Sub pullin inwards

BlueIce

Sub pullin inwards

Postby BlueIce » February 6th, 2005, 2:26 am

fellahs meh hoss jus did a brand new install , d heart of d system is a premier spl2000 in about a 3cubic enclosure(not sure) and d sub is powered by a boss 3000watt amp (Boss Audio IQ3KD.1)

and i notice he sub suckin inwards and it not soundin as loud as others i have heard, wha yuh think causing that????

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » February 6th, 2005, 3:23 am

check back the wiring on the sub...
is it in the recommended enclosure!!

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » February 6th, 2005, 3:27 am

yea i sure its the wiring !!!!
i accustomed to that kinda sheit
:mrgreen:

Puff

Postby Puff » February 6th, 2005, 3:47 am

yeah... try switching the positive and negative wires connected to either the amp or the sub..

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 6th, 2005, 9:59 am

reverse polarity lol, wiring must of been opposite or some'n

Postby SR » February 6th, 2005, 11:38 am

bad box design

Sully

Postby Sully » February 7th, 2005, 2:47 pm

i accustomed to that kinda sheit

That's a bit frightening.

Puff

Postby Puff » February 7th, 2005, 2:51 pm

hahaha fuh real eh! :)
that is disturbing!!!!

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » February 7th, 2005, 10:30 pm

if de amp bridged, it Could be that one chanel not workin good ( or not at all....)

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 7th, 2005, 11:13 pm

bad box design

i have a feelin is that
friday we go try and sort it out . thanks

Postby SR » February 7th, 2005, 11:38 pm

try the sub on individual channels on the amp to confirm if the channel has a problem or not

Puff

Postby Puff » February 8th, 2005, 12:38 am

isn't the Boss Audio IQ3KD.1 a class D amp? mono output?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 9th, 2005, 6:11 pm

that box you have dey ice, is a typcal box for a 12", is like 2.0CF right? and them kickers is 2 or 400rms?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 12th, 2005, 10:06 am

I had a problem like that once, I was told that the amp was underpowering the sub.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 12th, 2005, 10:25 am

isn't the Boss Audio IQ3KD.1 a class D amp? mono output?

correct

that box you have dey ice, is a typcal box for a 12", is like 2.0CF right? and them kickers is 2 or 400rms?

lol i not talkin about MY SUBS....read meh post again...i talkin about a spl2000 in a wagon

shesh

Postby shesh » April 23rd, 2005, 5:12 pm

lol hmm, i know jbl amps play the speakers inwards. 4 real.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » April 23rd, 2005, 5:23 pm

Sat Feb 12, 2005

Sat Apr 23

Wayz....

323fsport

Postby 323fsport » April 24th, 2005, 8:02 am

adam_ant_tt wrote:
Sat Feb 12, 2005

Sat Apr 23

Wayz....

The man wake the dead they!!!! :)

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 24th, 2005, 11:22 am

shesh wrote:lol hmm, i know jbl amps play the speakers inwards. 4 real.

which jbl amp does that :?: :?

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » April 24th, 2005, 2:10 pm

that hadda be a weird amp... cuz it not usin d speakr potential

JBL

Postby JBL » April 25th, 2005, 8:09 am

meh padna has a JBL BP1200 an it blew...he repaired it and after that the sub started playing inwards...maybe it was the cheap substitute mosfets he put in...so it's not the jbl amps...

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » April 25th, 2005, 7:36 pm

hoss that eh repair.. say wah

shesh

Postby shesh » April 26th, 2005, 8:49 pm

as ne jbl dealer, or ne one who knows about their stuff :)

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 26th, 2005, 10:41 pm

i know plenty people using jbl amps (includin my self)
it does move both ways!
i'll sit down and watch it tom :roll:

shesh

Postby shesh » April 27th, 2005, 8:07 pm

lol yup, but it pulls the speaker inwards first. SERIOUSLY

greenman

Postby greenman » April 27th, 2005, 11:25 pm

just like dem kicker square subs...

Peripheral

Re:

Postby Peripheral » April 17th, 2012, 2:32 pm

Really old thread, but makes sense to comment here instead of creating a new post.

SR wrote:bad box design

What exactly is meant by this?
Does it meant the box is too large for the speaker or too small?

I'm enquiring about this particular instance because I recently built 2 boxes for 2 unknown 12" speakers (no markings at all), and they are pulling inward in the box, but play fine when outside of it.

The boxes look oversize for the speakers, but never knew any such effect was possible, so any professional information will be greatly appreciated. thanks

Peripheral

Re: Sub pullin inwards

Postby Peripheral » April 17th, 2012, 3:05 pm

Forgot to mention, the boxes are: Vented, 2.0 cu ft, 34 Hz

Brian Steele

Re: Re:

Postby Brian Steele » April 17th, 2012, 11:32 pm

Peripheral wrote:The boxes look oversize for the speakers, but never knew any such effect was possible, so any professional information will be greatly appreciated. thanks

One possible cause that comes to mind is non-linear vent effects caused by how each end of the vent is loaded (e.g. flared, close to a side panel, etc.). At higher SPL levels, the vent acts almost like a diode - air is pushed out of the box, but not sucked back in at the same rate. The end result is that the net pressure in the box decreases and the speaker's cone is sucked in. Flaring the vent at BOTH ends can help reduce this effect if this is actually the cause (easy to find out - flip the driver around, run it at the volume level, check to see if the cone is still sucked into the box).

BlueIce

Re: Sub pullin inwards

Postby BlueIce » April 18th, 2012, 3:33 pm

god damn , 2005 revival...i dont even understand what i wrote...lmao so long i out of music