
Joined: April 14th, 2009, 8:33 am

Postby chris600 » October 14th, 2009, 11:39 am

any 1??...help :?

User avatar
3stagevtec
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 9621
Joined: July 12th, 2006, 1:57 pm
Location: killing two stones with one bird...
Contact:

Postby 3stagevtec » October 14th, 2009, 12:03 pm

is the peavy amp a single channel or 2 channel?

most 2 channels like those probably will not be bridgeable (cannot combine channels).. so you will need a single dual coil sub or 2 single coil subs to get the best out of it..

User avatar
DJ Q
punchin NOS
Posts: 3359
Joined: February 21st, 2007, 9:09 am
Location: Awesome

Postby DJ Q » October 14th, 2009, 3:47 pm

3stagevtec wrote:is the peavy amp a single channel or 2 channel?

most 2 channels like those probably will not be bridgeable (cannot combine channels).. so you will need a single dual coil sub or 2 single coil subs to get the best out of it..

plus you need to check or state the impedance of the sub

User avatar
a little louder
Street 2NR
Posts: 48
Joined: October 10th, 2004, 9:51 pm
Location: trinidad
Contact:

Postby a little louder » October 14th, 2009, 6:43 pm

you could use 1 dual 4 ohm speaker (1 coil per channel)
but you should use a mono signal to the input of the amp(y jack or if the amp have a stereo/mono switch) :roll:

User avatar
theblitz
Trinituner Peong
Posts: 463
Joined: June 24th, 2007, 11:57 pm
Location: South Trinidad

Postby theblitz » October 14th, 2009, 8:12 pm

I used one of these wayyy back but never thought to bridge anything then. From the diagram it looks like a mono that just may have two outputs for convenience.
Image


The 4-ohm load may be two 8-ohm speakers or one 4-ohm speaker. See the back of the amp for details, it should be stated.

Image

User avatar
SmokeyGTi
punchin NOS
Posts: 3632
Joined: May 22nd, 2006, 2:47 pm
Location: Trinidad

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 15th, 2009, 10:51 am

this is from the manual you posted:

Image

It says the outputs are already wired in parallel. I'm thinking that it was made so you can plug in two boxes wired at 8ohms each, which will present a 4 ohm load to the amplifier.

If you're using only 1 speaker (the zebra) just use one of the outputs to power it.

User avatar
theblitz
Trinituner Peong
Posts: 463
Joined: June 24th, 2007, 11:57 pm
Location: South Trinidad

Postby theblitz » October 15th, 2009, 11:31 am

^^^ well yeh, same thing :lol:

User avatar
chris600
Posts: 0
Joined: April 14th, 2009, 8:33 am

Postby chris600 » October 15th, 2009, 12:01 pm

thanks alot for the help so far guys,....the zebra is 8ohms

i found another speaker...acoustic usa or sumtin
this one is another 12" 200w@4 ohms .....could this be of any help/use here?


the amp is only used for instruments...keyboard..guitar & maby a microphone
one @ a time tho,...with multiple inputs the distortion at high volumes iz a killer
:?

Advertisement

Return to “I.C.E. / Car Audio Tech”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests