Postby gladboy » March 25th, 2010, 8:02 pm

how is it the rf 800@2 puts out 1000+ watt's
and only requires only ah 60amp external fuse
my SS 880.2 carries 3 30amp fuse....
i'm confused please enlighten me..

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » March 25th, 2010, 8:07 pm

im not sure as to the explanation behind that but im working on it, doing some research,

the 60a fuse should blow if u try it though, because we've clamped a rf 800a2 to draw 90 amps or current continuously playing a low mids some time ago

Postby SR » March 25th, 2010, 9:13 pm

noyztoyz wrote:im not sure as to the explanation behind that but im working on it, doing some research,

the 60a fuse should blow if u try it though, because we've clamped a rf 800a2 to draw 90 amps or current continuously playing a low mids some time ago

in other words your post was of no value

one amp is more efficient than the other

the 880.2 requires more current to produce the same power output of the rockford due the the rockford's better power supply and output design

hence the reason why it costs more than the 880.2

marlonmrmusic

Current draw

Postby marlonmrmusic » March 25th, 2010, 10:35 pm

You just need to know that efficiency is 1 thing but u can use fuse rating as a true guide to how much power an amp has. The RF has an excellent built in xover and gives a certificate but i think another amp with almost the same fuse rating supposed to sound almost the same. Power = Volts x Current So if u have a car amp thats 100% efficient at 12 volts with a 10 amp fuse thas just 120 watts RMS. Most amps are in the 40 - 80 % bracket.

noyztoyz

Re: rf fuse rateing: i'm confused

Postby noyztoyz » March 25th, 2010, 10:39 pm

gladboy wrote:how is it the rf 800@2 puts out 1000+ watt's

dont listen to that bs that guy SR wrote up there pal,
is not one amp drastically more efficient than the other,

the rf 800a2 does not pull 60 amps of current it pulls a lot more, we measured 90a,
trust ppl who talk from actual experience
Last edited by noyztoyz on March 25th, 2010, 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 25th, 2010, 10:41 pm

SR wrote:

the 880.2 requires more current to produce the same power output of the rockford due the the rockford's better power supply and output design

the efficiency is the key,

although just as the max power rating, some companies may also use a higher fuse value to embellish the power ratings

Postby nervewrecker » March 25th, 2010, 11:09 pm

Firewall wrote:
SR wrote:

the efficiency is the key,
although just as the max power rating, some companies may also use a higher fuse value to embellish the power ratings

but something still not sounding right, an amp with a 60amp fuse putting out 1000rms?

60amps * 14.5v = 870 watts @ 100% efficiency.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 25th, 2010, 11:19 pm

the older RF amps made rated power at 12V, with the birth sheet specs given at 14.4V.

slacker_jack, i know it not answering your question, but its the best explanation i got.

The amplifier's power supply takes the 12 volts from the battery and boosts it. The amount which it's boosted is determined by the design engineer and ultimately determines how much voltage the amplifier will produce at its speaker terminals. The higher the power supply (rail) voltage, the higher the possible power output.
http://www.bcae1.com/amplfier.htm

Postby nervewrecker » March 25th, 2010, 11:25 pm

naw Firewall, I understood fully what you said, I just highlighted the fact that what I was about to post would not have efficiency factored in.

I just found it fishy & that it seems like the laws of physics were broken there.

gladboy

Postby gladboy » March 26th, 2010, 5:28 am

yes Firewall,hybird technology
from d golden dayz....

Lance

Postby Lance » March 26th, 2010, 7:30 am

noyztoyz wrote:im not sure as to the explanation behind that but im working on it, doing some research,

So music it was pulling 90A continuously.

You just shot the whole theory of Music is Dynamic.

AWESOME!

Lance

Postby Lance » March 26th, 2010, 7:36 am

If people understood how amps are rated on a bench they would play just a little less attention to its ratings.

A standard fuse on an mobile amplifier can for a period of time exceed its rating by as much as 200% and not blow.

Now put this on a bench, Have a HUGE power supply with balls of steel putting out a solid 14.4V,Slap a Resistive Load on the outputs, drop a tone on it and possibly even test it at higher than usual THD, and you'll get a rating you will never see in a vehicle environment.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » March 26th, 2010, 7:54 am

Lance wrote:

AWESOME!

damn i just wish i could drop in a video now for yall to see for yourself, but it was a customer's clamp meter i was using, dont have that anymore
extrapolating everything from theory is not all that good everytime
the ammeter was steadily above 75a of current peaking at 90a,

anyway i agree with what u said right up there, but i want you to explain if u could the other guy's theory that the rockford is more efficient leading to the much greater power output from a less current draw,

Lance

Postby Lance » March 26th, 2010, 8:09 am

noyztoyz wrote:
Lance wrote:

AWESOME!

anyway i agree with what u said right up there, but i want you to explain if u could the other guy's theory that the rockford is more efficient leading to the much greater power output from a less current draw,

I don't have to explain anything that guy has said.

That guy has been in Autosound before I was even born. He is a seasoned competitor, Certified by many mobile sound companies, IASCA certified judge and trainer and is one of the best Installers Locally.

He is more than competent to explain his theory.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 26th, 2010, 11:36 am

noyztoyz wrote:damn i just wish i could drop in a video now for yall to see for yourself, but it was a customer's clamp meter i was using, dont have that anymore

those meters are a little slow and will never show you the actual changes in current draw that occur..

because music is dynamic, actual current draw can jump from, say 5A to 80A in an instant, and then back to 5A before you can blink your eye.. they really do NOT give you an accurate idea of the average amount of power that goes to the speakers..

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » March 26th, 2010, 1:11 pm

point taken, will consider when doing next test,

so you trying to say an oscilloscpe is necessary when trying to do these tests to improve the accuracy?
where d hell we gonna get dat?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 26th, 2010, 2:42 pm

Lance wrote:A standard fuse on an mobile amplifier can for a period of time exceed its rating by as much as 200% and not blow.

riadb

Postby riadb » March 26th, 2010, 8:50 pm

60A external fuse...

but how much fuses are there on the amplifier itself?? not 120A??

Postby 3stagevtec » March 26th, 2010, 10:45 pm

noyztoyz wrote:point taken, will consider when doing next test,

so you trying to say an oscilloscpe is necessary when trying to do these tests to improve the accuracy?

hard one to answer, you will need a meter that can measure average power over a given time.. you will also need a meter that can measure at the frequencies (music) being played..

personally, a traditional power test over several frequencies will better give you an idea of the output potential of an amp.. measuring power while playing music is difficult imo..

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 26th, 2010, 11:25 pm

noyztoyz wrote:point taken, will consider when doing next test,

same pacs that posted some crap about efficentcy of one amp being higher or sum so...

Postby nervewrecker » March 27th, 2010, 12:11 am

riadb wrote:

60A external fuse...

but how much fuses are there on the amplifier itself?? not 120A??

that sounds more like it to me.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » March 27th, 2010, 5:55 am

^^ no that amplifier does not have any fuses on it. None of the ole skool rfs do.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 27th, 2010, 7:04 am

noyztoyz wrote:

dont listen to that bs that guy SR wrote up there pal,
is not one amp drastically more efficient than the other,

the rf 800a2 does not pull 60 amps of current it pulls a lot more, we measured 90a,
trust ppl who talk from actual experience

was that 90 amps consistent?

trust you? what experiences do you have? i wont even trust you with my dog droppings
cuz you have powerseller status mean you knows it all?

while many people get on sr back, as lance said he has been in car audio even before you was in liquid form, and has been certified by some of the world's major manufacturers and more than likely you compete in iasca shows which he owns the rights to.. :rofl:

and as lance said music is dynamic..
which frequencies draw the most power?

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » March 27th, 2010, 8:07 am

^^ i dont think ps status makes anyone more intelligent
nor how much travelling they have done and how much friends they make ftm
i think experience does though

u never saw the amp the OP is talking about,
i have 10 in my house
i use them, i test them, customers take them,

u come here pretending you know, well finish what that guy started
a birthsheet says 987 rms max power
a 60a fuse recommended

talk talk talk?
calculate the efficiency nah..

still think efficiency is the explanation for what the person who started this tred wanted to know?
:roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby Gladiator » March 27th, 2010, 8:34 am

3stagevtec wrote:
noyztoyz wrote:damn i just wish i could drop in a video now for yall to see for yourself, but it was a customer's clamp meter i was using, dont have that anymore

those meters are a little slow and will never show you the actual changes in current draw that occur..

because music is dynamic, actual current draw can jump from, say 5A to 80A in an instant, and then back to 5A before you can blink your eye.. they really do NOT give you an accurate idea of the average amount of power that goes to the speakers..

Something you guys could try if you doing analysis on amplifiers is using high power resistive loads. When doing my research I use a resistor bank of eight 16ohm 125W precision resistors....they are very expensive but I am sure you can improvise with some high powered wire wound ceramic resistors.

Using the purely resistive load would allow you to use output current and voltage readings to estimate output power a little easier.

ANother thing allyuh fellas quarreling about is fuse ratings.... I have had amps that blew all the mosfets and shorting and still the main fuse didnt blow.... I think some manufacturers use the fuse technique in their clever marketing

Also most amps have unregulated PSUs that draw current in irregular pulses..... most fuses on the other hand require a constant current for a certain time to pass through it heat it up and blow it....

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 27th, 2010, 9:50 am

noyztoyz wrote:^^ i dont think ps status makes anyone more intelligent

i have 10 in my house

a 60a fuse recommended

talk talk talk?

still think efficiency is the explanation for what the person who started this tred wanted to know?

eh heh you is mr. big shot
your big ambition in life is selling used car audio, congratulations you are a looser and a nobody :lol:

sigh..man have 10 amplifiers in he house..not a store but in he house which i sure eh even he own yet wa come on a forum an play know it all and big shot..

exactly you talkin like you know more than sr an he a noob the man has experience with everything including gallery and spl..yet cuz u have an amplifier you think you know more than him?

yet you failed to answer 2 questions..
was the 90a current draw consistent?
and
what frequencies draw the most power?

cuz the amp hit a spike of 90a doh mean it constantly gives off maximum power you tard..you talk bout playin music and testing right??
answer my question about what frequencies draw the most power..
you have an amplifier and you feel you is big shot..

honestly i did think slacker jack was the biggest tard on the ice forum but you take the cake wait no you take the whole bakery..and you does get people to listen to you for advice? i wont even take your advice on wa kinda toilet paper to wipe meh batty with...

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » March 27th, 2010, 10:13 am

this ched and all..wtf..^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^how u help tyhe original poster they?u have something to tell noyztoyz ur pm dont work?

riadb

Postby riadb » March 27th, 2010, 10:30 am

alluh gonna get this thread locked eh...

lookin at the maths it kinda impossible to get 1000+ RMS with 60A from any amplifier unless u runnin at 17/18V or sumn and as you said it's ole school RF so i'm sure these amps are not 100% efficient...

60A x 14.4V = 864 Watts
assuming an efficiency of around 75 - 80% (which is a generous figure for a class AB) the amp will give you approx 675WRMS

there is no way you can get 1000+ rms from 60A with a normal stock electrical system.

now around 90A sounds more like it....

90 x 14.4 = 1296
1296 x 75% = 972WRMS

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » March 27th, 2010, 10:32 am

pimptacular wrote:
noyztoyz wrote:^^ i dont think ps status makes anyone more intelligent

i have 10 in my house

a 60a fuse recommended

talk talk talk?

eh heh you is mr. big shot
your big ambition in life is selling used car audio, congratulations you are a looser and a nobody :lol:

sigh..man have 10 amplifiers in he house..not a store but in he house which i sure eh even he own yet wa come on a forum an play know it all and big shot..

exactly you talkin like you know more than sr an he a noob the man has experience with everything including gallery and spl..yet cuz u have an amplifier you think you know more than him?

yet you failed to answer 2 questions..
was the 90a current draw consistent?
and
what frequencies draw the most power?

cuz the amp hit a spike of 90a doh mean it constantly gives off maximum power you tard..you talk bout playin music and testing right??
answer my question about what frequencies draw the most power..
you have an amplifier and you feel you is big shot..

honestly i did think slacker jack was the biggest tard on the ice forum but you take the cake wait no you take the whole bakery..and you does get people to listen to you for advice? i wont even take your advice on wa kinda toilet paper to wipe meh batty with...

i doh mean to jump in no arguement, but the man main ambition in life is not to sell used music, he is actually studying to become a doctor 1st of all, so i go take the words out your own mouth, doh talk if yuh en know ok.

the man also said that he was running a low mids, which by what i learn on this forum is about your 80-500hz region. So take a guess if yuh wanna know where the power peaked at, look and you will see it is close to 80hz because the lower the frequency the more power is used, yuh is a backside ah wah.

And also the man never said that because he has 10 amps he knows everything, he just said he knows what he is talking bout because he used these amps on MANY MANY occasions.

Yes i know he has an error in his posting by saying that he tested using music which is dynamic, but i don't think there is one post in this thread that does not have some kinda error, whether it be a technical one, or just one cause by the poster being a cocky egotistical retard.

And also fellas what do yuh guys have against noyztoyz, i mean i hear all the drama that SSC cause with he bachanal but i never hear anything but positive responses from people that buy from this man.

i do not know him or have ever talked to him, but the man provides a nice service for the fellas down here that can't afford to buy the rockford 1000rms 4 channel new in a store for 7000, he go sell yuh it for 3000, doh mind yuh en go get a warranty and thing, but if it blows within the year buy a next friggin one, yuh still coming out cheaper.

Is it because he stealing alyuh sales. Comment on this nah, i mean we is all big boys here. let us not revert to the little boy talk.

shotcaller

Postby shotcaller » March 27th, 2010, 10:38 am

viking1705 wrote:this ched and all..wtf..^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^how u help tyhe original poster they?u have something to tell noyztoyz ur pm dont work?

Let ppl say what they have to say and be corrected..Thats what the forum is for..