JL Audio W7 Foam Tear

theblitz

Postby theblitz » December 8th, 2009, 12:45 am

rude boy rudy wrote:soldier no disrespect eh but is over 2 years now u have them sub ah mean yuh want them last 4 ever time 2 move on man

not forever but 2 years is NO TIME really...

...and to drive a W7 beyond its mechanical limits won't take much imo, a low power highly distorted/clipped signal may do the trick.

Postby Gladiator » December 8th, 2009, 1:57 am

I am a big JL fan but very disappointed that their subs have this problem. My personal sub suffered the same fate and was never abused or mistreated... it happened after about 4 years though on a W6 12".

What is even more disappointing is that the company refuses to make cone kits available and the local dealership has no options but to buy a new one.

323fsport

Postby 323fsport » December 8th, 2009, 4:49 am

Aimar wrote:Question to the O.P.
How does the rest of the surround feel to the touch?

Aimar, the rest of the surround feels only like what i could describe as "normal"... reason being is that after 2 years of avoiding touching the damn thing for the very same reason, i forgot how it originally felt!

In pressing on it, it does not feel hard or like it would break/tear at any point of my interaction.

And to answer a previous poster... the sub is in the trunk of a Mazda 3, with no direct sunlight hitting it... as to the trunk area getting warm, i could see that happening, but i am not one to play music at any loud levels.... i'm a personal listener... so much so that one day i remember listening to music and finding the bass was hitting rather hard... so i jump out of the car to go look at the driver, and the driver was barely moving...

i've seen videos of the extremities people have put the W7 through and my W7, which faces nothing like that suffered this faith?

Sully

Postby Sully » December 8th, 2009, 6:29 am

Audionutz, How much did it cost to replace the surround?

Postby cinco » December 8th, 2009, 3:24 pm

dam guess i better keep an eye on my 10w7
its about 5 yrs old used for 2 sat for 2 years and now back in use for about a year
surround still looks good knock on wood

theblitz

Postby theblitz » December 8th, 2009, 7:24 pm

^^ :roll:

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » December 8th, 2009, 7:52 pm

what the hell is a shiva :?:

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 8th, 2009, 8:09 pm

noyztoyz wrote:what the hell is a shiva :?:

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Adire audio shiva...Google it..

Postby X_Factor » December 8th, 2009, 8:27 pm

noyztoyz wrote:what the hell is a shiva :?:

:shock: :shock:
well u learnt something new today

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 8th, 2009, 8:27 pm

big audio man like u noyztoyz, & u dont know what a shiva is ... :shock:

no is not d hindu god they talking about eh ... :lol:

altec

Postby altec » December 8th, 2009, 8:46 pm

they folded some time ago but they dad some of the best subs around.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » December 8th, 2009, 8:54 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:big audio man like u noyztoyz, & u dont know what a shiva is ... :shock:

LOL.

The original Adire (formally Avatar) Audio Shiva was a simple 12" driver using an Eminence stamped-steel basket and foam surround. It was built with one purpose only - to move lots of air. Its 15mm Xmax was un-matched at the time in its price-bracket (and several brackets above that too). The closest match to it today in terms of build, specifications and performance is the Dayton DVC310-88, see http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdet ... er=295-185

The latest "Shiva" is the Shiva-X2, by Exodus Audio. It's an XBL^2-based driver with an MTX-style basket that has a rated Xmax of 26mm, almost double that of the original Shiva. For more information, see http://www.diycable.com/main/product_in ... cts_id=693. I've heard the X1 version recently - very, very clean output.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » December 8th, 2009, 9:12 pm

we learn new things everyday :puppydogeyes:

i knew off the adire audio brahma, i had wanted one a long time ago.

I heard the company makes real clean sq speakers.
But i wish i could hear one to appreciate the difference from what we normally use.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » December 8th, 2009, 9:16 pm

altec wrote:they folded some time ago but they dad some of the best subs around.

I don't know if "folded" is the right word. Dan basically closed up shop. He's still around, but prefers to remain in R&D and let someone else handle marketing and distribution - see www.acousticdev.com.

I actually had a conversation with him earlier this year about bringing out a neo-magnet XBL^2 driver for car audio use. He expressed interest, but of course now we need a company that's willing to make the request official, LOL and do a minimum order. Thing is, not many car audio guys are interested in a light sub that can really put out. They want big magnets to look at. Frankly, I prefer that my car doesn't look like I make a living hauling concrete in the trunk, and big magnet structures on subs are a bit like padded bras IMO - might promise a lot, but may not deliver what you're expecting to get :).

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » December 8th, 2009, 9:38 pm

noyztoyz wrote:we learn new things everyday :puppydogeyes:

i knew off the adire audio brahma, i had wanted one a long time ago.

I heard the company makes real clean sq speakers.
But i wish i could hear one to appreciate the difference from what we normally use.

If they're anything like the Shiva-Xs that I heard recently (one of my friends in GND ordered two for his car), they're squeaky-clean. Some might even consider the sound TOO clean.

Postby X_Factor » December 8th, 2009, 10:25 pm

Brian Steele, actually u might be suprised at the amt of ppl who might try those neo xbl, less weight is always a good thing!!

i'll try to get my cuz n them to take out the JBL 18" subs in the JBL SRX boxes and take some pics, you will be amazed if u never saw it before

full neo magnets with aluminum frame, entire 18" weighs less than 5 lbs easily and i can lift it with my little finger!!

Postby crazybalhead » December 9th, 2009, 12:17 pm

Wait wait, Brain Steele as in the creator of DIYsubwoofer.org??? I see it in your sig., but don't believe you are actually posting here! :wink: :mrgreen:

Postby SR » December 9th, 2009, 12:22 pm

:mrgreen:

xfactor
it comes down to overall cost

neo magnets are much more expensive than standard

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 9th, 2009, 12:29 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Wait wait, Brain Steele as in the creator of DIYsubwoofer.org??? I see it in your sig., but don't believe you are actually posting here! :wink: :mrgreen:

man izza local yo :shock:

roger

Postby roger » December 9th, 2009, 12:30 pm

pimptacular wrote:and do u know better than the engineers at jl audio? i have a w7 going strong as ever after 2 years.. and the surround strong as ever, if it was a design flaw wouldnt it give out already or show signs of your so called "design flaw"?

pimptacular...why alyuh does get orn like alyuh know it all??

you have much to learn young one!!

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 9th, 2009, 12:31 pm

sad thing when people don't know who they talking to ent?

Postby SR » December 9th, 2009, 12:39 pm

sigh sad sad thing

ip trace says grenada :mrgreen:

sooo
back to jl audio

there are only 4 people locally that can attest to JL audio's subwoofer manufacturing process

3 are on this forum

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 9th, 2009, 12:40 pm

we will be passing by u^^^^ demo?

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 9th, 2009, 12:41 pm

I put

$100 on shazzard
$100 on amair
$60 on Fuzz aka pedro?

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 9th, 2009, 12:42 pm

nah i thinking nigel or ravestark

Postby SR » December 9th, 2009, 12:45 pm

can i collect the money for all the wrong answers

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 9th, 2009, 12:46 pm

so besides u, who again? shameer ent?

Postby SR » December 9th, 2009, 12:48 pm

Sully
Fuzz aka PEDRO and he really did have the tshirt too
and myself a couple of times

i keep telling you guys to make the sbn trip

the connections you will make will be more than worht it
the technical people you get to meet and disucssions you can have as wll as up close inspections on installs beat any discussion with pics on any forum

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 9th, 2009, 12:55 pm

roger wrote:
pimptacular wrote:and do u know better than the engineers at jl audio? i have a w7 going strong as ever after 2 years.. and the surround strong as ever, if it was a design flaw wouldnt it give out already or show signs of your so called "design flaw"?

pimptacular...why alyuh does get orn like alyuh know it all??

you have much to learn young one!!

i know i have much to learn and hence the forum..i stood corrected when gave me his views and didnt argue..i was speaking from my experience with the JL woofer and i also learned off the forum is that alot of people are always quick to blame equipment an say somthing wrong with it, when truely the flaw could be with the install

Postby SR » December 9th, 2009, 1:00 pm

southside call me asap