MY SB850Z PROJECT [aw subs]

b14inb12

MY SB850Z PROJECT [aw subs]

Postby b14inb12 » December 17th, 2010, 7:32 pm

THIS WAS A PROJECT I DID. AM NOT A SUB-BOX BUILDER the whole system was sold to a fellow tuner.the space i used to build it is now a bedroom so i don`t have space to it again for anyone if you have the space then we can talk. i can arrange for a demo

i decided to build my own sub box aw sb850z sub box some of the material i got for my work and i brought the rest. here is my list
10 sheet 3/4" construction ply [ not the best choice but don`t argue when you get six sheets free]
600 2" gypsum screws
1lt wood glue
6 cartridge black roof sealant silicon

will add more later
CIMG1481.JPG
CIMG1480.JPG
CIMG1479.JPG
this is the end product and the small-man well he just like to help he is the PROJECT MANAGER
Last edited by b14inb12 on March 6th, 2014, 12:45 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Re: MY SB850Z PROJECT [aw subs]

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 18th, 2010, 2:10 am

awaiting more....cool....

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » December 18th, 2010, 2:16 am

this was done on a a table top rip saw
CIMG1483.JPG

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » December 18th, 2010, 9:25 am

SOME OF THE TOOL ARE JUST YOUR EVERYDAY TOOLS
CIMG1482.JPG
CIMG1484.JPG
SOMETIME I ASK MYSELF WHY CONSTRUCTION PLY

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 18th, 2010, 11:16 am

very good!!!!!!!

but one question, why 850z bottoms and not a set of folded horns?

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » December 18th, 2010, 2:53 pm

In order to have true horn loading in a subwoofer, the horn must be
monstrously long, opening up to at least 5 feet square at its large
end. must be massive in size. A folded horn must be at least 4-5 feet wide, by 5 feet high and 4 to 5 feet deep.
This size is needed because the wavelength of sound at low frequencies
is very large.
But to directly answer your question, the advantage of a folded horn
(over a non-folded horn) is reduced size. There is no other advantage.
Compared to a non-horn loaded subwoofer, a folded horn woofer will be
massively larger, and have some minor sonic problems as a result of
the sound waves having to navigate the folds in the horn. so you must cut the angles right or else.

Having said all that, rest assured that a true folded horn subwoofer
will have a hard time fitting on a truck Anything
smaller, means the folded horn is just a useless gimmick. Basic
physics dictates that, in order to work, low frequency horns are huge!
check this site

http://forum.speakerplans.com/folded-ho ... 28806.html
you think a small table top can do this?

but the super scooper is my next project
CIMG1474.JPG
CIMG1471.JPG

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » December 18th, 2010, 3:13 pm

http://www.speakerplans.com/index.php?id=nhill04
http://www.speakerplans.com/index.php?id=nhill05

i am using the zebra power woofer loud speaker system, double layer magnet
eight to be exact

2-europower EP4000 base line
2-europower EP2000 tops
as soon as the money comes in i will buy the top for the bass line but right now i am using two Gemini GT3002 Dual 15" 2 Way Passive PA Cabinet [old school model]
CIMG1487.JPG
CIMG1486.JPG
CIMG1485.JPG
-behringer-europower-ep-4000.jpg
There’s plenty of awesome features on the outside of the EP4000, but there’s also a team of cool components on the inside helping it work its magic. it come loaded with famously reliable Toshiba/Fairchild power transistors as well as a high-current toroidal transformer for ultra-high transient response and further reliability. Independent DC and thermal overload protection on each channel automatically protects the amplifier and speakers from any show-stopping meltdowns. There’s no need for fuses, giving you one fewer potential mid-gig headache.
Last edited by b14inb12 on January 2nd, 2011, 9:29 am, edited 2 times in total.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 18th, 2010, 3:25 pm

but what then is your intended frequency range you want to cover with the eaw 850'?

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » December 18th, 2010, 4:04 pm

BETWEEN 50HZ T0 60HZ
will use 3way tops

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 18th, 2010, 9:37 pm

lp hp bp?

MONGO

Postby MONGO » December 18th, 2010, 10:04 pm

looking good!!
where did you get the plans for this?

i had a PDF with selenium plans- eaw style bass bins/long throw bass bins also some long throw midrange/midbass tops..but i lost it can someone point me to this link?

pdf was something spanish : tradiciones or something...

Postby 3stagevtec » December 18th, 2010, 11:31 pm

b14inb12 wrote:but the super scooper is my next project

did you see this build?

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=259893&hilit=

nice work! can't wait to see the complete product..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 19th, 2010, 1:53 am

looking good , u gonna filler d screw holes & paint it with oil paint ?

i bet this is for a DJ set up u building since i doubt any1 wud need all of that for home use

3stage reminded me of d 1 i did last yr , built mine with straight edge & c\saw : no table saw

them big horn boxes does really be ketch ass to move about with d size\weight ,far more complicated to do & takes more materials\time to build ...

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » December 24th, 2010, 7:20 am

mongo wrote:looking good!!
where did you get the plans for this?

i had a PDF with selenium plans- eaw style bass bins/long throw bass bins also some long throw midrange/midbass tops..but i lost it can someone point me to this link?

pdf was something spanish : tradiciones or something...

try this link and if this is it
http://www.speakerplans.com/index.php?id=nhill04
http://www.speakerplans.com/index.php?id=nhill05
http://www.speakerplans.com/index.php?id=plans

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » February 19th, 2011, 7:16 pm

:drinking: bunp :drinking:

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » February 20th, 2011, 10:46 pm

EAWs looking good man
bet you save plenty$$ building it yourself
Crank it up man !!!

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » February 20th, 2011, 11:02 pm

:drinking: thanks :drinking:

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 21st, 2011, 12:58 am

i have some experience in owning EAW subs. But none of mine were L-ported. The port was just approx. 18" long and these were EAW specked. Where did u get these specs? With those long ports it will takeup internal volume, and drop the already low tuning frequency.

u sure bout those L ports?

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » February 21st, 2011, 6:41 am

are ZEBRA`S the best of speakers?
so to get it sounding the best you have to make the changes.

http://forums.eaw.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ultim ... 4;t=000949

For the record, most of the EAW transducers manufactured by outside vendors are specifically designed for use in EAW products. While our woofers may look like off the shelf speakers there not. Many times we require a special construction or parts or even manufacturing techniques to make them EAW quality.

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » February 21st, 2011, 9:39 pm

if you have an original eaw SB850 sub box, and you take out the the sub woofer, you will notice that the magnet have no label on it.each line of sub box are design for a specific brand of speaker.

i know of a guy on this forum who can say the same.
eg a DD 12" sub woofer will not sound the same in a box design for a pioneer 12'

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 21st, 2011, 10:31 pm

I also know alot about T/S parameters of speakers and how they differ, no need to point out how different speakers will sound different in the same box. Please dont get me wrong, I am not finding fault in ur work, it looks good, but I am just trying to find out how u came about building those boxes for those speakers.

Dont underestimate my knowledge in the pro audio field bro, I eh saying that I know everything, but I know a lil, and this kind of box/enclosure combination (t/s parameters) is very easy to understand. I did alot reading in the sound engineering field and also have some experience owning a Sound System for the past 15 years. So I eh really wa know bout theory and stuff.

T/S parameters are not availabe for those zebras online, so I was just wondering.

Some facts that i know:
When the SB850 series, started they used the RCF L18P300'S (of course due to marketing, EAW had to remove the labels on all their drivers hence no label), and this is why they became popular in Trinidad. I personally know one RCF dealer and he was privy to this confidential info. After RCF, they used The eminence kilomax series 18's and then they changed again to another sub that I dont know. Anyway whenever they changed the sub, obviously they had to alter box tuning and parameters, but not drastically. The outside dimensions of the box always remaind the same, and only the port tuning was changed.

Basically an EAW box is a normal reflex box, that can be mathematically modeled with basic programs like WINISD, and tailored to suit ur woofer. But again I say, this can only be done if you have the T/S parameters of ur sub, and I would like to know how u did it with those zebras.

Thats all I am asking.

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » February 22nd, 2011, 7:09 am

i did it with trial and error
i have access to a lot of off-cut ply
so i build a single one and adjust the port to suit
when a used an original SB850 the sub [zebra] was not sounding good, the bass line was not their. so i try adjusting the port and this is the end product.
i can arrange for you to hear it if you want

and i am just the same i am no audio pro expert.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 22nd, 2011, 8:03 am

Nice work, how you weatherproofing them?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 22nd, 2011, 12:00 pm

my boxes have a layer of fibreglass matting, an a gel coat to top it off to harden the surface, and the gel also it makes a smoothe surface when lightly sanded. My grills have dust/weather filter inserts to finish it off.

When i play outdoors, i dont even cover my boxes when it rains (if it rAININ HARD, i HAVE TO COVER THEM THO), they actually splash proof and takes a considerable shower. The first time i was sceptical bout letting them get wet, so i opened couple when the rain was done, and the drivers were dry!! After that, i doh even bother to cover them for moderate showers.
mAKE NO MISTAKE THEY ARE NOT WATER PROOF, just splash proof so u cannot spray the front with a hose and expect the subs to remain dry. Only moderately rain proof. This good emough 4 me and VERY convenient.

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » February 22nd, 2011, 1:10 pm

:lol: i like the garden hose part :D
the good thing about this is:- us trini like to experiment we don`t let nothing be to hard for us to do. if they can make it we can make it better.
i will have to work on the waterproofing of the subs when i ready i will give you a check

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2011, 3:35 pm

t/s can be tested, I have tested speakers before, all you really require is a meter with frequency counter, signal generator and a box of known volume.
I haven't done that is a long time but supposed to have the signal generator packed away somewhere.

You are correct in that those EAW boxes(to use local parlance) are simply bass reflex boxes, so the same driver should sound exactly the same if put in a similarly spec'd plain rectangle box with the correct pvc pipe as port.

In reality you cannot go badly wrong with these boxes as by using an 18" driver you are pretty much guaranteed to get some lowend as the Fs will be lower and ported boxes more forgiving. Your speaker won't flap and bust the suspension like in folded horn.

Compared to a specific design requiring a particular driver of smaller size eg 12" you could end up with no lowend if you use the wrong driver

Kasey wrote:
Basically an EAW box is a normal reflex box, that can be mathematically modeled with basic programs like WINISD, and tailored to suit ur woofer. But again I say, this can only be done if you have the T/S parameters of ur sub, and I would like to know how u did it with those zebras.

Thats all I am asking.

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » February 23rd, 2011, 5:28 pm

keep the advice coming in will need it

Firewall

Postby Firewall » February 23rd, 2011, 9:20 pm

Kasey wrote:my boxes have a layer of fibreglass matting, an a gel coat to top it off to harden the surface, and the gel also it makes a smoothe surface when lightly sanded. My grills have dust/weather filter inserts to finish it off.

When i play outdoors, i dont even cover my boxes when it rains (if it rAININ HARD, i HAVE TO COVER THEM THO), they actually splash proof and takes a considerable shower. The first time i was sceptical bout letting them get wet, so i opened couple when the rain was done, and the drivers were dry!! After that, i doh even bother to cover them for moderate showers.
mAKE NO MISTAKE THEY ARE NOT WATER PROOF, just splash proof so u cannot spray the front with a hose and expect the subs to remain dry. Only moderately rain proof. This good emough 4 me and VERY convenient.

the Faital Line supposed to be totally water proof, just if you wanted to make a change in the future

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » February 23rd, 2011, 10:04 pm

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » April 9th, 2011, 11:28 pm

keep the advice coming in will need it